DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 06/26/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-11 are considered for examination. The claims 12-22 are withdrawn from considerations. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the examination of all claims is not believed to create an undue burden on the USPTO, that the subject matter is not independent and distinct, and that different classification are not adequate grounds for restriction. This is not found persuasive because Claims 1-11 (group 1) are directed towards an illumination system which falls under different subclass versus Claims 12-22 (group 2) where the claims are directed towards a projection device which falls under different subclass. Finally, it is not only different subclasses searches that are required, but also different text queries, and different structure of prior art are required to reject the claims.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (US 2021/0405515 A1; Hsieh) in view of Chen et al. (US 2007/0188878 A1; Chen).
As of claim 1, Hsieh teaches an illumination system 100 [fig 1A], comprising a light source module 110, 120 , 130 [fig 1A], a plurality of optical elements 150 (beam splitting element) [fig 1A] [0026], C1-C3 (lenses) [fig 1A] [0037] and a wavelength conversion element 140 [fig 1A] [0026], wherein: the light source module 110, 120 , 130 [fig 1A] is configured to provide a laser beam [0028]; the plurality of optical elements 150, C1-C3 [fig 1A] are disposed on a transmission path of the laser beam EB2 [fig 1A] and are located between the light source module 110, 120 , 130 [fig 1A] and the wavelength conversion element 140 [fig 1A], wherein the plurality of optical elements 150, C1-C3 [fig 1A] comprise a light-splitting element 150 [fig 1A] and at least one lens C1-C3 [fig 1A], wherein: the at least one lens C1-C3 [fig 1A] is located between the light-splitting element 150 [fig 1A] and the wavelength conversion element 140 [fig 1A]; and the light-splitting element 140 [fig 1A] is disposed on the transmission path of the laser beam EB2 [fig 1A] to guide the laser beam to the at least one lens C1-C3 [fig 1A], the laser beam passes through the at least one lens C1-C3 [fig 1A] and is then transmitted to the wavelength conversion element 140 [fig 1A]; the wavelength conversion element 140 [fig 1A] is disposed on the transmission path of the laser beam EB2 [fig 1A] from the at least one lens C1-C3 [fig 1A], and is configured to reflect the laser beam back to the light-splitting element 150 [fig 1A] and convert the laser beam into an excited beam and then reflect the excited beam back to the light-splitting element [0045].
Hsieh does not teach at least one lens comprises a body and a light-absorbing structure, when the laser beam is incident to the body, a light spot is formed on the body, and a region where the light spot is located is defined as a first region, the first region is located at one side of a central axis of the body, and another side of the central axis of the body has a second region, wherein the light-absorbing structure is distributed on at least a part of an edge of the body, and the at least a part is adjacent to the second region.
Chen teaches an image projecting apparatus [fig 3] having at least one lens 42 (relay lens) [fig 3] [0030] comprises a body 422 (light-incident side) [fig 3] [0033] and a light-absorbing structure 43 (light-absorbing regions 43) [fig 3] [0033], when the light beam (from light source 31) [fig 3] [0029] is incident to the body 422 [fig 3], a light spot (substantially rectangular in shape in 43) [fig 5] is formed on the body 422 [fig 3], and a region where the light spot is located is defined as a first region (region next to notch 421) [fig 5], the first region (region next to notch 421) [fig 5] is located at one side of a central axis (shown with arrow in the center of 422) the body [fig 3], and another side of the central axis of the body (shown with arrow in the center of 422) has a second region (light-exit side of 42) [fig 3] [0033], wherein the light-absorbing structure 43 [fig 3] is distributed on at least a part of an edge of the body (region next to notch 421) [fig 5], and the at least a part is adjacent to the second region (light-exit side of 42) [fig 3] [0033].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one lens comprises a body and a light-absorbing structure, when the laser beam is incident to the body, a light spot is formed on the body, and a region where the light spot is located is defined as a first region, the first region is located at one side of a central axis of the body, and another side of the central axis of the body has a second region, wherein the light-absorbing structure is distributed on at least a part of an edge of the body, and the at least a part is adjacent to the second region as taught by Chen to the illumination system as disclosed by Hsieh to provide an image with lower color deviation and higher color uniformity (Chen; [0009]).
As of claim 4, Hsieh teaches the invention as cited above except for a distribution density of the light-absorbing structure gradually decreases from the edge of the body toward the central axis of the body.
Chen teaches a distribution density of the light-absorbing structure gradually decreases from the edge (from the notch area) of the body 42 [fig 5] toward the central axis of the body (shown with arrow in the center of 422).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a distribution density of the light-absorbing structure gradually decreases from the edge of the body toward the central axis of the body as taught by Chen to the illumination system as disclosed by Hsieh to provide an image with lower color deviation and higher color uniformity (Chen; [0009]).
Claims 9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. (US 2021/0405515 A1; Hsieh) in view of Chen et al. (US 2007/0188878 A1; Chen) and further in view of Pan (US 2019/0373227 A1).
As of claim 9, Hsieh teaches an illumination system 100 [fig 1A], comprising a light source module 110, 120 ,130 [fig 1A], a plurality of optical elements 150 (beam splitting element) [fig 1A] [0026], C1-C3 (lenses) [fig 1A] [0037] and a wavelength conversion element 140 [fig 1A] [0026], and a light-uniformizing element 210 [fig 1A], wherein: the light source module 110, 120 , 130 [fig 1A] is configured to provide a laser beam [0028]; the plurality of optical elements 150, C1-C3 [fig 1A] are disposed on a transmission path of the laser beam EB2 [fig 1A] and are located between the light source module 110, 120 , 130 [fig 1A] and the wavelength conversion element 140 [fig 1A], wherein the plurality of optical elements 150, C1-C3 [fig 1A] comprise a light-splitting element 150 [fig 1A] and lens group C1-C3 [fig 1A], wherein: the lens group comprises at least one first lens C1 [fig 1A], at least one second lens C2 [fig 1A] and at least one third lens C3 [fig 1A], wherein the at least one first lens C1 [fig 1A] is located between the light-splitting element 150 [fig 1A] and the wavelength conversion element 140 [fig 1A], and the light-splitting element 150 [fig 1A] is disposed on the transmission path of the laser beam EB2 [fig 1A] to guide the laser beam passing through the at least one second lens C2 [fig 1A] to the at least one first lens C1 [fig 1A], and the laser beam passes through the at least one first lens C1 [fig 1A] and is then transmitted to the wavelength conversion element 140 [fig 1A]; the wavelength conversion element 140 [fig 1A] is disposed on the transmission path of the laser beam EB2 [fig 1A] from the at least one first lens C1 [fig 1A], and is configured to allow the laser beam to pass through and convert the laser beam EB2 [fig 1A] into an excited beam and then reflect the excited beam back to the light-splitting element [0045], the tight-splitting element 150 [fig 1A] then guides the excited light beam to the at least one third lens C3 [fig 1A] and then to the light-uniformizing element 210 [fig 1A]. wherein at least one of the light-splitting element and the lens group comprises a body and a light-absorbing structure, and when the laser beam is incident to the body, a light spot is formed on the body, and a region where the light spot is located is defined as a first region, wherein a central axis of the body passes through the first region, and the light-absorbing structure is distributed on an edge of the body away from the first region.
Hsieh does not teach at least one lens comprises a body and a light-absorbing structure, when the laser beam is incident to the body, a light spot is formed on the body, and a region where the light spot is located is defined as a first region, the first region is located at one side of a central axis of the body, and another side of the central axis of the body has a second region, wherein the light-absorbing structure is distributed on at least a part of an edge of the body, and the at least a part is adjacent to the second region.
Chen teaches an image projecting apparatus [fig 3] having at least one lens 42 (relay lens) [fig 3] [0030] comprises a body 422 (light-incident side) [fig 3] [0033] and a light-absorbing structure 43 (light-absorbing regions 43) [fig 3] [0033], when the light beam (from light source 31) [fig 3] [0029] is incident to the body 422 [fig 3], a light spot (substantially rectangular in shape in 43) [fig 5] is formed on the body 422 [fig 3], and a region where the light spot is located is defined as a first region (region next to notch 421) [fig 5], the first region (region next to notch 421) [fig 5] is located at one side of a central axis (shown with arrow in the center of 422) the body [fig 3], and another side of the central axis of the body (shown with arrow in the center of 422) has a second region (light-exit side of 42) [fig 3] [0033], wherein the light-absorbing structure 43 [fig 3] is distributed on at least a part of an edge of the body (region next to notch 421) [fig 5], and the at least a part is adjacent to the second region (light-exit side of 42) [fig 3] [0033].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one lens comprises a body and a light-absorbing structure, when the laser beam is incident to the body, a light spot is formed on the body, and a region where the light spot is located is defined as a first region, the first region is located at one side of a central axis of the body, and another side of the central axis of the body has a second region, wherein the light-absorbing structure is distributed on at least a part of an edge of the body, and the at least a part is adjacent to the second region as taught by Chen to the illumination system as disclosed by Hsieh to provide an image with lower color deviation and higher color uniformity (Chen; [0009]).
Hsieh in view of Chen teaches the invention as cited above except for at least one second lens is located between the light source module and the light-splitting element; and the at least one third lens is located between the light-splitting element and the light-uniformizing element.
Pan teaches a projecting apparatus 200 [fig 1] having at least one second lens 160 (through which light L1 passes through) [fig 1] is located between the light source module 110 [fig 1] and the light-splitting element 140 (dichroic mirror) [fig 1] [0041]; and the at least one third lens 160 (through which light L2 passes through) [fig 1] is located between the light-splitting element 140 [fig 1] and the light-uniformizing element 170 [fig 1] [0042].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least one second lens is located between the light source module and the light-splitting element; and the at least one third lens is located between the light-splitting element and the light-uniformizing element as taught by Pan to the illumination system as disclosed by Hsieh in view of Chen to provide a projecting apparatus with less production process and production cost (Pan; [0006]).
As of claim 11, Hsieh teaches the invention as cited above except for a distribution density of the light-absorbing structure gradually decreases from the edge of the body toward the central axis of the body.
Chen teaches a distribution density of the light-absorbing structure gradually decreases from the edge (from the notch area) of the body 42 [fig 5] toward the central axis of the body (shown with arrow in the center of 422).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a distribution density of the light-absorbing structure gradually decreases from the edge of the body toward the central axis of the body as taught by Chen to the illumination system as disclosed by Hsieh to provide an image with lower color deviation and higher color uniformity (Chen; [0009]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5-8, 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As of claim 2, the closest prior art Hsieh et al. (US 2021/0405515 A1; Hsieh) teaches a projection device 200 includes an illumination system 100, a light homogenizing element 210, a light valve 220 and a projection lens 230. The illumination system 100 is configured to provide an illumination beam IB, and includes a first excitation light source 110, a second excitation light source 120, a supplementary light source 130, a wavelength conversion element 140, a beam splitting element 150, and a controller 160. The light source may be an array arranged by one or more light-emitting elements, or may be an optical element assembly consisting of one or more light-emitting elements and mirrors or lenses, but the invention is not limited thereto. The light-emitting element includes a laser diode (LD). In the embodiment, the first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 each include one or more blue laser light emitting elements that can emit blue light. The first excitation light source 110 provides a first excitation beam EB1, and the second excitation light source 120 provides a second excitation beam EB2. The first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 may also be considered as blue light sources as a result of emitting blue light. Peak wavelengths of the first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 are 455 nanometers and 465 nanometers, respectively. The supplementary light source 130 includes, for example, one or more red laser light emitting elements that can emit red light, and provides a supplementary beam SB. The supplementary light source 130 may also be considered as a red-light source as a result of emitting red light. A peak wavelength of the supplementary light source 130 is, for example, 610 nanometers. The peak wavelength is defined as a wavelength corresponding to maximum light intensity in a light intensity spectrum. Hsieh does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, wherein the light-absorbing structure is distributed on the entire edge of the body of the light-splitting element.
As of claim 3, the closest prior art Hsieh et al. (US 2021/0405515 A1; Hsieh) teaches a projection device 200 includes an illumination system 100, a light homogenizing element 210, a light valve 220 and a projection lens 230. The illumination system 100 is configured to provide an illumination beam IB, and includes a first excitation light source 110, a second excitation light source 120, a supplementary light source 130, a wavelength conversion element 140, a beam splitting element 150, and a controller 160. The light source may be an array arranged by one or more light-emitting elements, or may be an optical element assembly consisting of one or more light-emitting elements and mirrors or lenses, but the invention is not limited thereto. The light-emitting element includes a laser diode (LD). In the embodiment, the first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 each include one or more blue laser light emitting elements that can emit blue light. The first excitation light source 110 provides a first excitation beam EB1, and the second excitation light source 120 provides a second excitation beam EB2. The first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 may also be considered as blue light sources as a result of emitting blue light. Peak wavelengths of the first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 are 455 nanometers and 465 nanometers, respectively. The supplementary light source 130 includes, for example, one or more red laser light emitting elements that can emit red light, and provides a supplementary beam SB. The supplementary light source 130 may also be considered as a red-light source as a result of emitting red light. A peak wavelength of the supplementary light source 130 is, for example, 610 nanometers. The peak wavelength is defined as a wavelength corresponding to maximum light intensity in a light intensity spectrum. Hsieh does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the light-absorbing structure is not distributed on at least another part of the edge of the body of the at least one lens, and the at least another part is adjacent to the first region.
As of claim 5, the closest prior art Hsieh et al. (US 2021/0405515 A1; Hsieh) teaches a projection device 200 includes an illumination system 100, a light homogenizing element 210, a light valve 220 and a projection lens 230. The illumination system 100 is configured to provide an illumination beam IB, and includes a first excitation light source 110, a second excitation light source 120, a supplementary light source 130, a wavelength conversion element 140, a beam splitting element 150, and a controller 160. The light source may be an array arranged by one or more light-emitting elements, or may be an optical element assembly consisting of one or more light-emitting elements and mirrors or lenses, but the invention is not limited thereto. The light-emitting element includes a laser diode (LD). In the embodiment, the first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 each include one or more blue laser light emitting elements that can emit blue light. The first excitation light source 110 provides a first excitation beam EB1, and the second excitation light source 120 provides a second excitation beam EB2. The first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 may also be considered as blue light sources as a result of emitting blue light. Peak wavelengths of the first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 are 455 nanometers and 465 nanometers, respectively. The supplementary light source 130 includes, for example, one or more red laser light emitting elements that can emit red light, and provides a supplementary beam SB. The supplementary light source 130 may also be considered as a red-light source as a result of emitting red light. A peak wavelength of the supplementary light source 130 is, for example, 610 nanometers. The peak wavelength is defined as a wavelength corresponding to maximum light intensity in a light intensity spectrum. Hsieh does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, at least one collimating lens arranged on the transmission path of the laser beam and located between the light source module and the light-splitting element, wherein each of the at least one collimating lens comprises a body and a light-absorbing structure, and the light-absorbing structure is distributed on at least a part of an edge of the body.
Claim 6 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 5.
As of claim 7, the closest prior art Hsieh et al. (US 2021/0405515 A1; Hsieh) teaches a projection device 200 includes an illumination system 100, a light homogenizing element 210, a light valve 220 and a projection lens 230. The illumination system 100 is configured to provide an illumination beam IB, and includes a first excitation light source 110, a second excitation light source 120, a supplementary light source 130, a wavelength conversion element 140, a beam splitting element 150, and a controller 160. The light source may be an array arranged by one or more light-emitting elements, or may be an optical element assembly consisting of one or more light-emitting elements and mirrors or lenses, but the invention is not limited thereto. The light-emitting element includes a laser diode (LD). In the embodiment, the first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 each include one or more blue laser light emitting elements that can emit blue light. The first excitation light source 110 provides a first excitation beam EB1, and the second excitation light source 120 provides a second excitation beam EB2. The first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 may also be considered as blue light sources as a result of emitting blue light. Peak wavelengths of the first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 are 455 nanometers and 465 nanometers, respectively. The supplementary light source 130 includes, for example, one or more red laser light emitting elements that can emit red light, and provides a supplementary beam SB. The supplementary light source 130 may also be considered as a red-light source as a result of emitting red light. A peak wavelength of the supplementary light source 130 is, for example, 610 nanometers. The peak wavelength is defined as a wavelength corresponding to maximum light intensity in a light intensity spectrum. Hsieh does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a light converging lens disposed on a transmission path of the excited beam from the light-splitting element, the light converging lens comprises a body and a light-absorbing structure, when the laser beam is incident on the body, a light spot is formed in regions on both sides of the central axis of the body, and the light-absorbing structure is distributed on the body away from short sides of the regions located at the both sides of the central axis.
Claim 8 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 7.
As of claim 10, the closest prior art Hsieh et al. (US 2021/0405515 A1; Hsieh) teaches a projection device 200 includes an illumination system 100, a light homogenizing element 210, a light valve 220 and a projection lens 230. The illumination system 100 is configured to provide an illumination beam IB, and includes a first excitation light source 110, a second excitation light source 120, a supplementary light source 130, a wavelength conversion element 140, a beam splitting element 150, and a controller 160. The light source may be an array arranged by one or more light-emitting elements, or may be an optical element assembly consisting of one or more light-emitting elements and mirrors or lenses, but the invention is not limited thereto. The light-emitting element includes a laser diode (LD). In the embodiment, the first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 each include one or more blue laser light emitting elements that can emit blue light. The first excitation light source 110 provides a first excitation beam EB1, and the second excitation light source 120 provides a second excitation beam EB2. The first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 may also be considered as blue light sources as a result of emitting blue light. Peak wavelengths of the first excitation light source 110 and the second excitation light source 120 are 455 nanometers and 465 nanometers, respectively. The supplementary light source 130 includes, for example, one or more red laser light emitting elements that can emit red light, and provides a supplementary beam SB. The supplementary light source 130 may also be considered as a red-light source as a result of emitting red light. A peak wavelength of the supplementary light source 130 is, for example, 610 nanometers. The peak wavelength is defined as a wavelength corresponding to maximum light intensity in a light intensity spectrum. Hsieh does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the light-absorbing structure is distributed on the entire edge of the body, or the light-absorbing structure is only distributed on both sides of the first region of the body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art Liao et al. (US 20210373351 A1) teaches illumination system to provide an illumination beam, and includes a coherent light source, a first and a second optical module, a first and a second diffuser element. A coherent beam emitted by the coherent light source is focused on a first position through the first optical module, and the first diffuser element is located at or near the first position. The coherent beam from the first diffuser element is focused on a second position through the second optical module. The second diffuser element is located on a transmission path of the coherent beam from the second optical module, and located at or near the second position. The coherent beam sequentially passes through the first diffuser element, the second optical module and the second diffuser element to form the illumination beam;
- Prior Art Tsai (US 20190285976 A1) teaches an illumination system which includes a light source device, a light homogenization device, an optical transmission module, and an optical wavelength conversion module. The light homogenization device is disposed on a transmission path of a light source beam from the light source device. The optical transmission module is disposed on a transmission path of the light source beam from the light homogenization device. The optical wavelength conversion module is disposed on a transmission path of the light source beam from the optical transmission module and is configured to convert a first portion of the light source beam into a converted light beam. The converted light beam and a second portion of the light source beam form an illumination light beam. The light homogenization device is disposed outside a transmission path of the illumination light beam.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882