Allowable Subject Matter
Prosecution on the merits of this application is reopened on claims 1-7 and 9-20 considered unpatentable for the reasons indicated below: Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 05/04/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by TSAI et al. (US 20230324656 A1, hereinafter “TSAI”).
Regarding claim 1, TSAI teaches an electronic device (as illustrated by Figs. 16-17, [0094]: an imaging lens module) comprising: at least one lens;
an image sensor (IS) aligned along an optical axis from the at least one lens (as illustrated by Figs. 16-17, [0094]-[0095]: an imaging lens module 1b includes an optical element holder 10b, a lens assembly 20b, an image surface IMG);
and an optical member comprising a prism and/or a mirror disposed between the at least one lens and the image sensor on the optical axis (as illustrated by Figs. 16-17, [0094]-[0095]: the imaging lens module 1b includes an optical element holder 10b, a lens assembly 20b, an image surface IMG and a light folding component 30b),
wherein the optical member (as illustrated by Figs. 21-24, [0103]: light folding component 30b) includes:
a first optical member including a first surface on which light passing through the at least one lens is configured to be incident, a second surface inclined with respect to the first surface, and a third surface inclined with respect to the first surface and the second surface (as illustrated by Figs. 17-24, [0103]: the light folding component 30b is a combination of two prisms PM; wherein right prism includes first to third surfaces);
and a second optical member including a fourth surface through which light is configured to exit, a fifth surface inclined with respect to the fourth surface, and a sixth surface inclined with respect to the fourth surface and the fifth surface (as illustrated by Figs. 17-24, [0103]: the light folding component 30b is a combination of two prisms PM; wherein right prism includes fourth to sixth surfaces),
and wherein the third surface and the sixth surface are directly coupled together (as illustrated by Figs. 21-24, [0103]: the light folding component 30b is a combination of two prisms PM cemented together).
Regarding claim 2, TSAI teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition TSAI discloses in addition TSAI discloses wherein the optical member includes at least one of a prism, a mirror reflecting light, and/or an aperture (as illustrated by Fig. 21-24, [0103]: the two cemented prisms PM).
Regarding claim 3, TSAI teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition TSAI discloses wherein each of the first optical member and the second optical member has an obtuse triangular prism shape in cross section (as illustrated by Figs. 21-24: the shape of the two cemented prisms PM have “an obtuse triangular prism shape in cross section”).
Regarding claim 4, TSAI teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition TSAI discloses wherein the first optical member and the second optical member have substantially the same shape (as illustrated by Fig. 21-24: angles between surfaces of the two cemented prisms PM).
Regarding claim 5, TSAI teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition TSAI discloses wherein an angle between the first surface and the second surface of the first optical member and an angle between the first surface and the third surface are different from each other (as illustrated by Figs. 21-24: the shape of the two cemented prisms PM have “an obtuse triangular prism shape in cross section”).
Regarding claim 11, TSAI teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition TSAI discloses wherein the first optical member (PM) includes a cutting plane formed between two different surfaces among the first surface, the second surface, and the third surface (as illustrated by Figs 21-24: a flat cutting plane between two surfaces of the prism PM).
Regarding claim 13, TSAI teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition TSAI discloses further comprising a blocking film provided along an edge of at least one of the third surface of the first optical member or the sixth surface of the second optical member (as illustrated by Fig. 21-24, [0102]: the light folding component 30b is a combination of two prisms PM further includes a plurality of light shielding layers 36b).
Regarding claim 14, TSAI teaches the electronic device of claim 13, in addition TSAI discloses wherein the blocking film includes irregularities in at least one of four sides of the blocking film (as illustrated by Fig. 21-24, [0103]: the annular light shielding layer 36b has a convex-concave structure VCS, such that the annular light shielding layer 36b has an undulating shape.).
Regarding claim 15, TSAI teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition TSAI discloses wherein the at least one lens, the image sensor, and the optical member comprise a folded optical system (as illustrated by Fig. 19-24, [0095]-[0097]: a lens assembly 20b, an image surface IMG, a light folding component 30b).
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with TSAI further teaching on: the first optical member having a triangular column shape and the second optical member having a triangular column shape (as illustrated by Figs. 21-24: the triangular shape of the two cemented prisms PM).
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 has been analyzed with regard to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 has been analyzed with regard to claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 has been analyzed with regard to claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI et al. (US 20230324656 A1, hereinafter “TSAI”), in view of case Law In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, TSAI teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition TSAI discloses wherein an angle between the first surface and the second surface of the first optical member as illustrated by Figs. 21-24). In addition, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discover the range “between 25° and 35°”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 7, TSAI teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition TSAI discloses wherein an angle between the first surface and the third surface of the first optical member as illustrated by Figs. 21-24). In addition, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to discover the range “between 25° and 50°”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 has been analyzed with regard to claims 6-7 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Claims 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSAI et al. (US 20230324656 A1, hereinafter “TSAI”), in view of Feldman et al. (US 20220163706 A1, hereinafter “Feldman”).
Regarding claim 9, TSAI teaches the electronic device of claim 1, in addition TSAI discloses wherein the second surface of the first optical member and the fifth surface of the second optical member include a as illustrated by Figs. 17-24: the reflection surfaces of the Two PM).
TSAI does not teach the coating layer is a mirror.
However, Feldman discloses wherein the surface of the optical member include a mirror coating layer (Figs. 7, [0056]: high reflective (HR) or mirror coating may be applied to one or more surfaces of a single element light folding prism. For instance, HR coatings 745 and 725 may be applied to surfaces S2 and S4, respectively) of prism 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the second surface of the first optical member and the fifth surface of the second optical member include a mirror coating layer as taught by Feldman into TSAI optical system. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to enhance the prisms light folding abilities (Feldman: [0054]).
Regarding claim 10, TSAI teaches the electronic device of claim 1, except wherein the first surface of the first optical member and the fourth surface of the second optical member include an AR coating layer.
However, Feldman discloses wherein the first surface of the first optical member and the fourth surface of the second optical member include an AR coating layer (Figs. 7, [0054]-[0055]: anti-reflective (AR) coatings, such as bottom AR coating 740 and top AR coating 750 may be applied to one or more surfaces of the prism 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the first surface of the first optical member and the fourth surface of the second optical member include an AR coating layer as taught by Feldman into TSAI optical system. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to enhance the prisms light folding abilities (Feldman: [0054]).
Regarding claim 12, TSAI teaches the electronic device of claim 1, except wherein the first optical member includes a first notch at a position where the second surface and the third surface meet, and a first light opaque material is disposed in the first notch, and wherein the second optical member includes a second notch at a position where the fifth surface and the sixth surface meet, and a second light opaque material is disposed in the second notch.
However, Feldman discloses wherein the optical members includes a notch at a position where the surfaces meet, and a light opaque material is disposed in the notch (Figs. 7, [0051]-[0055]: aperture masks may be created by first cutting or cutting, etching and/or carving notches channels, through vias and/or cuts into and/or through the rectangular prism and applying masking or other coatings to one or more inner surfaces of the channels, notches, though vias and/or other cuts.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the first optical member includes a first notch at a position where the second surface and the third surface meet, and a first light opaque material is disposed in the first notch, and wherein the second optical member includes a second notch at a position where the fifth surface and the sixth surface meet, and a second light opaque material is disposed in the second notch as taught by Feldman into TSAI optical system. The suggestion/ motivation for doing so would be to create an aperture mask and enhance the prisms light folding abilities (Feldman: [0054]).
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 05/04/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/ABDELAAZIZ TISSIRE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638