This office action is in response to the reply filed on 7/2/2026, wherein claims 1 and 15 were amended and claim 16 was added. Claim 15 remains withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanco (US 5,839,575) in view of Tabuchi et al. (US 5,330,053).
Regarding claim 1, Blanco discloses a receptacle (at 10 in Fig. 2) capable of holding a dental blank, comprising: a recess (recess at 26 in Fig. 2) capable of inserting the blank; and two flexible projecting clamping lugs (See “First lugs” labeled in Fig. 2 below – the lugs project from the side of the recess and are inherently flexible to a degree due to the PVC, polypropylene or polyethylene material they are made from – See column 3, lines 52-55) arranged on one side of the recess and two flexible projecting clamping lugs (See “Second lugs” labeled in Fig. 2 below – the lugs project from the side of the recess and are inherently flexible to a degree due to the PVC, polypropylene or polyethylene material they are made from – See column 3, lines 52-55) arranged on an opposite side of the recess, wherein the four flexible projecting clamping lugs protrude into the recess (as shown in Fig. 2) so as to abut sides of a blank for clamping a blank solely laterally (the recess is capable of holding a blank therein, wherein the blank is just wider than the space between elements 32A/B and 32C/D in Fig. 3, which would result in the four lugs clamping the blank solely in the lateral direction); wherein the recess comprises a portion (e.g. top-right corner of recess 26 in Fig. 2) capable of inserting a retaining portion of a blank; and wherein the four clamping lugs are located in an area where a dental blank has a block-shaped body (depending on the specific type/shape/size of dental blank inserted therein); and the recess is formed in one plane of the receptacle and a bottom (bottom-most wall in Fig. 3) is formed in another plane of the receptacle.
Blanco discloses the claimed invention except for the intermediate layer located between the two planes. However, Tabuchi teaches a receptacle (at 1 – See Figs. 1-2) comprising a recess (cavity in 1 that accommodates object 10/11), wherein the recess is provided with an intermediate layer (at 41 in Fig. 2) between the recess and a bottom wall of the receptacle, for the purpose of protecting the objects stored therein. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the receptacle of Blanco with an intermediate layer on top of the bottom as taught by Tabuchi in order to better protect the contents from damage.
Regarding claim 5, Blanco discloses the recess has a rectangular cross-section (as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Blanco discloses the recess comprises a resilient bottom (the bottom of 26 is inherently resilient to a degree due to the PVC, polypropylene or polyethylene material it is made from – See column 3, lines 52-55).
Regarding claim 7, Blanco discloses the receptacle comprises a removable lid (See Fig. 2 labeled above, wherein the lid is considered removable since the open position as shown in Figs. 2-3 can be considered the removed position since the lid is removed from atop the remaining portion of the receptacle).
Regarding claim 8, Blanco discloses the clamping lugs are formed by rounded projections (See Fig. 3 at 32A,B and 32C,D).
Regarding claim 16, Blanco-Tabuchi discloses the intermediate layer forms a support surface capable of supporting the dental blank.
Claims 10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanco (US 5,839,575) in view of Tabuchi et al. (US 5,330,053) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Adair et al. (US 2011/0132797). As described above, Blanco-Tabuchi discloses the claimed invention except for the specific material of the receptacle. However, Adair teaches it is well known in the art for a receptacle (at 101 in Fig. 3) comprising recesses (at 103) for holding items to be formed from plastic material or cardboard material ([0025]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the receptacle of Blanco-Tabuchi to be formed from a suitable packaging material such as cardboard in order to form the device from a recycled material. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Further regarding claims 13-14, the clamping lugs and bottom of Blanco will be formed from cardboard material since the entire receptacle is formed from a cardboard material, as taught by Adair.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanco (US 5,839,575) in view of Tabuchi et al. (US 5,330,053) and Adair et al. (US 2011/0132797) as applied to claim 10 above, further in view of Stumpff et al. (US 5,267,647). As described above, Blanco-Tabuchi-Adair discloses the recess portion being formed integrally with the receptacle. Blanco-Adair does not disclose the recess portion being insertable into the receptacle. However, Stumpff teaches a receptacle (at 32/52 in Fig. 1) comprising a recess portion (at 24 in Fig. 1) for containing an item (at 13) therein, wherein the recess portion is insertable into and removable from the receptacle, having spacer portions (at 86/88), for the purpose of allowing promotional material to be placed under the recess portion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the recess portion of Blanco-Tabuchi-Adair to be insertable/removable from the receptacle as taught by Stumpff in order to allow for the items to be placed between the recess portion and the receptacle, if desired. Furthermore, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPO 177, 179.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN A. REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735