DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/6/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yalamanchi (US 10,095,800 B1 – cited in the IDS).
As to claim 1, Yalamanchi teaches a computing system comprising (a system includes computerized devices; col. 23, lines 59-60 and claim 6):
at least one hardware processor (CPU; col. 23, lines 62-63 and processor; claim 6);
at least one memory coupled to the at least one hardware processor (one or more storage devices, such as disk drives, optical storage devices, and solid-state storage devices such as RAM or ROM, as well as removable media devices, memory cards, flash cards; col. 23, line 66- col. 24, line 2 and a memory; claim 6); and
one or more computer-readable storage media storing computer-executable
instructions that, when executed by the computing system, cause the computing system to
perform operations comprising (Storage media and computer readable media for containing code, or portions of code; col. 24, lines 25-26 and a processor configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions; claim 6):
concurrently managing a plurality of cloud database instances, the plurality of cloud database instances comprising at least one dedicated cloud database instance and at least one shared cloud database instance, wherein the at least one shared cloud database instance comprises a plurality of tenants and the dedicated cloud database instance is configured for use by a single entity (storage resources for multiple web services, such as multiple catalogues for different web stores, may be managed on a common platform that includes multiple levels of accessibility. For example, a web service platform supporting multiple merchants may have a first level with dedicated databases for each merchant, a second level with shared databases that support multiple merchants, and a third level that stores merchant data in cold storage (e.g., including storage locations that are not easily or readily accessible); col 2, lines 22-31);
receiving operational data from the dedicated cloud database instance (“the processor and/or computer instructions may be further configured to reassign a tenant to a different storage profile than originally assigned based on the tenant's use of service provider resources, the tenant's access to a provided web service, users' access to a provided web service, and/or changes in required database size”; col. 5, lines 4-9 and “The reassigning of the web service from one of the tiers to a different tier, and/or the changing of the storage profile assigned to the entity may be based on, for example, metrics associated with at least one of storage requirements of the entity, database operations, and/or resource usage related to the web service”; col. 6, lines 21-26 and “metrics related to the web service being provided to the tenant may be periodically evaluated for changes that might suggest reclassifying the tier for the web service and/or assigning a new storage profile … Some possible metrics that may be monitored as part of 312 include rates of growth (or decreases) regarding storage size, storage access including resource intense searches, storage operations including write, read and/or delete operations for live databases and/or upload and/or download operations from cold storage, etc.”; col. 12, lines 39-54);
analyzing the operational data and determining that a utilization threshold has been satisfied, indicating underutilization of computing resources of the dedicated cloud database instance (“Some possible metrics that may be monitored as part of 312 include rates of growth (or decreases) regarding storage size, storage access including resource intense searches, storage operations including write, read and/or delete operations for live databases and/or upload and/or download operations from cold storage, etc. These metrics may beneficially predict and/or detect when the storage/support tier for a given web service and/or tenant is no longer optimal, either from the user or service provider perspective, and may be used to determine a new storage profile to apply to the tenant. For example, such analytics may recognize when a seller is not using resources intensely and efficiently, and may suggest changing the storage profile for the seller to a cold storage profile that puts all of the seller's files into a single file that can be unpackaged as necessary during the infrequent requests for the seller's web service”; col. 12, lines 49-67 and “The flow 400 may continue with 404, in which the one or more parameters being monitored/collected in 402 may be analyzed to determine, for example, whether one or more of the parameters has fallen below a first threshold. The first threshold may represent, for example, a rate of data access, a rate of data change, or various other criteria discussed herein.”; col. 13, line 66 – col. 14, line 5);
based on determining that the utilization threshold has been satisfied, migrating the dedicated cloud database instance to form a new tenant of the shared cloud database instance (“the physical storage parameters included in the storage profiles may include at least one of defining the database as a dedicated database, defining the database as a shared database, and/or assigning the web service to a cold storage”, col. 4, lines 42-46; “the processor and/or computer instructions may be further configured to reassign a tenant to a different storage profile than originally assigned based on the tenant's use of service provider resources, the tenant's access to a provided web service, users' access to a provided web service, and/or changes in required database size”, col. 5, lines 4-9; “The reassigning of the web service from one of the tiers to a different tier, and/or the changing of the storage profile assigned to the entity may be based on, for example, metrics associated with at least one of storage requirements of the entity, database operations, and/or resource usage related to the web service”, col. 6, lines 21-26; and “These metrics may beneficially predict and/or detect when the storage/support tier for a given web service and/or tenant is no longer optimal, either from the user or service provider perspective, and may be used to determine a new storage profile to apply to the tenant”; col. 12, lines 54-59), wherein the migrating comprises copying data for the single entity from the dedicated cloud database instance to the shared cloud database instance and allocating resources from a cloud computing system to the new tenant (“reassigning the tenant to a different storage profile may include storing a copy of database content for a web service provided to the tenant using the different storage profile … reassigning a storage profile may include migrating data and/or resources”, col. 3, lines 36-48; and “a copy of the tenant's data may be stored in a new database via the storage abstraction layer using the updated storage profile. This may include, for example, storing the copy using a different format and/or indexing structure, communicating with a different database via a different communication protocol, changing a storage duration or other system or file parameter associated with the database, encrypting or unencrypting the data, combining or un-combining multiple files, moving the data between a dedicated database, a shared database and/or cold storage, etc.”., col. 13, lines 23-33); and
removing the dedicated cloud database instance, the removing the dedicated cloud database instance comprising releasing cloud computing resources previously reserved
for the dedicated cloud database instance, wherein the migrating provides more efficient use
of the cloud computing resources by allowing underutilized resources to be reallocated (data, or other resources, associated with the user, profile, or database that is being monitored may be moved to cold storage, or otherwise processed in a manner that may reduce the accessibility to the data, while preferably making the storage of such data more resource-efficient. Such methods may include, for example, converting and storing the data into compressed files, and other archival storage techniques. In some examples, the storage profile for the relevant user may be changed in 406 to a cold storage profile that puts all of the seller's files into a single file that can be unpackaged as necessary. In some examples, 406 may further include reconfiguring support resources (e.g., servers, storage, bandwidth or other communications resources, etc.); col. 14, lines 10-24).
As to claim 2, Yalamanchi teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the operational data is received continuously (metrics are evaluated periodically, see col. 11, lines 39-41).
As to claim 3, Yalamanchi teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the operational data comprises one or more performance indicators of data indicating a level of computer processor use, a level of memory use, a level of network resources use, or a level of physical storage use (“metrics related to the web service being provided to the tenant may be periodically evaluated for changes that might suggest reclassifying the tier for the web service and/or assigning a new storage profile … Some possible metrics that may be monitored as part of 312 include rates of growth (or decreases) regarding storage size, storage access including resource intense searches, storage operations including write, read and/or delete operations for live databases and/or upload and/or download operations from cold storage, etc.”; col. 12, lines 39-54).
As to claim 4, Yalamanchi teaches the computing system of claim 3, wherein the utilization threshold is defined with respect to at least one of the one or more performance indicators (the flow 400 may continue with 404, in which the one or more parameters being monitored/collected in 402 may be analyzed to determine, for example, whether one or more of the parameters has fallen below a first threshold. The first threshold may represent, for example, a rate of data access, a rate of data change, or various other criteria discussed herein; col. 13, line 66 – col. 14, line 5).
As to claim 5, Yalamanchi teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the operational data comprises one or more performance indicators of a workload executed by the dedicated cloud database instance (“The flow 400 may begin at 402, in which parameters associated with a profile, a user and/or a live database may be monitored, collected and/or processed. Such parameters may include, for example, a rate of data or other resource access, a rate of change of data stored in a database, or other parameters that suggest advantages in changing the storage profile for a tenant from an active database to a cold storage database”; col. 13, lines 47-54 and “the flow 400 may continue with 404, in which the one or more parameters being monitored/collected in 402 may be analyzed to determine, for example, whether one or more of the parameters has fallen below a first threshold. The first threshold may represent, for example, a rate of data access, a rate of data change, or various other criteria discussed herein”; col. 13, line 66 – col. 14, line 5).
As to claim 6, Yalamanchi teaches wherein the one or more performance indicators of a workload comprise one or more of a number of transactions processed over a time period, a number of client connections, or information regarding times taken to perform client requests (a web service platform supporting multiple merchants may have a first level with dedicated databases for each merchant, a second level with shared databases that support multiple merchants, and a third level that stores merchant data in cold storage (e.g., including storage locations that are not easily or readily accessible); col. 2, lines 26-31. Thus, a number of client connections is taught/disclosed).
As to claim 7, Yalamanchi teaches the computing system of claim 6, wherein the utilization threshold is defined with respect to at least one of the one or more performance indicators (“the flow 400 may continue with 404, in which the one or more parameters being monitored/collected in 402 may be analyzed to determine, for example, whether one or more of the parameters has fallen below a first threshold. The first threshold may represent, for example, a rate of data access, a rate of data change, or various other criteria discussed herein”; col. 13, line 66 – col. 14, line 5).
As to claim 8, Yalamanchi teaches the computing system of claim 1, the operations further comprising: storing an identifier identifying the shared cloud database instance as a shared cloud database instance and storing an identifier identifying the dedicated cloud database instance as a dedicated cloud database instance (parameters included in the storage profiles include at least one of defining the database as a dedicated database, as a shared database, or as a cold storage, see col. 4, lines 42-46).
As to claim 9, Yalamanchi teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein a client communicates with the dedicated cloud database instance through a defined endpoint and the client communicates with the new tenant in the shared cloud database instance using the defined endpoint (a web service console; col. 17, lines 46-58; col. 18, lines 1-18).
As to claim 10, Yalamanchi teaches a method (claim 1), implemented in a computing system (system; claim 1) comprising at least one hardware processor and at least one memory coupled to the at least one hardware processor, the method comprising (Storage media and computer readable media for containing code, or portions of code; col. 24, lines 25-26 and a processor configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions; claim 6):
concurrently managing a plurality of cloud database instances, the plurality of cloud
database instances comprising at least one shared cloud database instance, wherein the at least one shared cloud database instance comprises a plurality of tenants (storage resources for multiple web services, such as multiple catalogues for different web stores, may be managed on a common platform that includes multiple levels of accessibility. For example, a web service platform supporting multiple merchants may have a first level with dedicated databases for each merchant, a second level with shared databases that support multiple merchants, and a third level that stores merchant data in cold storage (e.g., including storage locations that are not easily or readily accessible); col 2, lines 22-31);
receiving operational data from the shared cloud database instance (“the processor and/or computer instructions may be further configured to reassign a tenant to a different storage profile than originally assigned based on the tenant's use of service provider resources, the tenant's access to a provided web service, users' access to a provided web service, and/or changes in required database size”; col. 5, lines 4-9 and “The reassigning of the web service from one of the tiers to a different tier, and/or the changing of the storage profile assigned to the entity may be based on, for example, metrics associated with at least one of storage requirements of the entity, database operations, and/or resource usage related to the web service”; col. 6, lines 21-26 and “metrics related to the web service being provided to the tenant may be periodically evaluated for changes that might suggest reclassifying the tier for the web service and/or assigning a new storage profile … Some possible metrics that may be monitored as part of 312 include rates of growth (or decreases) regarding storage size, storage access including resource intense searches, storage operations including write, read and/or delete operations for live databases and/or upload and/or download operations from cold storage, etc.”; col. 12, lines 39-54);
analyzing the operational data and determining that a utilization threshold has been satisfied, indicating overutilization of computing resources of the shared cloud database instance (“Some possible metrics that may be monitored as part of 312 include rates of growth (or decreases) regarding storage size, storage access including resource intense searches, storage operations including write, read and/or delete operations for live databases and/or upload and/or download operations from cold storage, etc. These metrics may beneficially predict and/or detect when the storage/support tier for a given web service and/or tenant is no longer optimal, either from the user or service provider perspective, and may be used to determine a new storage profile to apply to the tenant. For example, such analytics may recognize when a seller is not using resources intensely and efficiently, and may suggest changing the storage profile for the seller to a cold storage profile that puts all of the seller's files into a single file that can be unpackaged as necessary during the infrequent requests for the seller's web service”; col. 12, lines 49-67 and “The flow 400 may continue with 410, in which the one or more parameters being monitored/collected in 408 may be analyzed to determine, for example, whether one or more of the parameters has risen above a second threshold. The second threshold may represent, for example, a rate of data access, a rate of data change, or various other criteria discussed herein.”; col. 14, lines 44-50);
based on determining that the utilization threshold has been satisfied, migrating a tenant of the shared cloud database instance to a dedicated cloud database instance, wherein the dedicated cloud database instance is configured for use by a single entity (“the physical storage parameters included in the storage profiles may include at least one of defining the database as a dedicated database, defining the database as a shared database, and/or assigning the web service to a cold storage”, col. 4, lines 42-46; “the processor and/or computer instructions may be further configured to reassign a tenant to a different storage profile than originally assigned based on the tenant's use of service provider resources, the tenant's access to a provided web service, users' access to a provided web service, and/or changes in required database size”, col. 5, lines 4-9; “The reassigning of the web service from one of the tiers to a different tier, and/or the changing of the storage profile assigned to the entity may be based on, for example, metrics associated with at least one of storage requirements of the entity, database operations, and/or resource usage related to the web service”, col. 6, lines 21-26; and “ The flow 400 may continue from 406 to 408, in which parameters associated with a profile, a user and/or a cold storage database may be monitored, collected and/or processed. Such parameters may include, for example, a rate of data or other resource access, a rate of change of data stored in the cold storage, or other parameters that suggest advantages in changing the storage profile for the tenant from the cold storage to an active database.”; col. 14, lines 25-30), wherein the migrating comprises copying data for the tenant from the shared cloud database instance to the dedicated cloud database instance and allocating resources from a cloud computing system to the dedicated cloud database instance (“reassigning the tenant to a different storage profile may include storing a copy of database content for a web service provided to the tenant using the different storage profile … reassigning a storage profile may include migrating data and/or resources”, col. 3, lines 36-48; and “a copy of the tenant's data may be stored in a new database via the storage abstraction layer using the updated storage profile. This may include, for example, storing the copy using a different format and/or indexing structure, communicating with a different database via a different communication protocol, changing a storage duration or other system or file parameter associated with the database, encrypting or unencrypting the data, combining or un-combining multiple files, moving the data between a dedicated database, a shared database and/or cold storage, etc.”., col. 13, lines 23-33); and
removing the tenant from the shared cloud database instance, the removing the tenant
comprising releasing cloud computing resources previously reserved for the tenant, wherein
the migrating reduces computing resource use at the shared cloud database instance (In 412, data, or other resources, associated with the user, profile, or cold storage that is being monitored may be moved from cold storage to a live database, or otherwise processed in a manner that may increase the accessibility to the data, e.g., reducing retrieval time, increasing searchability, etc. Such methods may include, for example, decompressing or otherwise extracting data files and loading the decompressed/extracted data into a live database. In some examples, the storage profile for the relevant user may be changed in 412 to a storage profile that allocates data to a dedicated database or a shared database, as discussed further herein. In some examples, 412 may further include reconfiguring support resources (e.g., servers, storage, bandwidth or other communications resources, etc.).; col. 14, line 56 – col. 15, line 2).
As to claims 11-18, see rejections of claims 2-9 above, respectively.
As to claim 19, see rejections of claims 1 and 10 above.
Yalamanchi further teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media comprising: computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a computing system comprising at least one hardware processor and at least one memory coupled to the at least one hardware processor, cause the computing system to concurrently manage a plurality of cloud database instances (Some, any, or all of the processes may be performed under the control of one or more computer systems configured with executable instructions and may be implemented as code (e.g., executable instructions, one or more computer programs, or one or more applications) executing collectively on one or more processors, by hardware, or combinations thereof. As noted above, the code may be stored on a computer-readable storage medium, for example, in the form of a computer program comprising a plurality of instructions executable by one or more processors. The computer-readable storage medium may be non-transitory; col. 10, lines 15-25).
As to claim 20, see rejection of claim 2 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mishra et al. (Cost optimize database migrations with AWS DMS: Part 1 and Part 2) in Part 1, teaches database migration components, migration cost and its factors, and how to select right type of AWS DMS instance which determines the capacity of DMS jobs, and in Part 2, teaches how to regularly evaluate the AWS DMS instance size and scale up or down based on requirements and how to cost optimize the migrations with AWS DMS features and configurations.
Wang et al. (US 2017/0011028 A1) teaches apparatuses and methods for database scheduling. An exemplary method may include obtaining a performance parameter associated with a database server. The method may also include determining whether the performance parameter matches a preset condition. After it is determined that the performance parameter matches the preset condition, the method may further include selecting a database instance operating on the database server and migrating the database instance to a receiving database server.
Martin et al. (US 2018/0373708 A1) teaches systems and methods for migrating a tenant of a database system from a source database instance to a destination database instance.
Krishnan et al. (US 10,831,555 B1) teaches methods, apparatus, systems to improve workload domain management of virtualized server systems. An example apparatus includes a resource status analyzer to determine a health status of a first virtualized server of a workload domain, compare the health status to a decomposition threshold based on a policy, and transfer a workload of the first virtualized server to a second virtualized server of the workload domain when the health status satisfies the decomposition threshold. The example apparatus further includes a resource deallocator to deallocate the first virtualized server from the workload domain to a pool of virtualized servers to execute the workload using the second virtualized server.
Said et al. (US 10,999,408 B2) teaches for facilitating deploying tenants to, and managing tenants in, a cloud computing environment. In determining where a tenant should be deployed, cloud-based software applications, or at least cloud-based software applications of a particular type, used by the tenant are considered. Computing resources needed by the tenant are determined. The tenant is deployed to a computing infrastructure that has instances of the cloud-based software applications used by the tenant and has computing resources sufficient to satisfy the needs of the tenant. If the tenant is to access another software application, the data for such application is deployed to that computing infrastructure. If the tenant's computing resource needs exceed the available resources of the infrastructure, resources are added to the infrastructure or the tenant's data for all of the cloud-based software applications are moved to another computing infrastructure.
/DIEM K CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2196
DC
July 24, 2026