DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed on July 21st, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1, 8 and 15 have been amended. Claims 2-3, 9-10 and 16-17 have been canceled. Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 18-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, the claim is shown as dependent to the claim 3 which has been canceled.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is shown as dependent to the claim 10 which has been canceled.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is shown as dependent to the claim 17 which has been canceled.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-8, 12, 14-15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0014492 A1) in view of Jung al. (US 2021/0274587 A1) and Wu (US 2019/0215740 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. teach a method of operating a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, by the UE and from a base station (BS), a release message confirming release of the UE from the BS (Fig. 4, [0066-0067, 0100], 5G system structure includes at least one UE 10, a next generation-radio access network (NG-RAN), and a next generation core (NGC). The NG-RAN may include at least one gNB 40, and a plurality of UEs may be present in one cell. The UE may receive the additional measurement configuration when leaving RRC_CONNECTED state, e.g. via RRC Connection Release message or RRC Connection Resume message),
Kim et al. teach wherein the release message includes long term evolution (LTE) radio access technology (RAT) frequencies for the UE to subsequently measure during an IDLE or INACTIVE mode (Figs. 1 and 4, [0036, 0075-0076], the LTE system architecture includes one or more user equipment (UE 10), an evolved-UMTS terrestrial radio access network (E-UTRAN) and an evolved packet core (EPC). The UE shall perform intra-frequency measurements. In the RRC_INACTIVE state, a core network recognizes that the UE is normally connected to a BS. On the other hand, the BS may not perform connection management for the UE in RRC_INACTIVE state. The UE shall apply the following rules for E-UTRAN inter-frequencies and inter-RAT frequencies which are indicated in system information and for which the UE has priority),
Kim et al. teach measuring, by the UE and during the IDLE or INACTIVE mode, the LTE RAT frequencies (Figs. 4-5, [0009, 0099, 0109], the measurement may be performed in RRC IDLE state or RRC INACTIVE state. The UE in IDLE state or INACTIVE state may initiate the additional measurement upon receiving the additional measurement indication from a network. The UE may initiate the additional measurement. According to the example, the UE may measure frequency #1, #2 and #4 regardless of serving cell quality),
Kim et al. teach generating, by the UE, a measurement report including measurements made on the LTE RAT and NR RAT frequencies (Figs.4-5, [0016, 0093, 0095, ], the UE comprises a transceiver for transmitting or receiving a radio signal; and a processor coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to: receive a first indication of the measurement from a serving cell; perform the measurement for neighbor cells. Event A1 to A6 like the ones specified for LTE are at least to be supported with potential modifications. Other events may also be studied for NR. Measurement report contains at least cell level measurement results. Measurement report may contain the measurement results of the N best beams if the UE is configured to do so by the gNB),
Kim et al. teach generating and transmitting, by the UE, a resume request message to the BS, wherein the resume request message includes an indication of the measurement report available from the UE (Figs.4-5, [0007, 0010, 0098, 0123], transmitting a second indication indicating that UE has the valid measurement result to the serving cell. The second indication may be transmitted during radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment procedure. the NAS layer requests establishment or resume of an RRC connection. The UE may transmit the valid measurement indication to the network during RRC establishment procedure. For example, the UE may transmit the valid measurement indication via RRC connection request message, RRC connection setup complete message or RRC connection resume complete message),
Kim et al. teach entering, by the UE, into a CONNECTED mode to connect the UE to an LTE network (Figs. 1 and 4, [0075], the RRC_INACTIVE state may be a concept similar to a lightly connected mode which is under discussion in LTE. The RRC_INACTIVE state is a state introduced to efficiently manage a specific UE (for example, mMTC UE). A UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state performs a radio control procedure similarly to a UE in the RRC_IDLE state in order to reduce power consumption. However, the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state maintains a connection state between the UE and a network),
Kim et al. teach receiving, by the UE and in the CONNECTED mode, a request for the measurement report from the BS (Figs. 1 and 4, [0085], the UE reports measurement information in accordance with the measurement configuration as provided by E-UTRAN. E-UTRAN provides the measurement configuration applicable for a UE in RRC_CONNECTED by means of dedicated signaling. The UE can be requested to perform the following types of measurement),
Kim et al. teach and after a security setup, generating and transmitting, by the UE, a resume complete message to the BS, wherein the resume complete message includes the measurement report (Figs. 1 and 4, [0021, 0071, 0097], the valid measurement result may be transmitted via radio resource control (RRC) connection setup complete message or RRC connection resume complete message. An access and mobility function (AMF) host may perform primary functions such as NAS signaling termination, NAS signaling security, AS security control, inter CN node signaling for mobility between 3GPP access networks, idle mode UE reachability. Then the UE may report the results of the additional measurement to serving cell during or shortly after RRC connection establishment procedure. (Note: it is a 3GPP standard that security setup (Access Stratum security) is initiated and completed after the Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection is established),
Kim et al. teach wherein the release message further includes new radio (NR) RAT frequencies for the UE to subsequently measure during IDLE or INACTIVE mode (Figs. 1 and 4, [0100], the UE may receive the additional measurement configuration when leaving RRC_CONNECTED state, e.g. via RRC Connection Release message or RRC Connection Resume message. Alternatively, the UE may receive the additional measurement configuration in broadcast manner, e.g. via system information. Alternatively, there may be no separate additional measurement configuration. In this case, the UE may perform the additional measurement in accordance with normal measurement configuration in IDLE state or INACTIVE state which is broadcast via system information. The UE shall perform intra-frequency measurements),
Kim et al. teach and measuring, by the UE and during the IDLE or INACTIVE mode, the NR RAT frequencies (Figs. 1 and 4, [0099, 0102], the UE in IDLE state or INACTIVE state may initiate the additional measurement upon receiving the additional measurement indication from a network. If measurement object is included in the additional measurement configuration, the UE may perform the additional measurement only for the frequency of cell indicated by the measurement object).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. teach wherein the request for the measurement report from the BS is made via a radio resource control (RRC) signal (Figs. 1 and 4, [0105, 0108], the UE is in RRC_IDLE state as an initial state with gNB. The UE may receive the additional measurement configuration. The additional measurement configuration may include at least one of measurement object, report event and establishment or resume cause. For example, the measurement object may be carrier frequency #1, #2 and #4. The report event may indicate that neighbor is better than threshold. The establishment or resume cause may be mo-Data and mt-Access).
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. teach wherein a carrier aggregation (CA) mode is configured based on the measurement report (Figs. 1 and 4, [0096], in carrier aggregation (CA) or dual multiple connectivity (DC), a serving cell may need to add SCells which have good qualities. To find suitable SCells, the serving cell should indicate UE to measure neighbor cells. Then, the UE may measure qualities of neighbor cells, and report the result of the measurement. In this case, it takes time to report measurement result upon RRC connection procedure is completed. If UE reports measurement results of neighbor cells to the serving cell upon RRC connection setup, the serving cell is able to start carrier aggregation or dual multiple connectivity by adding SCells immediately to the UE based on the reported measurement results).
Kim et al. is teaching a carrier aggregation in new radio based on measurement reports including measurements made on LTE RAT and NR RAT. Kim et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of transmitting, by the UE, resume complete message to the BS, release message further includes NR RAT frequencies and is to be measured by the UE (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 1, Jung et al. teach transmitting, by the UE, a resume complete message to the BS, wherein the resume complete message includes the measurement report (Fig. 1G, [0016], a base station transmitting, to a terminal, an RRC release message or system information including configuration information for frequency measurement; transmitting, to the terminal, an RRC resume message including first information for requesting to report a frequency measurement result; and receiving, from the terminal, an RRC resume complete message including second information of the frequency measurement result, wherein the frequency measurement result is a result of the frequency measurement performed in an RRC inactive mode based on the configuration information).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Jung et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting, by the UE, a resume complete message to the BS, wherein the resume complete message includes the measurement report. The motivation is to support an improved method for supporting dual connectivity of a terminal which operates in an RRC inactive mode (see [0002]).
Kim et al. and Jung et al. are teaching a carrier aggregation in new radio based on measurement reports including measurements made on LTE RAT and NR RAT. Kim et al. and Jung et al., however, fail to expressly disclose a release message further includes NR RAT frequencies and is to be measured by the UE (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches wherein the release message further includes new radio (NR) RAT frequencies for the UE to subsequently measure during IDLE or INACTIVE mode; and measuring, by the UE and during the IDLE or INACTIVE mode, the NR RAT frequencies (Fig. 1, [0066, 0073], the first BS determines to initiate a redirection to NR (e.g., a NR cell, a NR BS, a NR carrier frequency or a NR RAT) for the first UE or the third UE according to the fourth capability. The first BS transmits a EUTRA RRC message (e.g., RRC Connection Release) commanding the first UE or the third UE to enter an idle mode and selects a NR cell, in response to the determination or the initiation. The first UE or the third UE enters the idle mode (i.e., releasing the SRB with the first BS), and selects the NR cell in response to the ETURA RRC message. When the first UE or the third UE selects the NR cell, the first UE or the third UE may initiate a RRC connection establishment procedure with/via the NR cell. The first BS may determine a NR carrier frequency of the NR cell according to the second capability of the first UE or the third UE. That is, the ETURA RRC message may include information identifying the NR carrier frequency (e.g., a NR band number or a NR channel number). It should be noted that the first BS does not initiate any procedure with a NR BS for preparing the redirection for the first UE or the third UE. The first BS determines not to initiate a redirection to a NR BS for the second UE since the first BS does not have the fourth capability for the second UE, i.e., the first BS knows the second UE is not capable of the mobility to NR. The first UE or the third UE performs measurements on the NR carrier frequency, and transmits the measurement report to the first BS according to the measurement configuration.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim et al. with Jung et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Wu in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of including in the release message new radio (NR) RAT frequencies for the UE to subsequently measure during IDLE or INACTIVE mode; and measuring, by the UE and during the IDLE or INACTIVE mode, the NR RAT frequencies. The motivation is to support an improved method for handling mobility to a new Radio (NR) standalone Network from a network different from the NR (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. teach a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to perform operations comprising (Fig. 10, [0132 and 0134], UE 1000 includes a processor 1001, a memory 1002, and a transceiver 1003. The memory 1002 is coupled to the processor 1001, and stores a variety of information for driving the processor 1001. The processors 1011 may include application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), other chipset, logic circuit and/or data processing device. The memories may include read-only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), flash memory, memory card, storage medium and/or other storage device. The transceivers may include baseband circuitry to process radio frequency signals. When the embodiments are implemented in software, the techniques described herein can be implemented with modules (e.g., procedures, functions, and so on) that perform the functions described herein. The modules can be stored in memories and executed by processors),
Kim et al. teach receiving, from a base station (BS), a release message confirming release of the UE from the BS (Fig. 4, [0066-0067, 0100], 5G system structure includes at least one UE 10, a next generation-radio access network (NG-RAN), and a next generation core (NGC). The NG-RAN may include at least one gNB 40, and a plurality of UEs may be present in one cell. The UE may receive the additional measurement configuration when leaving RRC_CONNECTED state, e.g. via RRC Connection Release message or RRC Connection Resume message),
Kim et al. teach wherein the release message includes long term evolution (LTE) radio access technology (RAT) frequencies for the UE to subsequently measure during an IDLE or INACTIVE mode (Figs. 1 and 4, [0036, 0075-0076], the LTE system architecture includes one or more user equipment (UE 10), an evolved-UMTS terrestrial radio access network (E-UTRAN) and an evolved packet core (EPC). The UE shall perform intra-frequency measurements. In the RRC_INACTIVE state, a core network recognizes that the UE is normally connected to a BS. On the other hand, the BS may not perform connection management for the UE in RRC_INACTIVE state. The UE shall apply the following rules for E-UTRAN inter-frequencies and inter-RAT frequencies which are indicated in system information and for which the UE has priority),
Kim et al. teach measuring, during the IDLE or INACTIVE mode, the LTE RAT frequencies (Figs. 4-5, [0009, 0099, 0109], the measurement may be performed in RRC IDLE state or RRC INACTIVE state. The UE in IDLE state or INACTIVE state may initiate the additional measurement upon receiving the additional measurement indication from a network. The UE may initiate the additional measurement. According to the example, the UE may measure frequency #1, #2 and #4 regardless of serving cell quality),
Kim et al. teach generating a measurement report including measurements made on the LTE RAT and NR RAT frequencies (Figs.4-5, [0016, 0093, 0095, ], the UE comprises a transceiver for transmitting or receiving a radio signal; and a processor coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to: receive a first indication of the measurement from a serving cell; perform the measurement for neighbor cells. Event A1 to A6 like the ones specified for LTE are at least to be supported with potential modifications. Other events may also be studied for NR. Measurement report contains at least cell level measurement results. Measurement report may contain the measurement results of the N best beams if the UE is configured to do so by the gNB),
Kim et al. teach generating and transmitting a resume request message to the BS, wherein the resume request message includes an indication of the measurement report available from the UE (Figs.4-5, [0007, 0010, 0098, 0123], transmitting a second indication indicating that UE has the valid measurement result to the serving cell. The second indication may be transmitted during radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment procedure. the NAS layer requests establishment or resume of an RRC connection. The UE may transmit the valid measurement indication to the network during RRC establishment procedure. For example, the UE may transmit the valid measurement indication via RRC connection request message, RRC connection setup complete message or RRC connection resume complete message),
Kim et al. teach entering into a CONNECTED mode to connect the UE to an LTE network (Figs. 1 and 4, [0075], the RRC_INACTIVE state may be a concept similar to a lightly connected mode which is under discussion in LTE. The RRC_INACTIVE state is a state introduced to efficiently manage a specific UE (for example, mMTC UE). A UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state performs a radio control procedure similarly to a UE in the RRC_IDLE state in order to reduce power consumption. However, the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state maintains a connection state between the UE and a network),
Kim et al. teach receiving, in the CONNECTED mode, a request for the measurement report from the BS (Figs. 1 and 4, [0085], the UE reports measurement information in accordance with the measurement configuration as provided by E-UTRAN. E-UTRAN provides the measurement configuration applicable for a UE in RRC_CONNECTED by means of dedicated signaling. The UE can be requested to perform the following types of measurement),
Kim et al. teach and after a security setup, generating and transmitting a resume complete message to the BS, wherein the resume complete message includes the measurement report (Figs. 1 and 4, [0021, 0071, 0097], the valid measurement result may be transmitted via radio resource control (RRC) connection setup complete message or RRC connection resume complete message. An access and mobility function (AMF) host may perform primary functions such as NAS signaling termination, NAS signaling security, AS security control, inter CN node signaling for mobility between 3GPP access networks, idle mode UE reachability. Then the UE may report the results of the additional measurement to serving cell during or shortly after RRC connection establishment procedure. (Note: it is a 3GPP standard that security setup (Access Stratum security) is initiated and completed after the Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection is established).
Kim et al. teach wherein the release message further includes new radio (NR) RAT frequencies for the UE to subsequently measure during IDLE or INACTIVE mode (Figs. 1 and 4, [0100], the UE may receive the additional measurement configuration when leaving RRC_CONNECTED state, e.g. via RRC Connection Release message or RRC Connection Resume message. Alternatively, the UE may receive the additional measurement configuration in broadcast manner, e.g. via system information. Alternatively, there may be no separate additional measurement configuration. In this case, the UE may perform the additional measurement in accordance with normal measurement configuration in IDLE state or INACTIVE state which is broadcast via system information. The UE shall perform intra-frequency measurements),
Kim et al. teach wherein the operations further comprise measuring, during the IDLE or INACTIVE mode, the NR RAT frequencies (Figs. 1 and 4, [0099, 0102], the UE in IDLE state or INACTIVE state may initiate the additional measurement upon receiving the additional measurement indication from a network. If measurement object is included in the additional measurement configuration, the UE may perform the additional measurement only for the frequency of cell indicated by the measurement object).
Regarding claim 12, Kim et al. teach wherein the request for the measurement report from the BS is made via a radio resource control (RRC) signal (Figs. 1 and 4, [0105, 0108], the UE is in RRC_IDLE state as an initial state with gNB. The UE may receive the additional measurement configuration. The additional measurement configuration may include at least one of measurement object, report event and establishment or resume cause. For example, the measurement object may be carrier frequency #1, #2 and #4. The report event may indicate that neighbor is better than threshold. The establishment or resume cause may be mo-Data and mt-Access).
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al. teach wherein a carrier aggregation (CA) mode is configured based on the measurement report (Figs. 1 and 4, [0096], in carrier aggregation (CA) or dual multiple connectivity (DC), a serving cell may need to add SCells which have good qualities. To find suitable SCells, the serving cell should indicate UE to measure neighbor cells. Then, the UE may measure qualities of neighbor cells, and report the result of the measurement. In this case, it takes time to report measurement result upon RRC connection procedure is completed. If UE reports measurement results of neighbor cells to the serving cell upon RRC connection setup, the serving cell is able to start carrier aggregation or dual multiple connectivity by adding SCells immediately to the UE based on the reported measurement results).
Kim et al. Kim et al. is teaching a carrier aggregation in new radio based on measurement reports including measurements made on LTE RAT and NR RAT. Kim et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of transmitting, by the UE, resume complete message to the BS, release message further includes NR RAT frequencies and is to be measured by the UE. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 8, Jung et al. teach transmitting a resume complete message to the BS, wherein the resume complete message includes the measurement report (Fig. 1G, [0016], a base station transmitting, to a terminal, an RRC release message or system information including configuration information for frequency measurement; transmitting, to the terminal, an RRC resume message including first information for requesting to report a frequency measurement result; and receiving, from the terminal, an RRC resume complete message including second information of the frequency measurement result, wherein the frequency measurement result is a result of the frequency measurement performed in an RRC inactive mode based on the configuration information).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Jung et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting, by the UE, a resume complete message to the BS, wherein the resume complete message includes the measurement report. The motivation is to support an improved method for supporting dual connectivity of a terminal which operates in an RRC inactive mode (see [0002]).
Kim et al. and Jung et al. are teaching a carrier aggregation in new radio based on measurement reports including measurements made on LTE RAT and NR RAT. Kim et al. and Jung et al., however, fail to expressly disclose a release message further includes NR RAT frequencies and is to be measured by the UE (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches wherein the release message further includes new radio (NR) RAT frequencies for the UE to subsequently measure during IDLE or INACTIVE mode; wherein the operations further comprise measuring, during the IDLE or INACTIVE mode, the NR RAT frequencies (Fig. 1, [0066, 0073], the first BS determines to initiate a redirection to NR (e.g., a NR cell, a NR BS, a NR carrier frequency or a NR RAT) for the first UE or the third UE according to the fourth capability. The first BS transmits a EUTRA RRC message (e.g., RRC Connection Release) commanding the first UE or the third UE to enter an idle mode and selects a NR cell, in response to the determination or the initiation. The first UE or the third UE enters the idle mode (i.e., releasing the SRB with the first BS), and selects the NR cell in response to the ETURA RRC message. When the first UE or the third UE selects the NR cell, the first UE or the third UE may initiate a RRC connection establishment procedure with/via the NR cell. The first BS may determine a NR carrier frequency of the NR cell according to the second capability of the first UE or the third UE. That is, the ETURA RRC message may include information identifying the NR carrier frequency (e.g., a NR band number or a NR channel number). It should be noted that the first BS does not initiate any procedure with a NR BS for preparing the redirection for the first UE or the third UE. The first BS determines not to initiate a redirection to a NR BS for the second UE since the first BS does not have the fourth capability for the second UE, i.e., the first BS knows the second UE is not capable of the mobility to NR. The first UE or the third UE performs measurements on the NR carrier frequency, and transmits the measurement report to the first BS according to the measurement configuration.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim et al. with Jung et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Wu in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of including in the release message new radio (NR) RAT frequencies for the UE to subsequently measure during IDLE or INACTIVE mode; and measuring, by the UE and during the IDLE or INACTIVE mode, the NR RAT frequencies. The motivation is to support an improved method for handling mobility to a new Radio (NR) standalone Network from a network different from the NR (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim et al. teach user equipment (UE) comprising: a memory storing instructions; and a processor configured to process the stored instructions to (Fig. 10, [0132, 0134], UE 1000 includes a processor 1001, a memory 1002, and a transceiver 1003. The memory 1002 is coupled to the processor 1001, and stores a variety of information for driving the processor 1001. The processors 1011 may include application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), other chipset, logic circuit and/or data processing device. The memories may include read-only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), flash memory, memory card, storage medium and/or other storage device. The transceivers may include baseband circuitry to process radio frequency signals. When the embodiments are implemented in software, the techniques described herein can be implemented with modules (e.g., procedures, functions, and so on) that perform the functions described herein. The modules can be stored in memories and executed by processors),
Kim et al. teach receive, from a base station (BS), a release message confirming release of the UE from the BS (Fig. 4, [0066-0067, 0100], 5G system structure includes at least one UE 10, a next generation-radio access network (NG-RAN), and a next generation core (NGC). The NG-RAN may include at least one gNB 40, and a plurality of UEs may be present in one cell. The UE may receive the additional measurement configuration when leaving RRC_CONNECTED state, e.g. via RRC Connection Release message or RRC Connection Resume message),
Kim et al. teach wherein the release message includes long term evolution (LTE) radio access technology (RAT) frequencies for the UE to subsequently measure during an IDLE or INACTIVE mode (Figs. 1 and 4, [0036, 0075-0076], the LTE system architecture includes one or more user equipment (UE 10), an evolved-UMTS terrestrial radio access network (E-UTRAN) and an evolved packet core (EPC). The UE shall perform intra-frequency measurements. In the RRC_INACTIVE state, a core network recognizes that the UE is normally connected to a BS. On the other hand, the BS may not perform connection management for the UE in RRC_INACTIVE state. The UE shall apply the following rules for E-UTRAN inter-frequencies and inter-RAT frequencies which are indicated in system information and for which the UE has priority),
Kim et al. teach measure, during the IDLE or INACTIVE mode, the LTE RAT frequencies (Figs. 4-5, [0009, 0099, 0109], the measurement may be performed in RRC IDLE state or RRC INACTIVE state. The UE in IDLE state or INACTIVE state may initiate the additional measurement upon receiving the additional measurement indication from a network. The UE may initiate the additional measurement. According to the example, the UE may measure frequency #1, #2 and #4 regardless of serving cell quality),
Kim et al. teach generate a measurement report including measurements made on the LTE RAT and NR RAT frequencies (Figs.4-5, [0016, 0093, 0095, ], the UE comprises a transceiver for transmitting or receiving a radio signal; and a processor coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to: receive a first indication of the measurement from a serving cell; perform the measurement for neighbor cells. Event A1 to A6 like the ones specified for LTE are at least to be supported with potential modifications. Other events may also be studied for NR. Measurement report contains at least cell level measurement results. Measurement report may contain the measurement results of the N best beams if the UE is configured to do so by the gNB),
Kim et al. teach generate a resume request message for transmission to the BS, wherein the resume request message includes an indication of the measurement report available from the UE (Figs.4-5, [0007, 0010, 0098, 0123], transmitting a second indication indicating that UE has the valid measurement result to the serving cell. The second indication may be transmitted during radio resource control (RRC) connection establishment procedure. the NAS layer requests establishment or resume of an RRC connection. The UE may transmit the valid measurement indication to the network during RRC establishment procedure. For example, the UE may transmit the valid measurement indication via RRC connection request message, RRC connection setup complete message or RRC connection resume complete message),
Kim et al. teach enter into a CONNECTED mode to connect the UE to an LTE network (Figs. 1 and 4, [0075], the RRC_INACTIVE state may be a concept similar to a lightly connected mode which is under discussion in LTE. The RRC_INACTIVE state is a state introduced to efficiently manage a specific UE (for example, mMTC UE). A UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state performs a radio control procedure similarly to a UE in the RRC_IDLE state in order to reduce power consumption. However, the UE in the RRC_INACTIVE state maintains a connection state between the UE and a network),
Kim et al. teach receive, in the CONNECTED mode, a request for the measurement report from the BS (Figs. 1 and 4, [0085], the UE reports measurement information in accordance with the measurement configuration as provided by E-UTRAN. E-UTRAN provides the measurement configuration applicable for a UE in RRC_CONNECTED by means of dedicated signaling. The UE can be requested to perform the following types of measurement),
Kim et al. teach and after a security setup, generate a resume complete message for transmission to the BS, wherein the resume complete message includes the measurement report (Figs. 1 and 4, [0021, 0071, 0097], the valid measurement result may be transmitted via radio resource control (RRC) connection setup complete message or RRC connection resume complete message. an access and mobility function (AMF) host may perform primary functions such as NAS signaling termination, NAS signaling security, AS security control, inter CN node signaling for mobility between 3GPP access networks, idle mode UE reachability. Then the UE may report the results of the additional measurement to serving cell during or shortly after RRC connection establishment procedure. (Note: it is a 3GPP standard that security setup (Access Stratum security) is initiated and completed after the Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection is established).
Kim et al. teach wherein the release message further includes new radio (NR) RAT frequencies for the UE to subsequently measure during IDLE or INACTIVE mode (Figs. 1 and 4, [0100], the UE may receive the additional measurement configuration when leaving RRC_CONNECTED state, e.g. via RRC Connection Release message or RRC Connection Resume message. Alternatively, the UE may receive the additional measurement configuration in broadcast manner, e.g. via system information. Alternatively, there may be no separate additional measurement configuration. In this case, the UE may perform the additional measurement in accordance with normal measurement configuration in IDLE state or INACTIVE state which is broadcast via system information. The UE shall perform intra-frequency measurements),
Kim et al. teach wherein the processor is further configured to measure, during the IDLE or INACTIVE mode, the NR RAT frequencies (Figs. 1 and 4, [0099, 0102], the UE in IDLE state or INACTIVE state may initiate the additional measurement upon receiving the additional measurement indication from a network. If measurement object is included in the additional measurement configuration, the UE may perform the additional measurement only for the frequency of cell indicated by the measurement object).
Regarding claim 19, Kim et al. teach wherein the resume complete message includes the measurement report al (Figs. 1 and 4, [0105, 0108], the UE is in RRC_IDLE state as an initial state with gNB. The UE may receive the additional measurement configuration. The additional measurement configuration may include at least one of measurement object, report event and establishment or resume cause. For example, the measurement object may be carrier frequency #1, #2 and #4. The report event may indicate that neighbor is better than threshold. The establishment or resume cause may be mo-Data and mt-Access).
Kim et al. is teaching a carrier aggregation in new radio based on measurement reports including measurements made on LTE RAT and NR RAT. Kim et al., however, fail to expressly disclose of transmitting, by the UE, resume complete message to the BS, release message further includes NR RAT frequencies and is to be measured by the UE (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 15, Jung et al. teach transmitting a resume complete message to the BS, wherein the resume complete message includes the measurement report (Fig. 1G, [0016], a base station transmitting, to a terminal, an RRC release message or system information including configuration information for frequency measurement; transmitting, to the terminal, an RRC resume message including first information for requesting to report a frequency measurement result; and receiving, from the terminal, an RRC resume complete message including second information of the frequency measurement result, wherein the frequency measurement result is a result of the frequency measurement performed in an RRC inactive mode based on the configuration information).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Jung et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of transmitting, by the UE, a resume complete message to the BS, wherein the resume complete message includes the measurement report. The motivation is to support an improved method for supporting dual connectivity of a terminal which operates in an RRC inactive mode (see [0002]).
Kim et al. and Jung et al. are teaching a carrier aggregation in new radio based on measurement reports including measurements made on LTE RAT and NR RAT. Kim et al. and Jung et al., however, fail to expressly disclose a release message further includes NR RAT frequencies and is to be measured by the UE (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 15, Wu teaches wherein the release message further includes new radio (NR) RAT frequencies for the UE to subsequently measure during IDLE or INACTIVE mode; wherein the processor is further configured to measure, during the IDLE or INACTIVE mode, the NR RAT frequencies (Fig. 1, [0066, 0073], the first BS determines to initiate a redirection to NR (e.g., a NR cell, a NR BS, a NR carrier frequency or a NR RAT) for the first UE or the third UE according to the fourth capability. The first BS transmits a EUTRA RRC message (e.g., RRC Connection Release) commanding the first UE or the third UE to enter an idle mode and selects a NR cell, in response to the determination or the initiation. The first UE or the third UE enters the idle mode (i.e., releasing the SRB with the first BS), and selects the NR cell in response to the ETURA RRC message. When the first UE or the third UE selects the NR cell, the first UE or the third UE may initiate a RRC connection establishment procedure with/via the NR cell. The first BS may determine a NR carrier frequency of the NR cell according to the second capability of the first UE or the third UE. That is, the ETURA RRC message may include information identifying the NR carrier frequency (e.g., a NR band number or a NR channel number). It should be noted that the first BS does not initiate any procedure with a NR BS for preparing the redirection for the first UE or the third UE. The first BS determines not to initiate a redirection to a NR BS for the second UE since the first BS does not have the fourth capability for the second UE, i.e., the first BS knows the second UE is not capable of the mobility to NR. The first UE or the third UE performs measurements on the NR carrier frequency, and transmits the measurement report to the first BS according to the measurement configuration.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim et al. with Jung et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Wu in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of including in the release message new radio (NR) RAT frequencies for the UE to subsequently measure during IDLE or INACTIVE mode; and measuring, by the UE and during the IDLE or INACTIVE mode, the NR RAT frequencies. The motivation is to support an improved method for handling mobility to a new Radio (NR) standalone Network from a network different from the NR (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 4, 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0014492 A1) in view of Jung al. (US 2021/0274587 A1 and Wu (US 2019/0215740 A1) and as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (US 2021/0144576 A1).
Kim et al., Jung et al. and Wu disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above. Kim et al., Jung et al. and Wu do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 4, further comprising generating, by the UE, the measurement report to include measurements made on the NR RAT frequencies; regarding claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise generating the measurement report to include measurements made on the NR RAT frequencies; regarding claim 18, wherein the processor is further configured to generate the measurement report to include measurements made on the NR RAT frequencies.
Regarding claim 4, Yang et al. teach further comprising generating, by the UE, the measurement report to include measurements made on the NR RAT frequencies (Fig. 1, [0059, 0062], assume that the first region is a cell 1 (a RAT type corresponding to the cell 1 is the LTE RAT) and that the UE is in a connected state in the cell 1. Then, the first target RAT type may include a RAT type corresponding to a cell 2 and the RAT type corresponding to the cell 2 is the NR RAT. The first target RAT type includes the LTE RAT and the NR RAT, that the at least one first measurement frequency corresponding to the LTE RAT is a frequency 2 and a frequency 3, and that the at least one first measurement frequency corresponding to the NR RAT is the frequency 3 and a frequency 4. Then, the LTE RAT may be used for the UE to measure the region corresponding to the LTE RAT at the frequency 2 and the frequency 3, and the NR RAT may be used for the UE to measure the region corresponding to the NR RAT at the frequency 3 and the frequency 4. In other words, the UE may measure the region corresponding to the LTE RAT and the region corresponding to the NR RAT at the frequency 3).
Regarding claim 11, Yang et al. teach wherein the operations further comprise generating the measurement report to include measurements made on the NR RAT frequencies (Fig. 1, [0059, 0062], assume that the first region is a cell 1 (a RAT type corresponding to the cell 1 is the LTE RAT) and that the UE is in a connected state in the cell 1. Then, the first target RAT type may include a RAT type corresponding to a cell 2 and the RAT type corresponding to the cell 2 is the NR RAT. The first target RAT type includes the LTE RAT and the NR RAT, that the at least one first measurement frequency corresponding to the LTE RAT is a frequency 2 and a frequency 3, and that the at least one first measurement frequency corresponding to the NR RAT is the frequency 3 and a frequency 4. Then, the LTE RAT may be used for the UE to measure the region corresponding to the LTE RAT at the frequency 2 and the frequency 3, and the NR RAT may be used for the UE to measure the region corresponding to the NR RAT at the frequency 3 and the frequency 4. In other words, the UE may measure the region corresponding to the LTE RAT and the region corresponding to the NR RAT at the frequency 3).
Regarding claim 18, Yang et al. teach wherein the processor is further configured to generate the measurement report to include measurements made on the NR RAT frequencies (Fig. 1, [0059, 0062], assume that the first region is a cell 1 (a RAT type corresponding to the cell 1 is the LTE RAT) and that the UE is in a connected state in the cell 1. Then, the first target RAT type may include a RAT type corresponding to a cell 2 and the RAT type corresponding to the cell 2 is the NR RAT. The first target RAT type includes the LTE RAT and the NR RAT, that the at least one first measurement frequency corresponding to the LTE RAT is a frequency 2 and a frequency 3, and that the at least one first measurement frequency corresponding to the NR RAT is the frequency 3 and a frequency 4. Then, the LTE RAT may be used for the UE to measure the region corresponding to the LTE RAT at the frequency 2 and the frequency 3, and the NR RAT may be used for the UE to measure the region corresponding to the NR RAT at the frequency 3 and the frequency 4. In other words, the UE may measure the region corresponding to the LTE RAT and the region corresponding to the NR RAT at the frequency 3).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim et al. with Jung et al. Wu by incorporating the features as taught by Yang et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of generating, by the UE, the measurement report to include measurements made on the NR RAT frequencies. The motivation is to support an improved method for measurement indication (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2019/0014492 A1) in view of Jung al. (US 2021/0274587 A1 and Wu (US 2019/0215740 A1) as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Ryu et al. (US 2021/0211960 A1).
Kim et al., Jung et al. and Wu disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 5 above.
Regarding claim 20, Kim et al. teach a carrier aggregation (CA) mode is configured based on the measurement report (Figs. 1 and 4, [0096], If UE in carrier aggregation (CA) or dual multiple connectivity (DC), a serving cell may need to add SCells which have good qualities. To find suitable SCells, the serving cell should indicate UE to measure neighbor cells. Then, the UE may measure qualities of neighbor cells, and report the result of the measurement. In this case, it takes time to report measurement result upon RRC connection procedure is completed. reports measurement results of neighbor cells to the serving cell upon RRC connection setup, the serving cell is able to start carrier aggregation or dual multiple connectivity by adding SCells immediately to the UE based on the reported measurement results).
Kim et al., Jung et al. and Wu do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 6, wherein the security setup connects the UE to a new radio (NR) network; regarding claim 13, wherein the security setup connects the UE to a new radio (NR) network; regarding claim 20, wherein: the security setup connects the UE to a new radio (NR) network.
Regarding claim 6, Ryu et al. teach wherein the security setup connects the UE to a new radio (NR) network (Fig. 1, [0382], RRC sub layer performs broadcast of the system information in relation to Access Stratum (AS) and Non-Access Stratum (NAS); paging initiated by 5GC or NG-RAN; establishment, maintenance and release (additionally, includes modification and release of carrier aggregation, in addition, includes modification and release of Dual Connectivity between E-UTRAN and NR or within NR, additionally) of an RRC connection between a UE and a NG-RAN; security function including key management; establishment, configuration, maintenance and release of SRB(s) and DRB(s); handover and context forwarding; UE cell selection and re-release and cell selection/reselection control; mobility function including the mobility between RATs; QoS management function, UE measurement report and report control; detection of radio link failure or recovery from radio link failure; NAS message forwarding from NAS to UE and NAS message forwarding from UE to NAS).
Regarding claim 13, Ryu et al. teach wherein the security setup connects the UE to a new radio (NR) network (Fig. 1, [0382], RRC sub layer performs broadcast of the system information in relation to Access Stratum (AS) and Non-Access Stratum (NAS); paging initiated by 5GC or NG-RAN; establishment, maintenance and release (additionally, includes modification and release of carrier aggregation, in addition, includes modification and release of Dual Connectivity between E-UTRAN and NR or within NR, additionally) of an RRC connection between a UE and a NG-RAN; security function including key management; establishment, configuration, maintenance and release of SRB(s) and DRB(s); handover and context forwarding; UE cell selection and re-release and cell selection/reselection control; mobility function including the mobility between RATs; QoS management function, UE measurement report and report control; detection of radio link failure or recovery from radio link failure; NAS message forwarding from NAS to UE and NAS message forwarding from UE to NAS).
Regarding claim 20, Ryu et al. teach wherein: the security setup connects the UE to a new radio (NR) network (Fig. 1, [0382], RRC sub layer performs broadcast of the system information in relation to Access Stratum (AS) and Non-Access Stratum (NAS); paging initiated by 5GC or NG-RAN; establishment, maintenance and release (additionally, includes modification and release of carrier aggregation, in addition, includes modification and release of Dual Connectivity between E-UTRAN and NR or within NR, additionally) of an RRC connection between a UE and a NG-RAN; security function including key management; establishment, configuration, maintenance and release of SRB(s) and DRB(s); handover and context forwarding; UE cell selection and re-release and cell selection/reselection control; mobility function including the mobility between RATs; QoS management function, UE measurement report and report control; detection of radio link failure or recovery from radio link failure; NAS message forwarding from NAS to UE and NAS message forwarding from UE to NAS).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kim et al. with Jung et al. and Wu by incorporating the features as taught by Ryu et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of connecting, with security setup, the UE to a new radio (NR) network. The motivation is to support an improved method performing handover of a User Equipment (UE) performed by a source Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (see [0013]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 5-8, 12-15 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SYED M BOKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473 9/18/2026
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473