Ty Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhagavatula et al hereinafter Bhagavatula (US 20190312924) and further in view of Kitchen et al hereinafter Kitchen (US 2022/0078229).
Referring to Claim 1. Bhagavatula discloses a computer-implemented method comprising: receiving (AP 111/112, refer to par 0015 access to one or more network WAN/Internet. AP 111/112 receive the messages from client device such as setup boxes, game consoles, 0015) network messages in a directly routed local area network (LAN) of a customer-premises equipment (CPE) wherein the CPE is configured to provide the directly routed LAN for data communication (clients’ message destination(s) can be intended within the APs local network 102/104 and can also be to different AP networks outside the LAN, refer to par 0015, 0018), and an access for the data communication to a wide area network (WAN) (client devices communicate through APs to the internet/WAN, refer to par 0015); receiving the network messages in the directly routed LAN (receive the messages from within the local network AP, refer to par 0015, 0018); aggregating the network messages to local state objects maintained in the CPE (AP aggregate the network messages that’s stored in the locals, refer to par 0015, 0016, 0024, 0033: client devices has operational information and sent to AP devices, refer to par 0016), wherein each local state object contains data of a single connected device (each client device has a generated profile, refer to par 0019, 0033); and transmitting update data of the local state objects via the WAN to remote state objects maintained outside of the CPE (cloud service 140, receive update data of the local state object, where cloud service maintained database to store all aggregated client device profile data, refer to Fig 4, 1 and par 0018, 0019, 0032, 0033, the AP is also capable to receive the per-client device information and aggregated from other access point network as well, par 0019).
Although Bhagavatula disclosed the invention substantially as claimed, Bhagavatula did not explicitly disclose “subscribing to network messages in a directly routed local area network”
Kitchen, in analogous art, disclosing “subscribing to network messages in a directly routed local area network (obtain the devices states, refer to par 0066, 0072-0078, 0420, 0423)”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Bhagavatula with Kitchen because Kitchen’s teaching would allow the system of Bhagavatula to expedite the communication to remote object for LAN user devices.
Referring to Claim 2. Bhagavatula with Kitchen disclosed the method of claim 1, Kitchen discloses in response to a start-up of a platform maintaining the local state objects, obtaining the remote state objects; and initializing the local state objects based on the remote state objects (the platform on cloud hubs create the remote state object to maintain the local state object/registration, par 0072-0077).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Bhagavatula with Kitchen because Kitchen’s teaching would allow the system of Bhagavatula to expedite the communication to remote object for LAN user devices.
Referring to Claim 3. Bhagavatula with Kitchen disclosed the method of claim 1, Bhagavatula discloses intercepting a data communication in the directly routed LAN transmitted by a connected device (all client device has to communicate via AP/intercepting, refer to par 0015 whether destination of the communication is within the local network or remote); identifying the connected device based on contents of the data communication analyzed in view of the local state objects and/or the remote state objects (refer to par 0017 and par 0018, the operational information includes the device characteristics, which is determined by analyzing the local state object or the remote state object).
Referring to Claim 4. Bhagavatula with Kitchen disclosed the method of claim 1, Bhagavatula discloses wherein at least a part of the network messages relates to directly routable connected devices connected to the directly routed LAN (network messages includes the multiple operational information associates devices within the access point network, refer to par 0017, 0018), and, optionally, the directly routable connected devices connected to the directly routed LAN are configured to transmit the at least the part of the network messages (optional language, no patentable weight).
Referring to Claim 5. Bhagavatula with Kitchen disclosed the method of claim 1, Bhagavatula discloses wherein at least a part of the network messages relates to indirectly routable connected devices connected to an indirectly routed LAN (AP networks 102 and 104 provides access to one or more networks or any suitable network such as mesh, refer to par 0015, the AP 102 includes two access points 111 and 112, where allows the client devices in AP 111/LAN to communicate with client devices in AP 112 LAN/indirectly routed, refer to par 0015), and, optionally, the indirectly routed LAN comprises one of a mesh network and a personal area network (PAN) (optional language, no patentable weight).
Referring to Claim 6. Bhagavatula with Kitchen disclosed the method of claim 5, Bhagavatula discloses wherein the indirectly routable connected devices comprise Internet of Things (loT) devices (speaker, appliances, refer to par 0015).
Referring to Claim 7. Bhagavatula with Kitchen disclosed the method of claim 5, Bhagavatula discloses wherein a network router is configured to transmit the at least the part of the network messages on behalf of the indirectly routable connected devices, wherein the network router is connected to the directly routed LAN, and to the indirectly routed LAN (AP networks 102 and 104 provides access to one or more networks or any suitable network such as mesh, refer to par 0015, the AP 102 includes two access points 111 and 112, where allows the client devices in AP 111/LAN to communicate with client devices in AP 112 LAN/indirectly routed, refer to par 0015), and, optionally, the network router is implemented as a border router, a network bridge, a network switch, or a network access point (AP) (optional language, no patentable weight).
Referring to Claim 8. Bhagavatula with Kitchen disclosed the method of claim 1, Kitchen discloses wherein receiving the network messages in the directly routed LAN further comprises: receiving the network messages in the directly routed LAN to discover initial registrations of new connected devices (refer to par the gateway discovered the newly connected device and stored its information, 387, and the network messages from LAN is received at could hub, 0077, 0084).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Bhagavatula with Kitchen because Kitchen’s teaching would allow the system of Bhagavatula to expedite the communication to remote object for LAN user devices.
Referring to Claim 9. Bhagavatula with Kitchen disclosed the method of claim 1, Bhagavatula discloses in response to fulfilling a predetermined condition, triggering transmitting the update data of the local state objects via the WAN to the remote state objects maintained outside of the CPE, wherein, optionally, the predetermined condition is an expiry of a timer and/or a reception of a predetermined number of network messages (trigger events, connectivity events/retransmission and transmit/pass along the updated data to the remote location outside the CPE, refer to par 0018).
Referring to Claim 10. Bhagavatula with Kitchen disclosed the method of claim 1, Bhagavatula discloses wherein the local state object and the remote state object are stored and transmitted using a schemeless data interchange format that uses attribute-value pairs to store data (the device operational information formatted in any suitable manner, which can be including the schemeless data, refer to par 0017).
Referring to Claim 11. Bhagavatula with Kitchen disclosed the method of claim 1, Bhagavatula discloses wherein the data of the single connected device in each local state object comprises at least one unique device-specific property of the single connected device (per device operational information: device type transmits characteristics, refer to par 0017).
Referring to Claim 12. Bhagavatula with Kitchen disclosed the method of claim 1, Kitchen discloses wherein the network messages comprise one or more of an addition of a new device event, a service announcement, a service deletion, an Internet Protocol (IP) announcement, and an IP request (refer to new device events, refer to 0079).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Bhagavatula with Kitchen because Kitchen’s teaching would allow the system of Bhagavatula to expedite the communication to remote object for LAN user devices.
Referring to Claim 13. Bhagavatula with Kitchen disclosed the method of claim 1, Bhagavatula discloses wherein the network messages comprise one or more of zero-configuration networking messages, or recurring network messages (retransmission message, refer to par 0018).
Conclusion
/KAREN C TANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447