Priority
The present application has a provisional application No. 63/398,301 filed on August 16, 2022.
The present application has a preliminary amendment filed on July 08, 2024 with Claims 1-18, 84, and 160 in pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18, 84, 160 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 1 is an apparatus claim thus it falls into one of the four categories of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II
Regarding independent claim 1, the following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"determine whether any of the elements of the set of elements specified in the instruction satisfies the condition"
[Mental Process / Mathematical Calculations] – Evaluating or comparing numerical data elements against a condition represents logical evaluations, observations, and conditional testing that is capable of being performed in the human mind with the assistance of paper and pen
"record at least a portion of the instruction communications and at least a portion of said at least one response communication to produce training data; create, from said at least a portion of the instruction communications and said at least a portion of said at least one response communication, a network machine learning model that includes at least one parameter and a criterion for optimality; and adjust said at least one parameter of the machine learning model toward the criterion to optimality based on the training data"
[Mathematical Calculations / Mathematical Concepts] – Formulating machine learning models, defining weight parameters/optimality criteria (e.g., objective/loss functions), and algorithmically updating parameters toward optimality rely on pure mathematical formulas, statistical calculations, matrix manipulations, and numerical optimization, which recite an abstract idea
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 1, the claim recites additional elements of:
"worker computers", "analysis computer", and "assignment computer connection"
These computers are recited at a high level of generality and merely add words to "apply it" using generic computer hardware (see MPEP 2106.05(f))
"receive instruction communications from at least one assignment computer connection" and "send at least one response communication to said at least one assignment computer connection"
Receiving and sending data over the network represent mere data gathering at a high level of generality, thus is insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes and mathematical calculations that a person could perform using generic computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
As explained above, the additional element [1] is a mere instruction to apply an exception to the generic computer components or machine-learning components that simply run mathematical calculations and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional element [2] is considered an insignificant extra solution activity and at best the equivalent of a mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality and amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II).
These limitations remain insignificant extra-solution activity and a mere instruction to apply an exception even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent a mere instruction to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 2
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 2 is a dependent claim of 1, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 2, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"the command determining in part said at least one assignment computer connection from which the one of the worker computers will receive the instruction communications"
[Mental Process / Mathematical Concepts] – Evaluating, determining, or selecting which assignment computer connection a worker computer will receive instructions from involves logical evaluations, decision-making rules, and conditional routing determinations that are capable of being performed in the human mind with the assistance of paper and pen.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 2, the claim recites additional elements of
"analysis computer", "worker computers", and "send a command to one of the worker computers"
The analysis computer and worker computers are recited at a high level of generality and is merely adding words “apply it” to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Sending a command over a computer network is merely data transmission recited at a high level of generality, thus is insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes that a person could perform, using computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
As explained above, the additional element [1a] is a mere instruction to apply an exception to the generic computer components or machine-learning components that simply run mathematical calculations and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional element [1b] is considered an insignificant extra solution activity and at best the equivalent of a mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality and amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II).
These limitations remain insignificant extra-solution activity and a mere instruction to apply an exception even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent a mere instruction to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 3
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 3 is a dependent claim of 1, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 3, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"the command determining in part a range of difficulty of the instruction that the one of the worker computers will accept from one said assignment computer connection"
[Mental Process / Mathematical Concepts] – Evaluating, comparing, or setting numerical boundaries and range limits on task difficulty parameters for acceptance involves logical evaluations, mathematical range checks, and conditional decision-making rules that are capable of being performed in the human mind with the assistance of paper and pen.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 3, the claim recites additional elements of
"analysis computer", "worker computers", and "send a command to one of the worker computers"
The analysis computer and worker computers are recited at a high level of generality and is merely adding words “apply it” to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Sending a command over a computer network is merely data transmission recited at a high level of generality, thus is insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes that a person could perform, using computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
As explained above, the additional element [1a] is a mere instruction to apply an exception to the generic computer components or machine-learning components that simply run mathematical calculations and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional element [1b] is considered an insignificant extra solution activity and at best the equivalent of a mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality and amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II).
These limitations remain insignificant extra-solution activity and a mere instruction to apply an exception even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent a mere instruction to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 4
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 4 is a dependent claim of 1, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 4, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"wherein the elements to be tested includes elements to be tested by finding an output of a one-way function that is within a strict subset of a range of the one-way function"
[Mathematical Calculations / Mathematical Concepts] – Evaluating or computing a mathematical one-way function and checking whether its output falls within a mathematically defined strict subset of its range relies on pure mathematical formulas, function mappings, and numerical set comparisons, which recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
The claim 4 does not recite any additional elements other than abstract ideas, so it does not integrate into a practical application. Thus, this claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Regarding Claim 5
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 5 is a dependent claim of 4, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 5, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"wherein the one-way function is a cryptographic hash function"
[Mathematical Calculations / Mathematical Concepts] – Computing or executing a cryptographic hash function relies on mathematical algorithms, bitwise manipulations, and cryptographic calculations, which recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
The claim 5 does not recite any additional elements other than abstract ideas, so it does not integrate into a practical application. Thus, this claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Regarding Claim 6
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 6 is a dependent claim of 1, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
As Claim 6 does not have any abstract idea by itself, thus uses all the limitations of Claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 6, the claim recites additional elements of
"cryptocurrency mining job"
Limiting the instruction to a "cryptocurrency mining job" merely links the execution of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes and mathematical calculations that a person could perform, using computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible. The additional element [1a] is considered generally linking the abstract idea to a specific field of use ("cryptocurrency mining job") is well-understood, routine, conventional activity and does not provide an inventive concept (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
This limitation remains field of use and technological environment even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional element represents field of use and technological environment, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 7
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 7 is a dependent claim of 6, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 7, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"the command determining in part whether the instruction to work on the cryptocurrency mining job is accepted by the one of the worker computers based on a type of cryptocurrency mined by the cryptocurrency mining job"
[Mental Process] – Evaluating cryptocurrency types and applying conditional decision-making rules to determine task acceptance involves logical evaluations, business/financial judgments, and organizational routing decisions that are capable of being performed in the human mind with the assistance of paper and pen.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 7, the claim recites additional elements of
"analysis computer", "worker computers", and "send a command to the one of the worker computers"
The analysis computer and worker computers are recited at a high level of generality and is merely adding words “apply it” to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Sending a command over a computer network is merely data transmission recited at a high level of generality, thus is insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes that a person could perform, using computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
As explained above, the additional element [1a] is a mere instruction to apply an exception to the generic computer components or machine-learning components that simply run mathematical calculations and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional element [1b] is considered an insignificant extra solution activity and at best the equivalent of a mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality and amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II).
These limitations remain insignificant extra-solution activity and a mere instruction to apply an exception even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent a mere instruction to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 8
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 8 is a dependent claim of 1, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 8, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"if a response is received from the one said worker computer connection to the instruction, then send the response to said at least one assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received, if no response is received from the one said worker computer connection to the instruction, then indicate to said at least one assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received that no response was received"
[Mental Process / Mathematical Concepts] – Evaluating whether a response communication has been received and conditionally deciding whether to forward the response or issue a status notification of non-receipt involves logical evaluations, observations, and conditional routing rules that are capable of being performed in the human mind with the assistance of paper and pen.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 8, the claim recites additional elements of
"director computer", "worker computers", and "assignment computer connection", "communicate via respective worker computer connections...", "receive the instruction communications...", "send the instruction...", "send the response...", and "indicate to said at least one assignment computer connection... that no response was received"
The director computer, worker computers, and assignment computer connections are recited at a high level of generality and is merely adding words “apply it” to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Receiving, sending, relaying, and transmitting data and instructions over network connections represent mere data gathering and data transmission recited at a high level of generality, thus is insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes and mathematical calculations that a person could perform, using computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
As explained above, the additional element [1a] is a mere instruction to apply an exception to the generic computer components or machine-learning components that simply run mathematical calculations and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional element [1b] is considered an insignificant extra solution activity and at best the equivalent of a mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality and amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II).
These limitations remain insignificant extra-solution activity and a mere instruction to apply an exception even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent a mere instruction to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 9
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 9 is a dependent claim of 8, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 9, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"the command determining in part the assignment computer connection from which the director computer will receive an instruction"
[Mental Process / Mathematical Concepts] – Evaluating, determining, or selecting which assignment computer connection a director computer will receive instructions from involves logical evaluations, decision-making rules, and conditional routing determinations that are capable of being performed in the human mind with the assistance of paper and pen.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 9, the claim recites additional elements of
"analysis computer", "director computer", and "send a command to the director computer"
The analysis computer and director computer are recited at a high level of generality and is merely adding words “apply it” to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Sending a command over a computer network is merely data transmission recited at a high level of generality, thus is insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes that a person could perform, using computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
As explained above, the additional element [1a] is a mere instruction to apply an exception to the generic computer components or machine-learning components that simply run mathematical calculations and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional element [1b] is considered an insignificant extra solution activity and at best the equivalent of a mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality and amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II).
These limitations remain insignificant extra-solution activity and a mere instruction to apply an exception even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent a mere instruction to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 10
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 10 is a dependent claim of 8, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 10, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"the command determining in part a range of difficulty of instructions that the director computer will accept from said at least one assignment computer connection"
[Mental Process / Mathematical Concepts] – Evaluating, comparing, or setting numerical boundaries and range limits on task difficulty parameters for acceptance involves logical evaluations, mathematical range checks, and conditional decision-making rules that are capable of being performed in the human mind with the assistance of paper and pen.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 10, the claim recites additional elements of
"analysis computer", "director computer", and "send a command to the director computer"
The analysis computer and director computer are recited at a high level of generality and is merely adding words “apply it” to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Sending a command over a computer network is merely data transmission recited at a high level of generality, thus is insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes that a person could perform, using computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
As explained above, the additional element [1a] is a mere instruction to apply an exception to the generic computer components or machine-learning components that simply run mathematical calculations and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional element [1b] is considered an insignificant extra solution activity and at best the equivalent of a mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality and amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II).
These limitations remain insignificant extra-solution activity and a mere instruction to apply an exception even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent a mere instruction to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 11
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 11 is a dependent claim of 8, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 11, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"wherein the elements to be tested includes elements to be tested by finding output of a one-way function that is within a strict subset of a range of the one-way function"
[Mathematical Calculations / Mathematical Concepts] – Evaluating or computing a mathematical one-way function and checking whether its output falls within a mathematically defined strict subset of its range relies on pure mathematical formulas, function mappings, and numerical set comparisons, which recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
The claim 11 does not recite any additional elements other than abstract ideas, so it does not integrate into a practical application. Thus, this claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Regarding Claim 12
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 12 is a dependent claim of 11, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 12, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"wherein the one-way function is a cryptographic hash function"
[Mathematical Calculations / Mathematical Concepts] – Computing or executing a cryptographic hash function relies on mathematical algorithms, bitwise manipulations, and cryptographic calculations, which recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
The claim 12 does not recite any additional elements other than abstract ideas, so it does not integrate into a practical application. Thus, this claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Regarding Claim 13
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 13 is a dependent claim of 8, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
As Claim 6 does not have any abstract idea by itself, thus uses all the limitations of Claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 13, the claim recites additional elements of
"cryptocurrency mining job"
Limiting the instruction to a "cryptocurrency mining job" merely links the execution of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes and mathematical calculations that a person could perform, using computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible. The additional element [1a] is considered generally linking the abstract idea to a specific field of use ("cryptocurrency mining job") is well-understood, routine, conventional activity and does not provide an inventive concept (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
This limitation remains field of use and technological environment even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional element represents field of use and technological environment, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 14
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 14 is a dependent claim of 13, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Regarding Claim 14
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 14 is a dependent claim of 13, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 14, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"the command determining in part if an instruction to work on the cryptocurrency mining job is accepted by the director computer based on a type of cryptocurrency mined by the cryptocurrency mining job"
[Mental Process] – Evaluating cryptocurrency types and applying conditional decision-making rules to determine task acceptance by a director computer involves logical evaluations, business/financial judgments, and organizational routing decisions that are capable of being performed in the human mind with the assistance of paper and pen.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 14, the claim recites additional elements of
"analysis computer", "director computer", and "send a command to the director computer"
The analysis computer and director computer are recited at a high level of generality and is merely adding words “apply it” to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Sending a command over a computer network is merely data transmission recited at a high level of generality, thus is insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes that a person could perform, using computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
As explained above, the additional element [1a] is a mere instruction to apply an exception to the generic computer components or machine-learning components that simply run mathematical calculations and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional element [1b] is considered an insignificant extra solution activity and at best the equivalent of a mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality and amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II).
These limitations remain insignificant extra-solution activity and a mere instruction to apply an exception even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent a mere instruction to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 15
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 15 is a dependent claim of 1, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 15, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"direct computing effort according to the machine learning model after being adjusted toward the criterion to the optimality"
[Mental Process / Mathematical Concepts] – Controlling, organizing, or directing computing effort and computational resources based on machine learning model output predictions or parameter optimization states relies on logical decision-making, conditional control rules, and algorithmic task allocations that are capable of being performed in the human mind with the assistance of paper and pen.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 15, the claim recites additional elements of
"network comprising the computers"
The network comprising the computers is recited at a high level of generality and is merely adding words “apply it” to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes and mathematical calculations that a person could perform, using computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
As explained above, the additional element [1a] is a mere instruction to apply an exception to the generic computer components or machine-learning components that simply run mathematical calculations and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). This limitation remains a mere instruction to apply an exception even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent a mere instruction to apply an exception, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 16
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 16 is a dependent claim of 8, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 16, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"wherein the director computer authenticates the response sent to the assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received that includes identification of an element of the set that satisfies the condition"
[Mental Process / Mathematical Calculations] – Authenticating communications or data responses (such as verifying credentials, identity, or validity) relies on mental evaluations and mathematical calculations (e.g., cryptographic verification operations), which are capable of being performed in the human mind with the assistance of paper and pen.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 16, the claim recites additional elements of
"director computer", "assignment computer connection", and "authenticates the response sent to the assignment computer connection"
The director computer and assignment computer connection are recited at a high level of generality and is merely adding words “apply it” to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Authenticating and transmitting responses over a network is merely data gathering and data transmission recited at a high level of generality, thus is insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes and mathematical calculations that a person could perform, using computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
As explained above, the additional element [1a] is a mere instruction to apply an exception to the generic computer components or machine-learning components that simply run mathematical calculations and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional element [1b] is considered an insignificant extra solution activity and at best the equivalent of a mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality and amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II).
These limitations remain insignificant extra-solution activity and a mere instruction to apply an exception even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent a mere instruction to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 17
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 17 is a dependent claim of 8, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 17, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"wherein the director computer encrypts the response sent to the assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received that includes identification of an element of the set that satisfies the condition"
[Mathematical Calculations / Mathematical Concepts] – Encrypting data or responses relies on mathematical cryptographic algorithms, numerical calculations, and mathematical cipher transformations, which recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 17, the claim recites additional elements of
"director computer", "assignment computer connection", and "the response sent to the assignment computer connection"
The director computer and assignment computer connection are recited at a high level of generality and is merely adding words “apply it” to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Sending data over a network is merely data transmission and cryptographic manipulation recited at a high level of generality, thus is insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes and mathematical calculations that a person could perform, using computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
As explained above, the additional element [1a] is a mere instruction to apply an exception to the generic computer components or machine-learning components that simply run mathematical calculations and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional element [1b] is considered an insignificant extra solution activity and at best the equivalent of a mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality and amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II).
These limitations remain insignificant extra-solution activity and a mere instruction to apply an exception even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent a mere instruction to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 18
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 18 is a dependent claim of 8, thus it falls within the same category of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding dependent claim 18, following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"wherein the director computer verifies a signature on the response sent to the assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received that includes identification of an element of the set that satisfies the condition"
[Mathematical Calculations / Mental Process] – Verifying a digital signature on a response communication relies on mathematical cryptographic algorithms (e.g., asymmetric key cryptography, hashing calculations) and logical verification rules, which recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 18, the claim recites additional elements of
"director computer", "assignment computer connection", and "the response sent to the assignment computer connection"
The director computer and assignment computer connection are recited at a high level of generality and is merely adding words “apply it” to the judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Sending responses over a network is merely data gathering and data transmission recited at a high level of generality, thus is insignificant extra-solution activity (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes and mathematical calculations that a person could perform, using computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
As explained above, the additional element [1a] is a mere instruction to apply an exception to the generic computer components or machine-learning components that simply run mathematical calculations and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional element [1b] is considered an insignificant extra solution activity and at best the equivalent of a mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality and amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II).
These limitations remain insignificant extra-solution activity and a mere instruction to apply an exception even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent a mere instruction to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 84
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 84 is a process claim, thus it falls into one of the four categories of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II.
Regarding independent claim 84, the following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"determine whether any of the elements of the set of elements specified in the instruction satisfies the condition"
[Mental Process / Mathematical Calculations] – Evaluating or comparing numerical data elements against a condition represents logical evaluations, observations, and conditional testing that is capable of being performed in the human mind with the assistance of paper and pen.
"record at least a portion of the instruction communications and at least a portion of said at least one response communication to produce training data; create, from said at least a portion of the instruction communications and said at least a portion of said at least one response communication, a network machine learning model that includes at least one parameter and a criterion for optimality; and adjust said at least one parameter of the machine learning model toward the criterion to optimality based on the training data"
[Mathematical Calculations / Mathematical Concepts] – Formulating machine learning models, defining weight parameters/optimality criteria (e.g., objective/loss functions), and algorithmically updating parameters toward optimality rely on pure mathematical formulas, statistical calculations, matrix manipulations, and numerical optimization, which recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 84, the claim recites additional elements of:
"configuring a network learning apparatus", "interconnecting worker computers and at least one assignment computer connection", and "configuring an analysis computer to communicatively cooperate with the worker computers"
The steps of configuring generic hardware ("worker computers", "analysis computer", "assignment computer connection") and interconnecting them are recited at a high level of generality and merely add words to "apply it" using generic computer hardware and standard network interconnects (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
"receive instruction communications from least one assignment computer connection" and "send at least one response communication to said at least one assignment computer connection"
Receiving and sending data over network connections represent mere data gathering and data transmission recited at a high level of generality, thus is insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g) / MPEP 2106.05(d)).
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes and mathematical calculations that a person could perform using generic computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
As explained above, the additional element [1a] is a mere instruction to apply an exception to the generic computer components or machine-learning components that simply run mathematical calculations and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional element [2a] is considered an insignificant extra solution activity and at best the equivalent of a mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality and amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II).
These limitations remain insignificant extra-solution activity and a mere instruction to apply an exception even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent a mere instruction to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Regarding Claim 160
Step 1 – whether the claim falls within any statutory category. See MPEP 2016.03
Claim 160 is a process claim, thus it falls into one of the four categories of statutory subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1 – whether the claim recites a judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.04, subsection II. Regarding independent claim 160, the following limitations recite a judicial exception:
"determining whether any of the elements of the set of elements specified in the instruction satisfies the condition"
[Mental Process / Mathematical Calculations] – Evaluating or comparing numerical data elements against a condition represents logical evaluations, observations, and conditional testing that is capable of being performed in the human mind with the assistance of paper and pen.
"recording at least a portion of the instruction communications and at least a portion of said at least one response communication to produce training data; creating, from said at least a portion of the instruction communications and said at least a portion of said at least one response communication, a network machine learning model that includes at least one parameter and a criterion for optimality; and adjusting said at least one parameter of the machine learning model toward the criterion to optimality based on the training data"
[Mathematical Calculations / Mathematical Concepts] – Formulating machine learning models, defining weight parameters/optimality criteria (e.g., objective/loss functions), and algorithmically updating parameters toward optimality rely on pure mathematical formulas, statistical calculations, matrix manipulations, and numerical optimization, which recite an abstract idea
Step 2A Prong 2 – whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception?
Regarding Claim 160, the claim recites additional elements of:
"plurality of worker computers", "analysis computer", and "assignment computer connection"
The worker computers, analysis computer, and assignment computer connections are recited at a high level of generality and merely add words to "apply it" using generic computer hardware (see MPEP 2106.05(f))
"receiving instruction communications from at least one assignment computer connection" and "sending at least one response communication to said at least one assignment computer connection"
Receiving, sending, and communicating data over network connections represent mere data gathering and data transmission recited at a high level of generality, thus is insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g) / MPEP 2106.05(d))
[Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements do no more than automate the mental processes and mathematical calculations that a person could perform using generic computer components as a tool, thus the claim as a whole does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.]
Step 2B – whether the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? I.e. Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea?
The claim does not provide an inventive concept (significantly more than the abstract idea). The claim is ineligible.
As explained above, the additional element [1a] is a mere instruction to apply an exception to the generic computer components or machine-learning components that simply run mathematical calculations and mental processes (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional element [2a] is considered an insignificant extra solution activity and at best the equivalent of a mere data gathering recited at a high level of generality and amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network, which is well-understood, routine, conventional activity (See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II).
These limitations remain insignificant extra-solution activity and a mere instruction to apply an exception even upon reconsideration. Even when considered in combination, the additional elements represent a mere instruction to apply an exception and insignificant extra-solution activity, which cannot provide an inventive concept.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 15, 84, 160 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keys et al. (Keys), U.S. Patent Application No. US-2020/0311697-A1, published in Oct 1, 2020, in view of Smdic et al. (Smdic), International Publication No. Wo-2020/160755-A1, published in Aug 13, 2020.
As to independent Claim 1,
Keys teaches a network learning apparatus, the apparatus comprising:
worker computers, each of the worker computers configured to (
Keys, Pg1, Right Column(RC), Paragraph [0019](P19), Lines4-6, “The system 100 comprises a stratum mining server server 105, a controller 110, access points 120A-B, and stations 130A-C”
Pg2, LC, P26, Lines1-10, “The access points 120A,B connect with stations 130A-C for network access in a first mode, and mine for cryptocurrency such as Bitcoin in a second mode. The mode switch can be self-determined or ordered from upstream by the controller 110 or the stratum mining seer 110. FIG. 4A shows one implementation of an access point as a modified FortiAP 421-CM. A mining chip is a co-processor that is activated to work in conjunction with the CPU already part of the access point architecture when in the cryptomining mode”
wherein Keys discloses access points 120A-B functioning as edge computing worker nodes/computers that execute distributed computational tasks)
receive instruction communications from at least one assignment computer connection, the instruction communications including an instruction that specifies a set of elements to be tested to determine whether any element of the set satisfies a condition (
Keys, Pg1, RC, P20, Lines6-9, “Referring specifically to FIG. 1, the stratum mining server 105, the controller 110, the access points 120A-B are each connected to the network 199, preferably over wired connections”
Pg1, RC, P21, Lines1-7, “The stratum mining server 105, in an embodiment, coordinates processing power from access points 120A.B, and others not shown, during downtimes in order to generate cryptocurrency from cryptomining using stratum protocols, network protocol, or the like. A pool of access points register with the stratum mining server 105 through the controller 110”
Pg1, LC, P4, Lines4-6, “miners solve complicated math problems with cryptographic hash functions that are associated with a block containing the transaction data”
wherein Keys discloses that worker computers (access points 120A-B) receive instruction communications (stratum cryptomining tasks/jobs) over network connections from an assignment computer (stratum mining server 105 / controller 110), wherein the instructions specify a set of elements to be tested (block transaction data and nonces[number used once, an arbitrary variable value iteratively tested to produce a hash output satisfying the target difficulty threshold] to be evaluated via cryptographic hash functions) to determine whether any element satisfies a condition (cracking the cryptographic code/hash difficulty threshold to authorize transactions));
determine whether any of the elements of the set of elements specified in the instruction satisfies the condition (
Keys, Pg1, LC, P4, Lines4-14, “miners solve complicated math problems with cryptographic hash functions that are associated with a block containing the transaction data. Each time a cryptocurrency transaction is made, a cryptocurrency miner is responsible for ensuring the authenticity of information and updating the blockchain with the transaction... The first cryptocurrency miner to crack the code is rewarded by being able to authorize the transactions and earn cryptocurrency as a reward”
Pg2, LC, P21, Lines5-7, “AI processes adapt which access points are pulled in on a particular task and when the are pulled in”
wherein Keys discloses that worker computers execute cryptographic hashing algorithms over the specified block data to determine whether any tested element/nonce satisfies the target condition); and
send at least one response communication to said at least one assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received indicating which, if any, elements of the set of elements satisfies the condition (
Keys, Pg2, RC, P31, Lines14-15, “The crypto currency database 250 stores collective results from distributed cryptomining”
Pg2, RC, P32, Lines5-8, “The crypto mining module 320 manages cryptomining tasks and can be in communication with the stratum mining server, according to a cooperation protocol”
wherein Keys discloses that each worker computer transmits response communications (mining results/solutions transmitted under the stratum cooperation protocol) to the assignment computer connection (stratum mining server 105) indicating valid elements/solutions that satisfy the condition, which are stored in the database); and
an analysis computer, communicatively connected to the worker computers, configured to (
Keys, Pg1, RC, P19, Lines4-6, “The system 100 comprises a stratum mining server 105, a controller 110, access points 120A-B, and stations 130A-C”
Pg2, RC, P31, Lines9-11, “The AI mining module 230 is trained with data form the network and local data collected in order to continually update mining determinations”
wherein Keys discloses an analysis computer (stratum mining server 105 comprising AI mining module 230) communicatively connected to the worker computers via network 199 and controller 110).
However, Keys does not explicitly teach
record at least a portion of the instruction communications and at least a portion of said at least one response communication to produce training data;
create, from said at least a portion of the instruction communications and said at least a portion of said at least one response communication, a network machine learning model that includes at least one parameter and a criterion for optimality; and
adjust said at least one parameter of the machine learning model toward the criterion to optimality based on the training data.
In the same field of endeavor, Smdic teaches recording at least a portion of the instruction communications and at least a portion of said at least one response communication to produce training data; creating, from said at least a portion of the instruction communications and said at least a portion of said at least one response communication, a network machine learning model that includes at least one parameter and a criterion for optimality; and adjusting said at least one parameter of the machine learning model toward the criterion to optimality based on the training data (
Smdic, Pg6, Lines24-30, “In the training phase training data 1 is provided. The training data may be in the form of records of individual time-bound communication streams as described above, for example NetStream records. The training data is analysed in a traffic inference block 2... in step 5 it extracts features from that traffic”
Pg9, Lines20-30, “Once a miner successfully logs into a mining pool it starts receiving jobs from the pool administrator. These are given in the form of New Job messages... As soon as it finds a solution it submits the solution to the administrator in the form of a Solution Submission message”
Pg6, Line31-32, “Next, a training process 6 is undertaken on the features in order to form the weightings of an artificial intelligence model 7. The model is stored for future use”
Pg8, Lines14-21, “In machine learning, one-class classification tries to identify objects of a specific class by learning from a training set containing only the objects of that class... The output of the training step is a one-class classification model”
Pg17, Lines19-21, “The windowed TCP conversations go through the feature extraction process which encodes each of them in a feature vector. The collection of all these vectors is used to train the algorithm which is based on the Isolation Forest”
wherein Smdic discloses a network analyzer/data processing device (analysis computer) that records at least a portion of instruction communications (New Job messages sent from a pool administrator to miners) and at least a portion of response communications (Solution Submission messages sent from miners to an administrator) to produce training data (NetStream flow records and feature vectors). Smdic further discloses creating, from the recorded instruction and response communications, a network machine learning model (artificial intelligence model / Isolation Forest model) having model parameters/weightings, and adjusting (training) the model parameters toward a criterion for optimality based on the training data.)
Keys and Smdic are analogous to the claimed invention as they are from the same field of endeavor of network machine learning apparatuses and distributed network processing, specifically managing and analyzing cryptomining communications over stratum networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the stratum access point mining framework of Keys with the instruction/response traffic recording and machine learning model training scheme of Smdic.
The motivation is as recited by Smdic
Smdic, Pg9, Lines4-11, “Some advantages of this approach over some prior art methods include that cryptocurrency mining can be detected from simplified representations of traffic, such as NetStream data; that it does not depend on deep packet inspection and is therefore suitable for large networks and milder hardware requirements; that it can operate at relatively modest cost because it does not require the deployment of host agents; that it reduces the possibility of evading detection; that it simplifies network security management; and that it reduces maintenance effort since the model does not require continual updating”)
Therefore, applying Smdic's technique of recording instruction communications (New Job messages) and response communications (Solution Submission messages) to produce training data for creating and adjusting parameters of an artificial intelligence model within Keys' stratum mining server (105) would have been an obvious technical improvement to one of ordinary skill in the art to accurately capture distributed network interaction dynamics, optimize task allocation models without requiring invasive host agents or deep packet inspection, and enhance overall network learning and scheduling performance.
As to dependent Claim 2,
The combination of Keys and Smdic teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Keys further teaches
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the analysis computer is further configured to send a command to one of the worker computers, the command determining in part said at least one assignment computer connection from which the one of the worker computers will receive the instruction communications (
Keys, Pg2, LC, P21, Lines2-7, “A pool of access points register with the stratum mining server 105 through the controller 110. AI processes adapt which access points are pulled in on a particular task and when the are pulled in”
Pg2, LC, P26, Lines3-5, “The mode switch can be self-determined or ordered from upstream by the controller 110 or the stratum mining seer 110”
Pg2, LC, P22, Lines1-3, “AI can be implemented in some embodiments when determining which access points to activate. Example inputs can be a local mining task...”
wherein Keys discloses that the analysis computer (stratum mining server 105 / controller 110) sends commands/instructions ordered from upstream to one of the worker computers (access points 120A-B) to determine/adapt which worker computers are pulled in on a particular mining task and receive instruction communications over specified assignment computer connections/stratum pools.)
As to dependent Claim 4,
The combination of Keys and Smdic teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Keys further teaches about cryptocurrency mining using cryptographic hash functions to solve mathematical problems and verify transactions (
Keys, Pg1, LC, P4, Lines1-6, “Crypto currency mining, or cryptomining, is a process in which transactions for various forms of cryptocurrency (e.g., Bitcoin) are verified and added to the blockchain digital ledger. Essentially, miners solve complicated math problems with cryptographic hash functions that are associated with a block containing the transaction data...”)
However, Keys does not explicitly teach
wherein the elements to be tested includes elements to be tested by finding output of a one-way function that is within a strict subset of a range of the one-way function.
In the same field of endeavor, Smdic teaches this (
Smdic, Pg1, Lines13-19, "Cryptocurrency mining involves receiving input data and then computing a value dependent on that data. The value is difficult to calculate. Nowadays, most cryptocurrency mining is undertaken by mining pools. In a mining pool, a pool administrator distributes jobs between members of the pool. The members of the pool are known as miners. The administrator transmits work instructions known as New Job messages to the miners. Each miner performs calculations on the data sent in its New Job message"
Pg9, Lines21-26, “New Job messages generally have the following format : '{"jsonrpc":"2.0","method":"job","params":{"blob":"...","job_id":"16864","target":"cf8b0000"}}”
Pg14, Lines24-25, “Variable difficulty will adjust the New Job difficulty (the target key in the New Job JSON packet shown above)...”
wherein Smdic discloses cryptocurrency mining operations wherein miners perform calculations on job data using cryptographic hash functions to obtain outputs satisfying required difficulty targets/conditions.
Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), a cryptographic hash function is a standard one-way function, and requiring the hash output to satisfy a specified difficulty target threshold (e.g., target key in job specification) inherently constitutes finding an output of a one-way function that falls within a strict subset of the range of the one-way function.)
Keys and Smdic are analogous to the claimed invention as they are from the same field of endeavor of network processing systems and distributed task management, specifically executing cryptographic hash computations to solve proof-of-work problems in cryptocurrency mining networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the stratum mining framework of Keys with the target-based cryptographic hash calculation scheme of Smdic.
The motivation is as recited by Smdic (
Smdic, Pg1, Lines13-19, “Cryptocurrency mining involves receiving input data and then computing a value dependent on that data. The value is difficult to calculate. Nowadays, most cryptocurrency mining is undertaken by mining pools. In a mining pool, a pool administrator distributes jobs between members of the pool. The members of the pool are known as miners. The administrator transmits work instructions known as New Job messages to the miners. Each miner performs calculations on the data sent in its New Job message”)
Therefore, evaluating cryptographic hash functions against difficulty targets to find acceptable outputs (finding an output of a one-way function within a strict subset of its range) within Keys' stratum mining framework would have been an obvious technical application to one of ordinary skill in the art to reliably verify proof-of-work computational tasks and ensure secure transaction authorization across distributed worker nodes.
As to dependent Claim 5,
The combination of Keys and Smdic teaches all the limitations of Claim 4 as set forth above.
Keys further teaches
the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the one-way function is a cryptographic hash function (
Keys, Pg1, LC, P4, Lines1-6, “Crypto currency mining, or cryptomining, is a process in which transactions for various forms of cryptocurrency (e.g., Bitcoin) are verified and added to the blockchain digital ledger. Essentially, miners solve complicated math problems with cryptographic hash functions that are associated with a block containing the transaction data”
wherein Keys explicitly discloses that the one-way function executed by worker computers to evaluate mining solutions is a cryptographic hash function.)
As to dependent Claim 6,
The combination of Keys and Smdic teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Keys further teaches
the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instruction includes at least one instruction to work on a cryptocurrency mining job (
Keys, Pg1, LC, P4, Lines1-6, “Crypto currency mining, or cryptomining, is a process in which transactions for various forms of cryptocurrency (e.g., Bitcoin) are verified and added to the blockchain digital ledger. Essentially, miners solve complicated math problems with cryptographic hash functions that are associated with a block containing the transaction data”
Pg1, RC, P21, Lines1-5, “The stratum mining server 105, in an embodiment, coordinates processing power from access points 120A.B, and others not shown, during downtimes in order to generate cryptocurrency from cryptomining using stratum protocols, network protocol, or the like”
Pg2, RC, P26, Lines1-3, “The access points 120A,B connect with stations 130A-C for network access in a first mode, and mine for cryptocurrency such as Bitcoin in a second mode”
Pg2, RC, P32, Lines5-8, “The crypto mining module 320 manages cryptomining tasks and can be in communication with the stratum mining server, according to a cooperation protocol”
wherein Keys explicitly discloses that the instructions received by worker computers (access points 120A-B) from the assignment computer (stratum mining server 105) include instructions or tasks to work on a cryptocurrency mining job.)
As to dependent Claim 15,
The combination of Keys and Smdic teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above.
However, Keys does not explicitly teach
a network comprising the computers organized to direct computing effort according to the machine learning model after being adjusted toward the criterion to the optimality
Although Keys teaches about a network comprising computers organized to direct computing effort based on AI processes (
Keys, Pg2, LC, P21, Lines5-11, “AI processes adapt which access points are pulled in on a particular task and when the are pulled in... access points 120A-B are switches between access point mode and cryptomining mode”
Pg2, LC, P22, Lines1-3, “AI can be implemented in some embodiments when determining which access points to activate. Example inputs can be a local mining task…”
Pg2, LC, P35, Lines-3-5, “At step 430, an access point is switched from an access point mode to a crypto-mining mode using cloud-based AI”
Fig5, Step530, “AI-DETERMINED SWITCH AN ACCESS POINT FROM ACCESS POINT MODE TO CRYPTO MINING MODE”)
In the same field of endeavor, Smdic teaches this (
Smdic, Pg6, Line31-32, “Next, a training process 6 is undertaken on the features in order to form the weightings of an artificial intelligence model 7. The model is stored for future use”
Pg8, Lines26-34, “After the learning phase described above, the system can operate in prediction mode. In prediction mode, the model 7 is presented with feature vectors for real-time traffic... When the risk score exceeds a predetermined value... the system may automatically take action in response to that determination...”
Pg17, Line29-36, “The detection process is depicted in Figure 8. Once the detection model is deployed in a network environment, it receives every R minutes a collection of NetStream records... These vectors are then showed to the trained model...”
wherein Smdic discloses creating and adjusting parameters/weightings of a network machine learning model toward optimality based on training data, and subsequently deploying the adjusted machine learning model in an operational prediction mode to evaluate real-time network inputs and direct computing effort according to the machine learning model after being adjusted.)
Keys and Smdic are analogous to the claimed invention as they are from the same field of endeavor of network machine learning systems and distributed task management over computer networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the stratum access point network control architecture of Keys with the trained machine learning operational prediction scheme of Smdic.
The motivation is as recited by Smdic (
Smdic, Pg9, Lines4-11, “Some advantages of this approach over some prior art methods include that cryptocurrency mining can be detected from simplified representations of traffic, such as NetStream data; that it does not depend on deep packet inspection and is therefore suitable for large networks and milder hardware requirements; that it can operate at relatively modest cost because it does not require the deployment of host agents; that it reduces the possibility of evading detection; that it simplifies network security management; and that it reduces maintenance effort since the model does not require continual updating”)
Therefore, utilizing the machine learning model adjusted toward optimality under Smdic's training framework to govern the AI mining determinations and network node control commands in Keys' stratum mining server (105) and controller (110) would have been an obvious technical implementation to one of ordinary skill in the art to automatically direct computing effort (node activation, task allocation, and mode switching) across distributed network nodes without requiring manual intervention, thereby maximizing processing efficiency and dynamic resource utilization.
As to independent Claim 84,
Keys teaches a process of making a network learning apparatus, the process comprising:
configuring a network learning apparatus, the configuring including:
interconnecting worker computers and at least one assignment computer connection (
Keys, Pg1, RC, P19, Lines4-6, “The system 100 comprises a stratum mining server server 105, a controller 110, access points 120A-B, and stations 130A-C”
Pg1, RC, P20, Lines6-9, “Referring specifically to FIG. 1, the stratum mining server 105, the controller 110, the access points 120A-B are each connected to the network 199, preferably over wired connections”
Pg2, LC, P26, Lines1-10, “The access points 120A,B connect with stations 130A-C for network access in a first mode, and mine for cryptocurrency such as Bitcoin in a second mode... FIG. 4A shows one implementation of an access point as a modified FortiAP 421-CM. A mining chip is a co-processor that is activated to work in conjunction with the CPU already part of the access point architecture when in the cryptomining mode”
wherein Keys discloses interconnecting worker computers (access points 120A-B) and assignment computer connections (stratum mining server 105 / controller 110) over a data network 199);
configuring each of the worker computers to: receive instruction communications from at least one assignment computer connection, the instruction communications including an instruction that specifies a set of elements to be tested to determine whether any element of the set satisfies a condition (
Keys, Pg1, RC, P20, Lines6-9, “Referring specifically to FIG. 1, the stratum mining server 105, the controller 110, the access points 120A-B are each connected to the network 199, preferably over wired connections”
Pg1, RC, P21, Lines1-7, “The stratum mining server 105, in an embodiment, coordinates processing power from access points 120A.B, and others not shown, during downtimes in order to generate cryptocurrency from cryptomining using stratum protocols, network protocol, or the like. A pool of access points register with the stratum mining server 105 through the controller 110”
Pg1, LC, P4, Lines4-6, “miners solve complicated math problems with cryptographic hash functions that are associated with a block containing the transaction data”
Pg4, LC, P41, Lines11-13, “The processor 620 can receive and execute instructions and data stored in the memory 610 or the storage drive 630”
wherein Keys discloses configuring each worker computer (access points 120A-B) via software instructions executed by its processor to receive instruction communications (stratum cryptomining tasks/jobs) over network connections from an assignment computer connection (stratum mining server 105 / controller 110), wherein the instructions specify a set of elements to be tested (block transaction data and nonces evaluated via cryptographic hash functions) to determine whether any element satisfies a condition (cracking the cryptographic code/hash difficulty threshold));
determine whether any of the elements of the set of elements specified in the instruction satisfies the condition (
Keys, Pg1, LC, P4, Lines4-14, “miners solve complicated math problems with cryptographic hash functions that are associated with a block containing the transaction data. Each time a cryptocurrency transaction is made, a cryptocurrency miner is responsible for ensuring the authenticity of information and updating the blockchain with the transaction... The first cryptocurrency miner to crack the code is rewarded by being able to authorize the transactions and earn cryptocurrency as a reward”
Pg2, LC, P21, Lines5-7, “AI processes adapt which access points are pulled in on a particular task and when the are pulled in”
wherein Keys discloses configuring each worker computer to execute cryptographic hashing algorithms over the specified block data to determine whether any tested element/nonce satisfies the target condition); and
send at least one response communication to said at least one assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received indicating which, if any, elements of the set of elements satisfies the condition (
Keys, Pg2, RC, P31, Lines14-15, “The crypto currency database 250 stores collective results from distributed cryptomining”
Pg2, RC, P32, Lines5-8, “The crypto mining module 320 manages cryptomining tasks and can be in communication with the stratum mining server, according to a cooperation protocol”
wherein Keys discloses configuring each worker computer to transmit response communications (mining results/solutions transmitted under the stratum cooperation protocol) to the assignment computer connection (stratum mining server 105) indicating valid elements/solutions that satisfy the condition); and
configuring an analysis computer to communicatively cooperate with the worker computers to: (
Keys, Pg1, RC, P19, Lines4-6, “The system 100 comprises a stratum mining server server 105, a controller 110, access points 120A-B, and stations 130A-C”
Pg2, RC, P31, Lines9-11, “The AI mining module 230 is trained with data form the network and local data collected in order to continually update mining determinations”
wherein Keys discloses configuring an analysis computer (stratum mining server 105 comprising AI mining module 230) to communicatively cooperate with worker computers via network 199 and controller 110).
However, Keys does not explicitly teach (Highlighted Part)
configuring an analysis computer to: record at least a portion of the instruction communications and at least a portion of said at least one response communication to produce training data; create, from said at least a portion of the instruction communications and said at least a portion of said at least one response communication, a network machine learning model that includes at least one parameter and a criterion for optimality; and adjust said at least one parameter of the machine learning model toward the criterion to optimality based on the training data.
In the same field of endeavor, Smdic teaches this (
Smdic, Pg6, Lines24-30, “In the training phase training data 1 is provided. The training data may be in the form of records of individual time-bound communication streams as described above, for example NetStream records. The training data is analysed in a traffic inference block 2... in step 5 it extracts features from that traffic”
Pg9, Lines20-30, “Once a miner successfully logs into a mining pool it starts receiving jobs from the pool administrator. These are given in the form of New Job messages... As soon as it finds a solution it submits the solution to the administrator in the form of a Solution Submission message”
Pg6, Line31-32, “Next, a training process 6 is undertaken on the features in order to form the weightings of an artificial intelligence model 7. The model is stored for future use”
Pg8, Lines14-21, “In machine learning, one-class classification tries to identify objects of a specific class by learning from a training set containing only the objects of that class... The output of the training step is a one-class classification model”
Pg17, Lines19-21, “The windowed TCP conversations go through the feature extraction process which encodes each of them in a feature vector. The collection of all these vectors is used to train the algorithm which is based on the Isolation Forest”
wherein Smdic discloses configuring a network analyzer/data processing device (analysis computer) that records at least a portion of instruction communications (New Job messages sent from a pool administrator to miners) and at least a portion of response communications (Solution Submission messages sent from miners to an administrator) to produce training data (NetStream flow records and feature vectors). Smdic further discloses creating, from the recorded instruction and response communications, a network machine learning model (Isolation Forest model) having model parameters/weightings, and adjusting (training) the model parameters toward a criterion for optimality based on the training data.)
Keys and Smdic are analogous to the claimed invention as they are from the same field of endeavor of network processing systems and distributed task management, specifically configuring and analyzing cryptomining communications over stratum networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the stratum access point mining configuration framework of Keys with the instruction/response traffic recording and machine learning model training scheme of Smdic to configure the network learning apparatus.
The motivation is as recited by Smdic (
Smdic, Pg9, Lines4-11, “Some advantages of this approach over some prior art methods include that cryptocurrency mining can be detected from simplified representations of traffic, such as NetStream data; that it does not depend on deep packet inspection and is therefore suitable for large networks and milder hardware requirements; that it can operate at relatively modest cost because it does not require the deployment of host agents; that it reduces the possibility of evading detection; that it simplifies network security management; and that it reduces maintenance effort since the model does not require continual updating”)
Therefore, applying Smdic's technique of configuring an analysis computer to record instruction communications (New Job messages) and response communications (Solution Submission messages) to produce training data for creating and adjusting parameters of an artificial intelligence model within Keys' stratum mining server (105) configuration would have been an obvious technical improvement to one of ordinary skill in the art to accurately capture distributed network interaction dynamics, optimize task allocation models without requiring invasive host agents or deep packet inspection, and enhance overall network learning and scheduling performance.
As to independent Claim 160,
Keys teaches a process comprising:
communicating, by each of a plurality of worker computers, including:
receiving instruction communications from at least one assignment computer connection, the instruction communications including an instruction that specifies a set of elements to be tested to determine whether any element of the set satisfies a condition (
Keys, Pg1, RC, P19, Lines4-6, “The system 100 comprises a stratum mining server 105, a controller 110, access points 120A-B, and stations 130A-C”
Pg1, RC, P20, Lines6-9, “Referring specifically to FIG. 1, the stratum mining server 105, the controller 110, the access points 120A-B are each connected to the network 199”
Pg1, RC, P21, Lines1-4, “The stratum mining server 105, in an embodiment, coordinates processing power from access points 120A-B... during downtimes in order to generate cryptocurrency from cryptomining using stratum protocols”
Pg4, LC, P41, Lines11-13, “The processor 620 can receive and execute instructions and data stored in the memory 610 or the storage drive 630”
wherein Keys explicitly teaches communicating, by worker computers (access points 120A-B), including receiving instruction communications over stratum network connections from an assignment computer connection (stratum mining server 105 / controller 110), wherein instructions specify a set of elements (block transaction data/nonces) to be tested to satisfy a cryptographic hash difficulty condition);
determining whether any of the elements of the set of elements specified in the instruction satisfies the condition (
Keys, Pg1, LC, P4, Lines4-6, ”miners solve complicated math problems with cryptographic hash functions that are associated with a block containing the transaction data”
Pg2, LC, P21, Lines5-7, “AI processes adapt which access points are pulled in on a particular task and when the are pulled in”
wherein Keys explicitly teaches worker computers determining whether any tested element/nonce satisfies the condition via cryptographic hash calculations); and
sending at least one response communication to said at least one assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received indicating which, if any, elements of the set of elements satisfies the condition (
Keys, Pg2, RC, P31, Lines9-11, ”The crypto currency database 250 stores collective results from distributed cryptomining”
Pg2, RC, P32, Lines5-8, “The crypto mining module 320 manages cryptomining tasks and can be in communication with the stratum mining server, according to a cooperation protocol”
wherein Keys explicitly teaches worker computers sending response communications (mining results/solutions) back to the assignment computer connection under stratum cooperation protocol); and
communicating, by an analysis computer, communicatively cooperating with said worker computers and said at least one assignment computer, including: (
Keys, Pg1, RC, P19, Lines4-6, “The system 100 comprises a stratum mining server 105, a controller 110, access points 120A-B, and stations 130A-C”
Pg2, RC, P31, Lines9-11, ”The AI mining module 230 is trained with data form the network and local data collected in order to continually update mining determinations”
wherein Keys explicitly teaches communicating, by an analysis computer (stratum mining server 105 comprising AI mining module 230), communicatively cooperating with worker computers and assignment computers.)
However, Keys does not explicitly teach
recording at least a portion of the instruction communications and at least a portion of said at least one response communication to produce training data;
creating, from said at least a portion of the instruction communications and said at least a portion of said at least one response communication, a network machine learning model that includes at least one parameter and a criterion for optimality; and
adjusting said at least one parameter of the machine learning model toward the criterion to optimality based on the training data.
In the same field of endeavor, Smdic teaches
recording at least a portion of the instruction communications and at least a portion of response communications to produce training data (
Smdic, Pg6, Lines24-26, “In the training phase training data 1 is provided. The training data may be in the form of records of individual time-bound communication streams as described above, for example NetStream records”
Pg9, Lines20-30, “Once a miner successfully logs into a mining pool it starts receiving jobs from the pool administrator. These are given in the form of New Job messages... As soon as it finds a solution it submits the solution to the administrator in the form of a Solution Submission message”
wherein Smdic explicitly teaches recording instruction communications ("New Job messages") and response communications (“Solution Submission messages”) in NetStream/TCP records to produce training data);
creating, from said recorded communications, a network machine learning model that includes at least one parameter and a criterion for optimality (
Smdic, Pg6, Lines31-32, “Next, a training process 6 is undertaken on the features in order to form the weightings of an artificial intelligence model 7. The model is stored for future use”
Pg8, Lines14-21, “In machine learning, one-class classification tries to identify objects of a specific class by learning from a training set... The output of the training step is a one-class classification model”
Pg17, Lines19-21, “The windowed TCP conversations go through the feature extraction process which encodes each of them in a feature vector. The collection of all these vectors is used to train the algorithm which is based on the Isolation Forest”
wherein Smdic explicitly teaches creating a network machine learning model (Isolation Forest / one-class classification model) featuring parameters/weightings and optimal classification criteria/decision boundaries derived from feature vectors); and
adjusting said at least one parameter of the machine learning model toward the criterion to optimality based on the training data (
Smdic, Pg6, Lines31-32, “Next, a training process 6 is undertaken on the features in order to form the weightings of an artificial intelligence model 7. The model is stored for future use”
Pg17, Lines19-21, “The windowed TCP conversations go through the feature extraction process which encodes each of them in a feature vector. The collection of all these vectors is used to train the algorithm which is based on the Isolation Forest”
wherein Smdic explicitly teaches adjusting/forming model weightings and tree parameters toward optimal decision boundaries/criteria to accurately classify target network communication behavior based on the training data.)
Keys and Smdic are analogous art because both reside in the same field of endeavor of network communication analysis and distributed task allocation, specifically managing and optimizing cryptocurrency mining traffic across stratum networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the stratum communication process of Keys with the instruction/response traffic recording and machine learning model training communication process of Smdic.
The motivation is as recited by Smdic (
Smdic, Pg9, Lines4-11, “Some advantages of this approach over some prior art methods include that cryptocurrency mining can be detected from simplified representations of traffic, such as NetStream data; that it does not depend on deep packet inspection and is therefore suitable for large networks and milder hardware requirements; that it can operate at relatively modest cost because it does not require the deployment of host agents; that it reduces the possibility of evading detection; that it simplifies network security management; and that it reduces maintenance effort since the model does not require continual updating”)
Therefore, incorporating Smdic's communication process of recording instruction communications (New Job messages) and response communications (Solution Submission messages) to produce training data for creating and adjusting parameters of an artificial intelligence model into Keys' stratum analysis computer communication process would have been an obvious technical improvement to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize task allocation models without requiring invasive host agents or deep packet inspection, thereby enhancing overall network learning and communication efficiency.
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keys and Smdic as mentioned in Claim 1 in further view of Courtois (Courtois), Non-Patent Literature, “On Detection of Bitcoin Mining Redirection Attacks”, Published in 2015, 8 Pages.
As to dependent Claim 3,
The combination of Keys and Smdic teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above.
The combination of Keys and Smdic teaches about managing worker computers via upstream analysis computer commands and incorporating variable difficulty (VARDIFF) parameters into distributed task instructions (
Keys, Pg2, LC, P21, Lines2-7, “A pool of access points register with the stratum mining server 105 through the controller 110. AI processes adapt which access points are pulled in on a particular task and when the are pulled in”
Keys, Pg2, LC, P22, Lines1-3, “AI can be implemented in some embodiments when determining which access points to activate. Example inputs can be a local mining task...”
Keys, Pg2, LC, P26, Lines3-5, “The mode switch can be self-determined or ordered from upstream by the controller 110 or the stratum mining seer 110”
Smdic, Pg14, Lines22-26, “Standard deviation of miner's Solution Submission rate... This feature aims at capturing the variable difficulty (VARDIFF) algorithm deployed by mining pools. Variable difficulty will adjust the New Job difficulty (the target key in the New Job JSON packet shown above) so that the miner submits a specific number of shares a minute”)
However, both Keys and Smdic do not explicitly teach
configuring the command sent from the analysis computer to a worker computer to determine in part a range of difficulty of the instruction that the worker computer will accept from an assignment computer connection.
In the same field of endeavor, Courtois teaches this (
Courtois, Pg103, Section 5.5, Points 1,5,7, “Work is sent to miner controllers... Depending on the difficulty level for this mining job, for example 512 (a realistic value observed)... The difficulty is actually variable and can change for example after 300 seconds. It is adjusted in such a way that one controller sends less than 1 share every few seconds. This minimizes the server load and yet allows to know the amount of work contributed with sufficient precision...”
wherein Courtois explicitly discloses adjusting and setting specific difficulty levels and ranges within mining instructions transmitted from pool servers/controllers to worker controllers, ensuring workers accept and evaluate mining jobs within an adjusted target difficulty threshold.
Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), configuring/adjusting a target difficulty level or parameter in task instructions transmitted to worker computers inherently determines the range of difficulty of instructions that the worker computer evaluates and accepts for computation.)
Keys, Smdic, and Courtois are analogous to the claimed invention as they are from the same field of endeavor of network processing systems and distributed task management, specifically managing and adjusting instruction parameters and difficulty targets in stratum cryptomining networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the command-based worker management framework of Keys and the variable difficulty scheme of Smdic with the difficulty range determination command taught by Courtois.
The motivation is as recited by Courtois (
Courtois, Pg103, Section 5.5, Point 7, Lines4-6, “This minimizes the server load and yet allows to know the amount of work contributed with sufficient precision”)
Therefore, configuring the command sent from Keys' analysis computer (105) to worker computers to specify a range of difficulty of instructions accepted from an assignment computer connection, as taught by Courtois, would have been an obvious technical optimization to one of ordinary skill in the art to dynamically balance server load, match task complexity to worker processing capabilities, and optimize share submission efficiency across the network.
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keys and Smdic as mentioned in Claim 1 in further view of Pellini et al. (Pellini), International Publication No. Wo-2020/041477-A1, published in Feb 27, 2020.
As to dependent Claim 7,
The combination of Keys and Smdic teaches all the limitations of Claim 6 as set forth above.
However, both Keys and Smdic do not explicitly teach
the apparatus of claim6, wherein the analysis computer is further configured to send a command to the one of the worker computers, the command determining in part whether the instruction to work on the cryptocurrency mining job is accepted by the one of the worker computers based on a type of cryptocurrency mined by the cryptocurrency mining job.
Although Keys teaches about the analysis computer sending commands to worker computers to determine work assignments and control mode switching (
Keys, Pg2, LC, P21, Lines2-7, “A pool of access points register with the stratum mining server 105 through the controller 110...AI processes adapt which access points are pulled in on a particular task and when the are pulled in”
Pg2, LC, P26, Lines3-5, “The mode switch can be self-determined or ordered from upstream by the controller 110 or the stratum mining seer 110”
wherein Keys discloses that the analysis computer sends upstream commands to worker computers to determine task acceptance and execution.)
Also, Smdic teaches about receiving and processing instructions for cryptocurrency mining jobs involving specific cryptocurrency types (
Smdic, Pg9, Lines20-21, “Once a miner successfully logs into a mining pool it starts receiving jobs from the pool administrator. These are given in the form of New Job messages”
Pg7, Line13-14, “The present approach will be described below with reference to mining the Monero cryptocurrency...”
wherein Smdic discloses transmitting and evaluating instructions to work on cryptocurrency mining jobs for specific cryptocurrency types.)
In the same field of endeavor, Pellini teaches this (
Pellini, Pg4, P13, Lines7-11, “For example, one cryptocurrency may have a reduced yield based upon demand, the number of miners, or other conditions, where switching to mining a different cryptocurrency may be advantageous. In various embodiments, a single miner or bank of miners can be used to mine one or a plurality of different cryptocurrencies depending on various economic factors”
Pg6, P19, Lines10-14, “The generation subsystem 114 can output indicia related to the current and predicted value of cryptocurrencies... and a robot advisory system 132 that directs cryptocurrency mining hardware to mine one or several cryptocurrencies”
Pg13, Claim5, “wherein the directive is an instruction to the cryptocurrency mining hardware to switch from mining tokens associated with a second cryptocurrency to mining tokens associated with the highest value token”
Pg15-16, Claim 19, “outputting an instruction to cryptocurrency mining hardware to generate tokens for one or more cryptocurrencies based at least in part on the determined future value of the tokens”
wherein Pellini explicitly discloses an analysis computer (cryptocurrency mining selection system 100 / robot advisory system 132) configured to send commands/instructions/directives to worker computers (cryptocurrency mining hardware) determining whether mining instructions are accepted or switched based on the type of cryptocurrency mined by the job, such as switching from a second cryptocurrency to mine the highest value cryptocurrency token.)
Keys, Smdic, and Pellini are analogous to the claimed invention as they are from the same field of endeavor of network processing systems and distributed task management, specifically controlling and optimizing cryptocurrency mining operations across worker nodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the command-based stratum access point framework of Keys and the mining job instruction structure of Smdic with the cryptocurrency type-based job switching and selection command taught by Pellini.
The motivation is as recited by Pellini (
Pellini, Pg4, P13, Lines7-11, “For example, one cryptocurrency may have a reduced yield based upon demand, the number of miners, or other conditions, where switching to mining a different cryptocurrency may be advantageous. In various embodiments, a single miner or bank of miners can be used to mine one or a plurality of different cryptocurrencies depending on various economic factors”)
Therefore, configuring the command sent from Keys' analysis computer (105) to worker computers to determine whether instructions to work on a cryptocurrency mining job are accepted based on the type of cryptocurrency mined, as taught by Pellini, would have been an obvious technical improvement to one of ordinary skill in the art to maximize mining profitability, dynamically adapt to fluctuating cryptocurrency market values and network difficulties, and optimize overall hardware resource utilization.
Claims 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keys and Smdic as mentioned in Claim 1 in further view of Robert et al. (Robert), Japanese Patent Publication No. JP-2013/257893-A, published in Deb 26, 2013, English-Translated.
As to dependent Claim 8,
The combination of Keys and Smdic teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 as set forth above.
Keys and Smdic further teaches the instruction communications including an instruction that specifies a set of elements to be tested to determine whether any element of a set satisfies the condition (
Keys, Pg1, LC, P4, Lines1-6, “Crypto currency mining, or cryptomining, is a process in which transactions for various forms of cryptocurrency (e.g., Bitcoin) are verified and added to the blockchain digital ledger. Essentially, miners solve complicated math problems with cryptographic hash functions that are associated with a block containing the transaction data”
Keys, Pg1, P21, Lines1-7, “The stratum mining server 105, in an embodiment, coordinates processing power from access points 120A.B, and others not shown, during downtimes in order to generate cryptocurrency from cryptomining using stratum protocols, network protocol, or the like. A pool of access points register with the stratum mining server 105 through the controller 110”
Smdic, Pg9, Lines20-30, “Once a miner successfully logs into a mining pool it starts receiving jobs from the pool administrator. These are given in the form of New Job messages... On receiving a New Job message the miner starts to work on the mathematical problem (i.e. mining) using the information contained in the New Job message. As soon as it finds a solution it submits the solution to the administrator in the form of a Solution Submission message”
Smdic, Pg14, Lines24–26, “Variable difficulty will adjust the New Job difficulty (the target key in the New Job JSON packet shown above) so that the miner submits a specific number of shares a minute”
Wherein Keys and Smdic discloses that worker computer receive instruction communications (stratum cryptomining tasks / New Job messages) over the network connections from an assignment computer connection (stratum mining server 105 / pool administrator), wherein the instructions specify a set of elements to be tested (block transaction data ‘blob’ and candidate nonces to be evaluated via cryptographic hash function) to determine whether any element satisfies a condition (cracking the cryptographic hash code / satisfying the target difficulty threshold).)
However, both Keys and Smdic do not explicitly teach
the apparatus of claim 1, further including a director computer configured to: communicate via respective worker computer connections to two or more worker computers, with at least one worker computer connection to each said worker computer
for each of the worker computers: receive the instruction communications from said at least one assignment computer connection
communicate such that for each said instruction received from said at least one assignment computer connection: assign the instruction to one said worker computer connection; send the instruction to the one said worker computer connection
if a response is received from the one said worker computer connection to the instruction, then send the response to said at least one assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received
if no response is received from the one said worker computer connection to the instruction, then indicate to said at least one assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received that no response was received.
Although Keys teaches about managing worker computers via upstream controllers (
Keys, Pg1, RC, P19, Lines4-6, “The system 100 comprises a stratum mining server 105, a controller 110, access points 120A-B, and stations 130A-C”
Pg2, LC, P21, Lines2-4, “A pool of access points register with the stratum mining server 105 through the controller 110”
wherein Keys discloses centralized instruction dispatching and upstream controller-based network node management.)
and Smdic teaches about distributed mining job assignments and solution submissions (
Smdic, Pg1, Lines15-16, “In a mining pool, a pool administrator distributes jobs between members of the pool”
Pg9, Lines28-30, “As soon as it finds a solution it submits the solution to the administrator in the form of a Solution Submission message”
wherein Smdic discloses dispatching tasks from pool administrators and receiving completed worker solutions across network connections.)
In the same field of endeavor, Robert teaches
the apparatus of claim 1, further including a director computer configured to: communicate via respective worker computer connections to two or more worker computers, with at least one worker computer connection to each said worker computer (
Robert, Pg1, Abstract, Lines3-6, “A distributed server system includes not only a primary manager computer 210 but one or more backup managers 220, 230. The backup managers receive from the primary manager a command to maintain the state of a distributed server system 200, forward work tasks to workers 240 to 260...”
Pg5, P3, Lines1-3, “In the distributed server system 200, the main manager 210 can be communicatively connected to each of the backup manager 220 and the backup manager 230. Backup manager 220 can be communicatively connected to each of worker 240 and worker 250”
wherein Robert explicitly discloses a director computer (backup manager 220/230) communicatively positioned between a primary assignment computer (main manager 210) and a plurality of worker computers (workers 240, 250, 260), communicating via individual network connection paths to each worker computer)
for each of the worker computers: receive the instruction communications from said at least one assignment computer connection (
Robert, Pg16, Fig2,
Pg16, Fig3, Step330
Pg7, P5, Lines1-2, Lines1-2, “The main manager 210 then sends a command 330 to each of the backup manager 220 and backup manager 230...”
wherein Robert discloses that the director computer receives instruction communications containing work tasks/commands (command 330) from the primary assignment computer (main manager 210) intended for execution by worker computers);
communicate such that for each said instruction received from said at least one assignment computer connection: assign the instruction to one said worker computer connection; send the instruction to the one said worker computer connection (
Robert, Pg16, Fig3, Step330, 340
Pg7, P5, Lines1-7, “The main manager 210 then sends a command 330 to each of the backup manager 220 and backup manager 230... Each of backup manager 220 and backup manager 230 then sends a command 340 to each of worker 240... worker 250... and worker 260... to close and execute the work associated with the current state ID assigned to the worker”
Pg9, P5, Lines4-5, “...block 510 may indicate an operation of sending a command to perform work corresponding to the state to one or more workers”
wherein Robert discloses that upon receiving work commands/instructions from an assignment computer, the director computer (backup manager 220/230) assigns specific tasks to designated worker connections and transmits the assigned work instructions (command 340 / Step 510 “Send 'Execute work' to all workers”) to those worker computers)
if a response is received from the one said worker computer connection to the instruction, then send the response to said at least one assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received (
Robert, Pg16, Fig3, Step350, 360
Pg17, Fig5, Step 530
Pg8, P1, Lines7-14, “Each of worker 240, worker 250, and worker 260 may send message 350 to the backup manager 220 or backup manager 230 assigned to them... Each of the backup manager 220 and backup manager 230 can then send a message 360 to the primary manager 210 indicating that the state associated with the current state ID has been closed”
Pg10, P1, “At block 530, an operation may be shown in which the backup manager collects all worker responses to form a single message and sends the collected message to the central manager”)
wherein Robert discloses that when worker computers complete assigned tasks and transmit completion responses (message 350) back to the director computer (backup manager 220/230), the director computer aggregates and forwards the responses (message 360 / Step 530) to the primary assignment computer (primary manager 210)); and
if no response is received from the one said worker computer connection to the instruction, then indicate to said at least one assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received that no response was received (
Robert, Pg17, Fig5, Steps 510, 520, 540
Pg9, P5, Lines4-5, “Block 510 may indicate an operation of sending a command to perform work corresponding to the state to one or more workers”
Pg9, P6, Lines1-2, “At block 520, an act of determining whether each worker to which the command of block 510 was sent is responding within a predetermined time interval may be shown”
Pg10, P2, Lines1-4, “At block 540, an operation may be shown in which the backup manager collects all worker responses to form a single message and sends the collected message to the central server... including information indicating the identity of any slowing or non-functional worker identified at block 520”
wherein Robert explicitly discloses that if a worker computer fails to respond within a predetermined time interval following the transmission of a work instruction (Step 510, “Send 'Execute work' to all workers”; Step 520, “determining whether each worker to which the command of block 510 was sent is responding within a predetermined time interval”), the director computer (backup manager 220/230) detects the non-response condition for that dispatched work instruction and transmits a message to the central primary manager (210) containing specific information identifying the non-responsive or slow worker computer (Step 540). Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), reporting the identity of a non-responsive or non-functional worker node specifically in response to a dispatched work instruction inherently indicates to the assignment computer connection that no response was received from that worker computer connection for that instruction.)
Keys, Smdic, and Robert are analogous to the claimed invention as they are from the same field of endeavor of network processing systems and distributed task management, specifically mediating, dispatching, and tracking distributed computational tasks and responses between assignment servers and worker nodes across network connections, where cryptocurrency mining is a well-known representative implementation of distributed computing tasks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the stratum access point mining system of Keys and the mining task scheme of Smdic with the director computer instruction dispatching and response reporting structure taught by Robert.
The motivation is as recited and implied by Robert (
Robert, Pg1, Abstract, Lines1-3, “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To increase the number of worker computers in a distributed server system, without adversely impacting the communication capacity of a central server”
Pg3, P3, “A system that can increase the number of communication-connected computer systems without adversely affecting the communication capacity of the central server is effective”
Robert, Pg16, Fig2,
Pg17, Fig5, Steps 510, 520, 540
)
Therefore, incorporating a director computer (backup manager 220/230) between Keys' analysis/assignment computer (105/110) and worker computers (120A-B) to receive instructions, assign/send tasks to worker connections, and forward worker responses or report non-responses on an instruction-by-instruction basis, as taught by Robert, would have been an obvious technical modification to one of ordinary skill in the art to offload task dispatching overhead from the main primary manager, prevent communication bottlenecks, and dynamically track worker node availability and status across distributed networks.
As to dependent Claim 9,
The combination of Keys, Smdic, and Robert teaches all the limitations of Claim 8 as set forth above.
Keys further teaches
the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the analysis computer is further configured to send a command to the director computer (
Keys, Pg 1, RC, P19, Lines4-6, “The system 100 comprises a stratum mining server 105, a controller 110, access points 120A-B, and stations 130A-C”
Pg 2, LC, P21, Lines2-7, “A pool of access points register with the stratum mining server 105 through the controller 110… AI processes adapt which access points are pulled in on a particular task and when they are pulled in”
Pg 2, LC, P22, Lines1-3, “AI can be implemented in some embodiments when determining which access points to activate. Example inputs can be a local mining task...”
Pg 2, LC, P26, Lines3-5, “The mode switch can be self-determined or ordered from upstream by the controller 110 or the stratum mining server 105”
wherein Keys explicitly discloses an analysis computer (stratum mining server 105 comprising AI mining module 230) configured to send upstream control commands to an intermediate director computer (Robert's backup manager 220/230 or Keys' controller 110 operating as the director computer) to dynamically adjust operational modes and task execution streams based on AI analytical determinations.)
However, Keys does not explicitly teach
the command determining in part the assignment computer connection from which the director computer will receive an instruction
In the same field of endeavor, the combination of Smdic and Robert teaches this (
Smdic, Pg8, Lines26-35, “After the learning phase described above, the system can operate in prediction mode. In prediction mode, the model 7 is presented with feature vectors for real-time traffic. The model predicts whether or not each of those feature vectors represents mining traffic. Conveniently, predictions for the same TCP conversations can be grouped together and the conversation (i.e. the bidirectional communication stream) assigned a risk score depending on how many windows have been found to be classified as mining. When the risk score exceeds a predetermined value the stream may be assumed to represent mining traffic and the system may automatically take action in response to that determination: for example it may block traffic between the addresses involved in that stream and/or transmit an alert to an administrator”
Smdic, Pg9, Lines21–26, “New Job messages generally have the following format: {"jsonrpc":"2.0","method":"job","params":{"blob":"0909aefe9de005621aad068034342918072dd44ddb9534f1a75b2e1fc8c71c26dada37abdc6d0b0000000033ad940d75bc03988711de6b68313380a44c12cf044111deaa1e908b5af14f0704","job_id":"16864","target":"cf8b0000"}}”
Robert, Pg1, Abstract, Lines3-7, “A distributed server system includes not only a primary manager computer 210 but one or more backup managers 220, 230. The backup managers receive from the primary manager a command to maintain the state of a distributed server system 200, forward work tasks to workers 240 to 260, further aggregate responses received from the workers, and send them to the primary manager”
Robert, Pg7, P5, Lines1–4, “The main manager 210 then sends a command 330 to each of the backup manager 220 and backup manager 230, which each of the backup manager 220 and backup manager 230 will perform the work corresponding to the state associated with the state ID for each of the workers”
Robert, Pg16, Fig3, Step330
Wherein Smdic teaches analyzing multiple stratum mining pool instruction streams (New Job messages) across network proxy nodes to select and direct mining communications based on job characteristics and Robert teaches that intermediate proxy director computers (backup managers 220/230) receive task control and state configuration directives from a primary manager to manage task routing connections across network layers. Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), configuring the analysis computer (Keys 105) to issue a control command to an intermediate director computer (controller 110 of Keys or backup managers 220/230 of Robert) to determine or select which upstream assignment computer connection (stratum mining pool connection) instructions are received from would have been an obvious design choice and technical modification to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date.)
Keys, Smdic, and Robert are analogous to the claimed invention as they belong to the same field of endeavor of network task distribution and proxy routing management. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the stratum mining framework of Keys and Smdic with the intermediate director task routing control structure taught by Robert.
The motivation is as recited by Smdic (
Smdic, Pg9, Lines4–11, “Some advantages of this approach over some prior art methods include that cryptocurrency mining can be detected from simplified representations of traffic, such as NetStream data; that it does not depend on deep packet inspection and is therefore suitable for large networks and milder hardware requirements; that it can operate at relatively modest cost because it does not require the deployment of host agents; that it reduces the possibility of evading detection; that it simplifies network security management; and that it reduces maintenance effort since the model does not require continual updating”)
and Robert (
Robert, Pg1, Abstract, Lines1-3, “PROBLEM TO BE SOLVED: To increase the number of worker computers in a distributed server system, without adversely impacting the communication capacity of a central server”
Pg3, P3, “A system that can increase the number of communication-connected computer systems without adversely affecting the communication capacity of the central server is effective”)
to centralize task distribution management, prevent communication bottlenecks on primary assignment servers by utilizing intermediate director nodes, and dynamically select and adapt instruction streams based on real-time task characteristics and network load.
As to dependent Claim 11,
The combination of Keys, Smdic, and Robert teaches all the limitations of Claim 8 as set forth above.
Keys further teaches about cryptocurrency mining using cryptographic hash functions to solve mathematical problems and verify transactions (
Keys, Pg1, LC, P4, Lines1-6, “Crypto currency mining, or cryptomining, is a process in which transactions for various forms of cryptocurrency (e.g., Bitcoin) are verified and added to the blockchain digital ledger. Essentially, miners solve complicated math problems with cryptographic hash functions that are associated with a block containing the transaction data...”)
However, Keys does not explicitly teach
wherein the elements to be tested includes elements to be tested by finding output of a one-way function that is within a strict subset of a range of the one-way function.
In the same field of endeavor, Smdic teaches this (
Smdic, Pg1, Lines13-19, “Cryptocurrency mining involves receiving input data and then computing a value dependent on that data. The value is difficult to calculate. Nowadays, most cryptocurrency mining is undertaken by mining pools. In a mining pool, a pool administrator distributes jobs between members of the pool. The members of the pool are known as miners. The administrator transmits work instructions known as New Job messages to the miners. Each miner performs calculations on the data sent in its New Job message”
Smdic, Pg9, Lines21-26, “New Job messages generally have the following format: {"jsonrpc":"2.0","method":"job","params":{"blob":"0909aefe9de005621aad068034342918072dd44ddb9534f1a75b2e1fc8c71c26dada37abdc6d0b0000000033ad940d75bc03988711de6b68313380a44c12cf044111deaa1e908b5af14f0704","job_id":"16864","target":"cf8b0000"}}”
Pg14, Lines24-25, “Variable difficulty will adjust the New Job difficulty (the target key in the New Job JSON packet shown above)...”
wherein Smdic discloses cryptocurrency mining operations wherein workers perform calculations on assigned task data using cryptographic hash functions to obtain outputs satisfying required difficulty target thresholds. Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), a cryptographic hash function is a standard one-way function, and requiring the hash output to satisfy a specified difficulty target threshold (e.g., target key in job specification) inherently constitutes finding an output of a one-way function that falls within a strict subset of the range of the one-way function.)
Keys, Smdic, and Robert are analogous to the claimed invention as they are from the same field of endeavor of network processing systems and distributed task management, specifically executing cryptographic hash computations to solve proof-of-work problems across director-mediated cryptocurrency mining networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the director-mediated stratum access point framework of Keys and Robert with the target-based cryptographic hash calculation scheme of Smdic.
The motivation is as recited by Smdic (
Smdic, Pg1, Lines13-15, “Cryptocurrency mining involves receiving input data and then computing a value dependent on that data. The value is difficult to calculate. Nowadays, most cryptocurrency mining is undertaken by mining pools...”)
Therefore, evaluating cryptographic hash functions against difficulty targets to find acceptable outputs (finding an output of a one-way function within a strict subset of its range) within the director-mediated stratum mining framework of Keys, Smdic, and Robert would have been an obvious technical application to one of ordinary skill in the art to reliably verify proof-of-work computational tasks and ensure secure transaction authorization across distributed worker nodes managed by an intermediate director computer.
As to dependent Claim 12,
The combination of Keys, Smdic, and Robert teaches all the limitations of Claim 11 as set forth above.
Keys further teaches
the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the one-way function is a cryptographic hash function (
Keys, Pg1, LC, P4, Lines1-6, “Crypto currency mining, or cryptomining, is a process in which transactions for various forms of cryptocurrency (e.g., Bitcoin) are verified and added to the blockchain digital ledger. Essentially, miners solve complicated math problems with cryptographic hash functions that are associated with a block containing the transaction data”
wherein Keys explicitly discloses that the one-way function executed by worker computers to evaluate mining solutions is a cryptographic hash function.)
As to dependent Claim 13,
The combination of Keys, Smdic, and Robert teaches all the limitations of Claim 8 as set forth above.
Keys further teaches
the apparatus of claim 8, wherein each said instruction is an instruction to work on a cryptocurrency mining job (
Keys, Pg1, LC, P4, Lines1-6, “Crypto currency mining, or cryptomining, is a process in which transactions for various forms of cryptocurrency (e.g., Bitcoin) are verified and added to the blockchain digital ledger. Essentially, miners solve complicated math problems with cryptographic hash functions that are associated with a block containing the transaction data”
Pg1, RC, P21, Lines1-5, “The stratum mining server 105, in an embodiment, coordinates processing power from access points 120A.B, and others not shown, during downtimes in order to generate cryptocurrency from cryptomining using stratum protocols, network protocol, or the like”
Pg2, RC, P26, Lines1-3, “The access points 120A,B connect with stations 130A-C for network access in a first mode, and mine for cryptocurrency such as Bitcoin in a second mode”
Pg2, RC, P32, Lines5-8, “The crypto mining module 320 manages cryptomining tasks and can be in communication with the stratum mining server, according to a cooperation protocol”
wherein Keys explicitly discloses that the instructions received by worker computers from the assignment computer include instructions or tasks to work on a cryptocurrency mining job.)
As to dependent Claim 17,
The combination of Keys, Smdic, and Robert teaches all the limitations of Claim 8 as set forth above.
However, both Keys and Robert do not explicitly teach
the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the director computer encrypts the response sent to the assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received that includes identification of an element of the set that satisfies the condition
Although Keys teaches about receiving and storing response communications containing mining results from worker computers (
Keys, Pg2, RC, P31, Lines14-15, “The crypto currency database 250 stores collective results from distributed cryptomining”
Pg2, RC, P32, Lines5-8, “The crypto mining module 320 manages cryptomining tasks and can be in communication with the stratum mining server, according to a cooperation protocol”
wherein Keys discloses that worker computers send response communications over network connections to an assignment computer connection (stratum mining server 105) indicating valid elements/solutions that satisfy a target condition) and
Smdic teaches about transmitting response communications containing condition-satisfying solutions in a cryptomining pool (
Smdic, Pg1, Lines15-16, “In a mining pool, a pool administrator distributes jobs between members of the pool”
Pg9, Lines28-34, “As soon as it finds a solution it submits the solution to the administrator in the form of a Solution Submission message Solution Submission messages generally have the following format: {"id":76,"jsonrpc":"2.0","method":"submit","params":{"id":"1","job_id":"16871","nonce":"b51100e0","result":"77b70dd08e35514827a0cd9e75aec4eeb28a6816c2fd90dc649285d4ca050000"}}”
wherein Smdic discloses that worker computers or proxies submit response communications in the form of Solution Submission messages containing nonce and result values specifically identifying elements/solutions satisfying target difficulty conditions to a pool administrator upon finding valid solutions)
while Robert teaches about a director computer receiving responses from worker computers and forwarding them to a primary assignment computer (
Robert, Pg8, P1, Lines7-14, “Each of worker 240, worker 250, and worker 260 may send message 350 to the backup manager 220 or backup manager 230 assigned to them... Each of the backup manager 220 and backup manager 230 can then send a message 360 to the primary manager 210 indicating that the state associated with the current state ID has been closed”
Pg10, P1, “At block 530, an operation may be shown in which the backup manager collects all worker responses to form a single message and sends the collected message to the central manager”
wherein Robert discloses a director computer (backup manager 220/230) receiving response messages from worker computers and forwarding/collecting the responses to send to a primary assignment computer (primary manager 210)),
In the same field of endeavor, Smdic further teaches this limitation (
Smdic, Pg1, Lines26-29, “The traffic between an administrator and a miner may be encrypted, meaning that the bit content of the traffic itself cannot be analysed directly to identify New Job messages and Solution Submission messages”
Pg23, Fig1, Item2, “The infected device communicates with a mining proxy owned by a malicious actor which in turn talks with the mining pool”
Pg23, Fig1, Item5, “The infected devices communicate with a public mining pool (or private) using an encrypted channel such as VPN, SSH tunnel and SSL”
wherein Smdic explicitly discloses communicating mining traffic—specifically including response messages such as Solution Submission messages containing nonces/results identifying elements satisfying target conditions—between an intermediate mining proxy/node and a pool administrator over encrypted network channels using SSL, SSH tunnels, or VPNs. Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), configuring an intermediate director computer/proxy to transmit response communications over an encrypted network channel (such as SSL, TLS, SSH, or VPN) inherently encrypts the response sent to the assignment computer connection.)
Keys, Smdic, and Robert are analogous to the claimed invention as they are from the same field of endeavor of network processing systems and distributed task management, specifically securing and mediating cryptomining communications over stratum proxy networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the director-mediated stratum framework of Keys and Robert with the response message encryption scheme taught by Smdic.
The motivation is as recited and implied by Smdic (
Smdic, Pg1, Lines26-29, “The traffic between an administrator and a miner may be encrypted, meaning that the bit content of the traffic itself cannot be analysed directly to identify New Job messages and Solution Submission messages”)
Therefore, configuring Robert's director computer (backup manager 220/230) to encrypt response communications (Solution Submissions identifying condition-satisfying elements) sent to Keys' assignment computer connection (105) over encrypted network channels (such as SSL, TLS, or VPN tunnels) as taught by Smdic would have been an obvious technical application to one of ordinary skill in the art to ensure network data confidentiality, prevent unauthorized packet inspection or tampering, and safeguard valid solution submissions during transmission across intermediate proxy connections.
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keys, Smdic and Robert as mentioned in Claim 8 in further view of Courtois (Courtois), Non-Patent Literature, “On Detection of Bitcoin Mining Redirection Attacks”, Published in 2015, 8 Pages.
As to dependent Claim 10,
The combination of Keys, Smdic, and Robert teaches all the limitations of Claim 8 as set forth above.
The combination of Keys, Smdic, and Robert teaches managing intermediate director computers via upstream analysis computer commands and incorporating variable difficulty (VARDIFF) parameters into distributed task instructions (
Keys, Pg2, LC, P21, Lines2-7, “A pool of access points register with the stratum mining server 105 through the controller 110… AI processes adapt which access points are pulled in on a particular task and when they are pulled in”
Keys, Pg2, P26, Lines3-5, “The mode switch can be self-determined or ordered from upstream by the controller 110 or the stratum mining server 110”
Robert, Pg16, Fig3, Step330
Robert, Pg7, P5, Lines1–2, “The main manager 210 then sends a command 330 to each of the backup manager 220 and backup manager 230...”
Smdic, Pg14, Lines22–26, “Standard deviation of miner's Solution Submission rate... This feature aims at capturing the variable difficulty (VARDIFF) algorithm deployed by mining pools. Variable difficulty will adjust the New Job difficulty (the target key in the New Job JSON packet shown above) so that the miner submits a specific number of shares a minute”
wherein Keys, Smdic, and Robert in combination disclose an analysis computer (Keys' stratum mining server 105) configured to send upstream control commands to an intermediate director computer (Robert's backup manager 220/230 or Keys' controller 110) to manage and dispatch task instructions incorporating variable difficulty (VARDIFF) parameters across worker nodes.)
However, Keys, Smdic, and Robert do not explicitly teach
wherein the analysis computer is further configured to send a command to the director computer, the command determining in part a range of difficulty of instructions that the director computer will accept from said at least one assignment computer connection
In the same field of endeavor, Courtois teaches this (
Courtois, Pg103, Section 5.5, Points 1,5,7, “Work is sent to miner controllers... Depending on the difficulty level for this mining job, for example 512 (a realistic value observed)... The difficulty is actually variable and can change for example after 300 seconds. It is adjusted in such a way that one controller sends less than 1 share every few seconds. This minimizes the server load and yet allows to know the amount of work contributed with sufficient precision...”
wherein Courtois explicitly discloses adjusting and setting specific difficulty levels and ranges within mining instructions transmitted to and managed by intermediate controllers, ensuring the controllers accept and process mining jobs within an adjusted target difficulty threshold. Under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), configuring or adjusting a target difficulty level/parameter via commands transmitted from an upstream analysis/primary computer to an intermediate director computer (controller) inherently determines the range of difficulty of instructions that the director computer evaluates and accepts from an assignment computer connection.)
Keys, Smdic, Robert, and Courtois are analogous to the claimed invention as they are from the same field of endeavor of network processing systems and distributed task management, specifically managing and adjusting instruction parameters and difficulty targets across intermediate proxy/director nodes in stratum networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the command-based director computer framework of Keys and Robert and the variable difficulty scheme of Smdic with the difficulty range determination command taught by Courtois.
The motivation is as recited by Courtois (
Courtois, Pg103, Section 5.5, Point7, Lines4-6, “This minimizes the server load and yet allows to know the amount of work contributed with sufficient precision…”)
Therefore, configuring the command sent from Keys' analysis computer (105) to the director computer (Robert's backup manager 220/230 or Keys' controller 110) to specify a range of difficulty of instructions accepted from an assignment computer connection, as taught by Courtois, would have been an obvious technical optimization to one of ordinary skill in the art to dynamically balance intermediate director server load, filter upstream task complexity according to connected worker capabilities, and optimize overall network processing efficiency.
Claims 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keys, Smdic and Robert as mentioned in Claim 8 in further view of Pellini et al. (Pellini), International Publication No. Wo-2020/041477-A1, published in Feb 27, 2020.
As to dependent Claim 14,
The combination of Keys, Smdic, and Robert teaches all the limitations of Claim 13 as set forth above.
However, the combination of Keys, Smdic, and Robert does not explicitly teach
the apparatus of claim 13, wherein the analysis computer is further configured to send a command to the director computer, the command determining in part if an instruction to work on the cryptocurrency mining job is accepted by the director computer based on a type of cryptocurrency mined by the cryptocurrency mining job.
Although Keys teaches about the analysis computer sending commands to determine work assignments and mode switching (
Keys, Pg2, LC, P21, Lines2-7, “A pool of access points register with the stratum mining server 105 through the controller 110...AI processes adapt which access points are pulled in on a particular task and when the are pulled in”
Pg2, LC, P26, Lines3-5, “The mode switch can be self-determined or ordered from upstream by the controller 110 or the stratum mining seer 110”
wherein Keys discloses that the analysis computer sends upstream commands to determine task acceptance and execution),
and Robert teaches an intermediate director computer (backup manager 220/230) receiving control commands from a primary manager to manage task execution across worker nodes (
Robert, Pg16, Fig3, Step330
Pg7, P5, Lines1-2, “The main manager 210 then sends a command 330 to each of the backup manager 220 and backup manager 230...”
wherein Robert discloses sending control commands from a primary manager to an intermediate director computer to mediate task operations.)
In the same field of endeavor, Pellini teaches this (
Pellini, Pg4, P13, Lines7-11, “For example, one cryptocurrency may have a reduced yield based upon demand, the number of miners, or other conditions, where switching to mining a different cryptocurrency may be advantageous. In various embodiments, a single miner or bank of miners can be used to mine one or a plurality of different cryptocurrencies depending on various economic factors”
Pg6, P19, Lines10-14, “The generation subsystem 114 can output indicia related to the current and predicted value of cryptocurrencies... and a robot advisory system 132 that directs cryptocurrency mining hardware to mine one or several cryptocurrencies”
Pg13, Claim5, “wherein the directive is an instruction to the cryptocurrency mining hardware to switch from mining tokens associated with a second cryptocurrency to mining tokens associated with the highest value token”
Pg15-16, Claim 19, “outputting an instruction to cryptocurrency mining hardware to generate tokens for one or more cryptocurrencies based at least in part on the determined future value of the tokens”
wherein Pellini explicitly discloses an analysis computer (cryptocurrency mining selection system 100 / robot advisory system 132) configured to send commands/instructions/directives determining whether mining instructions are accepted or switched based on the type of cryptocurrency mined by the job, such as switching from a second cryptocurrency to mine the highest value cryptocurrency token).
Keys, Smdic, Robert, and Pellini are analogous to the claimed invention as they are from the same field of endeavor of network processing systems and distributed task management, specifically controlling and optimizing cryptocurrency mining operations across network nodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the command-based stratum access point framework of Keys, the task recording scheme of Smdic, and the intermediate director computer structure of Robert with the cryptocurrency type-based job switching and selection command taught by Pellini.
The motivation is as recited by Pellini (
Pellini, Pg4, P13, Lines7-11, “For example, one cryptocurrency may have a reduced yield based upon demand, the number of miners, or other conditions, where switching to mining a different cryptocurrency may be advantageous. In various embodiments, a single miner or bank of miners can be used to mine one or a plurality of different cryptocurrencies depending on various economic factors”)
Therefore, configuring the command sent from Keys' analysis computer (105) to Robert's director computer (220/230) to determine whether instructions to work on a cryptocurrency mining job are accepted based on the type of cryptocurrency mined, as taught by Pellini, would have been an obvious technical improvement to one of ordinary skill in the art to maximize mining profitability, centrally enforce mining policies at the director level, dynamically adapt to fluctuating cryptocurrency market values and network difficulties, and eliminate the need to reconfigure individual worker computers directly.
Claims 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keys, Smdic and Robert as mentioned in Claim 8 in further view of Jie (Jie), Chinese Patent Application, CN-111431890-B, Published in Dec 3, 2021.
As to dependent Claim 16,
The combination of Keys, Smdic, and Robert teaches all the limitations of Claim 8 as set forth above.
However, the combination of Keys, Smdic, and Robert does not explicitly teach:
the director computer authenticates the response sent to the assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received that includes identification of an element of the set that satisfies the condition
Although Keys teaches about receiving and storing response communications containing mining results from worker computers (
Keys, Pg2, RC, P31, Lines14-15, “The crypto currency database 250 stores collective results from distributed cryptomining”
Pg2, RC, P32, Lines5-8, “The crypto mining module 320 manages cryptomining tasks and can be in communication with the stratum mining server, according to a cooperation protocol”
wherein Keys discloses that worker computers send response communications over network connections to an assignment computer connection indicating valid elements/solutions that satisfy a target condition) and
Robert teaches about a director computer receiving responses from worker computers and forwarding them to a primary assignment computer (
Robert, Pg8, P1, Lines7-14, “Each of worker 240, worker 250, and worker 260 may send message 350 to the backup manager 220 or backup manager 230 assigned to them... Each of the backup manager 220 and backup manager 230 can then send a message 360 to the primary manager 210 indicating that the state associated with the current state ID has been closed”
Pg10, P1, “At block 530, an operation may be shown in which the backup manager collects all worker responses to form a single message and sends the collected message to the central manager”
wherein Robert discloses a director computer (backup manager 220/230) receiving response messages from worker computers and forwarding/collecting the responses to send to a primary assignment computer (primary manager 210) from which original task instructions were received),
while Smdic teaches about transmitting response communications containing condition-satisfying solutions in a cryptomining pool (
Smdic, Pg1, Lines15-16, “In a mining pool, a pool administrator distributes jobs between members of the pool”
Pg9, Lines28-34, “As soon as it finds a solution it submits the solution to the administrator in the form of a Solution Submission message Solution Submission messages generally have the following format: {"id":76,"jsonrpc":"2.0","method":"submit","params":{"id":"1","job_id":"16871","nonce":"b51100e0","result":"77b70dd08e35514827a0cd9e75aec4eeb28a6816c2fd90dc649285d4ca050000"}}”
wherein Smdic discloses that worker computers or proxies submit response communications in the form of Solution Submission messages containing nonce and result values specifically identifying elements/solutions satisfying target difficulty conditions to a pool administrator upon finding valid solutions.)
In the same field of endeavor, Jie teaches this limitation (
Jie, Pg2, Abstract, Lines-10-13, “...after the intermediate server obtains the message, taking out the universal unique identification code and time stamp in the head information, verifying the signature by the pre-stored public key, if the signature is valid, the authentication is successful, otherwise, the authentication fails”
Pg10, Lines5-8, “...verifying the signature by the pre-stored public key; if the signature is valid, the authentication is successful... after the authentication is successful, the intermediate server establishes connection with the client, and forwarding the client corresponding data packet to the target server…”
Pg8-9(P1, Lines2-4), Step2, “The checking process of the intermediate server...verifying the signature by the 20 bytes by the public key; if the signature is valid, the authentication is successful; otherwise, the authentication fails…”
wherein Jie explicitly discloses an intermediate server (director computer) receiving response/message communications from client nodes, authenticating the messages by verifying cryptographic signatures/tokens embedded in message headers, and forwarding valid data packets to the target server/assignment computer connection upon successful authentication.)
Keys, Smdic, Robert, and Jie are analogous to the claimed invention as they are from the same field of endeavor of network processing systems and distributed task management, specifically mediating, authenticating, and forwarding data communications across proxy/director nodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the director-mediated stratum framework of Keys, Smdic, and Robert with the response message authentication scheme taught by Jie.
The motivation is as recited and implied by Jie (
Jie, Pg1, Abstract, Lines14, “… simplifies the interaction process, reduces the risk of safety"
Pg3, P5, Lines8-9, “...so that the authentication process satisfies three elements of information safety confidentiality, integrity and authentication...”
Pg4, Lines5-6, “...so as to reduce the risk of safety, simplify the interaction process, realize the simplified intermediate server agent transmission authentication process”)
Therefore, configuring Robert's director computer (backup manager 220/230) to authenticate response communications (verifying signatures/tokens of solution submissions identifying condition-satisfying elements) sent to Keys' assignment computer connection (105) from which original instructions were received as taught by Jie would have been an obvious technical improvement to one of ordinary skill in the art to ensure network data integrity, prevent unauthorized or forged solution submissions from reaching the central assignment server, offload verification processing burden from the primary assignment computer, reduce security risks, and optimize overall network operational security.
As to dependent Claim 18,
The combination of Keys, Smdic, and Robert teaches all the limitations of Claim 8 as set forth above.
However, the combination of Keys, Smdic, and Robert does not explicitly teach
the director computer verifies a signature on the response sent to the assignment computer connection from which the instruction was received that includes identification of an element of the set that satisfies the condition
Although Keys teaches about receiving and storing response communications containing mining results from worker computers (
Keys, Pg2, RC, P31, Lines14-15, “The crypto currency database 250 stores collective results from distributed cryptomining”
Pg2, RC, P32, Lines5-8, “The crypto mining module 320 manages cryptomining tasks and can be in communication with the stratum mining server, according to a cooperation protocol”
wherein Keys discloses that worker computers send response communications over network connections to an assignment computer connection indicating valid elements/solutions that satisfy a target condition) and
Robert teaches about a director computer receiving responses from worker computers and forwarding them to a primary assignment computer (
Robert, Pg8, P1, Lines7-14, “Each of worker 240, worker 250, and worker 260 may send message 350 to the backup manager 220 or backup manager 230 assigned to them... Each of the backup manager 220 and backup manager 230 can then send a message 360 to the primary manager 210 indicating that the state associated with the current state ID has been closed”
Pg10, P1, “At block 530, an operation may be shown in which the backup manager collects all worker responses to form a single message and sends the collected message to the central manager”
wherein Robert discloses a director computer (backup manager 220/230) receiving response messages from worker computers and forwarding/collecting the responses to send to a primary assignment computer (primary manager 210) from which original task instructions were received),
while Smdic teaches about transmitting response communications containing condition-satisfying solutions in a cryptomining pool (
Smdic, Pg1, Lines15-16, “In a mining pool, a pool administrator distributes jobs between members of the pool”
Pg9, Lines28-34, “As soon as it finds a solution it submits the solution to the administrator in the form of a Solution Submission message Solution Submission messages generally have the following format: {"id":76,"jsonrpc":"2.0","method":"submit","params":{"id":"1","job_id":"16871","nonce":"b51100e0","result":"77b70dd08e35514827a0cd9e75aec4eeb28a6816c2fd90dc649285d4ca050000"}}”
wherein Smdic discloses that worker computers or proxies submit response communications in the form of Solution Submission messages containing nonce and result values specifically identifying elements/solutions satisfying target difficulty conditions to a pool administrator upon finding valid solutions.)
In the same field of endeavor, Jie teaches this limitation (
Jie, Pg2, Abstract, Lines10-13, “...after the intermediate server obtains the message, taking out the universal unique identification code and time stamp in the head information, verifying the signature by the pre-stored public key, if the signature is valid, the authentication is successful, otherwise, the authentication fails”
Pg10, Lines5-8, “...verifying the signature by the pre-stored public key; if the signature is valid, the authentication is successful... after the authentication is successful, the intermediate server establishes connection with the client, and forwarding the client corresponding data packet to the target server...”
Pg8-9(P1, Lines2-4), Step2, “The checking process of the intermediate server...verifying the signature by the 20 bytes by the public key; if the signature is valid, the authentication is successful; otherwise, the authentication fails…”
wherein Jie explicitly discloses an intermediate server (director computer) receiving message/response communications from client nodes, verifying a digital signature (verifying the signature in the header/token using a pre-stored public key) on the message/response, and forwarding valid data packets to the target server/assignment computer connection upon successful signature verification.)
Keys, Smdic, Robert, and Jie are analogous to the claimed invention as they are from the same field of endeavor of network processing systems and distributed task management, specifically mediating, authenticating, and forwarding data communications across proxy/director nodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the director-mediated stratum framework of Keys, Smdic, and Robert with the digital signature verification scheme taught by Jie.
The motivation is as recited and implied by Jie (
Jie, Pg1, Abstract, Lines14, “… simplifies the interaction process, reduces the risk of safety"
Pg3, P5, Lines8-9, “...so that the authentication process satisfies three elements of information safety confidentiality, integrity and authentication...”
Pg4, Lines5-6, “...so as to reduce the risk of safety, simplify the interaction process, realize the simplified intermediate server agent transmission authentication process”)
Therefore, configuring Robert's director computer (backup manager 220/230) to verify a signature on response communications (verifying public key signatures of solution submissions identifying condition-satisfying elements) sent to Keys' assignment computer connection (105) from which original instructions were received as taught by Jie would have been an obvious technical improvement to one of ordinary skill in the art to ensure network data integrity and authenticity, prevent unauthorized or forged solution submissions from reaching the central assignment server, offload signature verification processing burden from the primary assignment computer, and optimize overall operational network security.
Conclusion
/DONG YOON JUNG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2145
/CESAR B PAULA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2145