DETAILED ACTION
Objection to Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the current ripple included in an alternating current (see claim 1) need to be referenced in applicant’s fig.4 and must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Applicant’s closest fig.4 shows the waveform of current command id* is shown having resonance frequency Rf [Hz].
However, a frequency of current ripple is not clearly shown and referenced and how the frequency of current ripple varies randomly is not clear as current ripple not shown superimposed on current waveform id* (see relative spec, page 8, para. [0039]) and frequency of current ripple that varies randomly is not referenced ?
Applicant’s spec, (see page 7, para. [0032]) teaches the phase, “a small amplitude corresponding to the carrier frequency Cf is superimposed on the current IB and the MG current” needs to be shown and referenced. Carrier frequency not shown and referenced with respect to battery current IB and MG current. The only carrier frequency Cf is shown relative to sound pressure level as in figs.2A-2B and therefore examiner request correction and clarification.
No new matter should be entered.
Objection to Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant’s spec, (see page 7, para. [0032]) teaches the phase, “a small amplitude corresponding to the carrier frequency Cf is superimposed on the current IB and the MG current” needs to be shown and referenced. Applicant’s spec, (see page 7, para. [0034]) teaches the phase, “When the resonance frequency Rf is superimposed on the MG current” is not clear as it is the ripple current superimposed on the MG current? This section needs to be corrected in spec.
As to claims 1-4, the phrase, “when a temperature of the battery is raised, the control device controls the inverter in such a manner that a frequency of a current ripple included in an alternating current supplied to the electric machine varies randomly around the resonance frequency and the carrier frequency varies randomly” is not clear as the frequency Rf, Cf varies relative to the sound pressure level (see figs.2A, 2B, spec, pages 7-9, para’s [0034]-[0036] & [0042]) which is missing and not stated in applicant’s claim 1 for proper understanding of the invention. Appropriate corrections and clarifications are required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1-4, the phrase, “when a temperature of the battery is raised, the control device controls the inverter in such a manner that a frequency of a current ripple included in an alternating current supplied to the electric machine varies randomly around the resonance frequency and the carrier frequency varies randomly” is not clear as the frequency Rf, Cf varies relative to the sound pressure level (see figs.2A, 2B, spec, pages7-9, para’s [0034]-[0036] & [0042]) which is missing and not stated in applicant’s claim 1 for proper understanding of the invention.
As to claims 1-4, the phrase, “a frequency of a current ripple included in an alternating current supplied to the electric machine varies randomly around the resonance frequency and the carrier frequency varies randomly” is not clear
as the phrase, “a frequency of a current ripple varies randomly” is not clear?
And the phrase, “the carrier frequency varies randomly” is not clear?
Applicant’s closest fig.4 shows the waveform of current command id* is shown with respect of resonance frequency Rf [Hz].
However, a frequency of current ripple is not clearly shown and referenced and how the frequency of current ripple varies randomly is not clear as current ripple not shown superimposed on current waveform id* (see relative spec, page 8, para. [0039]) and frequency of current ripple that varies randomly is not referenced ?
And the phrase, “the carrier frequency varies randomly” is not clear?
Carrier frequency not shown and referenced in fig.4 with respect to waveform of current command id*. How Carrier frequency varies randomly is not clear?
The only carrier frequency Cf is shown relative to sound pressure level as in figs.2A-2B and therefore examiner request correction and clarification for claims 1-4.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by KAZAOKA et al. (PUB.NO.: US 2024/0030803 A1 and KAZAOKA hereinafter).
As to claim 1, A battery system comprising:
a battery;
an electric machine;
an inverter that is connected between the battery and the electric machine, driven at a predetermined carrier frequency, and converts direct-current power stored in the battery into alternating-current power and supplies the alternating-current power to the electric machine; and
a control device, wherein
a circuit including the battery has a resonance frequency, and
when a temperature of the battery is raised, the control device controls the inverter in such a manner that a frequency of a current ripple included in an alternating current supplied to the electric machine varies randomly around the resonance frequency and the carrier frequency varies randomly.
(As to claim 1, KAZAOKA teaches (figs.1-16, para. [0028]-[0029]-[0030]) a battery
system 1 comprising:
a battery 10;
an electric machine 40;
an inverter 30 that is connected between the battery 10 and the electric machine [motor 40], driven at a predetermined carrier frequency (see para. [0037]), and converts direct-current power stored in the battery 10 into alternating-current power and supplies the alternating-current power to the electric machine [motor 40] (see para. [0030], [0031], [0036], and [0046]); and
a control device 50 (figs.1-2 & 3), wherein
a circuit (fig.3, para. [0051]-[0052])) including the battery 10 has a resonance frequency (see para’s [0053]), and
when a temperature of the battery 10 is raised, the control device 50 controls the inverter 30 (see figs.1-2, para’s [0048], [0049]) in such a manner that a frequency of a current ripple included in an alternating current supplied to the electric machine 40 varies randomly (see para’s [0049]-[0051], [0060], [0077], [0081], [0087] & [0088]) around the resonance frequency Fb1, Fb2 (see fig.13, [0053], [0070], [0103], [0104] & [0106]) and the carrier frequency varies randomly (KAZAOKA teaches (see para’s [0114]-[0115]) controller 50 to generate the ripple current by sweeping the carrier frequency of the inverter 30).
As to claim 2, The battery system according to claim 1, wherein: the electric machine is a rotating electric machine; and the current ripple is a ripple of a d-axis current of the rotating electric machine.
(As to claim 2, KAZAOKA teaches (figs.1-16, para. [0028]-[0029]-[0030]) A battery system 1, wherein: the electric machine [electric motor 40] is a rotating electric machine 40 (see para. [0028]); and the current ripple is a ripple of a d-axis current [Id] of the rotating electric machine 40 (see figs. 2, 11 & 12A-C, para’s [0040], [0047], [0081], [0082], [0083], [0084], [0085], [0086]).
As to claim 3, The battery system according to claim 2, wherein:
the battery system is mounted on a vehicle; and
the control device raises the temperature of the battery when a request for external charging of the battery is made and the temperature of the battery is equal to or less than a predetermined value.
(As to claim 3, KAZAOKA teaches (figs.1-16, para. [0028]-[0029]-[0030]) A battery system 1, wherein: a vehicle is equipped with a battery system 1 (see para. [0028]); and
the control device 50 (figs.1-2) raises the temperature of the battery 10 when a temperature rise request for the battery 10 is received and the temperature of the battery 10 is less than a predetermined threshold value [-20 deg. C] (see para. [0048]-[0050]). KAZAOKA teaches charging of the battery 10 (via BMU 20, see figs.1-2) based on temperature/SOC of the battery 10 (see para. [0030]) and shows external charging 200 for battery 10 (see fig.14, para. [0115])).
Allowable Subject-Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 4, the prior art of record(s) (closest prior art, KAZAOKA) fails to teach a first heat exchanger that exchanges heat with the rotating electric machine; and a second heat exchanger that exchanges heat with the battery, wherein when the temperature of the battery is raised, the control device causes heat that is received at the first heat exchanger to be dissipated from the second heat exchanger to raise the temperature of the battery.
However, formal requirements outstanding (Objection to drawings and specification and 35 USC 112 rejection of claims 1-4) needs to be corrected and clarified.
CITATION OF PERTINENT PRIOR ART
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: a) Nishi et al. (Pub.No.: US 2012/0021263 A1) teaches Temperature elevating apparatus of secondary battery and Vehicle equipped with same (see figs.1-26, abstract).
b) Nishi et al. (Pub.No.: US 2012/0112695 A1) teaches secondary battery Temperature-increasing control apparatus and Vehicle including the same (see figs.1-12, abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed (see remarks dated 08/11/2026) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argue that (see page 4 of said remarks) with respect to fig.4 shown:
As for Figure 4, paragraph [0039] states that "A current ripple for raising the temperature of the battery 30 is superimposed on the d-axis current command value id*, and the waveform of the d-axis current command value id* becomes the waveform of the ripple current flowing through the battery 30." Therefore, Figure 4 already illustrates the ripple current adequately.
Applicant’s arguments (see page 5 of remarks) states that
“In response, Figure 4 already illustrates these features. Specifically, the resonance frequency Rf is shown on the left, and the ripple frequency fluctuating about Rf is also shown on the top of Figure 4 (see above). See also [0039] of the specification”.
Examiner response to above arguments:
Current ripple is not shown superimposed on the waveform id*. Current ripple frequency is not clearly shown and referenced and therefore current ripple frequency varying randomly around the resonance frequency is not clear.
Carrier frequency varying randomly not shown and referenced (see relative claim 1) and therefore carrier frequency varies randomly is not clear.
Therefore as to claims 1-4, the phrase, “when a temperature of the battery is raised, the control device controls the inverter in such a manner that a frequency of a current ripple included in an alternating current supplied to the electric machine varies randomly around the resonance frequency and the carrier frequency varies randomly” is not clear as how the ripple frequency varies randomly around the resonance frequency and carrier frequency varies randomly” is not clear?
Applicants state in description of prior art of record (CN 113206324, see spec., page 1, para. [0003]) that switching frequency varies randomly to reduce the sound pressure level of harsh noise as generated by the alternating current”. See also applicant’s figs.2A-2B, however the frequency Rf, Cf varies relative to the sound pressure level (see applicant’s figs.2A, 2B, spec, pages 7-9, para’s [0034]-[0036] & [0042]) which is missing and not stated in applicant’s claim 1 for proper understanding of the invention.
Applicant’s argument for Rejection under 35 USC 102:
Applicant’s argue that (see page 7 of remarks) that “Independent claim 1 recites "when a temperature of the battery is raised, the control device controls the inverter in such a manner that a frequency of a current ripple included in an alternating current supplied to the electric machine varies randomly around the resonance frequency and the carrier frequency varies randomly." The Kazaoka reference does not appear to disclose or suggest these features. The word "random" does not appear in the Kazaoka reference.
Examiner’s response:
As to claims 1-4, the phrase, “when a temperature of the battery is raised, the control device controls the inverter in such a manner that a frequency of a current ripple included in an alternating current supplied to the electric machine varies randomly around the resonance frequency and the carrier frequency varies randomly” is not clear as the frequency Rf, Cf varies relative to the sound pressure level (see figs.2A, 2B, spec, pages7-9, para’s [0034]-[0036] & [0042]) which is missing and not stated in applicant’s claim 1 for proper understanding of the invention.
As to claims 1-4, the phrase, “a frequency of a current ripple included in an alternating current supplied to the electric machine varies randomly around the resonance frequency and the carrier frequency varies randomly” is not clear
as the phrase, “a frequency of a current ripple varies randomly” is not clear?
And the phrase, “the carrier frequency varies randomly” is not clear?
Applicant’s closest fig.4 shows the waveform of current command id* is shown with respect of resonance frequency Rf [Hz].
However, a frequency of current ripple is not clearly shown and referenced and how the frequency of current ripple varies randomly is not clear as current ripple not shown superimposed on current waveform id* (see relative spec, page 8, para. [0039]) and frequency of current ripple that varies randomly is not referenced ?
And the phrase, “the carrier frequency varies randomly” is not clear?
Carrier frequency not shown and referenced in fig.4 with respect to waveform of current command id*. How Carrier frequency varies randomly is not clear?
The only carrier frequency Cf is shown relative to sound pressure level as in figs.2A-2B, which is missing in claim 1 (wherein the dashed line shown in figs.2A-2B is not clear as to what type of signa it is and is not referenced) and therefore examiner request correction and clarification for claims 1-4.
(As to claim 1, KAZAOKA teaches (figs.1-16, para. [0028]-[0029]-[0030]) a battery
system 1 comprising:
a battery 10;
an electric machine 40;
an inverter 30 that is connected between the battery 10 and the electric machine [motor 40], driven at a predetermined carrier frequency (see para. [0037]), and converts direct-current power stored in the battery 10 into alternating-current power and supplies the alternating-current power to the electric machine [motor 40] (see para. [0030], [0031], [0036], and [0046]); and
a control device 50 (figs.1-2 & 3), wherein
a circuit (fig.3, para. [0051]-[0052])) including the battery 10 has a resonance frequency (see para’s [0053]), and
when a temperature of the battery 10 is raised, the control device 50 controls the inverter 30 (see figs.1-2, para’s [0048], [0049]) in such a manner that a frequency of a current ripple included in an alternating current supplied to the electric machine 40 varies randomly (see para’s [0049]-[0051], [0060], [0077], [0081], [0086], [0087] & [0088]) around the resonance frequency Fb1, Fb2 (see fig.13, [0053], [0070], [0103], [0104] & [0106]) and the carrier frequency varies randomly (KAZAOKA teaches (see para’s [0114]-[0115]) controller 50 to generate the ripple current by sweeping the carrier frequency of the inverter 30).
KAZAOKA shows and teaches (fig.13, para’s [0104], [0106]) ripple frequency within the frequency range between resonance frequency FB1 And the resonance frequency Fb2, wherein the said ripple frequency is varied (relative to the current Ibat/Iinv, figs.13, 8, ), wherein the said ripple frequency near/around resonance frequency Fb1 has a varied amplitude and the said ripple frequency near/around the resonance frequency Fb2 has a varied amplitude and therefore said ripple frequency is randomly varied near/around the resonance frequency Fb1/Fb2. KAZAOKA further teaches reducing ripple frequency and to increase power consumption (fig.16, para. [0117]) and KAZAOKA teaches (para. [0098]) suppress the amplitude of the ripple current from increasing more than expected and KAZAOKA also teaches (using figs.1-3, para. [0086], [0087]-[0088] enhance battery temperature rise capability using ripple current superimposed on the alternating current power.
KAZAOKA teaches (see para’s [0114]-[0115]) controller 50 to generate the ripple current by sweeping the carrier frequency of the inverter 30. KAZAOKA teaches (figs.1-2, para. [0037]) the controller 50 performs switching control (PWM control) of the switching elements at a predetermined carrier frequency. Carrier frequencies are varied as applicant’s admit in (page 8, 1st para. a frequency shifting up or down). Varying the carrier frequency randomly is related to the switching of the selection of switches QUH-QUL/ QVH-QVL/ QWH-QWL in the inverter 30 (fig.1).
Applicants state in description of prior art of record (CN 113206324, see spec., page 1, para. [0003]) that switching frequency varies randomly to reduce the sound pressure level of harsh noise as generated by the alternating current”. See also applicant’s figs.2A-2B, however the frequency Rf, Cf varies relative to the sound pressure level (see applicant’s figs.2A, 2B, spec, pages 7-9, para’s [0034]-[0036] & [0042]) which is missing and not stated in applicant’s claim 1 for proper understanding of the invention.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTONY M PAUL/
Primary Examiner of Art Unit 2837