DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is responsive to the Application filed on 7/8/2024. A filing date 7/8/2024 is acknowledged. The sought benefit of CN application 202410587544.6 (which was filed on 5/13/2024) is acknowledged. The sought benefit of SG application 102023031925 (which was filed on 11/9/2023) is acknowledged. Claims 1-36 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 19 are independent claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a tariff module, a starting module, a stopping module, a payment module in claim 1.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The charging station managing system 1000 may be implemented by a hardware circuit (such as a central processing unit, a microprocessor or a system-on-chip (SOC)) in a cloud server ([0025]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koji Ikegaya (US Publication 20230406146 A1, hereinafter Ikegaya), and in view of Thomas Shaofeng Sun (US Publication 20210213848 A1, hereinafter Sun).
As for independent claim 1, Ikegaya discloses: A charging station managing system ([0002], a charger using system, a server, and a program for the charger using system), disposed in a cloud server and used to manage a plurality of charging connectors of a charging station ([0007], a charger using system, a server, and a program for the charger using system capable of widely supplying chargers, the charging station managing system comprising: a tariff module, for setting a tariff table of each of the charging connectors (Fig. 5 and [0065], a power unit price map is stored in the database), determining whether one of the charging connectors is reserved ([0100], When it is a reservation time, the server 4 may transmit, to the terminal 31, the fact that it is the reservation time, and the terminal 31 may report that it is the reservation time), and determining whether the charging connector, which is reserved, is in a reservation expiration state ([0066], When there is an available charger device 2; please note determining an available charger means the charger device is not reserved or reservation expired); a starting module, for remotely controlling each of the charging connectors to start charging, receiving a first data of each of the charging connectors ([0093], the server 4 acquires a charge time of the charger 2 and a transmission time of the charge start command through communication with the terminal 31, manages the use situation of the charger 2 based on the acquired charge time and transmission time of the charge start command), and detecting and recording a starting time of a charging period ([0080], the terminal 31 starts counting time; [0094], the use situation of the charger 2 can be acquired even during using the charger 2 in a store or the like) [and a starting time of a reservation period of each of the charging connectors]; a stopping module, for remotely controlling each of the charging connectors to stop charging, receiving a second data of each of the charging connectors, and detecting and recording a stopping time of the charging period ([0021], transmits a charging end command to the charger after the charge time has passed; [0080], When the time reaches the charge time (Yin S13), the terminal 31 functions as the third transmission unit and transmits a charge stop command to the charger 2 (S14). When the charge stop command is received, the charger 2 stops charging; [0098], The charger 2 may acquire a charge time through communication with the terminal 31 or the server 4, and the charger 2 may count the charge time, and the charge may automatically end) [and a stopping time of the reservation period of each of the charging connectors], wherein the second data comprises at least one attribute of the charging connector ([0086], a designated location periphery); and a payment module, for selectively calculating a charging fee (Abstract, calculates a billing fee for the charging device (2) in response to the reception of the use request, and presents the billing fee to the terminal (31)), [a reservation fee and a reservation expiration fee for each of the charging connectors based on the tariff table, the charging period, the reservation period] and the at least one attribute (Abstract, calculates a payment fee that includes the calculated electricity charge and a charging device installation charge and presents the payment fee to a terminal (32); [0018], the payment price calculation unit calculates an electric bill applied to use of the charger based on the use information and includes the electric bill and a charger installation fee in a payment price fee; [0039], the server presents the claim price claimed to the user to the first terminal and presents the payment price paid to the person lending the installation place of the charger to the second terminal. Accordingly, the claim price can be received from the user using the charger and the payment price can be paid to the user lending the installation place of the charger).
Ikegaya discloses a charging management system including a reservation process but does not clearly disclose calculating a reservation fee based on reservation time, in an analogous art of charging management system, Sun discloses: and a starting time of a reservation period of each of the charging connectors … and a stopping time of the reservation period of each of the charging connectors (Sun: [0049], Reservation parameters preferably include at least one of: reservation start time (e.g., start time for a charging session; etc.); reservation end time (e.g., end time for a charging session; etc.); and location (e.g., location of a user relative an EVSE and/or charging location)) … a reservation fee and a reservation expiration fee for each of the charging connectors based on the tariff table, the charging period, the reservation period (Sun: [0061], early check in limit parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a user checks in early relative to a reservation start time for a reserved charging session; etc.); overstay penalty parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a user overstays after a reservation end time for a reserved charging session; such as requiring payment of $1 per minute stayed after the reservation end time and/or requiring payment of any suitable amount; etc.); cancellation penalty parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a reserved charging session is cancelled; such as charging a monetary penalty for cancelling a reserved charging session within a threshold time period before the reservation start time; etc.));
Ikegaya and Sun are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, EV charging management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Ikegaya using the teachings of Sun to include calculating reservation fee based on reservation time information and usage data. It would provide Ikegaya’s system with enhanced capabilities of including providing more charging reservation information and guidance to user so user may plan the charging accordingly.
As for claim 2, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: a tariff processing unit, when the tariff module sets the tariff table of one of the charging connectors, the tariff table is added to the tariff processing unit, and the tariff processing unit adjusts the charging fee, the reservation fee and the reservation expiration fee (Ikegaya: Fig. 5 and [0065], a power unit price map is stored in the database; Sun: [0061], early check in limit parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a user checks in early relative to a reservation start time for a reserved charging session; etc.); overstay penalty parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a user overstays after a reservation end time for a reserved charging session; such as requiring payment of $1 per minute stayed after the reservation end time and/or requiring payment of any suitable amount; etc.)).
As for claim 3, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: wherein the at least one attribute at least comprises a location (Sun: [0026], location characteristics of the EVSEs (e.g., identification of geographic location characteristics of the EVSEs, in relation to remoteness, in relation to proximity to commercial areas, in relation to proximity to rural areas, in relation to proximity to residential areas, etc.) and a charging speed of the charging connector (Sun: [0077], charging speed).
As for claim 4, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: a front-end interface, for generating a control signal in response to an operating signal, when the tariff module determines that one of the charging connectors is reserved, the front-end interface controls the tariff module, through the control signal, to input and set a reservation platform fee of the reservation fee and a time length of the reservation period (Ikegaya: Fig. 7, user may input charging parameters; Sun: [0041], an application (e.g., a mobile application for a mobile user device; an application including a user interface, such as for receiving inputs from a user and/or for providing information to a user; etc.).
As for claim 5, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: wherein the payment module calculates the reservation fee based on the starting time and the stopping time of the reservation period, and the reservation fee further comprises a reservation hourly fee, and the reservation hourly fee is equal to the time length of the reservation period multiplied by a reservation unit price (Ikegaya: [0077], Claim fee=charge power amount(kWh)×commercial power unit price(yen/WHh); [0082], Electric bill=charge power amount(kWh)×cost power unit price(yen/kWh)).
As for claim 6, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: wherein when the tariff module determines that the charging connector, which is reserved, is in the reservation expiration state, indicating that the charging connector, which is reserved, has not been actually used for charging, the front-end interface controls the tariff module, through the control signal, to input and set a reservation expiration platform fee and a reservation expiration time length of the reservation expiration fee (Sun: [0061], early check in limit parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a user checks in early relative to a reservation start time for a reserved charging session; etc.); overstay penalty parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a user overstays after a reservation end time for a reserved charging session; such as requiring payment of $1 per minute stayed after the reservation end time and/or requiring payment of any suitable amount; etc.); cancellation penalty parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a reserved charging session is cancelled; such as charging a monetary penalty for cancelling a reserved charging session within a threshold time period before the reservation start time; etc.)).
As for claim 7, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: wherein the payment module calculates the reservation expiration fee based on the reservation expiration state, and the reservation expiration fee further comprises a reservation expiration hourly fee, and the reservation expiration hourly fee is equal to the time length of the reservation period multiplied by a reservation expiration unit price (Sun: [0061], early check in limit parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a user checks in early relative to a reservation start time for a reserved charging session; etc.); overstay penalty parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a user overstays after a reservation end time for a reserved charging session; such as requiring payment of $1 per minute stayed after the reservation end time and/or requiring payment of any suitable amount; etc.); cancellation penalty parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a reserved charging session is cancelled; such as charging a monetary penalty for cancelling a reserved charging session within a threshold time period before the reservation start time; etc.)).
As for claim 8, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: wherein the tariff module cooperates with the starting module and the stopping module to determine the reservation expiration state of the charging connector, which is reserved, according to the starting time of the charging period and the stopping time of the reservation period (Sun: [0061], overstay penalty parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a user overstays after a reservation end time for a reserved charging session; such as requiring payment of $1 per minute stayed after the reservation end time and/or requiring payment of any suitable amount; etc.)).
As for claim 9, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: a database, for storing the tariff table of each of the charging connectors, wherein, the front-end interface submits and transmits the reservation platform fee, the time length of the reservation period, the reservation expiration platform fee, and the reservation expiration time length to the tariff module and the database (Sun: [0018], one reservation parameter indicative of the scheduled time period; scheduling a reserved charging session for the first user based on the at least one reservation parameter).
As for claim 10, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: wherein the front-end interface is further used to input and set a plurality of parameters of each of the tariff tables, the parameters comprise a tariff table name, a tariff table currency, a payment type, a lowest price and a highest price (Ikegaya: [0064], registration information (a name, a vehicle model, a contact, account information of a payee, credit card information, and the like) of the use).
As for claim 11, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: wherein the lowest price is a lower limit of the charging fee, the reservation fee, or the reservation expiration fee, and the highest price is an upper limit of the charging fee, the reservation fee, or the reservation expiration fee (Sun: [0061], early check in limit parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a user checks in early relative to a reservation start time for a reserved charging session; etc.); overstay penalty parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a user overstays after a reservation end time for a reserved charging session; such as requiring payment of $1 per minute stayed after the reservation end time and/or requiring payment of any suitable amount; etc.); cancellation penalty parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a reserved charging session is cancelled; such as charging a monetary penalty for cancelling a reserved charging session within a threshold time period before the reservation start time; etc.)).
As for claim 12, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: wherein the parameters further comprise a minimum duration and a maximum duration, and the minimum duration is a lower limit of a time length of a charging period or a reservation period of each of the charging connectors, the maximum duration is an upper limit of the time length of the charging period or the reservation period (Sun: [0061], EVSE reservation parameters can include any one or more of: maximum session duration parameters (e.g., indicating a maximum charging session duration; etc.); minimum session duration parameters (e.g., indicating a minimum charging session duration; etc.); early check in limit parameters (e.g., indicating guidelines for when a user checks in early relative to a reservation start time for a reserved charging session; etc.)).
As for claim 13, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: wherein each of the tariff tables comprises a plurality of tariff plans, and the parameters further comprise a priority level of each of the tariff plans (Sun: [0027], Additionally or alternatively, variations of step S35 for condition-based power distribution can include selecting a subset of the set of EVSEs for prioritized charging based upon characteristics of the vehicles and/or users of vehicles intended to be charged. In one variations, users belonging to a particular user group can be prioritized, and, upon verification of such users, EVSEs selected for charging the vehicle(s) of the user(s) can be configured for prioritized. As such, the method 300 can include: at an EVSE, verifying an identify of a vehicle and/or user of a vehicle of a particular user group S36, and upon verification of the identity, configuring the EVSE (e.g., remotely configuring the EVSE, upon generation of control instructions for the EVSE) for prioritized charging of the vehicle at the EVSE S37. The particular group can be characterized by a common business entity (e.g., in relation to business affiliation, in relation to employment, in relation to business promotion, in relation to customer/vendor relationship, etc.), by a vehicle fleet, by an organization membership, by association with civil service operations (e.g., law enforcement operations, fire department operations, etc.), by association with healthcare/first response services (e.g., in relation to ambulance operations, etc.), by delivery entity or operation (e.g., in relation to package delivery services), or by another suitable grouping).
As for claim 14, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: a charging managing module, comprising an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) managing unit, when the tariff module sets the tariff table of one of the charging connectors, an information of an EVSE to which the charging connector belongs is added to the EVSE managing unit (Sun: Abstract, determining a check in at an Electric Vehicle Service Equipment (EVSE) for the reserved charging session; and/or causing the EVSE to charge the electric vehicle based on the reserved charging session (e.g., during the scheduled time period; etc.)).
As for claim 15, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: a linking unit, when the information of the EVSE is added to the EVSE managing unit, the linking unit links the tariff table to the EVSE (Sun: [0031], issuing, via a charger management system, a code for authentication between the first electric vehicle and the first EVSE S430; causing the first electric vehicle to communicate the code to the first EVSE based on allowance and disallowance of charging S440; and/or completing authentication in response to receipt of the code by the first EVSE S450; [0041], a reservation system (e.g., for scheduling and/or implementing one or more reserved charging sessions and/or ad hoc charging sessions; for maintaining reservation calendars for EVSEs; for communicating with one or more EVSEs to cause charging of one or more electric vehicles; a centralized reservation system; etc.)).
As for claim 16, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: a payment processing unit, for calculating the charging fee, the reservation fee and the reservation expiration fee, and cooperating with a third-party payment system to process cash flow payment (Ikegaya: Abstract, calculates a billing fee for the charging device (2) in response to the reception of the use request, and presents the billing fee to the terminal; Sun: [0154], billing data).
As for claim 17, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: an invoice processing unit, for cooperating with a third-party processing system to generate an invoice to record the charging fee, the reservation fee and the reservation expiration fee, wherein the invoice has a form of a mobile phone carrier, a form of a company carrier, or a form of an email (Ikegaya: Abstract, calculates a billing fee for the charging device (2) in response to the reception of the use request, and presents the billing fee to the terminal; Sun: [0154], billing data; please note billing data may include invoice; [0155], Notifications can include textual content (e.g., text-based communications)).
As for claim 18, Ikegaya-Sun discloses: a fee notifying module, for executing a communication function to generate a communication data to send the invoice, wherein the communication data comprises an email, a mobile phone text message, or a message application (Sun: [0154], billing data; [0155], Notifications can include textual content (e.g., text-based communications); please note text-based communications may include email and/or text message).
As per claims 19-36, it recites features that are substantially same as those features claimed by claims 1-18, thus the rationales for rejecting claims 1-18 are incorporated herein.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraph and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the Claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. This will assist in expediting compact prosecution. MPEP 714.02 recites: “Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP § 2163.06. An amendment which does not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(b), (c), (d), and (h) may be held not fully responsive. See MPEP § 714.” Amendments not pointing to specific support in the disclosure may be deemed as not complying with provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.131(b), (c), (d), and (h) and therefore held not fully responsive. Generic statements such as “Applicants believe no new matter has been introduced” may be deemed insufficient.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Applicants are required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Outwater (US Publication 20120191242) METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR FINDING AND ACCESSING A VEHICLE FUELING STATION, INCLUDING AN ELECTRIC VEHICLE CHARGING STATION
Burton (US Publication 20240092212) ENHANCED ELECTRIC VEHICLE CHARGING AND CHARGING RESERVATION
Sun (US Publication 20210213846) METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR FACILITATING CHARGING SESSIONS FOR ELECTRIC VEHICLES, WITH IMPROVED USER INTERFACE OPERATION MODES
Suganuma (US Publication 20240185141) SERVER, RESERVATION MANAGEMENT SYSTEM, AND MANAGEMENT METHOD
It is noted that any citation to specific pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 U.S.P.Q. 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 U.S.P.Q. 275, 277 (C.C.P.A. 1968)).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Hua Lu whose telephone number is 571-270-1410 and fax number is 571-270-2410. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 9:00 am to 6:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Scott Baderman can be reached on 571-272-3644. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-273-8300.
/Hua Lu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118