DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications filed 05 July 2024.
Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 13-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are directed a signal per se. The claims recite a computer-readable storage media storing instructions; however, this does not prevent the claims from reciting transitory signals as it is not defined as being directed solely to non-transitory signals, and therefore may be read upon transitory signals such that the claims are directed to a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal or carrier wave.
An examination of the specification revealed no identification of a computer-readable storage media being directed solely to non-transitory computer readable medium(s) or excluding transitory computer readable medium(s).
For example, upon examination of the specification it denotes:
[0219] “Computer-readable storage media 1622 can include any appropriate media known or used in the art … volatile and non-volatile, removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage and/or transmission of information …” but does not define the term from excluding transitory media.
The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 13-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US-10397300-B2) hereinafter Lim in view of Skog et al. (US-10630813-B2) hereinafter Skog further in view of Haddad et al. (US-8547835-B2) hereinafter Haddad.
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses:
A method implemented by a network layer proxy ([2:6-12] method of improving communication performance on communication networks [12:57-13:3] controller of the proxy server (i.e. network layer proxy)), the method comprising:
receiving a request of a client for an endpoint connection establishment ([12:57-13:3] receive a request for requesting content from at least one client; establish a bypass connection to directly receive data from the second server (i.e. request for an endpoint connection establishment to receive data)), the request including endpoint information ([FIG. 21A] see request image2.jpg Get/image2.jpg HTTP 1.1 to Server 2 and response);
sending, to an application layer proxy ([18:42-52] HTTP request message modified by Proxy A is transmitted to Proxy B (i.e. application layer proxy)), the endpoint information ([FIG. 21A] see request image2.jpg Get/image2.jpg HTTP 1.1 to Server 2 and response),
sending a response to the client such that a connection is established to the endpoint using a connection-based protocol and such that the connection bypasses the application layer proxy ([18:42-19:18] establish a By-pass TCP connection … Proxy E establishes a By-pass TCP connection with the IP address and TCP port number … transmits the HTTP request message to a web server … response message from the web server … forwards the HTTP response message from the Proxy E to the client).
Lim does not explicitly disclose:
the endpoint information sent using a connection-less protocol;
receiving, from the application layer proxy, a network address of an endpoint selected by the application layer proxy based on the endpoint information and application layer information; and
However, Skog discloses:
the endpoint information sent using a connection-less protocol ([10:14-34] request 301 may be a UDP packet from UDP/TCP client 101);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim in view of Skog to have the endpoint information sent using a connection-less protocol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to use a simple connectionless transmission model with a minimum of protocol mechanism wherein it is suitable for purposes where error checking and correction is not necessary or performed at a higher level in the protocol stack or for time-sensitive applications (Skog, [1:65-2:22]).
Lim-Skog do not explicitly disclose:
receiving, from the application layer proxy, a network address of an endpoint selected by the application layer proxy based on the endpoint information and application layer information; and
However, Haddad discloses:
receiving, from the application layer proxy ([5:39-52] proxy element), a network address of an endpoint selected by the application layer proxy based on the endpoint information and application layer information ([5:39-52] proxy element can intercept and selectively perform source/destination translation of data packets using the IP addresses to cause the PDN GW to be selectively bypassed [6:4-22] replace the IP2 destination address with the IP1 destination address (i.e. endpoint information) [8:52-64] indicates that the associated application is MPTCP capable (i.e. application layer information)); and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim-Skog in view of Haddad to have received a network address of an endpoint selected by the application layer proxy based on the endpoint information and application layer information from the application layer proxy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to selectively perform source/destination translation of data packets to cause a gateway to be selectively bypassed (Haddad, [5:39-52]).
Regarding claim 2, Lim-Skog-Haddad disclose:
The method of claim 1, set forth above,
Lim discloses:
wherein the request corresponds to a step of the connection-based protocol ([18:42-52] client 2401 transmits an HTTP request message to Proxy A … establish a By-pass TCP connection (i.e. a step of the connection-based protocol)), and wherein the method further comprises:
completing the step by sending, based on the network address ([18:42-52] writes its IP address and TCP port number to be used to establish a By-pass TCP connection), the request to the endpoint ([18:64-19:12] message is transmitted to the last proxy server, Proxy E (i.e. endpoint)), wherein the connection is established using the connection-based protocol based on the step being completed ([18:64-19:12] Proxy E establishes a By-pass TCP connection with the IP address and TCP port number (e.g., of the message transmitted from Proxy A)).
Regarding claim 3, Lim-Skog-Haddad disclose:
The method of claim 1, set forth above,
Lim discloses:
wherein the endpoint information is sent to the application layer proxy by encapsulating the endpoint information in a frame ([18:42-52] HTTP request message modified by Proxy A is transmitted to Proxy B (i.e. application layer proxy) [FIG. 21A] see request image2.jpg Get/image2.jpg HTTP 1.1 to Server 2 and response, see also [FIG. 24A] Proxy A to Proxy B via TCP connection (i.e. TCP encapsulation)),
Lim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the frame is generated according to the connection-less protocol.
However, Skog disclsoes:
wherein the frame is generated according to the connection-less protocol ([10:14-34] request 301 may be a UDP packet from UDP/TCP client 101);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim in view of Skog to have the frame generated using a connection-less protocol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to use a simple connectionless transmission model with a minimum of protocol mechanism wherein it is suitable for purposes where error checking and correction is not necessary or performed at a higher level in the protocol stack or for time-sensitive applications (Skog, [1:65-2:22]).
Regarding claim 4, Lim-Skog-Haddad disclose:
The method of claim 3, set forth above, further comprising:
Lim does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, from the application layer proxy, the frame; and
determining, based on the frame being received, an association between the network address and the request.
However, Skog discloses:
receiving, from the application layer proxy ([4:11-39] MPTCP proxies for deployment as intermediate network nodes), the frame ([4:11-39] in a network path between a UDP client and a UDP server … [9:45-67] UDP packets which are transported as TCP packets over the MPTCP connection between MPTCP proxies); and
determining, based on the frame being received ([9:45-67] UDP packets which are transported as TCP packets over the MPTCP connection between MPTCP proxies), an association between the network address and the request ([12:6-19] establishing the MPTCP connection … bind the MPTCP connection, i.e., the specific IP addresses and port numbers used for TCP connections … with the 4 or 5-tuple … of a connection between UDP/TCP client 101 and UDP/TCP server 104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim in view of Skog to have received the frame from the application layer proxy to determine an association between the network address and the request. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to bind the MPTCP connection such as to use the binding entry or establish a new MPTCP connection (Skog, [13:30-50]).
Regarding claim 5, Lim-Skog-Haddad disclose:
The method of claim 4, set forth above, further comprising:
Lim discloses:
wherein the connection is established based on the request being sent to the endpoint ([18:42-19:18] establish a By-pass TCP connection … Proxy E establishes a By-pass TCP connection with the IP address and TCP port number … transmits the HTTP request message to a web server … response message from the web server … forwards the HTTP response message from the Proxy E to the client).
Lim does not explicitly disclose:
sending, based on the association, the request to the endpoint by using the network address,
However, Skog discloses:
sending, based on the association ([12:6-19] establishing the MPTCP connection … bind the MPTCP connection, i.e., the specific IP addresses and port numbers used for TCP connections … with the 4 or 5-tuple … of a connection between UDP/TCP client 101 and UDP/TCP server 104), the request to the endpoint by using the network address ([13:51-65] in response to receiving the one or more TCP packets … forwards the UDP packets to their destination, e.g., UDP/TCP server (i.e. TCP in case of TCP used)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim in view of Skog to have sent, based on the association, the request to the endpoint by using the network address. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to bind the MPTCP connection such as to use the binding entry or establish a new MPTCP connection (Skog, [13:30-50]).
Regarding claim 6, Lim-Skog-Haddad disclose:
The method of claim 1, set forth above,
Lim discloses:
wherein the network address is a first network address ([18:42-19:18] IP address and TCP port number), and wherein the method further comprises:
Lim does not explicitly disclose:
storing information that associates the first network address with a second network address;
including, in the response, the second network address instead of the first network address;
receiving, from the client, a packet having the second network address as a destination; and
updating the packet by replacing the second network address with the first network address as the destination, wherein the updated packet is sent using the connection to the endpoint.
However, Haddad discloses:
storing information that associates the first network address with a second network address ([4:12-33] pair of IP addresses may be assigned to the source node 130, see [FIG. 5] IP address translation database);
including, in the response, the second network address instead of the first network address ([5:39-52] proxy element can intercept and selectively perform source/destination translation of data packets using the IP addresses to cause the PDN GW to be selectively bypassed [6:4-22] replace the IP2 destination address with the IP1 destination address (i.e. endpoint information) [8:52-64] indicates that the associated application is MPTCP capable (i.e. application layer information));
receiving, from the client ([6:4-22] source node), a packet having the second network address as a destination ([6:4-22] replace the IP2 destination address with the IP1 destination address (i.e. endpoint information); and
updating the packet by replacing the second network address with the first network address as the destination ([6:4-22] replace the IP2 destination address with the IP1 destination address (i.e. endpoint information), wherein the updated packet is sent using the connection to the endpoint ([6:57-7:17] TCP connection to the destination node 140 using the source address IP2 … data packets flowing from the source node to the destination node.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim in view of Haddad to have stored information associating the first network address with a second network address to be included in the response and received a packet having the second network address as a destination to replace the second network address with the first network address as the destination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to selectively perform source/destination translation of data packets to cause a gateway to be selectively bypassed (Haddad, [5:39-52]).
Regarding claims 8 and 13, they do not further define nor teach over the limitations of claim 1, therefore, claims 8 and 13 are rejected for at least the same reasons set forth above as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, it does not further define nor teach over the limitations of claim 2, therefore, claim 14 is rejected for at least the same reasons set forth above as in claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, Lim-Skog-Haddad disclose:
The one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 13, set forth above, wherein the operations further comprise:
Lim discloses:
selecting the application layer proxy from a plurality of application layer proxies based on network layer information ([19:19-31] determine whether it forwards the HTTP request message through Proxy Chain or By-pass TCP connection (i.e. selecting which proxy or by-pass the proxy based on the HTTP request message, e.g. information within the request)).
Claim(s) 7, 9-12, 15-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US-10397300-B2) hereinafter Lim in view of Skog et al. (US-10630813-B2) hereinafter Skog further in view of Haddad et al. (US-8547835-B2) hereinafter Haddad further in view of Demmer et al. (US-8473620-B2) hereinafter Demmer.
Regarding claim 7, Lim-Skog-Haddad disclose:
The method of claim 1, set forth above,
Lim discloses:
wherein the connection-based protocol includes a transmission control protocol (TCP) ([18:42-19:18] establish a By-pass TCP connection).
Lim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the endpoint information includes a database name associated with a plurality of database instances, wherein receiving the request comprises receiving a synchronize (SYN) packet that includes the database name, wherein sending the request comprising encapsulating the SYN packet in a user datagram protocol (UDP) frame.
However, Skog discloses:
wherein sending the request comprising encapsulating the SYN packet in a user datagram protocol (UDP) frame ([9:45-67] UDP packets which are transported as TCP packets … transmitting a TCP SYN packet with MPTCP Option, see also [22:7-35] optionally, the request for establishing an MPTCP connection is a UDP packet received from a UDP client).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim in view of Skog to have sent the request comprising encapsulating the SYN packet in a UDP frame. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to use a simple connectionless transmission model with a minimum of protocol mechanism wherein it is suitable for purposes where error checking and correction is not necessary or performed at a higher level in the protocol stack or for time-sensitive applications (Skog, [1:65-2:22]).
Lim-Skog do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the endpoint information includes a database name associated with a plurality of database instances, wherein receiving the request comprises receiving a synchronize (SYN) packet that includes the database name,
However, Demmer discloses:
wherein the endpoint information includes a database name associated with a plurality of database instances ([29:20-32] because SSI 1560 is out-of-path relative to the client and server … request reaches server 1550 without transiting the ASASI … forwards the connection request (or a substitute request) to the SSI without submitting it to the target application or service (e.g. … database server) [33:20-27] table, database or other data structure for mapping between servers’ public and private addresses, see also [19:22-44] HTTP that were explicitly designed to allow a client to connect explicitly to a proxy and have the client include the server’s name in every header of every request message (i.e. request to the database server with the name)), wherein receiving the request comprises receiving a synchronize (SYN) packet that includes the database name ([19:22-44] HTTP that were explicitly designed to allow a client to connect explicitly to a proxy and have the client include the server’s name in every header of every request message (i.e. request to the database server with the name [16:6-16] in TCP, a connection request is noted by the presence of the “SYN” bit in the flags field (i.e. HTTP runs over TCP, wherein HTTP would have the name)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim-Skog in view of Demmer to have the endpoint information include a database name associated with a plurality of database instances and include the database name in a SYN packet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize HTTP that was explicitly designed to allow a client to connect explicitly to a proxy and have the client include the server’s name in every header of every request message (Demmer, [19:22-44]).
Regarding claim 9, Lim-Skog-Haddad disclose:
The network layer proxy of claim 8, set forth above,
Lim-Skog-Haddad do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the request is received as a synchronize (SYN) packet that includes a non-internet protocol (IP) address identifier associated with a plurality of endpoints.
However, Demmer discloses:
wherein the request is received as a synchronize (SYN) packet that includes a non-internet protocol (IP) address identifier associated with a plurality of endpoints ([19:22-44] HTTP that were explicitly designed to allow a client to connect explicitly to a proxy and have the client include the server’s name in every header of every request message (i.e. request to the database server with the name [16:6-16] in TCP, a connection request is noted by the presence of the “SYN” bit in the flags field (i.e. HTTP runs over TCP, wherein HTTP would have the name)),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim-Skog-Haddad in view of Demmer to have the endpoint information include a database name associated with a plurality of database instances and include the database name in a SYN packet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to utilize HTTP that was explicitly designed to allow a client to connect explicitly to a proxy and have the client include the server’s name in every header of every request message (Demmer, [19:22-44]).
Regarding claim 10, Lim-Skog-Haddad-Demmer disclose:
The network layer proxy of claim 9, set forth above,
Lim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the endpoint information is sent by encapsulating the SYN packet and sending the encapsulated SYN packet in a user datagram protocol (UDP) frame.
However, Skog discloses:
wherein the endpoint information is sent by encapsulating the SYN packet and sending the encapsulated SYN packet in a user datagram protocol (UDP) frame ([9:45-67] UDP packets which are transported as TCP packets … transmitting a TCP SYN packet with MPTCP Option, see also [22:7-35] optionally, the request for establishing an MPTCP connection is a UDP packet received from a UDP client).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim in view of Skog to have sent the request comprising encapsulating the SYN packet in a UDP frame. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to use a simple connectionless transmission model with a minimum of protocol mechanism wherein it is suitable for purposes where error checking and correction is not necessary or performed at a higher level in the protocol stack or for time-sensitive applications (Skog, [1:65-2:22]).
Regarding claim 11, Lim-Skog-Haddad-Demmer disclose:
The network layer proxy of claim 10, set forth above, wherein the execution of the instructions further configures the network layer proxy to:
Lim does not explicitly disclose:
receive, from the application layer proxy, the UDP frame; and
determine, based on the UDP frame being received, that the network address is associated with the SYN packet.
However, Skog discloses:
receive, from the application layer proxy ([4:11-39] MPTCP proxies for deployment as intermediate network nodes), the UDP frame ([4:11-39] in a network path between a UDP client and a UDP server … [9:45-67] UDP packets which are transported as TCP packets over the MPTCP connection between MPTCP proxies); and
determine, based on the UDP frame being received ([9:45-67] UDP packets which are transported as TCP packets over the MPTCP connection between MPTCP proxies), that the network address is associated with the SYN packet ([12:6-19] establishing the MPTCP connection … bind the MPTCP connection, i.e., the specific IP addresses and port numbers used for TCP connections … with the 4 or 5-tuple … of a connection between UDP/TCP client 101 and UDP/TCP server 104, see [9:45-67] UDP packets which are transported as TCP packets … transmitting a TCP SYN packet with MPTCP Option, see also [22:7-35] optionally, the request for establishing an MPTCP connection is a UDP packet received from a UDP client).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim in view of Skog to have received the frame from the application layer proxy to determine an association between the network address and the request. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to bind the MPTCP connection such as to use the binding entry or establish a new MPTCP connection (Skog, [13:30-50]).
Regarding claim 12, Lim-Skog-Haddad-Demmer disclose:
The network layer proxy of claim 9, set forth above, wherein the execution of the instructions further configures the network layer proxy to:
Lim does not explicitly disclose:
send, based on a determination that the network address is associated with the SYN packet, the SYN packet to the endpoint, wherein the connection is a transmission control protocol (TCP) connection established based on the SYN packet being sent to the endpoint.
However, Skog discloses:
send, based on a determination that the network address is associated with the SYN packet ([12:6-19] establishing the MPTCP connection … bind the MPTCP connection, i.e., the specific IP addresses and port numbers used for TCP connections … with the 4 or 5-tuple … of a connection between UDP/TCP client 101 and UDP/TCP server 104, see [9:45-67] UDP packets which are transported as TCP packets … transmitting a TCP SYN packet with MPTCP Option, see also [22:7-35] optionally, the request for establishing an MPTCP connection is a UDP packet received from a UDP client), the SYN packet to the endpoint ([13:51-65] in response to receiving the one or more TCP packets … forwards the UDP packets to their destination, e.g., UDP/TCP server (i.e. TCP in case of TCP used)), wherein the connection is a transmission control protocol (TCP) connection established based on the SYN packet being sent to the endpoint ([12:6-19] establishing the MPTCP connection … TCP SYN packet with MPTCP option).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim in view of Skog to have sent, based on the association, the request to the endpoint by using the network address. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to bind the MPTCP connection such as to use the binding entry or establish a new MPTCP connection (Skog, [13:30-50]).
Regarding claim 15, it does not further define nor teach over the limitations of claim 7, therefore, claim 15 is rejected for at least the same reasons set forth above as in claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, Lim-Skog-Haddad-Demmer disclose:
The one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 15, set forth above,
Lim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the connection-less protocol includes a user datagram protocol (UDP), and wherein sending the endpoint information comprises sending the SYN packet in a UDP frame.
However, Skog discloses:
wherein the connection-less protocol includes a user datagram protocol (UDP) ([9:45-67] UDP), and wherein sending the endpoint information comprises sending the SYN packet in a UDP frame ([9:45-67] UDP packets which are transported as TCP packets … transmitting a TCP SYN packet with MPTCP Option, see also [22:7-35] optionally, the request for establishing an MPTCP connection is a UDP packet received from a UDP client).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim in view of Skog to have sent the request comprising encapsulating the SYN packet in a UDP frame. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to use a simple connectionless transmission model with a minimum of protocol mechanism wherein it is suitable for purposes where error checking and correction is not necessary or performed at a higher level in the protocol stack or for time-sensitive applications (Skog, [1:65-2:22]).
Regarding claim 18, Lim-Skog-Haddad-Demmer disclose:
The one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 15, set forth above,
Lim discloses:
wherein the connection-based protocol includes a transmission control protocol (TCP) ([18:42-19:18] establish a By-pass TCP connection), and wherein the operations further comprise:
Lim does not explicitly disclose:
sending, by using the TCP, the SYN packet to the endpoint based on the network address; and
receiving a SYN ACK packet from the endpoint in response to the SYN packet.
However Skog discloses:
sending, by using the TCP ([10:35-57] TCP), the SYN packet to the endpoint based on the network address ([10:35-57] TCP connection and involves a three-way handshake … known in the art … TCP SYN packet 311 to MPTCP server [13:51-65] in response to receiving the one or more TCP packets … forwards the UDP packets to their destination, e.g., UDP/TCP server (i.e. TCP in case of TCP used)); and
receiving a SYN ACK packet from the endpoint in response to the SYN packet ([10:35-57] responds with a TCP SYN/ACK 312 packet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim in view of Skog to have sent, based on the association, the request to the endpoint by using the network address based on TCP with SYN and SYN/ACK response. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to bind the MPTCP connection such as to use the binding entry or establish a new MPTCP connection (Skog, [13:30-50]).
Regarding claim 19, Lim-Skog-Haddad-Demmer disclose:
The one or more computer-readable storage media of claim 18, set forth above,
Lim does not explicitly disclose:
wherein sending the response comprises sending the SYN ACK packet.
However, Skog discloses:
wherein sending the response comprises sending the SYN ACK packet ([10:35-57] responds with a TCP SYN/ACK 312 packet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lim in view of Skog to have sent, based on the association, the request to the endpoint by using the network address based on TCP with SYN and SYN/ACK response. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to bind the MPTCP connection such as to use the binding entry or establish a new MPTCP connection (Skog, [13:30-50]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Szilagyi et al. (US-20150296418-A1) METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR HANDOVER MANAGEMENT OF TRANSFER CONTROL PROTOCOL PROXY COMMUNICATIONS;
Goel (US-11425042-B2) MANAGING DATA THROUGHPUT IN A DISTRIBUTED ENDPOINT NETWORK;
Zihnioglu (US-12368705-B2) PROXY DIRECT CONNECT.
/Alex Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453