Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
Color photographs and color drawings are not accepted in utility applications unless a petition filed under 37 CFR 1.84(a)(2) is granted. Any such petition must be accompanied by the appropriate fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(h), one set of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if submitted via the USPTO patent electronic filing system or three sets of color drawings or color photographs, as appropriate, if not submitted via the via USPTO patent electronic filing system, and, unless already present, an amendment to include the following language as the first paragraph of the brief description of the drawings section of the specification:
The patent or application file contains at least one drawing executed in color. Copies of this patent or patent application publication with color drawing(s) will be provided by the Office upon request and payment of the necessary fee.
Color photographs will be accepted if the conditions for accepting color drawings and black and white photographs have been satisfied. See 37 CFR 1.84(b)(2).
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 15, 17, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, line 2: “the linkage is U-shaped linkage including a first end and a second end are rotatably connected to” should be changed to “the linkage is a U-shaped linkage including a first end and a second end
Claim 15, line 2: “the body defines a wedge shaped adapted to” should be changed to “the defines a wedge-shaped structure adapted to”.
Claim 17, line 1: “wherein linkage” should be changed to “wherein the linkage”.
Claim 20, line 2: “with connecting element” should be changed to “with the conductive connecting element”. See 35 USC § 112(b), claim 14 below for further information.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the linkage structure" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the conductive connecting element" in lines 6 and 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 15-20 are rejected for depending upon a rejected base claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the conductive terminal" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation “the third position to the fourth position” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as it depends from claim 16 where there is no positive recitation of “a third position” or “a fourth position”. Applicant can overcome this rejection by amending claim 18 to depend from claim 17 where the limitations are positively recited.
Claim 19 recites “further comprising a terminal”. Is this new terminal separate from the positively recited terminal (17) in claim 14? Applicant can overcome this rejection by amending claim 19 to read “further comprising [[a]] the terminal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-11, 14-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanematsu et al. (WO 2022196424), hereinafter Kanematsu.
Regarding claim 1, Kanematsu discloses an electrical connector housing, comprising: a body (housing 16, Fig. 11), including: a receiving cavity (internal space of housing 16, see Fig. 17) adapted to receive a terminal (terminal 14, Fig. 17), and an insertion hole (insertion cylinder portion 38, Fig. 13-14) adapted to receive a conductive connecting element (mating terminals 12, Fig. 13), such that the conductive connecting element electrically connects the terminal (contact pressure application component 122 in second position, Fig. 16); a locking portion (pressing protrusion 124, rotating base 126, rotating lever 130, holding member 132, Fig. 17) movably connected to the body and movable from a first position (Fig. 11-15) to a second position (Fig. 16-18) after the conductive connecting element is inserted, in the second position, a wedge-shaped structure (pressing protrusion 124 tapers down toward its lower end, Fig. 17-18) arranged on at least one of the body or the locking portion is adapted to increase a retention force between the terminal and the conductive connecting element (pressing protrusion 124 pushed terminals 14 against terminals 12 to close gaps 92, Fig. 17-18); and a securing portion (bracket 94, Fig. 16) selectively secures the locking portion in the second position.
Regarding claim 9, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector housing according to claim 1, wherein the receiving cavity and the insertion hole are adapted such that there is no contact between the conductive connecting element and the terminal when the conductive connecting element is inserted (Kanematsu claim 2, line 1: “wherein the terminal is separated from the mating terminal while the contact pressure applying component is held at the first position”).
Regarding claim 10, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector housing according to claim 1, wherein a first surface of the body defines a protrusion (claw-shaped portion 168, Fig. 17) and the locking portion provided with a groove (recesses 136, Fig. 17), and the body is connected to the locking portion at the first position by the protrusion and the groove (see Fig. 13, claw-shaped portion 168 seated in recesses 136).
Regarding claim 11, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector housing according to claim 10, wherein the protrusion is snap-fit into the groove (see Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 14, Kanematsu discloses an electrical connector (connector 120, Fig. 11), comprising: a housing (housing 16 comprising pressure applying component 122 and bracket 94, Fig. 1), including: a body (housing 16, Fig. 11) defining a cavity (internal space of housing 16, see Fig. 17) adapted to receive a terminal (terminal 14, Fig. 17), and an insertion hole (insertion cylinder portion 38, Fig. 13-14) adapted to receive a connecting element (mating terminals 12, Fig. 13) for electrically contacting the terminal; a locking portion (pressing protrusion 124, rotating base 126, rotating lever 130, holding member 132, Fig. 17) movably connected to the body and movable from a first position (Fig. 11-15) to a second position (Fig. 16-18) after the conductive connecting element is inserted, wherein the body and the locking portion are shaped such that, in the second position, a retention force between the terminal and the conductive connecting element is increased (pressing protrusion 124 pushes terminals 14 against terminals 12 to close gaps 92, Fig. 17-18); and a securing portion (bracket 94, Fig. 16) selectively securing the locking portion in the second position.
Regarding claim 15, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector according to claim 14, wherein at least one of the locking portion or the body defines a wedge-shaped structure (pressing protrusion 124 tapers down toward its lower end, Fig. 17-18) adapted to bias the conductive terminal into contact with the connecting element with the locking portion in the second position (pressing protrusion 124 pushes terminals 14 against terminals 12 to close gaps 92, Fig. 17-18).
Regarding claim 19, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector according to claim 14, further comprising a terminal (terminal 14, Fig. 17) inserted into the cavity of the body (internal space of housing 16, see Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 20, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector according to claim 19, wherein in the second position, the locking portion biases the terminal into conductive contact with connecting element (pressing protrusion 124 pushes terminals 14 against terminals 12 to close gaps 92, Fig. 17-18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-7, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanematsu (WO 2022196424), in view of Komiyama et al. (US 7,959,452), hereinafter Komiyama.
Regarding claim 2, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector housing according to claim 1.
However, Kanematsu fails to disclose wherein the securing portion is a linkage rotatably connected to the body.
Komiyama teaches wherein the securing portion is a linkage (lever 30, Fig. 1) rotatably connected to the body (Fig. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Komiyama to modify the invention of Kanematsu to provide a lever rotatably connected to the housing of Kanematsu as the securing portion, as taught by Komiyama. One would be motivated to make this modification to provide a mechanical advantage that reduces the force needed to move and hold contact pressure and a give a positive, operator-controlled hold of the locking portion.
Regarding claim 3, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector housing according to claim 2.
However, Kanematsu fails to disclose wherein the linkage is rotatable from a third position to a fourth position after the conductive connecting element is inserted to drive the locking portion to move from the first position to the second position.
Komiyama teaches wherein the linkage is rotatable from a third position (Fig. 1) to a fourth position (Fig. 2) after the conductive connecting element is inserted to drive the locking portion to move from the first position to the second position (rotation of lever 30 drives sliders 13 from the release position to the mating position, Fig. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Komiyama to modify the invention of Kanematsu to provide so that rotating the lever from a start position to a completion position drives component 122 from the first position to the second position. One would be motivated to make this modification to allow the contact pressure to be applied after the mating terminals are inserted to reduce the mating insertion force and reduce the seating force on the lever.
Regarding claim 4, Kanematsu and Komiyama disclose the electrical connector housing according to claim 3.
However, Kanematsu fails to disclose wherein the linkage is connected to the locking portion by a geared connection.
Komiyama teaches wherein the linkage is connected to the locking portion by a geared connection (gears 32a and 32b engage with rack 13a, 13b, Fig. 1 and 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Komiyama to modify the invention of Kanematsu to provide wherein the linkage is connected to the locking portion by a geared connection such as a gear wheel and rack and teeth structure as taught by Komiyama. One would be motivated to make this modification to ease the actuation of the lever by converting the lever motion into linear motion and allowing for a smooth action when operated.
Regarding claim 6, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector housing according to claim 3.
However, Kanematsu fails to disclose wherein the linkage includes a bayonet portion by which the linkage is connected to the body when in the fourth position and fixes the locking portion at the second position.
Komiyama teaches wherein the linkage includes a bayonet portion (lock 27, Fig. 1-2) by which the linkage is connected to the body when in the fourth position and fixes the locking portion at the second position (lever 30 is set into mating completion position and connecting part 33 is held by lock 27, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Komiyama to modify the invention of Kanematsu to provide the lever with a portion that latches to the housing at the completion position. One would be motivated to make this modification to prevent the lever from rotating back from the completion position and thereby partially unmating the connector as well as preserving the contact pressure of the mating connectors.
Regarding claim 7, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector housing according to claim 3.
However, Kanematsu fails to disclose wherein the linkage is a U-shaped linkage including a first end and a second end rotatably connected to two side walls of the body.
Komiyama teaches wherein the linkage is a U-shaped linkage (lever 30 made up of side plates 32 and connecting part 33, Fig. 1) including a first end and a second end rotatably connected to two side walls of the body (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Komiyama to modify the invention of Kanematsu to provide a linkage that is U-shaped and connected to two side walls of the body. One would be motivated to make this modification to center the completion action of the lever over the mating direction of the connectors. U-shaped levers are well known in the art for this purpose. Additionally, locating the pivots on the housing walls rather than on a cover fixed to the housing is an obvious rearrangement of parts that does not change the lever’s operation or function. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 16, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector according to claim 14.
However, Kanematsu fails to disclose wherein the securing portion includes a linkage geared to the locking portion.
Komiyama teaches wherein the securing portion includes a linkage (lever 30, Fig. 1-2) geared to the locking portion (gears 32a and 32b, rack 13a, 13b, Fig. 1, 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Komiyama to modify the invention of Kanematsu to provide wherein the linkage is connected to the locking portion by a geared connection such as a gear wheel and rack and teeth structure as taught by Komiyama. One would be motivated to make this modification to ease the actuation of the lever by converting the lever motion into linear motion and allowing for a smooth action when operated.
Regarding claim 17, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector according to claim 16.
However, Kanematsu fails to disclose wherein linkage is rotatably connected to the body, the linkage rotatable from a third position, to a fourth position after the conductive connecting element is inserted.
Komiyama teaches wherein the linkage is rotatably connected to the body (lever 30 connected to cover 20 through projection 21, Fig. 1), the linkage rotatable from a third position (Fig. 1), to a fourth position (Fig. 2) after the conductive connecting element is inserted (Fig. 1-2 shows lever rotated to mating completion position).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Komiyama to modify the invention of Kanematsu to provide a lever rotatably connected to the housing of Kanematsu as the securing portion, as taught by Komiyama. One would be motivated to make this modification to provide a mechanical advantage that reduces the force needed to move and hold contact pressure and a give a positive, operator-controlled hold of the locking portion.
Regarding claim 18, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector according to claim 16.
However, Kanematsu fails to disclose wherein as the linkage is rotated from the third position to the fourth position, the locking portion is driven to move from the first position to the second position.
Komiyama teaches wherein as the linkage is rotated from the third position (Fig. 1) to the fourth position (Fig. 2), the locking portion is driven to move from the first position to the second position (rotation of lever 30 drives sliders 13 from the release position to the mating position, Fig. 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Komiyama to modify the invention of Kanematsu to provide so that rotating the lever from a start position to a completion position drives component 122 from the first position to the second position. One would be motivated to make this modification to allow the contact pressure to be applied after the mating terminals are inserted to reduce the mating insertion force and reduce the seating force on the lever.
Claim(s) 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanematsu (WO 2022196424) in view of Chikusa et al. (US 9,899,769), hereinafter Chikusa.
Regarding claim 12, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector housing according to claim 10.
However, Kanematsu fails to disclose wherein a length of the groove is equal to a moving distance from the first position to the second position.
Chikusa teaches wherein a length of the groove (long groove 39) is equal to a moving distance from the first position to the second position (shaft 18 abuts groove end 41 in initial position and groove end 43 in completion position which is the full length of the groove, Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chikusa to modify the invention of Kanematsu to provide an elongated groove whose ends abut the body’s protrusion at the first and second positions. One would be motivated to make this modification to allow for positive identification of when the locking portion has reached is final completion position as well as prevent overtravel of the mating connectors.
Regarding claim 13, Kanematsu discloses the electrical connector housing according to claim 10.
However, Kanematsu fails to disclose wherein the groove limits movement of the locking portion from the first position to the second position.
Chikusa teaches wherein the groove limits movement of the locking portion from the first position to the second position (shaft 18 abuts groove end 41 in initial position and groove end 43 in completion position which is the full length of the groove, Fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chikusa to modify the invention of Kanematsu to provide an elongated groove whose ends abut the body’s protrusion at the first and second positions. One would be motivated to make this modification to allow for positive identification of when the locking portion has reached is final completion position as well as prevent overtravel of the mating connectors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, allowability resides, at least in part and outstanding appropriate correction of 35 USC 112(b) issues detailed above, with the prior art of record not showing, suggesting, or teaching the electrical connector housing according to claim 3, wherein the linkage includes a bending portion with which the linkage structure is clamped to the body when in the third position, as recited in claim 5. These limitations are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record taken alone or in combination.
Regarding claim 8, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art of record not showing, suggesting, or teaching the electrical connector housing according to claim 3, wherein the linkage is rotatably connected to the body with a keying structure limiting an installation orientation of the linkage relative to the body, as recited in claim 8. These limitations are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art of record taken alone or in combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boischio (US 7,108,565) discloses a connection assembly for connection with cylindrical pin terminals having a plurality of terminal pins and a circular base.
Coldren (US 3,336,567) discloses a disengageable connector for engagement with three contact pins on an equilateral triangle.
Keller (US 3,202,959) discloses a connector and housing having 3 terminal pins and a circular housing.
/JEFFREY MOUNTAIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834