DETAILED ACTION
2. The Preliminary Amendment filed on July 23, 2024, has been received and entered.
Claim Disposition
3. Claims 1-4 are pending and are under examination.
Specification
4. The specification is objected to because of the following informalities:
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following is suggested: "Method of conducting an oxidation reaction and synthesis of glucosone".
The specification is objected to because the priority information needs to be updated on page 1 because Application No. 17/237618 is now US Patent No. 12,1234,090.
Applicant is reminded of the content for the specification:
Content of Specification
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION: See 37 CFR 1.72(a) and MPEP § 606. The title of the invention should be placed at the top of the first page of the specification unless the title is provided in an application data sheet. The title of the invention should be brief but technically accurate and descriptive, preferably from two to seven words. It may not contain more than 500 characters.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS: See 37 CFR 1.78 and MPEP § 211 et seq.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT: See MPEP § 310.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT. See 37 CFR 1.71(g).
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM: The specification is required to include an incorporation-by-reference of electronic documents that are to become part of the permanent United States Patent and Trademark Office records in the file of a patent application. See 37 CFR 1.77(b)(5) and MPEP § 608.05. See also the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System posted on the USPTO website (https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/2019LegalFrameworkPES.pdf) and MPEP § 502.05
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR. See 35 U.S.C. 102(b) and 37 CFR 1.77.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(c). The specification should set forth the Background of the Invention in two parts:
(1) Field of the Invention: A statement of the field of art to which the invention pertains. This statement may include a paraphrasing of the applicable U.S. patent classification definitions of the subject matter of the claimed invention. This item may also be titled “Technical Field.”
(2) Description of the Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98: A description of the related art known to the applicant and including, if applicable, references to specific related art and problems involved in the prior art which are solved by the applicant’s invention. This item may also be titled “Background Art.”
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(d). A brief summary or general statement of the invention as set forth in 37 CFR 1.73. The summary is separate and distinct from the abstract and is directed toward the invention rather than the disclosure as a whole. The summary may point out the advantages of the invention or how it solves problems previously existent in the prior art (and preferably indicated in the Background of the Invention). In chemical cases it should point out in general terms the utility of the invention. If possible, the nature and gist of the invention or the inventive concept should be set forth. Objects of the invention should be treated briefly and only to the extent that they contribute to an understanding of the invention.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S): See MPEP § 608.01(f). A reference to and brief description of the drawing(s) as set forth in 37 CFR 1.74.
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION: See MPEP § 608.01(g). A description of the preferred embodiment(s) of the invention as required in 37 CFR 1.71. The description should be as short and specific as is necessary to describe the invention adequately and accurately. Where elements or groups of elements, compounds, and processes, which are conventional and generally widely known in the field of the invention described, and their exact nature or type is not necessary for an understanding and use of the invention by a person skilled in the art, they should not be described in detail. However, where particularly complicated subject matter is involved or where the elements, compounds, or processes may not be commonly or widely known in the field, the specification should refer to another patent or readily available publication which adequately describes the subject matter.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i) - (p).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE: See 37 CFR 1.72 (b) and MPEP § 608.01(b). The abstract is a brief narrative of the disclosure as a whole, as concise as the disclosure permits, in a single paragraph preferably not exceeding 150 words, commencing on a separate sheet following the claims. In an international application which has entered the national stage (37 CFR 1.491(b)), the applicant need not submit an abstract commencing on a separate sheet if an abstract was published with the international application under PCT Article 21. The abstract that appears on the cover page of the pamphlet published by the International Bureau (IB) of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the abstract that will be used by the USPTO. See MPEP § 1893.03(e).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING: See 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 and MPEP §§ 2421 - 2431. The requirement for a sequence listing applies to all sequences disclosed in a given application, whether the sequences are claimed or not. See MPEP § 2422.01.
Appropriate correction of the above is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. To date no Information Disclosure Statement has been filed. Applicant is reminded of the duty to disclose.
Claim Objection
6. Claims 1-4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
For clarity and precision of claim language, it is suggested that claim 1 is amended to read, “… [[permitting sufficient time for the oxidation reaction to proceed]] wherein the liquid reaction mixture comprises pyranose 2-oxidase.” The dependent claims hereto are also included.
For clarity it is suggested that claim 2 is amended to read, “…[[the liquid reaction mixture includes pyranose 2-oxidase,]] …. and the oxidation bioreaction proceed to [[substantial]] completion…”.
For clarity and precision of claim language it is suggested that claim 3 is amended to read, “….wherein [[one or more]] portions….”.
For clarity it is suggested that claim 4 is amended to read, “….wherein the oxidation reaction [[includes]] comprises oxidation of glucose……”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
7. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as containingsubject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enableone skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, tomake and or use the invention.
The claimed invention is directed to a method of conducting an oxidation reaction (see claim 1 in its entirety). The method objective is to conduct an oxidation reaction and step (d) recites that the oxidation reaction proceeds and then step (e) recites permitting sufficient time for the oxidation reaction to proceed. The method objective appears to be met in step (d), to conduct oxidation and step e) doesn’t inform the ordinary skilled worker what time is needed and seems to really be about proceeding to completion; as it is noted that claim 2 recites “proceeds to substantial completion”. The phrase substantial does not denote whether that means 50% or 90% completion. The invention as claimed is broadly directed to inserting a liquid mixture into an inflatable bag and there are no indicia in the claim as to what is in the liquid. There is also a step of inserting a suitable gas and its not defined what gas is deemed suitable and is it suitable to the operator or anyone in the art. Further, there’s no way to ascertain with all these unknown components what is sufficient time. Th claimed invention is not adequately described and is inviting the ordinary skilled worker to engage in additional exploration to practice the claimed invention.
The claimed invention broadly and comprises any components in the liquid reaction. It is noted that claim 2 recites that the mixture ‘includes pyranose 2-oxidase’ but it is not clear what else is included to get the results needed. Further, an ordinary skilled worker is not apprised as to what one or more portions of the liquid to remove or sustain in the reactor. The invention also does not establish a nexus between glucose oxidation to produce glucosone. The invention is not adequately described and encompasses large variability and a large genus.
The claimed invention is not commensurate in scope with the disclosure in the specification and applicant has not demonstrated possession of the entire genus encompassed in the claims. The specification fails to provide any additional representative species of the claimed genus to show that applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A representative number of species means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, for example, structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.
Accordingly, in the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing identifying characteristics, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed genus. Therefore, for all these reasons the specification lacks adequate written description, and one of skill in the art cannot reasonably conclude that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed.
8. Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and the dependent claims hereto are indefinite for the recitation of ‘oxidation reaction proceeds’ in step d and ‘permitting sufficient time for oxidation reaction to proceed” because it was already proceeding in the prior step and thus unclear how much time is needed to be sufficient and what is considered to be a suitable gas. The dependent claims hereto are also included.
Claim 2 is indefinite for the recitation ‘proceed to substantial completion’.
It is unclear what is considred to be substantial, is it 50% or 90%. The dependent claims hereto are also included.
Claim 3 is vague and indefinite for the recitation of one or more portions of the mixture are removed because it is unclear what is being removed and what remains. Is something specific being taken out of the mixture or being left behind.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2012128703 (9/27/2012) as evidenced by US 6,544,788.
The claimed invention is directed to conducting oxidation in an inflatable bag with a seal, gas, liquid mixture and under-going rocking or rotation to allow oxidation to proceed.
The reference teaches one of the successful disposable bioreactor systems uses a rocking table on to which a bioreactor bag is placed to agitate. The bioreactor bag is partially filled with liquid nutrient media and the desired cells. The table rocks the bag providing constant movement of the cells in the bag and also efficient gas exchange from the turbulent air-liquid surface. The bag, typically, has at least one gas supply tube for the introduction of air, carbon dioxide, nitrogen or oxygen, and at least one exhaust gas tube to allow for the removal of respired gases. Nutrients can be added through other tubes. The reference does not per se teach oxidation, however, the claimed invention is overly broad and the components of the claim are taught by the reference, thus absent evidence to contrary would necessarily have the claimed objective ‘to conduct’ (which does not mean ‘completion’). The reference discloses, “Perfusion culture in inflatable bags has been described in US 2011/0020922 and US 6,544,788, both of which discuss filters to be applied inside the bag for removal of filtrate through tubing”. This arrangement puts severe constraints on the filter construction and there is a significant risk of filter clogging. Moreover, if the filter clogs then the whole culture has to be transferred to a new inflatable bag. Hence there is a need for improved constructions to be used in flexible bag perfusion culture
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the claimed invention as a whole because the reference teaches the components of the method and it can be construed as analogous art. Moreover, the Supreme Court pointed out in KSR, “a patent composed of several elements is not proved obvious merely by demonstrating that each of its elements was, independently, known in the prior art.” KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1741. The Court thus reasoned that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the “inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” Id. at 1741. The Court further advised that “[a] person of ordinary skill is…a person of ordinary creativity, not an automation.” Id. at 1742. Therefore, the claimed invention was obvious to make and use at the time the invention was made and was prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
11. No claims are presently allowable.
/HOPE A ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1652