DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/5/2024 and 1/17/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majjiga et al (US20250008313A1, hereinafter Majjiga), and in view of 3GPP TR 23.700-41 (3GPP TR 23.700-41 V18.0.0, hereinafter TR23.700).
For claim 1, Majjiga teaches a method for an application function comprising ([Para. 0017], The disclosed methods provide mechanisms for differentiating network traffic originating from multiple user profiles within the same application. [Para. 0028 and 0035], the slice profile engine 200 can be hosted by application server for management of a slice profile for PDU sessions [Examiner’s Note: Engine 200 is the application function]): providing first application flows related to a first application instance via a first device profile ([Para. 0038], the application can have a set of user profiles associated therewith. A user can have a work profile/account and personal profile/account for an application. [Para. 0039] and [FIG. 3], Step 304, engine 200 can determine the user profile logged into the account, identifying the user profile currently active in the application instance/session. [Para. 0042], In Step 308, engine 200 can determine a slice profile for a PDU session for the application via the specific user profile. [Para. 0045], in Step 312, the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. [Para. 0009], A network slice includes network resources allocated to deliver the desired quality of service (QOS) associated with the slice. [Para. 0051 and 0052], PDU session is established for the application instance via profile 1 [Examiner’s Note: The logged in user profile or account is associated with the application instance. Application session is application instance as indicated. Profile 1 is the first device profile]), wherein the first device profile corresponds to a first network slice ([Para. 0046], UE 102 includes user application (“app”) 402, for which two (2) user profiles for a user exist (profile 1 and profile 2). [Para. 0051] and [FIG. 3], profile 1 on user app 402 can be logged in/active. The information related to profile 1 and the user app 402 can be identified and sent to RSRP table. The profile and app information can be utilized (by USRP table) to identify the network slice profile for profile 1), identifying that a quality of service (QoS) required for the first application flows is not met by the first device profile ([Para. 0051 and 0052], PDU session is established for the application instance via profile 1 . [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. Network traffic for the PDU session can be routed via the network slice. [Para. 0014], a network slice profile can include information of QoS and resource allocation. [Para. 0015], QoS information defines QoS requirements for the slice. [Para. 0017], The user's work profile can therefore be configured to provide additional capabilities (e.g., latency) in order to support advanced features of the application [Examiner’s Note: profile 2 is the work profile. The slice with work profile provides better QoS]. [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 (as identified from USRP table 406) can be established in a similar manner [Examiner’s Note: That the user should switch from profile 1 to profile 2 and profile 2 provides better QoS indicates that the required QoS for traffic already in PDU with profile 1 is not met]), in response to identifying that the QoS required for the first application flows is not met, selecting a second device profile corresponding to a second network slice based on (i) a capability of the second device profile to provide the QoS required for the first application flows and (ii) a presence of a second application instance corresponding to the first application instance ([Para. 0046], UE 102 includes user application (“app”) 402, for which two (2) user profiles for a user exist (profile 1 and profile 2—a personal profile and a work profile). [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 (as identified from USRP table) can be established in a similar manner. Only the profile and slice mapping are changing, but not the application. [Para. 0039] and [FIG. 3], Step 304, engine 200 can determine the user profile logged into the account, identifying the user profile currently active in the application instance/session. [Para. 0045], Step 312, the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile [Examiner’s Note: That a PDU session is established for an application instance indicates that the application instance is present before the PDU is established for it. Traffic switches from the PDU of profile 1 to the PDU of profile 2 after the PDU of profile 2 is established. According to paragraphs 0039 for step 304 and 0045 for step 312, profile 2 is in the application instance for profile 2 before a PDU session is established for profile 2 via the slice obtained via profile 2]. [Para. 0014], a network slice profile can include information of QoS and resource allocation. [Para. 0015], QoS information defines QoS requirements for the slice. [Para. 0017], the user's work profile can therefore be configured to provide additional capabilities (e.g., latency) in order to support advanced features of the application) [Examiner’s Note: That the user should switch from profile 1 to profile 2 and profile 2 provides better QoS indicates that selection of profile 2 is based on the capability of profile 2 for better QoS provision by the work profile than personal profile]), and migrating at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile ([Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner. Only the profile and slice mapping are changing, but not the application. [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. Network traffic for the PDU session can be routed via the network slice).
Although Majjiga teaching identifying that required QoS for traffic in application instance with personal profile is not met and switching to work profile based on the better QoS provisioned by work profile, TR23.700 more specifically teaches identifying that a quality of service (QoS) required for the first application flows is not met by the first device profile; and migrating at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile.
TR23.700 teaches identifying that a quality of service (QoS) required for the first application flows is not met by the first device profile ([Page 131], Solution #40: S-NSSAI change decided by PCF [Examiner’ Note: Single-Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (S-NSSAI) corresponds to network slice]. [Page 132-133], Scenario 1c): network performance of the network slice cannot meet the service level agreement (SLA). 1c. From application function (AF) to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed, e.g. because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested), and migrating at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile ([Page 132-133], 1c. From AF to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed, e.g. because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested. 3. The PCF determines the new S-NSSAI of the PDU session. 7b.the UE initiate the PDU Session Establishment procedure. [Page 161], c) 700 [Page 161], c) For an existing PDU Session transfer from the old S-NSSAI to an alternative S-NSSAI, the UE triggers a new PDU Session Establishment procedure to establish a PDU Session for the alternative S NSSAI).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Majjiga, so that traffic in PDU with the current slice migrates to PDU with an alternative slice, as taught by TR23.700. The modification would have ensured service continuity when the resource of the current slice becomes congested (TR23.700 [Page 132-133]).
For claim 2, Majjiga and TR23.700 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein all of the first application flows are migrated from the first device profile to the second device profile (Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner. TR23.700 [Page 132-133], Scenario 1c): network performance of the network slice cannot meet SLA. 1c. From application function (AF) to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed, e.g. because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested. The PCF determines the new S-NSSAI of the PDU session. 7b.the UE initiate the PDU Session Establishment procedure. TR23.700 [Page 161], c) For an existing PDU Session transfer from the old S-NSSAI to an alternative S-NSSAI, the UE triggers a new PDU Session Establishment procedure to establish a PDU Session for the alternative S NSSAI. TR23.700 [Page 111, first paragraph], the SMF uses existing session management procedures with extensions to notify the UE to initiate a new PDU session towards the target slice and to tear down the old PDU sessions on the source slice [Examiner’s Note: Tearing down the old PDU session indicates all traffic is migrated to the new target slice]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Majjiga, so that traffic in PDU with the current slice migrates to PDU with an alternative slice, as taught by TR23.700. The modification would have ensured service continuity when the resource of the current slice becomes congested (TR23.700 [Page 132-133]).
For claim 3, Majjiga and TR23.700 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein at least a second of the first application flows are provided using the first device profile (Majjiga [Para. 0017], a framework for differentiating network traffic originating from multiple user profiles within the same application. An application (BlueJeans™) can enable a user to engage in video conferencing sessions via their work account and personal account. The user's work account can therefore be configured to provide additional capabilities (e.g., latency) in order to support advanced features of the video conferencing associated with the BlueJeans™ application. Majjiga [Para. 0051 and 0052], PDU is established for slice for application instance for profile 1, the personal profile. Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2, the work profile, can be identified and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with the work profile can be established in a similar manner [Examiner’s Note: A user has a personal profile and work profile for two application sessions of the application. The work profile supports advanced features of the application and the personal profile the other features. That user establishes two PDU sessions for the two application after profile switch indicates that the traffic for advanced feature is in the application session for work profile and the rest traffic remains in the application session for personal profile]).
For claim 4, Majjiga and TR23.700 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach further comprising: receiving first information related to the first device profile (Majjiga [Para. 0039, 0041-0043, 0045, 0051-0052], User profile 1 logged in, engine 200 identifies the user profile information and determines slice profile via the user profile), and receiving second information related to the second device profile (Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner), wherein the first information includes information related to the first application instance present in the first device profile and capabilities of the first application instance present in the first device profile (Majjiga [Para. 0039], engine 200 can determine the user profile logged into the account, identifying the user profile currently active in the application instance/session. Majjiga [Para. 0040 and 0041], engine 200 can identify the user profile information and information related to the application session. Majjiga [Para. 0051 and 0052], Profile 1 logged in. PDU session is established for the application instance via profile 1 [Examiner’s Note: The engine receives information related to the application instance in profile 1]. Majjiga [Para. 0042], engine 200 can determine a slice profile for a PDU session for the application via the specific user profile. Step 308 can involve engine 200 compiling the user profile information as a query to USRP table. Majjiga [Para. 0043], the USRP table can be mined to locate a specific slice profile/ID for the specific application session. For example, if the application session involves the user's work account, then a slice profile for an enterprise session can be identified from the USRP table. Majjiga [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile to route traffic corresponding to the slice profile. Majjiga [Para. 0009], A network slice includes network resources allocated to deliver the desired quality of service (QOS) associated with the slice. Majjiga [Para. 0017], the user's work profile can therefore be configured to provide additional capabilities (e.g., latency) [Examiner’s Note: Slice profile is related to the capabilities of the application instance of profile 1]), wherein the second information includes information related to the second application instance present in the second device profile and capabilities of the second application instance present in the second device profile (Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner [Examiner’s Note: The engine receives the second information for profile 2 in a similar manner]), and wherein migrating the at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile comprises migrating the at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile that is providing at least a portion of second application flows corresponding to the second application instance provided via the second network slice (TR23.700 [Page 132-133], Scenario 1c): network performance of the network slice cannot meet SLA. 1c. From application function (AF) to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested. The PCF determines the new S-NSSAI of the PDU session. 7b.the UE initiate the PDU Session Establishment procedure. TR23.700 [Page 161], c) For an existing PDU Session transfer from the old S-NSSAI to an alternative S-NSSAI, the UE triggers a new PDU Session Establishment procedure to establish a PDU Session for the alternative S NSSAI. [Examiner’s Note: The first application flows are provided as the second application flows after migration]. Majjiga [Para. 0009], A network slice includes network resources allocated to deliver the desired quality of service (QOS) associated with the slice. Majjiga [Para. 0014], a network slice profile can include information QoS and resource allocation. [Para. 0015], QoS information defines QoS requirements for the slice. Majjiga [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. Network traffic for the PDU session can be routed via the network slice. Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner [Examiner’s Note: Traffic migrated from profile 1 to profile 2 is provided with QoS of application instance of profile 2]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Majjiga, so that traffic in PDU with the current slice migrates to PDU with an alternative slice, as taught by TR23.700. The modification would have ensured service continuity when the resource of the current slice becomes congested (TR23.700 [Page 132-133]).
For claim 5, Majjiga and TR23.700 teach the method of claim 1. The references further teach wherein migrating the at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile comprises: invoking the second application instance in the second device profile (Majjiga [Para. 0039], engine 200 can determine the user profile (e.g., current user profile or account) logged into the account. This can involve identifying the user profile currently active in the application instance/session [Examiner’s Note: Logging into the account the user profile in an application instance indicates invoking an application instance in the user profile]. Majjiga [Para. 0051 and 0052], profile Profile 1 logged in. PDU session is established for the application instance via profile 1. Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner [Examiner’s Note: The application instance in profile 2 is invoked similarly to profile 1]), and providing second application flows corresponding to the second application instance via the second network slice (TR23.700 [Page 132-133], Scenario 1c): network performance of the network slice cannot meet SLA. 1c. From application function (AF) to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested. The PCF determines the new S-NSSAI of the PDU session. 7b.the UE initiate the PDU Session Establishment procedure. TR23.700 [Page 161], c) For an existing PDU Session transfer from the old S-NSSAI to an alternative S-NSSAI, the UE triggers a new PDU Session Establishment procedure to establish a PDU Session for the alternative S NSSAI. [Examiner’s Note: The first application flows are provided as the second application flows after migration]. Majjiga [Para. 0009], A network slice includes network resources allocated to deliver the desired quality of service (QOS) associated with the slice. Majjiga [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. Network traffic for the PDU session can be routed via the network slice. Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner [Examiner’s Note: Traffic migrated from profile 1 to profile 2 is provided with QoS of application instance of profile 2]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Majjiga, so that traffic in PDU with the current slice migrates to PDU with an alternative slice, as taught by TR23.700. The modification would have ensured service continuity when the resource of the current slice becomes congested (TR23.700 [Page 132-133]).
For claim 8, Majjiga teaches an application function ([Para. 0028 and 0035], the slice profile engine 200 can be hosted by application server for management of a slice profile for PDU sessions [Examiner’s Note: Engine 200 is the application function]) comprising: a transceiver ([Para. 0055] and [FIG. 5], FIG. 5 is a server device. Network interfaces 550), and a processor ([FIG. 5], CPU 522) configured to: provide first application flows related to a first application instance via a first device profile ([Para. 0038], the application can have a set of user profiles associated therewith. A user can have a work profile/account and personal profile/account for an application. [Para. 0039] and [FIG. 3], Step 304, engine 200 can determine the user profile logged into the account, identifying the user profile currently active in the application instance/session. [Para. 0042], In Step 308, engine 200 can determine a slice profile for a PDU session for the application via the specific user profile. [Para. 0045], in Step 312, the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. [Para. 0009], A network slice includes network resources allocated to deliver the desired quality of service (QOS) associated with the slice. [Para. 0051 and 0052], PDU session is established for the application instance via profile 1 [Examiner’s Note: The logged in user profile or account is associated with the application instance. Application session is application instance as indicated. Profile 1 is the first device profile]), wherein the first device profile corresponds to a first network slice ([Para. 0046], UE 102 includes user application (“app”) 402, for which two (2) user profiles for a user exist (profile 1 and profile 2). [Para. 0051] and [FIG. 3], profile 1 on user app 402 can be logged in/active. The information related to profile 1 and the user app 402 can be identified and sent to RSRP table. The profile and app information can be utilized (by USRP table) to identify or extract the network slice profile for profile 1 and app 402), identify that a quality of service (QoS) required for the first application flows is not met by the first device profile ([Para. 0051 and 0052], PDU session is established for the application instance via profile 1 . [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. Network traffic for the PDU session can be routed via the network slice. [Para. 0014], a network slice profile can include information of QoS and resource allocation. [Para. 0015], QoS information defines QoS requirements for the slice. [Para. 0017], The user's work profile can therefore be configured to provide additional capabilities (e.g., latency) in order to support advanced features of the application [Examiner’s Note: profile 2 is the work profile. The slice with work profile provides better QoS]. [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 (as identified from USRP table 406) can be established in a similar manner [Examiner’s Note: That the user should switch from profile 1 to profile 2 and profile 2 provides better QoS indicates that the required QoS for traffic already in PDU with profile 1 is not met]), in response to identifying that the QoS required for the first application flows is not met, select a second device profile corresponding to a second network slice based on (i) a capability of the second device profile to provide the QoS required for the first application flows and (ii) a presence of a second application instance corresponding to the first application instance ([Para. 0046], UE 102 includes user application (“app”) 402, for which two (2) user profiles for a user exist (profile 1 and profile 2—a personal profile and a work profile). [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 (as identified from USRP table) can be established in a similar manner. Only the profile and slice mapping are changing, but not the application. [Para. 0039] and [FIG. 3], Step 304, engine 200 can determine the user profile logged into the account, identifying the user profile currently active in the application instance/session. [Para. 0045], Step 312, the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile [Examiner’s Note: That a PDU session is established for an application instance indicates that the application instance is present before the PDU is established for it. Traffic switches from the PDU of profile 1 to the PDU of profile 2 after the PDU of profile 2 is established. According to paragraphs 0039 for step 304 and 0045 for step 312, profile 2 is in the application instance for profile 2 before a PDU session is established for profile 2 via the slice obtained via profile 2]. [Para. 0014], a network slice profile can include information of QoS and resource allocation. [Para. 0015], QoS information defines QoS requirements for the slice. [Para. 0017], the user's work profile can therefore be configured to provide additional capabilities (e.g., latency) in order to support advanced features of the application) [Examiner’s Note: That the user should switch from profile 1 to profile 2 and profile 2 provides better QoS indicates that selection of profile 2 is based on the capability of profile 2 for better QoS provision by the work profile than personal profile]), and migrate at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile ([Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner. Only the profile and slice mapping are changing, but not the application. [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. Network traffic for the PDU session can be routed via the network slice).
Although Majjiga teaching identifying that required QoS for traffic in application instance with personal profile is not met and switching to work profile based on the better QoS provisioned by work profile, TR23.700 more specifically teaches identify that a quality of service (QoS) required for the first application flows is not met by the first device profile; and migrate at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile.
TR23.700 teaches identify that a quality of service (QoS) required for the first application flows is not met by the first device profile ([Page 132-133], Scenario 1c): network performance of the network slice cannot meet SLA. 1c. From application function (AF) to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed, e.g. because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested), and migrate at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile ([Page 132-133], 1c. From AF to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed, e.g. because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested. 3. The PCF determines the new S-NSSAI of the PDU session. 7b.the UE initiate the PDU Session Establishment procedure. [Page 161], c) 700 [Page 161], c) For an existing PDU Session transfer from the old S-NSSAI to an alternative S-NSSAI, the UE triggers a new PDU Session Establishment procedure to establish a PDU Session for the alternative S NSSAI).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Majjiga, so that traffic in PDU with the current slice migrates to PDU with an alternative slice, as taught by TR23.700. The modification would have ensured service continuity when the resource of the current slice becomes congested (TR23.700 [Page 132-133]).
Claims 9-12 are apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 2-5. Therefore, claims 9-12 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 2-5.
Claims 6-7 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majjiga et al (US20250008313A1, hereinafter Majjiga), and in view of 3GPP TR 23.700-41 (3GPP TR 23.700-41 V18.0.0, hereinafter TR23.700), and further in view of TS 123 503 (TS 123 503 V17.7.0, hereinafter TS23.503).
For claim 6, Majjiga and TR23.700 teach the method of claim 5. The references further teach further comprising: determining whether the second application flows provided via the second network slice meet a QoS required for the second application flows (Majjiga [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner. TR23.700 [Page 132-133], Scenario 1c): network performance of the network slice cannot meet SLA. 1c. From application function (AF) to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested. 3. The PCF determines the new S-NSSAI of the PDU session [Examiner’s Note: Determination of QoS performance of a network slice does not depend upon the previous migration]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Majjiga, so that AF determines that the current slice is congested to provide required QoS, as taught by TR23.700. The modification would have ensured service continuity when the resource of the current slice becomes congested (TR23.700 [Page 132-133]).
Although teaching determining QoS provided by the current slice not meeting requirement, Majjiga and TR23.700 do not explicitly disclose and in response to determining that the second application flows provided via the second network slice does not meet the QoS required for the second application flows, selecting a third network slice based on a slice preference order, wherein the slice preference order identifies a list of slices in an order of preference.
TS23.503 teaches and in response to determining that the second application flows provided via the second network slice does not meet the QoS required for the second application flows, selecting a third network slice based on a slice preference order (TR23.700 [Page 132-133], Scenario 1c): network performance of the network slice cannot meet SLA. 1c and 2c. AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested. AF sends request to the PCF. 3. The PCF determines the new S-NSSAI of the PDU session. TR23.700 [Page 161], c) For an existing PDU Session transfer from the old S-NSSAI to an alternative S-NSSAI, the UE triggers a new PDU Session Establishment procedure to establish a PDU Session for the alternative S NSSAI. TS23.503 [Page 126], Table 6.6.2.1-2: UE Route Selection Policy Rule. Rule Precedence Determines the order the URSP rule is enforced in the UE. TS23.503 [Page 130-131], 6.6.2.3 UE procedure for associating applications to PDU Sessions based on URSP. The UE evaluates the URSP rules in the order of Rule Precedence and determines if the application is matching the Traffic descriptor of any URSP rule. When a URSP rule is determined to be applicable for a given applicable, the UE shall select a Route Selection Descriptor within this URSP rule in the order of the Route Selection Descriptor Precedence. If none of the existing PDU Sessions matches, the UE tries to establish a new PDU Session. The UE receives the updated URSP rules when certain conditions are met, for example: the URSP is updated by the PCF), wherein the slice preference order identifies a list of slices in an order of preference (TS23.503 [Page 126], Table 6.6.2.1-2: UE Route Selection Policy Rule. Rule Precedence Determines the order the URSP rule is enforced in the UE. TS23.503 [Page 130-131], 6.6.2.3 UE procedure for associating applications to PDU Sessions based on URSP. The UE evaluates the URSP rules in the order of Rule Precedence and determines if the application is matching the Traffic descriptor of any URSP rule. When a URSP rule is determined to be applicable for a given applicable, the UE shall select a Route Selection Descriptor within this URSP rule in the order of the Route Selection Descriptor Precedence. TR23.700 [Page 130], Figure 6.39.1-1 shows the example of the list of URSP rules corresponding to the slices by the order of precedence).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Majjiga and TR23.700, so that slice change is based on the preference value of the slices, as taught by TS23.503. The modification would have implemented policy and charging control framework for the 5G System in as specified in 3GPP (TS23.503 [Page 8]).
For claim 7, Majjiga and TR23.700 and TS23.503 teach the method of claim 6. The references further teach further comprising: migrating at least one of the second application flows to the third network slice (Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established. Majjiga [Para. 0038], the application can have a set of user profiles associated therewith. For example, a user can have social profiles, work profiles, personal profiles, family profiles, and the like. TR23.700 [Page 132-133], Scenario 1c): network performance of the network slice cannot meet SLA. 1c. 1c. From AF to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed, e.g. because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested. 3. The PCF determines the new S-NSSAI of the PDU session. 7b.the UE initiate the PDU Session Establishment procedure. TR23.700 [Page 161], c) 700 [Page 161], c) For an existing PDU Session transfer from the old S-NSSAI to an alternative S-NSSAI, the UE triggers a new PDU Session Establishment procedure to establish a PDU Session for the alternative S NSSAI).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Majjiga, so that traffic in PDU with the current slice migrates to PDU with an alternative slice, as taught by TR23.700. The modification would have ensured service continuity when the resource of the current slice becomes congested (TR23.700 [Page 132-133]).
Claims 13-14 apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 6-7. Therefore, claims 13-14 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 6-7.
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majjiga et al (US20250008313A1, hereinafter Majjiga), and in view of Gupta et al. (US20230269136A1, hereinafter Gupta) and 3GPP TR 23.700-41 (3GPP TR 23.700-41 V18.0.0, hereinafter TR23.700).
For claim 15, Majjiga teaches a user equipment ([Para. 0020] and [FIG. 5], UE provided in FIG. 5) comprising: a transceiver ([FIG. 5], Network interfaces 550); and a processor ([FIG. 5], CPU 522) configured to: provide first application flows related to a first application instance via a first device profile ([Para. 0038], the application can have a set of user profiles associated therewith. A user can have a work profile/account and personal profile/account for an application. [Para. 0039] and [FIG. 3], Step 304, engine 200 can determine the user profile logged into the account, identifying the user profile currently active in the application instance/session. [Para. 0042], In Step 308, engine 200 can determine a slice profile for a PDU session for the application via the specific user profile. [Para. 0045], in Step 312, the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. [Para. 0009], A network slice includes network resources allocated to deliver the desired quality of service (QOS) associated with the slice. [Para. 0051 and 0052], PDU session is established for the application instance via profile 1 [Examiner’s Note: The logged in user profile or account is associated with the application instance. Application session is application instance as indicated. Profile 1 is the first device profile. UE provides QoS through the PDU session]), wherein the first device profile corresponds to a first network slice ([Para. 0046], UE 102 includes user application (“app”) 402, for which two (2) user profiles for a user exist (profile 1 and profile 2). [Para. 0051] and [FIG. 3], profile 1 on user app 402 can be logged in/active. The information related to profile 1 and the user app 402 can be identified and sent to RSRP table. The profile and app information can be utilized (by USRP table) to identify or extract the network slice profile for profile 1 and app 402), identify that a quality of service (QoS) required for the first application flows is not met by the first device profile ([Para. 0051 and 0052], PDU session is established for the application instance via profile 1 according to steps 302-312 in FIG. 3. [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. Network traffic for the PDU session can be routed via the network slice that corresponds to the specifically leveraged slice profile. [Para. 0014], a network slice profile can include information of QoS and resource allocation. [Para. 0015], QoS information defines QoS requirements for the slice. [Para. 0017], The user's work profile can therefore be configured to provide additional capabilities (e.g., latency) in order to support advanced features of the application [Examiner’s Note: profile 2 is the work profile. The slice with work profile provides better QoS]. [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 (as identified from USRP table 406) can be established in a similar manner [Examiner’s Note: That the user should switch from profile 1 to profile 2 and profile 2 provides better QoS indicates that the required QoS for traffic already in PDU with profile 1 is not met]), in response to identifying that the QoS required for the first application flows is not met, select a second device profile corresponding to a second network slice based on (i) a capability of the second device profile to provide the QoS required for the first application flows and (ii) a presence of a second application instance corresponding to the first application instance ([Para. 0046], UE 102 includes user application (“app”) 402, for which two (2) user profiles for a user exist (profile 1 and profile 2—a personal profile and a work profile). [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 (as identified from USRP table) can be established in a similar manner. Only the profile and slice mapping are changing, but not the application. [Para. 0039] and [FIG. 3], Step 304, engine 200 can determine the user profile logged into the account, identifying the user profile currently active in the application instance/session. [Para. 0045], Step 312, the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile [Examiner’s Note: That a PDU session is established for an application instance indicates that the application instance is present before the PDU is established for it. Traffic switches from the PDU of profile 1 to the PDU of profile 2 after the PDU of profile 2 is established. According to paragraphs 0039 for step 304 and 0045 for step 312, profile 2 is in the application instance for profile 2 before a PDU session is established for profile 2 via the slice obtained via profile 2]. [Para. 0014], a network slice profile can include information of QoS and resource allocation. [Para. 0015], QoS information defines QoS requirements for the slice. [Para. 0017], the user's work profile can therefore be configured to provide additional capabilities (e.g., latency) in order to support advanced features of the application) [Examiner’s Note: That the user should switch from profile 1 to profile 2 and profile 2 provides better QoS indicates that selection of profile 2 is based on the capability of profile 2 for better QoS provision by the work profile than personal profile. The UE selects profile 2 by establishing PDU via profile 2]), and transmit a message to an application function to migrate at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile ([Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner. Only the profile and slice mapping are changing, but not the application. [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. Network traffic for the PDU session can be routed via the network slice).
Although Majjiga teaching UE identifying that required QoS for traffic in application instance with personal profile is not met and switching to work profile based on the better QoS provisioned by work profile, the reference does not explicitly disclose and transmit a message to an application function to migrate at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile.
Gupta is directed to providing systems and methods for user- and application-aware dynamic slicing. More specifically, Gupta teaches and transmit a message to an application function to migrate at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile ([Para. 0034], Core elements include PCF and other elements for supporting URSP. [Para. 0041-0044] and [FIG. 5], UE sends dynamic slice request to the network slice capability management (NSCM) server requesting specific QoS for the application. NSCM server requests core elements to push updated URSP rules to modem of UE device and sends to the UE the requested traffic descriptor value. Based on the traffic descriptor value, the UE applies the updated URSP rules to establish PDU connection for application using a slice to provide the requested QoS [Examiner’s Note: NSCM is the application function that receives slice request and communicates with PCF to update URSP rules. The dynamic slice request and updated URSP rules in UE modem indicates that the request is for another slice. Providing the requested QoS indicates that the application traffic uses the slice]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Majjiga, so that the UE transmits a message to the application function to establish a PDU for the requested slice for the application traffic to be provided the requested QoS, as taught by Gupta. The modification would have enabled enable user-aware and application-aware dynamic slicing for mobile networks (Gupta [Para. 0015]).
Although teaching the UE transmitting a message for slice migration, Majjiga and Gupta do not explicitly disclose and transmit a message to an application function to migrate at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile.
TR23.700 teaches and transmit a message to an application function to migrate at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile ([Page 132-133], Scenario 1c): network performance of the network slice cannot meet the service level agreement (SLA). 1c. From application function (AF) to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed, e.g. because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested.3. The PCF determines the new S-NSSAI of the PDU session. 7b.the UE initiate the PDU Session Establishment procedure. [Page 161], c) 700 [Page 161], c) For an existing PDU Session transfer from the old S-NSSAI to an alternative S-NSSAI, the UE triggers a new PDU Session Establishment procedure to establish a PDU Session for the alternative S-NSSAI).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Majjiga and Gupta, so that traffic in PDU with the current slice migrates to PDU with an alternative slice, as taught by TR23.700. The modification would have ensured service continuity when the resource of the current slice becomes congested (TR23.700 [Page 132-133])
For claim 16, Majjiga, Gupta and TR23.700 teach the user equipment of claim 15. The references further teach wherein all of the first application flows are migrated from the first device profile to the second device profile (Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner. TR23.700 [Page 132-133], Scenario 1c): network performance of the network slice cannot meet SLA. 1c. From application function (AF) to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed, e.g. because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested. The PCF determines the new S-NSSAI of the PDU session. 7b.the UE initiate the PDU Session Establishment procedure. TR23.700 [Page 161], c) For an existing PDU Session transfer from the old S-NSSAI to an alternative S-NSSAI, the UE triggers a new PDU Session Establishment procedure to establish a PDU Session for the alternative S-NSSAI. TR23.700 [Page 111, first paragraph], the SMF uses existing session management procedures with extensions to notify the UE to initiate a new PDU session towards the target slice and to tear down the old PDU sessions on the source slice).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Majjiga and Gupta, so that all traffic in PDU with the current slice migrates to PDU with an alternative slice, as taught by TR23.700. The modification would have ensured service continuity when the resource of the current slice becomes congested (TR23.700 [Page 132-133]).
For claim 17, Majjiga, Gupta and TR23.700 teach the method of claim 15. The references further teach wherein at least a second of the first application flows are provided using the first device profile (Majjiga [Para. 0017], a framework for differentiating network traffic originating from multiple user profiles within the same application. An application (BlueJeans™) can enable a user to engage in video conferencing sessions via their work account and personal account. The user's work account can therefore be configured to provide additional capabilities (e.g., latency) in order to support advanced features of the video conferencing associated with the BlueJeans™ application. Majjiga [Para. 0051 and 0052], PDU is established for slice for application instance for profile 1, the personal profile. Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2, the work profile, can be identified and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with the work profile can be established in a similar manner [Examiner’s Note: A user has a personal profile and work profile for two application sessions of the application. The work profile supports advanced features of the application and the personal profile the other features. That user establishes two PDU sessions for the two application after profile switch indicates that the traffic for advanced feature is in the application session for work profile and the rest traffic remains in the application session for personal profile]).
For claim 18, Majjiga, Gupta and TR23.700 teach the user equipment of claim 15. The references further teach wherein the processor is further configured to: identify first information related to the first device profile (Gupta [Para. 0041-0044], NSCM server sends to the UE the requested traffic descriptor value. Based on the traffic descriptor value, the UE applies the updated URSP rules to establish PDU connection for application using a slice to provide the requested QoS [Examiner’s Note: The traffic descriptor value is used to decide the slice for PDU session. The slice is the information]. Majjiga [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via specific slice profile. Majjiga [Para. 0052], UE 102 can then leverage the network slice profile specific to profile 1 to establish PDU session [Examiner’s Note: The UE establishes PDU for the application of profile 1 with the determined slice]), and identify second information related to the second device profile (Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner), wherein the first information includes information related to the first application instance present in the first device profile and capabilities of the first application instance present in the first device profile (Majjiga [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via specific slice profile. Majjiga [Para. 0051 and 0052], Profile 1 logged in. UE 102 can then leverage the network slice profile specific to profile 1 to establish PDU session [Examiner’s Note: The first information is related to the application instance for profile 1]. Gupta [Para. 0044], In response to the traffic descriptor value and based on the updated URSP rules, modem may set up a PDU session for application using a slice to provide the requested QoS [Examiner’s Note: The descriptor decides the slice and the slice corresponds the requested QoS by the UE. Therefore, the information includes capability of the application instance in the PDU]. Majjiga [Para. 0009], A network slice includes network resources allocated to deliver the desired quality of service (QOS) associated with the slice. Majjiga [Para. 0017], the user's work profile can therefore be configured to provide additional capabilities (e.g., latency) [Examiner’s Note: Slice profile is related to the capabilities of the application instance of profile 1]), wherein the second information includes information related to the second application instance present in the second device profile and capabilities of the second application instance present in the second device profile (Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Majjiga and TR23.700, so that the UE receives the traffic descriptor to decide the information for the application instance, as taught by Gupta. The modification would have enabled enable user-aware and application-aware dynamic slicing for mobile networks (Gupta [Para. 0015]).
The references further teach and wherein, to transmit a message to the application function to migrate the at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile, the processor is configured to, transmit a message to the application function to migrate the at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile that is providing at least a portion of second application flows corresponding to the second application instance provided via the second network slice (Gupta [Para. 0041-0044] and [FIG. 5], UE sends dynamic slice request to the network slice capability management (NSCM) server requesting specific QoS for the application. NSCM server requests core elements to push updated URSP rules to modem of UE device and sends to the UE the requested traffic descriptor value. Based on the traffic descriptor value, the UE applies the updated URSP rules to establish PDU connection for application using a slice to provide the requested QoS. TR23.700 [Page 132-133], Scenario 1c): network performance of the network slice cannot meet SLA. 1c. From application function (AF) to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested. The PCF determines the new S-NSSAI of the PDU session. 7b.the UE initiate the PDU Session Establishment procedure. TR23.700 [Page 161], c) For an existing PDU Session transfer from the old S-NSSAI to an alternative S-NSSAI, the UE triggers a new PDU Session Establishment procedure to establish a PDU Session for the alternative S NSSAI. [Examiner’s Note: The first application flows are provided as the second application flows after migration]. Majjiga [Para. 0009], A network slice includes network resources allocated to deliver the desired quality of service (QOS) associated with the slice. Majjiga [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. Network traffic for the PDU session can be routed via the network slice. [Para. 0051 and 0052], Profile 1 logged in. UE 102 can then leverage the network slice profile specific to profile 1 to establish PDU session. Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner [Examiner’s Note: Traffic migrated from profile 1 to profile 2 is provided with QoS of application instance of profile 2]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Majjiga and Gupta, so that traffic in PDU with the current slice migrates to PDU with an alternative slice, as taught by TR23.700. The modification would have ensured service continuity when the resource of the current slice becomes congested (TR23.700 [Page 132-133]).
For claim 19, Majjiga, Gupta and TR23.700 teach the user equipment of claim 15. The references further teach wherein, to transmit a message to the application function to migrate the at least one of the first application flows from the first device profile to the second device profile, the processor is configured to: transmit a message to the application function to invoke the second application instance in the second device profile (Gupta [Para. 0041-0044] and [FIG. 5], UE sends dynamic slice request to the network slice capability management (NSCM) server requesting specific QoS for the application. NSCM server requests core elements to push updated URSP rules to modem 330 of UE device and sends to the UE the requested traffic descriptor value. Based on the traffic descriptor value, the UE applies the updated URSP rules to establish PDU connection for application using a slice to provide the requested QoS [Examiner’s Note: The established PDU connection for the application is the application instance. The message from the UE to NSCM server is to create the PDU connection]. Majjiga [Para. 0039], engine 200 can determine the user profile (e.g., current user profile or account) logged into the account. This can involve identifying the user profile currently active in the application instance/session [Examiner’s Note: Logging into the account the user profile in an application instance indicates invoking an application instance in the user profile]. Majjiga [Para. 0051 and 0052], Profile 1 logged in. PDU session is established for the application instance via profile 1. Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner [Examiner’s Note: The created PDU connection is for the application instance in profile 2. The creation of PDU can be based on the teaching of Gupta invoked by the UE message]), and transmit a message to the application function to provide second application flows corresponding to the second application instance via the second network slice (Gupta [Para. 0041-0044], UE sends dynamic slice request to the network slice capability management (NSCM) server requesting specific QoS for the application. Based on the traffic descriptor value from NSCM server, the UE applies the updated URSP rules to establish PDU connection for application using a slice to provide the requested QoS. TR23.700 [Page 132-133], Scenario 1c): network performance of the network slice cannot meet SLA. 1c. From application function (AF) to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested. The PCF determines the new S-NSSAI of the PDU session. 7b.the UE initiate the PDU Session Establishment procedure. TR23.700 [Page 161], c) For an existing PDU Session transfer from the old S-NSSAI to an alternative S-NSSAI, the UE triggers a new PDU Session Establishment procedure to establish a PDU Session for the alternative S NSSAI [Examiner’s Note: The first application flows are provided as the second application flows after migration]. Majjiga [Para. 0009], A network slice includes network resources allocated to deliver the desired quality of service (QOS) associated with the slice. Majjiga [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. Network traffic for the PDU session can be routed via the network slice. Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner [Examiner’s Note: Traffic migrated from profile 1 to profile 2 is provided with QoS of application instance of profile 2]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Majjiga and Gupta, so that traffic in PDU with the current slice migrates to PDU with an alternative slice, as taught by TR23.700. The modification would have ensured service continuity when the resource of the current slice becomes congested (TR23.700 [Page 132-133])
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majjiga et al (US20250008313A1, hereinafter Majjiga), and in view of Gupta et al. (US20230269136A1, hereinafter Gupta) and 3GPP TR 23.700-41 (3GPP TR 23.700-41 V18.0.0, hereinafter TR23.700), and further in view of TS 123 503 (TS 123 503 V17.7.0, hereinafter TS23.503).
For claim 20, Majjiga, Gupta and TR23.700 teach the user equipment of claim 19. The references further teach wherein the processor is further configured to: determine whether the second application flows provided via the second network slice meet a QoS required for the second application flows (Majjiga [Para. 0045], the PDU session can be established for the application instance on the device via the specific slice profile. Majjiga [Para. 0053], should the user switch to profile 2, then the network slice profile for profile 2 can be identified, and a PDU session specific to a network slice profile associated with profile 2 can be established in a similar manner. TR23.700 [Page 132-133], Scenario 1c): network performance of the network slice cannot meet SLA. 1c. From application function (AF) to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested. 3. The PCF determines the new S-NSSAI of the PDU session [Examiner’s Note: Determination of QoS performance of a network slice does not depend upon the previous migration]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Majjiga and Gupta, so that AF is notified that the current slice is congested to provide required QoS, as taught by TR23.700. The modification would have ensured service continuity when the resource of the current slice becomes congested (TR23.700 [Page 132-133]).
Although teaching determining QoS provided by the current slice not meeting requirement, Majjiga, Gupta and TR23.700 do not explicitly disclose and in response to determining that the second application flows provided via the second network slice does not meet the QoS required for the second application flows, selecting a third network slice based on a slice preference order, wherein the slice preference order identifies a list of slices in an order of preference.
TS23.503 teaches and in response to determining that the second application flows provided via the second network slice does not meet the QoS required for the second application flows, selecting a third network slice based on a slice preference order (TR23.700 [Page 132-133], Scenario 1c): network performance of the network slice cannot meet SLA. 1c and 2c. From application function (AF) to PCF: AF is notified that the QoS performance of the UE is changed because the resource of the current S-NSSAI becomes congested. AF sends request to the PCF. 3. The PCF determines the new S-NSSAI of the PDU session. Gupta [0034], Core elements include PCF and other elements for supporting URSP. Gupta [0041-0044], UE sends dynamic slice request to NSCM server requesting specific QoS for the application. NSCM server requests core elements to push updated URSP rules to modem of UE device and sends to the UE the requested traffic descriptor value. Based on the traffic descriptor value, the UE applies the updated URSP rules to establish PDU connection for application using a slice to provide the requested QoS. TS23.503 [Page 126], Table 6.6.2.1-2: UE Route Selection Policy Rule. Rule Precedence Determines the order the URSP rule is enforced in the UE. TS23.503 [Page 130-131], 6.6.2.3 UE procedure for associating applications to PDU Sessions based on URSP. The UE evaluates the URSP rules in the order of Rule Precedence and determines if the application is matching the Traffic descriptor of any URSP rule. When a URSP rule is determined to be applicable for a given applicable, the UE shall select a Route Selection Descriptor within this URSP rule in the order of the Route Selection Descriptor Precedence. If none of the existing PDU Sessions matches, the UE tries to establish a new PDU Session. The UE receives the updated URSP rules when certain conditions are met, for example: the URSP is updated by the PCF) wherein the slice preference order identifies a list of slices in an order of preference (TS23.503 [Page 126], Table 6.6.2.1-2: UE Route Selection Policy Rule. Rule Precedence Determines the order the URSP rule is enforced in the UE. TS23.503 [Page 130-131], 6.6.2.3 UE procedure for associating applications to PDU Sessions based on URSP. The UE evaluates the URSP rules in the order of Rule Precedence and determines if the application is matching the Traffic descriptor of any URSP rule. When a URSP rule is determined to be applicable for a given applicable, the UE shall select a Route Selection Descriptor within this URSP rule in the order of the Route Selection Descriptor Precedence. TR23.700 [Page 130], Figure 6.39.1-1 shows the example of the list of URSP rules corresponding to the slices by the order of precedence).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Majjiga, Gupta and TR23.700, so that slice change is based on the preference values of the slices, as taught by TS23.503. The modification would have implemented policy and charging control framework for the 5G System in as specified in 3GPP (TS23.503 [Page 8]).
Conclusion
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417