Claim Objections
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 recites “the platform” in line 1, but depends on claim 17 which describes “a dynamic generative-AI enhanced leadership coaching platform”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 19-20 are objected to for similar reasons.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 17 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and dependent claims 2-10 and 18-20 also invoke 112f as they inherit the limitations of their parent claims 1 and 17.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1:
an authentication module configured to authenticate one or more users in response to receiving one or more user authentication credentials; an event processor configured to schedule tasks performed by the agent; a user interface module configured to send and receive messages from one or more authenticated users during a chat session;
a router having a search comparator module;
a post-conversation analysis module configured to send prompt-based instructions to the generative Al module to generate an analysis and summary of a chat transcript of messages from the one or more authenticated users during the chat session and to receive the analysis and summary from the generative Al module; a prompt template library configured to be accessible to the prompt compiler of the generative Al module; an API interface module configured to communicate with one or more generative Al models using an API interface available for each generative Al model, respectively; a vectorized database module configured to store vectorized data records and be accessible to the memory management module; a vectorization module configured to vectorize data; a knowledge base database module configured to catalogue vectorized data; a client resource database accessible to the knowledge base database module and configured to store client resource materials; a leadership coaching database accessible to the knowledge base database module and configured to house leadership coaching materials; a chat history database configured to store the chat transcript;
Claim 3:
the search comparator module of the router is configured to select one or more vectorized data records… ;
Claim 10:
wherein the post-conversation analysis module is configured to instruct the generative AI module…;
Claim 17:
an authentication module configured to authenticate a plurality of users;
a user interface module configured to send and receive messages;
an agent configured to instantiate a plurality of independent chat sessions, each chat session associated with a respective set of one or more of the plurality of users, respectively;
a memory management module…. wherein the memory management module returns, to the agent, a respective set of one or more vectorized data chunks…. ;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-10 and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. At most the applicant’s specification filed 06/07/2024 para [0057], cites a potential hardware structure only for, “the event handler may be configured to parallelize the scheduled tasks of the platform to be carried out on hardware that is configured for large, parallelized workloads, such as GPUs and multi-threaded CPUs”, however it is unclear if the event handler is the same as ”an event processor configured to schedule tasks performed by the agent”, nor is a GPU or multi-threaded CPU explicitly described as potential hardware for all of the above modules and limitations above invoking 112f.
Claim 1 limitations,
“an authentication module configured to authenticate one or more users in response to receiving one or more user authentication credentials; an event processor configured to schedule tasks performed by the agent; a user interface module configured to send and receive messages from one or more authenticated users during a chat session;
a router having a search comparator module;
a post-conversation analysis module configured to send prompt-based instructions to the generative Al module to generate an analysis and summary of a chat transcript of messages from the one or more authenticated users during the chat session and to receive the analysis and summary from the generative Al module; a prompt template library configured to be accessible to the prompt compiler of the generative Al module; an API interface module configured to communicate with one or more generative Al models using an API interface available for each generative Al model, respectively; a vectorized database module configured to store vectorized data records and be accessible to the memory management module; a vectorization module configured to vectorize data; a knowledge base database module configured to catalogue vectorized data; a client resource database accessible to the knowledge base database module and configured to store client resource materials; a leadership coaching database accessible to the knowledge base database module and configured to house leadership coaching materials; a chat history database configured to store the chat transcript;”
Claim 3 limitation,
“the search comparator module of the router is configured to select one or more vectorized data records… ;”
Claim 10 limitation
“wherein the post-conversation analysis module is configured to instruct the generative AI module…;”, and
Claim 17 limitations,
“an authentication module configured to authenticate a plurality of users;
a user interface module configured to send and receive messages;
an agent configured to instantiate a plurality of independent chat sessions, each chat session associated with a respective set of one or more of the plurality of users, respectively;
a memory management module…. wherein the memory management module returns, to the agent, a respective set of one or more vectorized data chunks…. ;”
invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the dynamic data point" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that Claim 6 recites “a dynamic data point”, but Claim 9 only depends on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220358448 “Beringer”, in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210150155 “Kim”, and further in light of U.S. Patent No. 10,764,431 “Pham”.
Claim 1:
Beringer teaches a dynamic generative-AI enhanced leadership coaching platform, comprising:
an agent (i.e. para. [0015], hybrid interface system 110 generates a graphical user interface (GUI) with touch- or cursor-based interactions side-by-side with a chatbot interface that uses natural language processing to support voice- or text-based interactions in a conversational chat format) comprising:
a semantic analysis module (i.e. para. [0032], Interaction mining system 220 may provide for monitoring, mining, and analyzing messages sent and received in the dialogue, graphic, and textual elements displayed in connection with the messages); and a chat vectorization module (i.e. para. 0034], “hybrid interface system 110 transmits voice- and text-based user inputs a third-party natural language processing system (such as, for example, GOOGLE Dialogue Flow or MICROSOFT Bot Framework) and receives the intent”, wherein the BRI for vectorization encompasses how any NLP system performs a mathematical conversion to turn input words or phrases into representative intent); an authentication module configured to authenticate one or more users in response to receiving one or more user authentication credentials (i.e. para. [0074], Fig. 4, Startup display 400 provides selectable icons for three virtual assistants (virtual assistant icons 402a-402c… and a password entry box 406. Although selectable icons 402a-402c are shown for three virtual assistants (chef, supervisor, and logistics expert); an event processor configured to schedule tasks performed by the agent (i.e. para. [0104], hybrid interface system 110 worker home screen comprises chatbot interface 502 providing three selectable options 512a-512c from which the worker may choose: Today's Shifts, Production Plan, and My Tasks); a user interface module configured to send and receive messages from one or more authenticated users during a chat session (i.e. para. [0104], As disclosed above, hybrid interface system 110 worker home screen comprises chatbot interface 502 providing three selectable options 512a-512c … Hybrid interface system 110 determines the role of the user is a kitchen worker, and updates the graphics and text of display of one or more interactive display devices 120 to provide those assigned to the role of the kitchen helper); a router having a search comparator module (i.e. para. [0039], conversation engine 214 sends an event to a service of hybrid interface system 110 or interactive display device, and which is mapped to corresponding GUI interface 504. According to one embodiment, GUI interface 504 displays an answer to a question);a (i.e. para. [0034], “the tasks are associated with modeled dialogue which is used by virtual assistant module 216 to provide responsive language displayed by chatbot interface 502. The modeled dialogue comprises query responses, task assignment or proposals, the current state of a task, status or information related to one or more workers, and the like”, wherein the BRI for an AI module encompasses the hybrid system capable of generating responses to prompts) comprising:
a prompt compiler module (i.e. para. [0070], the response associated with the intent is communicated to one or more interactive display devices 120 in the persona of the virtual assistant assigned to the domain of the intent, at activity 324. When mapping speech input to a user intent, the chatbot displays the respective virtual assistant as the sender of the system-generated response);
a prompt template library configured to be accessible to the prompt compiler of the generative Al module (i.e. para. [0036], “task data 230 may be received from workforce management system 130, which describes the action items and roles associated with each task… the tasks are associated with modeled dialogue which is used by virtual assistant module 216 to provide responsive language displayed by chatbot interface 502. The modeled dialogue comprises query responses, task assignment or proposals, the current state of a task, status or information related to one or more workers, and the like”, wherein the BRI for a prompt template library encompasses how responses may reference templates found in a task database); an API interface module configured to communicate with one or more generative Al models using an API interface available for each generative Al model (i.e. para. [0073], Startup display 400 provides selectable icons for three virtual assistants (virtual assistant icons 402a-402c), a microphone icon 404 to initiate a voice command, and a password entry box 406. Although selectable icons 402a-402c are shown for three virtual assistants (chef, supervisor, and logistics expert), embodiments contemplate, as disclosed above, creating virtual persona for other expertise areas, which are relevant to other verticals”, wherein the BRI for one or more AI models encompasses the Virtual assistants for each expertise area) , respectively; a memory management module (i.e. para. [0020], One or more computers may include one or more processors 166 and associated memory to execute instructions and manipulate information according to the operation of virtual persona system 100 and any of the methods described herein) (i.e. para. [0035], Database 114 of hybrid interface system 110 may comprise one or more databases or other data storage arrangement at one or more locations, local to, or remote from, server 112. Database 114 of hybrid interface system 110 comprises, for example, task data 230, role data 232, task-role mappings 234, intents 236, domains 238, virtual assistant profiles 240, and local site data 242) configured to catalogue vectorized data; a client resource database accessible to the knowledge base database module and configured to store client resource materials (i.e. para. [0037], “In addition, or as an alternative, hybrid interface system 110 determines task-role mappings 234 to be automated by the virtual assistants”, wherein the BRI for client resources encompasses a database of task-role mappings that is used in conjunction with other databases); a leadership coaching database accessible to the knowledge base database module and configured to house leadership coaching materials (i.e. para. [0101], “ the supervisor virtual assistant provides waste breakdown 1904 indicating reasons for the extra waste, which, in this example, is caused by inventory spoilage and trim waste”, wherein it is noted that a chef supervisor user may access supervisor virtual assistant which may access database reports related to chef leadership such as a waste breakdown due to inventory spoilage and waste); a user database configured to store a user profile (i.e. para. [0048], Roles data 264 defines the tasks and other requirements associated with each role. A shift schedule may comprise several roles (such as, for example, supervisor, cashier clerk, warehouse clerk, kitchen worker, chef, and the like). By way of example only and not by way of limitation, roles data 264 comprises, for a particular role, one or more of: role title (such as “Shift Manager”)); and a user profile stored in the user database (i.e. para. [0017], workforce management system 130 comprises server 132 and database 134. Workforce management system 130 may manage and organize data stored in database 134 of workforce management system).
While Beringer teaches an AI module for a chatbot that uses NLP to loosely vectorize user input data as part of the intent determination and prompt response for a designated virtual assistant for a role-based user, Beringer may not explicitly teach
a generative Al module
an API interface module configured to communicate with one or more generative Al models using an API interface available for each generative Al model, respectively; a memory management module having a vector-search module; a vectorized database module configured to store vectorized data records and be accessible to the memory management module; a vectorization module configured to vectorize data; a knowledge base database module configured to catalogue vectorized data
However, Kim teaches
a generative Al module (i.e. para. [0058], a chatbot system. When determining the response sentence, the natural language processing apparatus uses a retrieval model and/or a generation model. The generation model may also be referred to as a generative model)
an API interface module (i.e. para. [0070], “ the natural language processing apparatus may display the first response sentence in a form of text on a display of the natural language processing apparatus”, wherein the BRI for an API module comprises the communication and display of generative AI information) configured to communicate with one or more generative Al models using an API interface available for each generative Al model , respectively (i.e. para. [0080], Referring to FIG. 3, retrieval models 310 and 320, a generation model 330, and a selection model 340 may be implemented by the natural language processing apparatus, e.g., by one or more processors of the natural language processing apparatus that store the respective models in memory of the natural language processing apparatus along with all or some related database information); a memory management module having a vector-search module (i.e. para. [0080], The retrieval model 310 is configured to determine a response sentence by searching for and retrieving a query sentence most similar to a full input sentence from a database, such as discussed above with respect to FIGS. 1 and 2); a vectorized database module configured to store vectorized data records and be accessible to the memory management module (i.e. para. [0075], he natural language processing apparatus determines a similarity between the portion of the input sentence of the user and each of the plurality of query sentences stored in a database of the retrieval model. For example, the similarity may be a cosine similarity between an embedding vector of the portion of the input sentence, e.g., as generated by the encoder of FIG. 1, and an embedding vector of each of the query sentences stored in an embedding database, such as the embedding database demonstrated above in FIG. 1); a vectorization module configured to vectorize data (i.e. para. [0063], a sentence input from a user is converted into an input embedding vector using the encoder); a knowledge base database module configured to catalogue vectorized data (i.e. para. [0062], An embedding database may thus be used/generated/updated to store numerous pairs of such query embedding vectors and the corresponding response sentences, e.g., where the stored response sentences may be considered to be the respective decoding of the stored query embedding vectors).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a generative Al module; an API interface module configured to communicate with one or more generative Al models using an API interface available for each generative Al model , respectively; a memory management module having a vector-search module; a vectorized database module configured to store vectorized data records and be accessible to the memory management module; a vectorization module configured to vectorize data; a knowledge base database module configured to catalogue vectorized data to the role-based AI chatbot of Beringer, with how a generative AI model creates, searches, and stores vectors in order to generate and deliver and appropriate response to a user, as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to combine Kim with Beringer and would have had a reasonable expectation of success as it may be desirable for a model to differentiate between appropriate responses to the input sentence.
While Beringer and Kim teach a generative AI model that users vectors to determine an appropriate response,
a post-conversation analysis module configured to send prompt-based instructions to the generative Al module to generate an analysis and summary of a chat transcript of messages from the one or more authenticated users during the chat session and to receive the analysis and summary from the generative Al module;
a chat history database configured to store the chat transcript;However, Pham teaches
a post-conversation analysis module configured to send prompt-based instructions to the generative Al module to generate an analysis and summary of a chat transcript of messages (i.e. Col. 7, lines 12-20, “When a real representative takes over the conversation or chat, the intent recognition module can review a transcript of the chat messaging with the chatbot. The intent classification module can determine a summary of the conversation, e.g., problem statement, and based on the summary, the intent classification module can determine if there is a previous phone call or chat messaging by the customer about the same or similar issues. If so, the system can display a record of the past communication to the representative”, wherein after a chatbot has failed to help a user, the post-conversation transcript is analyzed and summarized for display to a human user) from the one or more authenticated users (i.e. Col. 5, lines 57-59, “a chat message summary can include a date for the chat, name of the chatter, the account number of the chatter, etc.”, wherein the BRI for an authenticated user encompasses how a user may be authenticated by collecting information identifying data) during the chat session and to receive the analysis and summary from the generative Al module;
a chat history database configured to store the chat transcript (i.e. Col. 7, lines 27-31, Fig. 3, “the chat messaging 302 can be routed through the server 300, which can include a message aggregator 312 for gathering the messages exchanged between the customer 301 and the representative 303 or the chatbot 304”, wherein it is noted that the attribute assignor 113 can store associations between chat messages and the respective attributes in the data store 114).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a post-conversation analysis module configured to send prompt-based instructions to the generative Al module to generate an analysis and summary of a chat transcript of messages from the one or more authenticated users during the chat session and to receive the analysis and summary from the generative Al module; a chat history database configured to store the chat transcript, to the role-based AI chatbot system with vectorization of Beringer-Kim, with how post-conversation chat history may be analyzed and stored, as taught by Pham. One would have been motivated to combine Pham with Beringer-Kim and would have had a reasonable expectation of success as the combination provides a consistent approach to analyzing and exploiting the data.
Claim 2:
Beringer, Kim, and Pham teach the dynamic generative-AI enhanced leadership coaching platform of claim 1.
Beringer further teaches wherein the messages from the one or more authenticated users during the chat session comprise audio recordings (i.e. para. [0031], communication module 218 receives a text, audio, or video communication from one or more interactive display devices 120 or from any other communication device local to, or remote from, virtual persona system 100 and transmits the received communication to other communication devices local to, or remote from, virtual persona system 100).
Claim 3:
Beringer, Kim, and Pham teach the dynamic generative-AI enhanced leadership coaching platform of claim 1.
Kim further teaches
wherein the search comparator module of the router is configured to select one or more vectorized data records returned by the vector-search module in response to an evaluation of the cosine similarity of the one or more vectorized data records (i.e. para. [0075], the natural language processing apparatus determines a similarity between the portion of the input sentence of the user and each of the plurality of query sentences stored in a database of the retrieval model. For example, the similarity may be a cosine similarity) against a threshold value (i.e. para. [0069-0070], the natural language processing apparatus determines whether the first similarity is greater than, or meets, a first threshold. When the first similarity is greater than, or meets, the first threshold, operation 240 is performed… the natural language processing apparatus may display the first response sentence in a form of text on a display of the natural language processing apparatus).
Claim 4:
Beringer, Kim, and Pham teach the dynamic generative-AI enhanced leadership coaching platform of claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the one or more generative AI models comprise an internal generative AI model (i.e. para. [0080], “Referring to FIG. 3, retrieval models 310 and 320, a generation model 330, and a selection model 340 may be implemented by the natural language processing apparatus”, wherein it is noted that the model and its databases share the same hardware and thus the model may be considered as internal to the system).
Claim 5:
Beringer, Kim, and Pham teach the dynamic generative-AI enhanced leadership coaching platform of claim 1.
Beringer further teaches wherein the one or more generative AI models comprise an external generative AI model (i.e. para. [0034], “hybrid interface system 110 transmits voice- and text-based user inputs a third-party natural language processing system (such as, for example, GOOGLE Dialogue Flow or MICROSOFT Bot Framework) and receives the intent mapped to the voice input”, wherein it is noted that Google Dialogue flow is part of an external generative AI model).
Claim 6:
Beringer, Kim, and Pham teach the dynamic generative-AI enhanced leadership coaching platform of claim 1.
Beringer further teaches wherein the user profile comprises; a dynamic data point (i.e. para. [0073], “Startup display 400 provides selectable icons for three virtual assistants (virtual assistant icons 402a-402c), a microphone icon 404 to initiate a voice command, and a password entry box 406”, wherein the BRI for a dynamic data point encompasses the user selection as they log in) ; a personalized conversation starter (i.e. para. [0079], “s disclosed above, one or more interactive display devices 120 update chatbot interface 502 and GUI interface 504 to display messages and graphics representing the answer to a question, lookup objects, offered choices, follow up actions, and/or the like. According to the illustrated embodiment, chatbot interface 502 provides text prompt 510”, wherein it is noted in Fig. 5 that a messages “It’s Monday morning, today large orders get delivered” is displayed); and a user permission set; wherein the user permission set comprises a user-level permission and an organization-level permission (i.e. para. [0082], “the roles of workers and virtual assistants may be ranked and organized hierarchically to define relationships among them. In some instances, the relationship provides for the virtual assistant to perform an assistant supervisor role by providing an intermediary between the worker and his or her supervisor”, wherein the BRI for a permission set encompasses the rules and authorizations between different hierarchical roles).
Claim 7:
Beringer, Kim, and Pham teach the dynamic generative-AI enhanced leadership coaching platform of claim 6.
Beringer further teaches wherein the one or more authenticated users are each assigned an access level to one or more (i.e. para. [0082], “By way of explanation only and not by way of limitation, the roles of workers and virtual assistants may be ranked and organized hierarchically to define relationships among them. In some instances, the relationship provides for the virtual assistant to perform an assistant supervisor role by providing an intermediary between the worker and his or her supervisor. In other instances, the relationship provides for an expert to be reached directly from any worker, usually in response to the inability of the virtual assistant to provide a satisfactory response to the worker”, wherein an assistant would have access to different records than a supervisor according to organization hierarchy).
Kim further teaches
vectorized data records (i.e. para. [0039], The one or more processors may be further configured to encode the input sentence into a first feature vector, and determine whether the similarity of the first database query sentence with the input sentence meets the first threshold by determining a similarity between the first feature vector and a first query sentence feature vector, corresponding to the first database query sentence, stored in a database among a plurality of query sentence feature vectors stored in the database).
Claim 8:
Beringer, Kim, and Pham teach the dynamic generative-AI enhanced leadership coaching platform of claim 6.
wherein the one or more authenticated users are each assigned an access level to one or more (i.e. para. [0104], “FIG. 21 illustrates worker home screen 2100, in accordance with an embodiment… the worker may choose: Today's Shifts, Production Plan, and My Tasks… Hybrid interface system 110 determines the role of the user is a kitchen worker, and updates the graphics and text of display of one or more interactive display devices 120 to provide those assigned to the role of the kitchen helper”, wherein it is noted that different roles have different levels of hierarchical organization data access).
Kim further teaches
vectorized data records (i.e. para. [0039], The one or more processors may be further configured to encode the input sentence into a first feature vector, and determine whether the similarity of the first database query sentence with the input sentence meets the first threshold by determining a similarity between the first feature vector and a first query sentence feature vector, corresponding to the first database query sentence, stored in a database among a plurality of query sentence feature vectors stored in the database).
Claim 9:
Beringer, Kim, and Pham teach the dynamic generative-AI enhanced leadership coaching platform of claim 1.
Pham further teaches
wherein the dynamic data point includes one or more components of the analysis and summary of the chat transcript according to the instructions of the post-conversation analysis module (i.e. para. [0038], “When a real representative takes over the conversation or chat, the intent recognition module can review a transcript of the chat messaging with the chatbot. The intent classification module can determine a summary of the conversation, e.g., problem statement, and based on the summary, the intent classification module can determine if there is a previous phone call or chat messaging by the customer about the same or similar issues”, wherein the BRI for dynamic data encompasses user related data that relates to a problem or issue that was mentioned to the chatbot).
Claim 10:
Beringer, Kim, and Pham teach the dynamic generative-AI enhanced leadership coaching platform of claim 1.
Pham further teaches
wherein the post-conversation analysis module is configured to instruct the generative AI module to generate the summary and analysis of the chat transcript in response to a chat session termination event (i.e. para. [0038], “When a real representative takes over the conversation or chat, the intent recognition module can review a transcript of the chat messaging with the chatbot. The intent classification module can determine a summary of the conversation, e.g., problem statement, and based on the summary, the intent classification module can determine if there is a previous phone call or chat messaging by the customer about the same or similar issues”, wherein when a chat with a chatbot is terminated a summary and analysis is generated by the Ai) .
Claim(s) 11, 13-15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over light of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210150155 “Kim”, in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220358448 “Beringer”, and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210092078 “Lee”.
Claim 11:
Kim teaches a method for providing a dynamic generative-AI enhanced leadership coaching platform, comprising:
opening, by an agent, a chat session (i.e. para. [0067]. In operation 210, the natural language processing apparatus may receive an input sentence from a user); receiving, by the agent, a message from a user (i.e. para. [0067], For example, the input sentence may be acquired from a speech signal uttered by the user or text data input by the user); semantically analyzing, a semantic analysis of the message from the user to form a semantic transcript (i.e. para. [0072], “Through the morpheme analysis, the input sentence may be divided based on morphemes, which are minimum semantic units… The selecting of the component may include performing a morpheme analysis on the input sentence); forming one or more vectorized portions from the semantic transcript (i.e. [0073-0075], “a verb may extracted from the components included in the input sentence as the portion of the input sentence. In a case of a retrieval task type, e.g., using a search engine, a noun may be extracted from the components… the extraction order may be a verb, a noun, and then an adjective/adverb, a verb may be extracted first from the components included in the input sentence… the similarity may be a cosine similarity between an embedding vector of the portion of the input sentence”, wherein a semantic transcript such as a verb or noun portion may be formed into a vector to be used in finding a cosine similarity between query sentences stored in a database of the retrieval model) ; for each of a subset of vectorized data chunks in a database storing previous messages from the user (i.e. para. [0093], “the input sentence may be encoded into an embedding space, and the first similarity may be determined between the input sentence in the embedding space and stored sentences or phrasings previously encoded into the embedding space”, wherein the BRI for previous messages from a user would encompass that a database may be a past indexed database of phrasings), computing a respective similarity score between the respective vectorized data chunk and the one or more vectorized portions (i.e. para. [0075], the natural language processing apparatus determines a similarity between the portion of the input sentence of the user and each of the plurality of query sentences stored in a database of the retrieval model); selecting one or more of the vectorized data chunks, each selected vectorized data chunk having a respective similarity score exceeding a predefined threshold value (i.e. para. [0081], “ the retrieval model 320 is also implemented or a corresponding found second query sentence result of the retrieval model 320 considered. The retrieval model 320 identifies the second query sentence “Like best” to be the most similar to a portion (for example, “like best” which is a verb component) of the input sentence. Since a second similarity between the portion “like best” of the input sentence and the second query sentence “Like best” is 1.000 and greater than, or meets, a second threshold of “0.9”, a response sentence “Me too!” corresponding to the second query sentence “Like best” is selected as a response to be output to the user.”, wherein the BRI for a predefined threshold value encompasses a second or third threshold comparing chunks of a user input query);
retrieving, from a user database, a user profile associated with the user, including a personalized conversation starter;
selecting a prompt template from a prompt template library (i.e. para. [0084], “an embedding database may store pairs of query embedding vectors and corresponding response sentences, and a search of the database with respect to a generated embedding vector of the full input sentence “Sad because World Cup is over” may result in the most similar stored query embedding vector corresponding to “World Cup is coming” being determined”, wherein the BRI for a prompt template library encompasses the embedding database of pairs of matching prompt chunks, such as ‘sad’, and corresponding response sentences);
forming, a dynamic prompt by appending the message from the user, the semantic transcript, the selected vectorized data chunks, and the user profile to the prompt template (i.e. para. [0084], “Accordingly, a query sentence “Sad” may be found in the database as being a most similar sentence to a portion “sad” of the input sentence, e.g., stored query embedding vector for “Sad” may be found to be most similar for an embedding vector for the portion “sad” of the input sentence. Since a corresponding similarity between the query sentence “Sad” and the portion “sad” of the input sentence is sufficient, for example, greater than or equal to, or meets, a second threshold, the corresponding response sentence “That sounds really sad” paired with the query sentence “Sad” is output as a response to the input sentence “Sad because World Cup is over.” Through this, a user may experience a natural chatbot conversation”, wherein the BRI for a dynamic prompt encompasses how the generated prompt response dynamically relies on the message from the user, the semantics, and a similarity vector in order to generate an appropriately matching response); sending, the dynamic prompt to a generative-AI model (i.e. para. [0087], Fig. 5, a generation model may be used to determine and output the response sentence for the full input sentence); in response to the dynamic prompt, receiving, a generated response including a responsive message from the generative-AI model; and sending, by the agent, the responsive message to the user (i.e. para. [0090], in this example, the selection model (retrieval model+generation model) selects a response sentence “No, but I wish I would have a chance to try it” generated by the generation model as a natural response to the input sentence, and this generated response sentence is output). While Kim teaches a chatbot that uses semantic and vector analyzation to select a certain data chunk, Kim may not explicitly teach retrieving, from a user database, a user profile associated with the user, including a personalized conversation starter;
forming, a dynamic prompt by appending the message from the user, the semantic transcript, the selected vectorized data chunks, and the user profile to the prompt template; sending, the dynamic prompt to a generative-AI model; However, Beringer teaches
retrieving, from a user database, a user profile associated with the user, including a personalized conversation starter (i.e. para. [0080], “chatbot interface 502 displays a greeting (“Good Morning! It's Monday, today large orders get delivered.”) followed by one or more selectable options 512a-512c: today's deliveries, deliveries, and production plan.”, wherein it is noted that Fig. 5 displays the greeting in response to as part of a user logging into their landing page with password credentials);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add retrieving, from a user database, a user profile associated with the user, including a personalized conversation starter, to the role-based AI chatbot system with vectorization of Kim, with how a user profile may be used to determine an chatbot opener, as taught by Beringer. One would have been motivated to combine Beringer with Kim and would have had a reasonable expectation of success as the combination provides the workers with a better understanding of their role, tailored to the worker's individual learning needs.
While Kim-Beringer teach a dynamic chatbot that uses similarity vectors and a user profile to generate a response. Kim-Beringer may not explicitly teach
forming, a dynamic prompt by appending the message from the user, the semantic transcript, the selected vectorized data chunks, and the user profile to the prompt template; sending, the dynamic prompt to a generative-AI model; However, Lee teaches
retrieving, from a user database, a user profile associated with the user (i.e. para. [0038], The contextual information associated with the other non-textual data can include an entity such as, for example, a user location, a user profile, and/or other data associated with a user), including a personalized conversation starter;
forming, a dynamic prompt by appending the message from the user (i.e. para. [0072], “a path traversal for a dialogue system is generated, by the system (e.g., by the dialogue routing component 106), based on the contextual information. Additionally or alternatively, the path traversal for the dialogue system can be generated based on statement input provided to the dialogue system”, wherein it is noted in para. [0064], that, “the contextual information 510 can be dynamic data”), the semantic transcript (i.e. para. [0056], “machine learning component 302 can employ a probabilistic and/or statistical-based analysis (e.g., factoring into the analysis utilities and costs) to learn and/or generate inferences with respect to the statement data 1”, wherein the BRI for the semantic transcript encompasses the statement data as it is analyzed), the selected vectorized data chunks (i.e. para. [0052], “the machine learning component 302 can generate a model (e.g., a machine learning model) to facilitate routing the statement data 112 to a skill of the dialogue system. In one example, the machine learning component 302 can generate a classification model to infer a correct skill for the statement data 112”, wherein it is noted that the classification model may include set of support vector regression machine learning computations to learn one or more features and/or information related to the statement data 112 and/or the contextual data) , and the user profile to the prompt template (i.e. para. [0064], “ Additionally or alternatively, the contextual information component 104 can determine the contextual information 510 based on user profile data stored in the computing device 402… As such, the dialogue system 502 can dialogue system can provide multiple skills by employing the statement data 112 (e.g., user utterance) as well as the contextual information 510); sending, the dynamic prompt to a generative-AI model (i.e. para. [0073], Fig. 8, “At 806, a response to the statement via the dialogue system is generated, by the system (e.g., by the communication component 202), based on the path traversal. The response can be an answer related to the statement”, wherein it is noted that a “skill” can be, for example, a model (e.g., a machine learning model, a generative model, etc.) that generates a response (e.g., an answer) in response to the user statement input provided to the dialogue system. a “skill” can be, for example, a model (e.g., a machine learning model, a generative model, etc.) that generates a response (e.g., an answer) in response to the user statement input provided to the dialogue system).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add forming, a dynamic prompt by appending the message from the user, the semantic transcript, the selected vectorized data chunks, and the user profile to the prompt template; sending, the dynamic prompt to a generative-AI model, to the role-based AI chatbot system with vectorization of Kim-Beringer, with how a user profile may be used in conjunction with vectorization of a dynamic user prompt as input to a generative AI that outputs an appropriate response, as taught by Lee. One would have been motivated to combine Lee with Kim-Beringer and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve accuracy of data generated by a machine learning model associated with the dialogue routing data.
Claim 13:
Kim, Beringer, and Lee teach the method of claim 11.
wherein each vectorized data chunk comprises a respective data file and a respective vector embedding (i.e. para. [0075], “the natural language processing apparatus determines a similarity between the portion of the input sentence of the user and each of the plurality of query sentences stored in a database of the retrieval model”, wherein a sentence may be broken down into phases or words that may be vectorized and stored as an embedding vector for similarity comparison).
Claim 14:
Kim, Beringer, and Lee teach the method of claim 13.
Kim further teaches wherein each similarity score is computed as a respective cosine similarity score between a respective vector embedding embeddings of a respective vectorized data chunk and the vectorized portions from the semantic transcript (i.e. para. [0075], the similarity may be a cosine similarity between an embedding vector of the portion of the input sentence, e.g., as generated by the encoder of FIG. 1, and an embedding vector of each of the query sentences stored in an embedding database, such as the embedding database demonstrated above in FIG. 1).
Claim 15:
Kim, Beringer, and Lee teach the method of claim 11.
Kim further teaches wherein the generative AI model comprises a large language model (i.e. para. [0058], “The generation model may also be referred to as a generative model”, wherein it is noted that a generative model is a type of large language model).
Claim 21:
Kim, Beringer, and Lee teach the method of claim 11.
Lee further teaches wherein the user profile associated with the user includes a dynamic data point (i.e. para. [0064], Additionally or alternatively, the contextual information component 104 can determine the contextual information 510 based on user profile data stored in the computing device 402. In an aspect, the contextual information 510 can be dynamic data).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over light of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210150155 “Kim”, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220358448 “Beringer”, and further in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210092078 “Lee”, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in light of Ma, Z., Dou, Z., Zhu, Y., Zhong, H., & Wen, J.-R. (2021). One Chatbot Per Person: Creating Personalized Chatbots based on Implicit User Profiles (2108.09355v2). arXiv. https://doi.org/10.1145/3404835.3462828, hereinafter “Ma”.
Claim 12:
Kim, Beringer, and Lee teach the method of claim 11.
Kim, Beringer, and Lee may not explicitly teach further comprising:
receiving, by the agent, a chat termination event; in response to the chat termination event, sending, a user profile update request to the generative AI module, the request including instructions to generate an update to the user profile associated with the user, including an updated conversation starter, based upon the semantic transcript; receiving, from the generative AI module to the agent, an updated user profile associated with the user, an updated conversation starter; and storing the updated user profile, including the updated conversation starter, into the user database.
However, Ma teaches
receiving, by the agent, a chat termination event (i.e. pg.3, 1. Introduction, “we design a personalized post encoder to construct the personalized post representation. The general user profile is utilized in the post encoder to better capture the semantic information of the input post”, wherein the BRI for a chat termination event encompasses the determination that a user’s past chat and response should be encoded into a user’s historical post-response pair); in response to the chat termination event, sending, a user profile update request to the generative AI module, the request including instructions to generate an update to the user profile associated with the user (i.e. pg. 4, 3.1.2 Decoder, “User history memory and dynamic post-aware user profile. In the general user profile, all historical responses are considered in a general view… as a personalized representation of𝑋,DHAP builds a dynamic post-aware user profile e𝐷𝑡 by selecting and aggregating the historical responses from the user history memory”, wherein a user’s profile is updated with historical post-response pairs), including an updated conversation starter, based upon the semantic transcript (i.e. pg. 2, Fig. 1 “An example of the personalized chatbot serving as an intelligent agent for user Tom when Tom is busy.”, wherein the opening line “i, I’m DHAP, Tom’s digital assistant. You can chat with me since Tom is busy now :)”, is updated with the dialogue history of the user and based on the semantic information of the post pairs); receiving, from the generative AI module to the agent, an updated user profile associated with the user, an updated conversation starter (i.e. pg. 2, 1. Introduction, User profiles learned from historical data can be gradually updated with more data being collected. In summary, the user dialogue history is easy to obtain and appropriate for building user profile); and storing the updated user profile, including the updated conversation starter, into the user database (i.e. pg. 5, 3.4.2, “After building the user history memory, DHAP can select and aggregate the most relevant historical responses and build the dynamic post-aware user profile based on the input post”, wherein the updated user profile is stored within a memory).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add receiving, by the agent, a chat termination event; in response to the chat termination event, sending, a user profile update request to the generative AI module, the request including instructions to generate an update to the user profile associated with the user, including an updated conversation starter, based upon the semantic transcript; receiving, from the generative AI module to the agent, an updated user profile associated with the user, an updated conversation starter; and storing the updated user profile, including the updated conversation starter, into the user database, to the role-based AI chatbot system with vectorization of Kim-Beringer-Lee, with how a user’s past responses may be used to updated the generative Ai chatbot’s opening responses to a specific user, as taught by Ma. One would have been motivated to combine Ma with Kim-Beringer-Lee and would have had a reasonable expectation of success as a longer dialogue history can provide more personalized information (Ma, pg. 9)
Claim(s) 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220358448 “Beringer” in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210150155 “Kim”.
Claim 17:
Beringer teaches a dynamic generative-AI enhanced leadership coaching platform, comprising:
an authentication module configured to authenticate a plurality of users (i.e. para. [0074], Fig. 4, Startup display 400 provides selectable icons for three virtual assistants (virtual assistant icons 402a-402c… and a password entry box 406. Although selectable icons 402a-402c are shown for three virtual assistants (chef, supervisor, and logistics expert); a user interface module configured to send and receive messages (i.e. para. [0079], chatbot interface 502 provides text prompt 510, one or more selectable options 512a-512c, microphone icon 404 (as disclosed above), and response text entry box 514); an agent configured to instantiate a plurality of independent chat sessions, each chat session associated with a respective set of one or more of the plurality of users, respectively (i.e. para. [0023], “ hybrid interface system 110, one or more interactive display devices 120, workforce management system 130, supply chain planner 140, and one or more supply chain entities 150, and computer may be coupled with network 170 using one or more communication links 180a-180b… Communication links are shown as generally coupling hybrid interface system 110, one or more interactive display devices 120”, wherein multiple workers may maintain active sessions and interact with the platform simultaneously); a user database comprising a plurality of user profiles, including a respective user profile for each user of the plurality of users i.e. para. [0048], Roles data 264 defines the tasks and other requirements associated with each role. A shift schedule may comprise several roles (such as, for example, supervisor, cashier clerk, warehouse clerk, kitchen worker, chef, and the like). By way of example only and not by way of limitation, roles data 264 comprises, for a particular role, one or more of: role title (such as “Shift Manager”)); a memory management module (i.e. para. [0020], One or more computers may include one or more processors 166 and associated memory to execute instructions and manipulate information according to the operation of virtual persona system 100 and any of the methods described herein) ; and a generative AI module; wherein the agent is configured to run two or more of the plurality of independent chat sessions concurrently (i.e. para. [0030], “Hybrid interface system 110 provides for high-quality cooking in a chef-less kitchen by workers with little or no training by providing an interactive display that guides the worker step-by-step through individual tasks, provides information to the worker in real time and in context to provide the rationale behind certain actions… the examples are shown and described as including a chef, a supervisor, and a logistics expert”, wherein workers may communicate with each of the three virtual assistants, a chef, a supervisor, and a logistic expert, separately and simultaneously in real-time); wherein the agent sends search requests based on vectorized semantic analyses of chat transcripts of the two or more independent chat sessions to the memory management module (i.e. para. [0085], Fig. 7, “Virtual assistant overview 700 displays metrics 702a-702c and list of intents 704 for requests handled by the displayed virtual assistant… In this example, the virtual chef assistant received twenty-three requests, …The two most common intents 236 of these worker requests were “how to prepare” (nine intents 236) and “where to find” (five intents 236)”, wherein it is noted that each virtual assistant sends out requests for user queries. Wherein the BRI for vectorized semantic analysis encompasses the encoded representation of the intents of user requests to the different virtual agents); wherein the memory management module returns, to the agent, a respective set of one or more vectorized data chunks for each search request according to similarity between the vectorized semantic analyses and the vectorized data chunks; wherein the agent compiles the returned vectorized data chunks; and
wherein the agent sends the dynamic prompt to the generative AI module.
While Beringer teaches multiple AI agents assisting multiple users simultaneously in real time using vectorized representations of query intent, Beringer may not explicitly teach
a generative AI module; wherein the memory management module returns, to the agent, a respective set of one or more vectorized data chunks for each search request according to similarity between the vectorized semantic analyses and the vectorized data chunks; wherein the agent compiles the returned vectorized data chunks; and
wherein the agent sends the dynamic prompt to the generative AI module.
However, Kim teaches
a generative AI module (i.e. para. [0058], a chatbot system. When determining the response sentence, the natural language processing apparatus uses a retrieval model and/or a generation model. The generation model may also be referred to as a generative model); wherein the memory management module returns, to the agent, a respective set of one or more vectorized data chunks for each search request according to similarity between the vectorized semantic analyses and the vectorized data chunks (i.e. para. [0080], The retrieval model 310 is configured to determine a response sentence by searching for and retrieving a query sentence most similar to a full input sentence from a database, such as discussed above with respect to FIGS. 1 and 2); wherein the agent compiles the returned vectorized data chunks (i.e. para. [0062], An embedding database may thus be used/generated/updated to store numerous pairs of such query embedding vectors and the corresponding response sentences, e.g., where the stored response sentences may be considered to be respective decodings of the stored query embedding vectors); and
wherein the agent sends the dynamic prompt to the generative AI module (i.e. para. [0090], in this example, the selection model (retrieval model+generation model) selects a response sentence “No, but I wish I would have a chance to try it” generated by the generation model as a natural response to the input sentence, and this generated response sentence is output)..
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a generative AI module; wherein the memory management module returns, to the agent, a respective set of one or more vectorized data chunks for each search request according to similarity between the vectorized semantic analyses and the vectorized data chunks; wherein the agent compiles the returned vectorized data chunks; and wherein the agent sends the dynamic prompt to the generative AI module, to the role-based AI chatbot system with vectorization of Beringer, with a user’s query is specifically encoded into vectors for a semantic similarity analysis before being fed into a generative AI for a response, as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to combine Kim with Beringer and would have had a reasonable expectation of success as it may be desirable for a model to differentiate between appropriate responses to the input sentence.
Claim 19:
Beringer and Kim teach the platform of claim 17,.
Beringer further teaches wherein each user profile includes one or more permission levels defining a portion of a knowledge base database that may be accessed by a user associated with the user profile (i.e. para. [0101], “ the supervisor virtual assistant provides waste breakdown 1904 indicating reasons for the extra waste, which, in this example, is caused by inventory spoilage and trim waste”, wherein it is noted that a chef supervisor user may access supervisor virtual assistant which may access database reports related to chef leadership such as a waste breakdown due to inventory spoilage and waste).
Claim 20:
Beringer and Kim teach the platform of claim 17.
Beringer further teaches wherein the agent is configured to produce an audit report describing trends in the chat sessions for one or more of the plurality of users (i.e. para. [0085], “Virtual assistant overview 700 displays metrics 702a-702c and list of intents 704 for requests handled by the displayed virtual assistant”, wherein it is noted in Fig. 7 that a list of the most popular intents are displayed).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over light of Patent Application Publication No. 20220358448 “Beringer” in light of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210150155 “Kim””, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in light of Ma, Z., Dou, Z., Zhu, Y., Zhong, H., & Wen, J.-R. (2021). One Chatbot Per Person: Creating Personalized Chatbots based on Implicit User Profiles (2108.09355v2). arXiv. https://doi.org/10.1145/3404835.3462828, hereinafter “Ma”.
Claim 18:
Beringer and Kim teach the platform of claim 17.
Beringer and Kim may not explicitly teach
wherein the agent is further configured to, in response to a chat session termination event for one of the plurality of independent chat sessions, send a chat transcript from the terminated chat session together with an instructive prompt to the generative AI module to request an update to the user profile of the user associated with the terminated chat session, the updated user profile including an updated dynamic data point or an updated personalized conversation starter.
However, Ma teaches
wherein the agent is further configured to, in response to a chat session termination event for one of the plurality of independent chat sessions (i.e. pg. 3, 1. Introduction, “we design a personalized post encoder to construct the personalized post representation. The general user profile is utilized in the post encoder to better capture the semantic information of the input post”, wherein the BRI for a chat termination event encompasses the determination that a user’s past chat and response should be encoded into a user’s historical post-response pair), send a chat transcript from the terminated chat session together with an instructive prompt to the generative AI module to request an update to the user profile of the user associated with the terminated chat session (i.e. pg. 4, 3.1.2 Decoder, “User history memory and dynamic post-aware user profile. In the general user profile, all historical responses are considered in a general view… as a personalized representation of𝑋,DHAP builds a dynamic post-aware user profile e𝐷𝑡 by selecting and aggregating the historical responses from the user history memory”, wherein a user’s profile is updated with historical post-response pairs), the updated user profile including an updated dynamic data point or an updated personalized conversation starter (i.e. pg. 2, 1. Introduction, User profiles learned from historical data can be gradually updated with more data being collected. In summary, the user dialogue history is easy to obtain and appropriate for building user profile).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add wherein the agent is further configured to, in response to a chat session termination event for one of the plurality of independent chat sessions, send a chat transcript from the terminated chat session together with an instructive prompt to the generative AI module to request an update to the user profile of the user associated with the terminated chat session, the updated user profile including an updated dynamic data point or an updated personalized conversation starter, to the role-based AI chatbot system with vectorization of Beringer-Kim, with how a user’s past responses may be used to updated the generative Ai chatbot’s opening responses to a specific user, as taught by Ma. One would have been motivated to combine Ma with Beringer-Kim and would have had a reasonable expectation of success as a longer dialogue history can provide more personalized information (Ma, pg. 9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20160352656 “Galley”, teaches in para. [0122], FIG. 5 is an exemplary block diagram illustrating generation of a context-sensitive response. The response generation engine generates a response to a message 506 created by a user 508 based on conversational context data. The conversational context data may include non-linguistic context data 502 and linguistic context data 504. The context data derivation component accesses linguistic context data 504 from conversation history data for the user.
/D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2145
/CESAR B PAULA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145