DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 7 be found allowable, claim 15 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 recites the limitations "the guide surface” and “the clamping groove.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is presumed that the applicant intended claim 6 to depend from claim 5 which possesses the requisite antecedent.
Claims 14 recites the limitations "the guide surface” and “the clamping groove.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. It is presumed that the applicant intended claim 14 to depend from claim 13 which possesses the requisite antecedent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pliml (US 20100139642 A1), hereinafter Pliml, in view of Gomersall (US 2859070 A), hereinafter Gomersall.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Pliml discloses an oil pan bracket structure, comprising
a support (“slots (not shown) in the frame 16” paragraph [0041]), wherein the support is slidably connected to a bracket (“a tray 220” paragraph [0041]), the bracket has an oil pan mounted thereon (“a number of fluid pans 216” paragraph [0041]) to cause the oil pan to be drawably mounted on the support along with the bracket (“slide the drip pan 14 between a cooking position (not shown) and a cleaning position (see FIG. 8) relative to the grill housing 12” paragraph [0041]), and a sliding guide structure is provided between the support and the bracket (“a pair of rails 40, 42” paragraph [0041]).
Pliml does not disclose:
the sliding guide structure comprises a guide groove and a guide post;
the guide groove is arranged on the support and the guide post is arranged on the bracket, or the guide post is arranged on the support and the guide groove is arranged on the bracket; and
the guide groove is arranged along a sliding direction of the bracket to form a guide groove with an elongated structure, and the guide post is placed in the guide groove;
wherein the guide post is a step screw or a step bolt, and a rod body of the guide post passes through the guide groove and is connected to the bracket
However, Gomersall teaches:
the sliding guide structure comprises a guide groove (“portion 14 is provided with an elongated slot 20” column 2, line 5) and a guide post (“a rivet or bolt 66 is mounted on the upstanding portion 36” column 2, line 72);
the guide groove is arranged on the support and the guide post is arranged on the bracket, or the guide post is arranged on the support and the guide groove is arranged on the bracket (The guide groove 20 is arranged on support 8 or 14 and the guide post 66 is arranged on the bracket 12 or 36); and
the guide groove is arranged along a sliding direction of the bracket to form a guide groove with an elongated structure, and the guide post is placed in the guide groove (Figure 1);
wherein the guide post is a step screw or a step bolt, and a rod body of the guide post passes through the guide groove and is connected to the bracket (“the head 68 of the rivet engages the outer surface of the upstanding portion 14 of the stationary track 8 and prevents the intermediate member from being laterally displaced from said stationary track. As shown best in Figure 1, the rivet 66 stops against the front end of the slot 20 for establishing the fully extended position of intermediate member 12 and preventing longitudinal displacement of the intermediate member from the stationary track 8” column 3, line 19).
In view of Gomersall’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the groove and post as is taught in Gomersall, in the structure disclosed by Pliml because Gomersall states the structure provides “simple inexpensive means for retaining the intermediate and the stationary track in both lateral and longitudinal assembled relationship” (column 1, line 26). Therefore, providing the groove and post of Gomersall will improve the lateral and longitudinal relationship between the support and bracket of Pliml.
Regarding claim 3, Pliml, as modified by Gomersall, discloses the oil pan bracket structure according to claim 1, wherein the supports are two in number and are respectively located on both sides of the bracket, and opposite side surfaces of the two supports are respectively provided with a supporting surface, and bottoms of the both sides of the bracket contact the supporting surfaces and slide along the supporting surfaces (“a pair of rails 40, 42 that are received in a pair of corresponding slots (not shown) in the frame 16” paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 7, Pliml, as modified by Gomersall, discloses the oil pan bracket structure according to claim 1, wherein a mounting groove is provided in the center of the bracket, and the oil pan is embedded in the mounting groove (“a pair of rails 252, 254 support the left burner pan 240. When the left burner pan 240 is placed on the rails 252, 254 and the drip pan 214 is positioned in its cooking position, the left burner pan 240 is located below the burner 26. The rail 252 may be configured with a tab or other such structure to prevent the left burner pan 240 from sliding in the tray 220. Similarly, a pair of rails 256, 258 support the right burner pan 242. When the right burner pan 242 is placed on the rails 256, 258 and the drip pan 214 is positioned in its cooking position, the right burner pan 242 is located below the burner 26. Like the rail 252, the rail 256 may be configured with a tab or other such structure to prevent the right burner pan 242 from sliding in the tray 220” paragraphs [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claims 8-10, Pliml discloses an oil pan bracket structure, comprising:
a support (“slots (not shown) in the frame 16” paragraph [0041]) slidably connected to a bracket (“a tray 220” paragraph [0041]), the bracket having an oil pan mounted thereon (“a number of fluid pans 216” paragraph [0041]) to cause the oil pan to perform a sliding movement along with the bracket on the support (“slide the drip pan 14 between a cooking position (not shown) and a cleaning position (see FIG. 8) relative to the grill housing 12” paragraph [0041]); and
a sliding guide structure provided between the support and the bracket (“a pair of rails 40, 42” paragraph [0041]).
Pliml does not disclose:
a sliding guide structure to limit the sliding movement of the bracket along a length direction of the support;
wherein when the bracket slides in a first direction so that a distance between a front side portion of the bracket and a front side portion of the support is L1, a first limit portion of the bracket and a second limit portion on the support abut against each other; and
when the bracket slides in a second direction so that the distance between the front side portion of the bracket and the front side portion of the support is L2, a third limit portion of the bracket and a fourth limit portion on the support abut against each other;
wherein the sliding guide structure comprises a guide groove and a guide post;
the guide groove is arranged on the support, the guide post is arranged on the bracket, the guide post serves as the first limit portion of the bracket, and one end of the guide groove close to the front side portion of the bracket serves as the second limit portion of the support, or the guide post is arranged on the support, the guide groove is arranged on the bracket, the guide post serves as the second limit portion of the bracket, and one end of the guide groove close to the front side portion of the bracket serves as the first limit portion of the bracket; and
the guide groove is arranged along a sliding direction of the bracket to form a guide groove with an elongated structure, and the guide post is placed in the guide groove;
wherein the guide post is a step screw or a step bolt, and a rod body of the guide post passes through the guide groove and is connected to the bracket.
However, Gomersall teaches:
a sliding guide structure to limit the sliding movement of the bracket along a length direction of the support (Figures 1 and 2);
wherein when the bracket slides in a first direction so that a distance between a front side portion of the bracket and a front side portion of the support is L1, a first limit portion of the bracket and a second limit portion on the support abut against each other (In the fully open position); and
when the bracket slides in a second direction so that the distance between the front side portion of the bracket and the front side portion of the support is L2, a third limit portion of the bracket and a fourth limit portion on the support abut against each other (In the closed position);
wherein the sliding guide structure comprises a guide groove (“portion 14 is provided with an elongated slot 20” column 2, line 5) and a guide post (“a rivet or bolt 66 is mounted on the upstanding portion 36” column 2, line 72);
the guide groove is arranged on the support, the guide post is arranged on the bracket, the guide post serves as the first limit portion of the bracket, and one end of the guide groove close to the front side portion of the bracket serves as the second limit portion of the support, or the guide post is arranged on the support, the guide groove is arranged on the bracket, the guide post serves as the second limit portion of the bracket, and one end of the guide groove close to the front side portion of the bracket serves as the first limit portion of the bracket (The guide groove 20 is arranged on support 8 or 14 and the guide post 66 is arranged on the bracket 12 or 36); and
the guide groove is arranged along a sliding direction of the bracket to form a guide groove with an elongated structure, and the guide post is placed in the guide groove (Figure 1);
wherein the guide post is a step screw or a step bolt, and a rod body of the guide post passes through the guide groove and is connected to the bracket (“the head 68 of the rivet engages the outer surface of the upstanding portion 14 of the stationary track 8 and prevents the intermediate member from being laterally displaced from said stationary track. As shown best in Figure 1, the rivet 66 stops against the front end of the slot 20 for establishing the fully extended position of intermediate member 12 and preventing longitudinal displacement of the intermediate member from the stationary track 8” column 3, line 19).
In view of Gomersall’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the groove and post as is taught in Gomersall, in the structure disclosed by Pliml because Gomersall states the structure provides “simple inexpensive means for retaining the intermediate and the stationary track in both lateral and longitudinal assembled relationship” (column 1, line 26). Therefore, providing the groove and post of Gomersall will improve the lateral and longitudinal relationship between the support and bracket of Pliml.
Regarding claim 11, Pliml, as modified by Gomersall, discloses the oil pan bracket structure according to claim 8, wherein the supports are two in number and are respectively located on both sides of the bracket, and opposite side surfaces of the two supports are respectively provided with a supporting surface, and bottoms of the both sides of the bracket contact the supporting surfaces and slide along the supporting surfaces (“a pair of rails 40, 42 that are received in a pair of corresponding slots (not shown) in the frame 16” paragraph [0041]).
Regarding claim 15, Pliml, as modified by Gomersall, discloses the oil pan bracket structure according to claim 1, wherein a mounting groove is provided in the center of the bracket, and the oil pan is embedded in the mounting groove (“a pair of rails 252, 254 support the left burner pan 240. When the left burner pan 240 is placed on the rails 252, 254 and the drip pan 214 is positioned in its cooking position, the left burner pan 240 is located below the burner 26. The rail 252 may be configured with a tab or other such structure to prevent the left burner pan 240 from sliding in the tray 220. Similarly, a pair of rails 256, 258 support the right burner pan 242. When the right burner pan 242 is placed on the rails 256, 258 and the drip pan 214 is positioned in its cooking position, the right burner pan 242 is located below the burner 26. Like the rail 252, the rail 256 may be configured with a tab or other such structure to prevent the right burner pan 242 from sliding in the tray 220” paragraphs [0044]-[0045]).
Claims 4, 5, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pliml, in view of Gomersall, and further in view of Wall (US 3387907 A), hereinafter Wall.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Pliml, as modified by Gomersall, discloses the oil pan bracket structure according to claim 1, wherein the supports are two in number and are respectively located on the both sides of the bracket (“a pair of rails 40, 42 that are received in a pair of corresponding slots (not shown) in the frame 16” paragraph [0041]).
Pliml, as modified by Gomersall, does not disclose:
the two supports are respectively provided with a roller, and the both sides of the bracket are respectively provided with guide surfaces in a sliding fit with the rollers;
wherein a clamping groove is provided on the guide surface, and when the clamping groove slides with the bracket to a preset position, the roller is embedded in the clamping groove to form a limit.
However, Wall teaches:
the two supports are respectively provided with a roller (52, 52’), and the both sides of the bracket are respectively provided with guide surfaces in a sliding fit with the rollers (36, 36’);
wherein a clamping groove is provided on the guide surface, and when the clamping groove slides with the bracket to a preset position, the roller is embedded in the clamping groove to form a limit (“Reception of the wheel 52 within the cavity 40 is a locking feature and desirably prevents the drawer from sliding outwardly if the furniture 10 is tilted slightly forwardly. In addition, the relationship between the wheel 52 and the cavity 40 provides a positive closed position for the drawer whereby when the wheel 52 partially enters the cavity 40, it will of its own volition continue to move to a fully closed position due to the weight of the drawer” column 2, line 50).
In view of Wall’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the features as is taught in Wall, in the structure as presently modified because Wall states that the features prevent unintended sliding. Therefore, including the features of Wall will improve security of the structure as modified.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Pliml, as modified by Gomersall, discloses the oil pan bracket structure according to claim 8, wherein the supports are two in number and are respectively located on the both sides of the bracket (“a pair of rails 40, 42 that are received in a pair of corresponding slots (not shown) in the frame 16” paragraph [0041]).
Pliml, as modified by Gomersall, does not disclose:
the two supports are respectively provided with a roller, and the both sides of the bracket are respectively provided with guide surfaces in a sliding fit with the rollers;
wherein a clamping groove is provided on the guide surface, and when the clamping groove slides with the bracket to a preset position, the roller is embedded in the clamping groove to form a limit.
However, Wall teaches:
the two supports are respectively provided with a roller (52, 52’), and the both sides of the bracket are respectively provided with guide surfaces in a sliding fit with the rollers (36, 36’);
wherein a clamping groove is provided on the guide surface, and when the clamping groove slides with the bracket to a preset position, the roller is embedded in the clamping groove to form a limit (“Reception of the wheel 52 within the cavity 40 is a locking feature and desirably prevents the drawer from sliding outwardly if the furniture 10 is tilted slightly forwardly. In addition, the relationship between the wheel 52 and the cavity 40 provides a positive closed position for the drawer whereby when the wheel 52 partially enters the cavity 40, it will of its own volition continue to move to a fully closed position due to the weight of the drawer” column 2, line 50).
In view of Wall’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the features as is taught in Wall, in the structure as presently modified because Wall states that the features prevent unintended sliding. Therefore, including the features of Wall will improve security of the structure as modified.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 14, and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The examiner notes that claims 6 and 14 are presumed to depend from claims 5 and 13 respectively, and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein a side surface of the guide surface is provided with a withdrawal groove communicating with the clamping groove.” The closest prior art of record to claim 6 is the cited Pliml, as modified by Gomersall and Wall, which discloses the claimed guide surface and clamping groove, but fails to disclose a withdrawal groove in a side surface of the guide surface. No art was found such that further modification of Pliml, Gomersall, and Wall would have rendered the claim obvious. Therefore, these limitations, when combined with every other limitation of the base and intervening claims, distinguish the claim from the prior art.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “wherein a side surface of the guide surface is provided with a withdrawal groove communicating with the clamping groove” and is objected to by the same or substantially the same rationale as articulated with regards to claim 6, above.
Regarding claim 16, Pliml, as modified by Gomersall, discloses a grill, comprising a grill body and the oil pan bracket structure according to claim 1, wherein the grill body is provided with grilling nets (“the grill housing 12 includes a grilling surface 22” paragraph [0029]) and burner switches therein (“control knobs 32 are operable to control the burners 26, 28” paragraph [0029]), a plurality of the grilling nets are sequentially arranged along an arrangement direction of oil pans (“The fluid pans 216 include a left burner pan 240, a right burner pan 242, and a drain pan 244. When the drip pan 214 is retracted into the frame 16, the burner pans 240, 242 are positioned such that fluid draining from the foodstuffs positioned on the grilling surface 22 advances out of the grill housing 12 through the number of holes 34 and into the burner pans 240, 242. In other embodiments, the fluid pans 216 may include additional burner pans” paragraph [0043]), the grill body is provided with a first oil guide plate between the burner switches and the oil pans, and the first oil guide plate is located directly above the oil pan (“A number of holes 34 extend through the lower wall 24 of the grill housing 12. Grease or fluid draining from the foodstuffs positioned on the grilling surface 22 passes through the number of holes 34 out of the grill housing 12 and into the drip pan 14” paragraph [0030]).
Pliml, as modified by Gomersall, does not disclose:
the grill body is provided with two second oil guide plates and a third oil guide;
the two second oil guide plates are respectively located at both sides of the first oil guide plate, one end of the two second oil guide plates is connected to the grill body, and the other end of the two second oil guide plates is suspended and inclined downward;
the third oil guide plate is located between two oil pans of the oil pan bracket structure and is located below the first oil guide plate, and the third oil guide plate is arranged to have a convex middle portion with both sides inclined downward towards the two oil pans of the oil pan bracket structure respectively; and
each of the supports of the oil pan bracket structure is connected to bottoms of the two second oil guide plates respectively.
Therefore, these limitations, when combined with every other limitation of the claim, distinguish the claims from the prior art. The other claims are allowable at least because they depend from allowable independent claims.
Michalak (US 20250180203 A1) teaches:
the grill body is provided with two second oil guide plates (“The inner lip 204 of the lower rim 114 of FIGS. 1-9 is configured to direct internal moisture received at the inner lip 204 from the interior surface 104 of the cookbox 100” paragraph [0050]);
one end of the two second oil guide plates is connected to the grill body, and the other end of the two second oil guide plates is suspended and inclined downward (Figure 15);
each of the supports of the oil pan bracket structure is connected to bottoms of the two second oil guide plates respectively (“” paragraph [0057]).
In view of Michalak’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include secondary oil guide plates as is taught in Michalak, in the structure disclosed by Pliml because Michalak states that the plates aid in guiding grease. Therefore, including the plates would improve grease management in Pliml.
Pliml, as modified by Gomersall and Michalak, does not disclose:
the grill body is provided with a third oil guide;
the two second oil guide plates are respectively located at both sides of the first oil guide plate;
the third oil guide plate is located between two oil pans of the oil pan bracket structure and is located below the first oil guide plate, and the third oil guide plate is arranged to have a convex middle portion with both sides inclined downward towards the two oil pans of the oil pan bracket structure respectively.
Savio teaches:
the grill body is provided with a third oil guide;
the third oil guide plate is located between two oil pans, and the third oil guide plate is arranged to have a convex middle portion with both sides inclined downward towards the two oil pans (“A deflector 21 is optionally and preferably mounted upon the upper end of partition wall 20, and is substantially coextensive therewith. The side portions 21a of deflector 21 are optionally downwardly outwardly inclined. A pair of generally rectangular drip pans 22, having open tops, can be releasably placed upon bottom wall 12 on opposite sides of partition 20, with the deflector portions 21a extending outwardly of the proximate sides of the pans 22. As a result, drippings from the top frame member 10 either fall directly on the drip pans 22 or are deflected therein by deflector 21” column 2, line 43).
In view of Savio’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a third oil guide as is taught in Savio, in the structure disclosed by Pliml because Savio states that the guide aids in directing grease. Therefore, including the guide taught by Savio will improve grease management in Pliml.
Pliml, as modified by Gomersall, Michalak, and Savio, does not disclose:
the two second oil guide plates are respectively located at both sides of the first oil guide plate;
the third oil guide plate is located below the first oil guide plate.
No art was found such that further modification of Pliml, Gomersall, Michalak, and Savio would have rendered the claim obvious. Therefore, these limitations, when combined with every other limitation of the claim, distinguish the claim from the prior art.
Claims 17 and 18 are objected to at least because they depend from claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bruno (US 20080230045 A1) discloses a withdrawable oil pan bracket
Norris (US 20150013662 A1) “Inwardly extending baffles 15 and 19 are located within the housing to direct any drippings toward the centerline of pans 21 and 22”
Nureddine (US 20180192823 A1) discloses a withdrawable oil pan bracket
/LOGAN P JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3762