DETAIL ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Processor and memory “configured to” perform a function recited throughout claims 15-19 directly or via dependency are not treated under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because it failed the third prong of the three-prong test modifying by reciting sufficient structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PG Pub. 2017/0367086 to Pistoia et al. (hereafter Pistoia).
Pistoia was cited in applicant’s IDS filed on 5/6/25.
As to claim 1, Pistoia teaches the invention as claimed including a method for processing a task [collaboratively executing a task using available shared resources of mobile devices, abstract; paragraph 1], the method comprising:
obtaining an available resource for a to-be-processed task, wherein the to-be-processed task is a task of a device [collaboratively executing a task using available shared resources of mobile devices, paragraph 1; first mobile device has the task to be executed, paragraph 4, lines 3-4]; and
processing the to-be-processed task by using the available resource, in response to the to-be-processed task [executing a task using available shared resources, paragraphs 1 and 3],
wherein the device is configured to connect to at least one other device, and
the available resource is provided by at least one of the device or the at least one other device [the first mobile device has the task to be executed and N is an integer greater than one. The method includes determining collaborative mobile devices out of the second to N-th mobile devices, receiving information corresponding to the collaborative mobile devices, paragraph 4; network system of mobile devices collaboratively executing a task, paragraph 5, lines 1-17; Fig. 2B and corresponding text].
As to claim 2, Pistoia teaches the invention as claimed including further comprising: determining an execution strategy according to the available resource, wherein the execution strategy includes distributing the to-be-processed task into at least one sub-task, wherein the at least one sub-task is at least part of the to-be-processed task; and wherein processing the to-be-processed task includes: processing, by the at least one of the device or the at least one other device, the at least one sub-task [dividing the task into first to M-th sub tasks (M is an integer greater than one), assigning each of the first to M-th sub tasks to at least one of the collaborative mobile devices, requesting executions of the first to M-th sub tasks to the collaborative mobile devices, paragraph 4; paragraph 5, lines 1-13].
As to claim 3, Pistoia teaches the invention as claimed including wherein processing the to-be-processed task includes: processing, by the at least one of the device or the at least one other device, the to-be-processed task [dividing the task into first to M-th sub tasks (M is an integer greater than one), assigning each of the first to M-th sub tasks to at least one of the collaborative mobile devices, requesting executions of the first to M-th sub tasks to the collaborative mobile devices, paragraph 4; paragraph 5, lines 1-13].
As to claim 4, Pistoia teaches the invention as claimed including wherein distributing the to-be-processed task into the at least one sub-task includes: determining the at least one sub-task according to the available resource, wherein determining the at least one sub-task according to the available resource includes: determining the to-be-processed task as the at least one sub-task according to a capability of the available resource, wherein the capability of the available resource includes at least one of a resource provision capability of the device that satisfies a resource availability state or a resource provision capability of the at least one other device that satisfies the resource availability state [dividing the task into first to M-th sub tasks (M is an integer greater than one), assigning each of the first to M-th sub tasks to at least one of the collaborative mobile devices, requesting executions of the first to M-th sub tasks to the collaborative mobile devices, paragraph 4; The first mobile device has the task to be executed, queries available resources of the second to N-th mobile devices to the server device, receives identifications (IDs) of collaborative mobile devices, divides the task into first to M-th sub tasks, assigns each of the first to M-th sub tasks to at least one of the collaborative mobile devices, requests executions of the first to M-th sub tasks to the collaborative mobile devices, paragraphs 5 and 38].
As to claim 5, Pistoia teaches the invention as claimed including wherein processing the to-be-processed task includes: distributing the at least one sub-task to the at least one of the device or the at least one other device according to a capability of the available resource to cause the at least one of the device or the at least one other device to process the at least one sub-task, wherein the capability of the available resource includes at least one of a resource provision capability of the device that satisfies a resource availability state or a resource provision capability of the at least one other device that satisfies the resource availability state [dividing the task into first to M-th sub tasks (M is an integer greater than one), assigning each of the first to M-th sub tasks to at least one of the collaborative mobile devices, requesting executions of the first to M-th sub tasks to the collaborative mobile devices, paragraph 4; The first mobile device has the task to be executed, queries available resources of the second to N-th mobile devices to the server device, receives identifications (IDs) of collaborative mobile devices, divides the task into first to M-th sub tasks, assigns each of the first to M-th sub tasks to at least one of the collaborative mobile devices, requests executions of the first to M-th sub tasks to the collaborative mobile devices, paragraphs 5 and 38].
As to claim 6, Pistoia teaches the invention as claimed including further comprising: obtaining available resource information of the at least one of the device or the at least one other device, wherein the available resource information includes at least one of a resource provision capability of the device or a resource provision capability of the at least one other device [The first mobile device has the task to be executed, queries available resources of the second to N-th mobile devices to the server device, receives identifications (IDs) of collaborative mobile devices, divides the task into first to M-th sub tasks, assigns each of the first to M-th sub tasks to at least one of the collaborative mobile devices, requests executions of the first to M-th sub tasks to the collaborative mobile devices, paragraphs 5 and 38].
As to claim 7, Pistoia teaches the invention as claimed including further comprising: sending an available resource request to the at least one other device [The first mobile device has the task to be executed, queries available resources of the second to N-th mobile devices to the server device, receives identifications (IDs) of collaborative mobile devices, divides the task into first to M-th sub tasks, assigns each of the first to M-th sub tasks to at least one of the collaborative mobile devices, requests executions of the first to M-th sub tasks to the collaborative mobile devices, paragraphs 5 and 38].
As to claim 8, Pistoia teaches the invention as claimed including wherein processing the to-be-processed task by using the available resource includes: connecting with the at least one other device to cause the at least one other device to process the to-be-processed task; or connecting with the at least one other device to cause the device and the at least one other device to process the to-be-processed task; or processing, by the device, the to-be-processed task by using the available resource [The first mobile device has the task to be executed, queries available resources of the second to N-th mobile devices to the server device, receives identifications (IDs) of collaborative mobile devices, divides the task into first to M-th sub tasks, assigns each of the first to M-th sub tasks to at least one of the collaborative mobile devices, requests executions of the first to M-th sub tasks to the collaborative mobile devices, paragraphs 5, 38 and 41].
As to claim 9, Pistoia teaches the invention as claimed including further comprising at least one of: establishing a connection with the at least one other device in response to a notification from the at least one other device; or receiving a request message from the at least one other device and establishing communication with the at least one other device, wherein the notification or the request message is configured to represent that the at least one other device is equipped with a capability to at least partially process the to-be-processed task [receives resource information such as identifications (IDs) of collaborative mobile devices, divides the task into first to M-th sub tasks, assigns each of the first to M-th sub tasks to at least one of the collaborative mobile devices, requests executions of the first to M-th sub tasks to the collaborative mobile devices via direct communication, paragraphs 5, 27,38, 41, 61 and 64; Fig. 7 and corresponding text].
As to claim 10, Pistoia teaches the invention as claimed including further comprising: responding to an available resource request from the at least one other device; and obtaining available resource information of the device and returning the available resource information to the at least one other device, wherein the available resource information includes a resource provision capability of the device [receives resource information such as identifications (IDs) of collaborative mobile devices, divides the task into first to M-th sub tasks, assigns each of the first to M-th sub tasks to at least one of the collaborative mobile devices, requests executions of the first to M-th sub tasks to the collaborative mobile devices via direct communication, paragraphs 5, 38, 41, 61 and 64; Fig. 7 and corresponding text; target mobile device being a role such that any of the mobile devices of the mobile ad-hoc peer to peer wireless network can at some point be a target mobile device, paragraphs 34-35].
As to claim 11, Pistoia teaches the invention as claimed including, further comprising: providing available resource information of the at least one of the device or the at least one other device under at least one of a plurality of conditions, wherein the available resource information includes at least one of a resource provision capability of the device or a resource provision capability of the at least one other device, the conditions including: in response to initiating a new device notification; or in response to a time period since a previous provision of the available resource information being a preset time period; or in response to detecting that the available resource information is out of a preset range [insufficient resource or inefficiency in carrying out a task (i.e. not meeting a threshold/range) triggers exchange of resource information with neighboring mobile devices, paragraph 34; paragraphs 60-61].
As to claim 12, Pistoia teaches the invention as claimed including, further comprising: receiving a task processing request sent by the at least one other device; and performing a task sent by the at least one other device [receives resource information such as identifications (IDs) of collaborative mobile devices, divides the task into first to M-th sub tasks, assigns each of the first to M-th sub tasks to at least one of the collaborative mobile devices, requests executions of the first to M-th sub tasks to the collaborative mobile devices via direct communication, paragraphs 5, 38, 41, 61 and 64; Fig. 7 and corresponding text; target mobile device being a role such that any of the mobile devices of the mobile ad-hoc peer to peer wireless network can at some point be a target mobile device, paragraphs 34-35].
As to claim 13, Pistoia teaches the invention as claimed including wherein a priority of the at least one other device is not higher than a priority of the device, and wherein the method further comprises: determining the priority according to a frequency of use and/or a time period of use of the device [processor usage ratio (i.e. frequency as well as time/amount of usage changes the ratio of usage) determines whether neighboring device(s) is/are ranked “better” for task offloading/collaborating in execution, paragraphs 34 and 60-61].
As to claim 14, Pistoia teaches the invention as claimed including wherein the available resource includes a capability of the available resource, the capability of the available resource includes at least one of a resource provision capability of the device that satisfies a resource availability state or a resource provision capability of the at least one other device that satisfies the resource availability state, and the resource provision capability includes at least one of a computing power available for provision, a processor power or a storage capacity [determining whether the type of resources and statuses of the resources of neighboring mobile devices in meeting predetermined criteria/values of the task of target mobile device, resources for provisioning/sharing includes processing capacity/power, paragraphs 57-61].
As to claims 15-19, Pistoia teaches the method for processing a task in claims 1-5, therefore Pistoia teaches the device for implementing the method. Furthermore, Pistoia teaches a processor and memory [paragraph 74].
As to claim 20, Pistoia teaches the method for processing a task in claim 1, therefore Pistoia teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon which, when executed by a processor, is configured to implement the method.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent 10,218,777 teaches collaboratively executing task using available shared resources of mobile devices in a mobile ad-hoc peer to peer wireless network.
/QING YUAN WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199