DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the limitation “an opening/closing member” in claims 2 and 11 includes a generic/nonce term “member” coupled with function “opening/closing” without reciting sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. A return to the specification provides the limitation “an opening/closing member” can be implemented in various ways, such as “a magnetic material” [0089] and see claim 3. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR20210004759A).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an air purifier with a humidification function, comprising:
a body frame (10) having a partition wall that partitions a first space at a front (the left-hand side of the partition wall) thereof and a second space at a rear (the right-hand side of the partition wall) thereof (see annotated figure A above), an upper plate that is provided with a spray hole (an outlet 12) while forming an upper surface (see annotated figure above), and a bottom plate that forms a bottom surface (see annotated figure A above);
an upper frame protruding from a rear surface of the partition wall and forming a third space between an upper portion of the second space and the upper plate (see annotated figure A above);
a moss frame installed in the first space of the body frame (10) and accommodating a moss panel (see annotated figure A above);
a humidifier (50) installed in the second space of the body frame (10), generating water vapor, and discharging the generated water vapor toward the spray hole (12) while passing through the third space (see annotated figure A above and figures 3a and 3b); and
a communication passage formed to communicate between the first space and the third space (see annotated figure A above).
Claim(s) 1 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim applied as an alternative.
Regarding claim 1, Kim applied as an alternative discloses an air purifier with a humidification function, comprising:
a body frame (10) having a partition wall that partitions a first space at a front (the right-hand side of the partition wall) thereof and a second space at a rear (the left-hand side of the partition wall) thereof (see annotated figure B above), an upper plate that is provided with a spray hole (an outlet 12) while forming an upper surface (see annotated figure B above), and a bottom plate that forms a bottom surface (see annotated figure B above);
an upper frame protruding from a rear surface of the partition wall and forming a third space between an upper portion of the second space and the upper plate (see annotated figure B above);
a moss frame installed in the first space of the body frame (10) and accommodating a moss panel (see annotated figure B above);
a humidifier (40) installed in the second space of the body frame (10), generating water vapor, and discharging the generated water vapor toward the spray hole (12) while passing through the third space (see annotated figure B above and figures 3a and 3b); and
a communication passage formed to communicate between the first space and the third space (see annotated figure B above).
Regarding claim 8, Kim applied as an alternative discloses the first space is formed to be partitioned from an external environment (ambient air) by a front cover (see annotated figure B above), and the front cover is provided with an inflow hole (the inlet 20) through which indoor air (the inlet 20 takes indoor air) is introduced (see annotated figure B above).
Regarding claim 9, Kim applied as an alternative discloses the inflow hole (20) and the communication passage are each located on opposite sides (upper side and lower side) of the first space (see annotated figure B above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Jung (KR20190017125A).
Regarding claim 2, Kim fails to disclose the upper plate of the body frame is further provided with an opening/closing member that opens and closes the spray hole.
Jung teaches a humidifier comprising an upper plate of the body frame is further provided with an opening/closing member (a spray cover 130) that opens and closes the spray hole (a spray hole 134; paragraph 4 of page 8; see figures 1a-1b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the humidifier of Kim to incorporate the claimed opening/closing member as taught by Jung in order to provide opening and closing control for the spray hole.
Regarding claim 5, Kim fails to disclose the body frame further includes a detection sensor detecting whether the spray hole is closed, and a controller controlling an operation of the humidifier based on information detected by the detection sensor.
Jung teaches a humidifier comprising a detection sensor (138) detecting whether the spray hole (134) is closed by the opening/closing member (130; paragraph 4 of page 8); and a controller (150) receiving detection information (the humidity) on whether the spray hole (134) is closed from the detection sensor (138) and controlling an operation of the humidifier (paragraph 4 of page 8; see figures 1a-1b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the humidifier of Kim to a detection sensor, a controller and the control relationship between the three elements as taught by Jung in order to provide automatic opening and closing control of the spray hole.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Jung.
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses an air purifier with a humidification function, comprising:
a body frame having a first space that has an upper surface on which a spray hole (12) is formed and is provided with a moss panel (see annotated figure C above), a second space in which a humidifier (40) is installed (see annotated figure C above), and a third space that is formed to communicate with the first space and through which water vapor generated from the humidifier passes therethrough before being sprayed into the spray hole (12; see annotated figure C above);
However, Kim fails to disclose an opening/closing member provided to selectively close the spray hole; a detection sensor detecting whether the spray hole is closed by the opening/closing member; and a controller receiving detection information on whether the spray hole is closed from the detection sensor and controlling an operation of the humidifier.
Jung teaches a humidifier comprising an opening/closing member (a spray cover 130) provided to selectively close the spray hole (134; see figures 1a-1b); a detection sensor (138) detecting whether the spray hole (134) is closed by the opening/closing member (130; paragraph 4 of page 8); and a controller (150) receiving detection information (the humidity) on whether the spray hole (134) is closed from the detection sensor (138) and controlling an operation of the humidifier (paragraph 4 of page 8; see figures 1a-1b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the humidifier of Kim to incorporate the claimed opening/closing member, a detection sensor, a controller and the control relationship between the three elements as taught by Jung in order to provide automatic opening and closing control of the spray hole.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Jung as applied to claim 11 above and further in view of Chen et al. (CN110736168A).
Regarding claim 12, Kim as modified fails to disclose the controller is configured to operate the humidifier only for a set time when the spray hole is closed.
Chen teaches an ultrasonic particle spraying device is configured to operate the fan of the spraying device only for a set time when the spray hole is closed (nozzle is closed; paragraph 6 of page 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the air purifier of Kim to incorporate the claim control between the humidifier and spray hole as taught by Chen in order to better control the humidity of the air purifier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 6-7 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reference Kim taken alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed open/close member is made of a magnetic material as required in claim 3. It would be a hindsight to change the material of the open/close member (130) of Jung to a magnetic material since the open/close member of Jung is motor actuated. Also, it is not obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the modifier of Jung to change the motor actuated open/close member (130, Jung) to an open/close member which is made of magnetic material in order to provide magnetic force to open or close the spray hole. In addition, Kim taken alone or in combination fails to disclose the claimed structure detail of the air purifier as required in claims 4, 6-7 and 10. The prior of record fails to provide further teachings or motivations to modify the air purifier of Kim in order to arrive the claim invention. Therefore, claims 3-4, 6-7 and 10 are allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KUN KAI MA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763