DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant has filed two IDSs dated 11-24-2025 which are duplicates of each other. The examiner has considered the references, but crossed out one of the duplicate IDS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7-8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the stator coil.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. (claim 5 should depend on claim 4, which first recites this limitation)
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “there is no electrically-powered element beyond the inductor in the direction in the flow meter” is indefinite in regards to the scope of what is being claimed. The question is how far in the direction is there no electrically-powered element? At some point, given the proliferation of electrical devices in the modern world, there would surely be an electrically powered device (another sensor, a light bulb, a cell phone, a computer, etc.) located along said direction. As such, the scope of claim 7 is indefinite.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the final stator coil.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su et al. (CN 111780818, copy/translation attached).
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Su discloses (Fig. 1) a flow meter for use with a conductive fluid (see Abstract), the meter comprising:
a conduit 1 shaped to carry a flow of the conductive fluid (as shown in Fig. 1);
an inductor 3/5 (first/second excitation coils: middle p. 2) configured to cause an electromagnetic field to be carried by the flow (middle p. 2, top p. 4); and
a conductive wire 7 (pickup coil: middle p. 2) around the conduit 1 (as shown in Fig. 1), wherein the conductive wire 7 is not in contact with an electrical power source to drive current or voltage in the conductive wire 7 (i.e. not connected to power supplies 4/6: see Fig. 1; shielded from interference: middle p. 4), and wherein the conductive wire 7 is configured to convert the electromagnetic field from the flow to a voltage or current in the wire based on a speed of the flow (i.e. the magnitude of the voltage is proportional to the flow of the liquid metal: middle p. 4).
The apparatus of Su, as applied above in the rejection of claim 1, would perform the method and meet the limitations of claim 18.
Regarding claim 2, Su discloses (Fig. 1) the conductive wire 7 forms a coil with multiple loops (as shown in Fig. 1) each completely around an outer perimeter of the conduit 1 (as shown in Fig. 1), and wherein the flow passes through the loops (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Su discloses (Fig. 1) the inductor is a stator coil (stationary coil 7) surrounding the conduit 1 (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Su discloses (Fig. 1) the conductive wire 7 is spaced from the inductor 3/5 in a direction along the conduit 1 downstream of the flow in the conduit (as shown in Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (CN 111780818) in view of Hammer (U.S. Patent 7,276,916).
Regarding claim 3, Su discloses (Fig. 1) there are ten or more of the multiple loops.
Su does not disclose the conductive wire includes copper.
Hammer discloses the conductive wire includes copper (col. 3, lines 3-4 and col. 5, lines 39-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Su’s device so that the conductive wire includes copper, as taught by Hammer.
Such a modification would improve the sensitivity of the measuring device (Hammer - col. 3, lines 3-4 and col. 5, lines 39-41)
Claims 5, 7-8, 12-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (CN 111780818) in view of Araseki (U.S. Pub. 2010/0263454).
Regarding claim 5, Su is applied as above, but does not disclose the stator coil is one of a plurality of coils in an electromagnetic pump.
Araseki discloses the stator coil is one of a plurality of coils 9 in an electromagnetic pump [0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Su’s device so that the stator coil is one of a plurality of coils in an electromagnetic pump, as taught by Araseki.
Such a modification would be an application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(D) and Araseki [0035].
Regarding claims 7-8, Su is applied as above, and discloses the conductive wire 7 is spaced in the direction (flow direction) from a stator coil 3/5 in the direction within a casing 9.
Su does not disclose there is no electrically-powered element beyond the inductor in the direction in the flow meter; and the inductor includes stator coils on an electromagnetic pump.
Araseki discloses (Figs. 3-4) there is no electrically-powered element beyond the inductor 6 in the direction in the flow meter (as shown in Figs. 3-4); and the inductor includes stator coils 9 on an electromagnetic pump [0035].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Su’s device so that there is no electrically-powered element beyond the inductor in the direction in the flow meter; and the inductor includes stator coils on an electromagnetic pump, as taught by Araseki.
Such a modification would be an application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(D) and Araseki [0035].
Regarding claim 12, Su is applied as above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not disclose an electromagnetic pump, the pump comprising: a channel configured to receive the fluid and expel the fluid from the pump.
Araseki discloses (Figs. 3-4) an electromagnetic pump [0035], the pump comprising: a channel configured to receive the fluid and expel the fluid from the pump (as shown in Figs. 3-4 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Su’s device to be/used with an electromagnetic pump, the pump comprising: a channel configured to receive the fluid and expel the fluid from the pump, as taught by Araseki.
Such a modification would be an application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(D) and Araseki [0035].
Regarding claim 13, Su is applied but does not disclose there is no stator coil between the conductive wire and an end of the pump.
Araseki discloses (Figs. 3-4) there is no stator coil between the conductive wire and an end of the pump (as shown in Figs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Su’s device so that there is no stator coil between the conductive wire and an end of the pump, as taught by Araseki.
Such a modification would be an application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(D) and Araseki [0035].
Regarding claim 14, Su discloses (Fig. 1) the conductive wire 7 is an insulated metal wire (middle p. 4) wrapped several times on an outer perimeter of the channel 1 (as shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Su is applied but does not disclose the initial point is a final stator coil in an electromagnetic pump generating the electromagnetic field in the fluid from a current applied to a final stator coil.
Araseki discloses (Figs. 3-4) the initial point is a final stator coil in an electromagnetic pump generating the electromagnetic field in the fluid from a current applied to a final stator coil (as shown in Figs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Su’s device so that the initial point is a final stator coil in an electromagnetic pump generating the electromagnetic field in the fluid from a current applied to a final stator coil, as taught by Araseki.
Such a modification would be an application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(D) and Araseki [0035].
Claims 9-11, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al. (CN 111780818) in view of Seppa et al. (U.S. Patent 5,824,914).
Regarding claim 5, Su is applied as above, and discloses circuity 8 (middle p. 4) in contact with the conductive wire 7 and configured to receive the current or voltage from the conductive wire (middle p. 4).
Su does not disclose, wherein the circuitry is configured to convert the current or voltage to the speed of the flow and output the speed; and the circuitry is configured to convert the current or voltage to the speed based on an empirical relationship between current or voltage and the speed stored with the circuitry; and the relationship is between the speed and a phase of the voltage relative to a phase on an input current to the inductor.
Seppa discloses the circuitry is configured to convert the current or voltage to the speed of the flow and output the speed (i.e. calculate the velocity: see col. 4, lines 5-28 and col. 5, lines 17-25); and the circuitry is configured to convert the current or voltage to the speed based on an empirical relationship between current or voltage and the speed stored with the circuitry (col. 5, lines 17-25); and the relationship is between the speed and a phase of the voltage relative to a phase on an input current to the inductor (see col. 4, lines 5-28 and col. 5, lines 1-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Su’s device so that the circuitry is configured to convert the current or voltage to the speed of the flow and output the speed; and the circuitry is configured to convert the current or voltage to the speed based on an empirical relationship between current or voltage and the speed stored with the circuitry; and the relationship is between the speed and a phase of the voltage relative to a phase on an input current to the inductor, as taught by Seppa.
Such a modification would be an application of a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results – see MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN R SCHMITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852