DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The term “substantially” in claim 12 with reference to “the door is dimensioned to block substantially all airflow” is interpreted per the definition in the Specification ([0043]) “to encompass slight deviations caused by, for instance, manufacturing tolerances”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13, 15, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, “the aircraft engine” lacks antecedent basis in the claims, and it is not clear whether it refers to the heat engine or the aircraft propulsor, or some other component/element. It is interpreted as the heat engine.
Regarding claim 22, “the bypass outlet” lacks antecedent basis in the claims and it is unclear whether claim 22 is meant to depend from claim 4, or whether the bypass outlet should be newly recited in claim 22.
Dependent claims 11-13 and 15 are also rejected for depending on at least one rejected claim above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-13, 15, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mackin 10981660.
Regarding claim 1, Mackin teaches an aircraft engine (Fig 10 sharing features with Fig 5), comprising:
a core (502) having a compressor (incl. 516, 520), a combustor (526), and a turbine (incl. 522, 518) disposed in serial flow communication (Figs 5, 10),
the turbine in driving engagement with a propeller (504; Figs 5, 10);
a nacelle (Fig 10 below) extending around the core, the nacelle having a nacelle intake (514) upstream of the core (Fig 10) and a nacelle exhaust (528) downstream of the core (Figs 5, 10),
the nacelle intake configured for receiving air from an environment outside the nacelle (Fig 10),
the nacelle intake fluidly connected to the compressor for feeding air thereto (Fig 10),
the nacelle exhaust configured to discharge combustion gases from the turbine into the environment outside the nacelle (Fig 10);
a blocking member (900) movable between an open position in which the core is fluidly connected to the environment outside the nacelle via both the nacelle intake and the nacelle exhaust (Fig 11A), and
a closed position in which the blocking member hinders fluid communication between
the core and the environment outside the nacelle via the nacelle intake (Fig 11B): and
a controller (902, 208) having a processing unit and a computer-readable medium operatively connected to the processing unit and having instructions stored thereon executable by the processing unit (controller(s) 902, 208 are computer based; col.5 ll.3-6, col.16 ll.60-62) to,
upon the aircraft engine being powered off, cause the blocking member to move from the
open position to the closed position (col.3 l.53 – col.4 l.10, col.16 ll.26-41, col.16 l.42 – col.17 l.6, col.19 l.57 – col.20 l.11).
Regarding claim 2, Mackin teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Mackin further teaches the nacelle has an intake conduit extending from the nacelle intake towards the compressor, the blocking member is located between the nacelle intake and the compressor, and
the blocking member is structured to block airflow from the nacelle intake to the compressor when in the closed position (Fig 10 above; Figs 11A-11B).
Regarding claim 3, Mackin teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Mackin further teaches the blocking member is a door (1104) pivotably mounted (via 1110) to a wall (1100) of the intake conduit (Figs 10-11B), the door extending across the intake conduit in the closed position and being positioned to permit fluid communication between the nacelle intake and the compressor in the open position (Figs 10-11B).
Regarding claim 10, Mackin teaches an aircraft propulsor (500; Fig 10 sharing features with Fig 5), comprising:
a heat engine (502) having an air intake (at 514) and a hot gas exhaust (528);
a nacelle (Fig 10 above) disposed at least in part around the heat engine and defining an intake conduit (Fig 10 above) from an environment outside the nacelle (Fig 10) to the air intake of the heat engine and an exhaust conduit (Fig 10 above) from the hot gas exhaust to the environment (Fig 10);
a blocking mechanism (900) operable between a closed position (Fig 11B) in which the blocking mechanism blocks the intake conduit and an open position (Fig 11A) in which the blocking mechanism unblocks the intake conduit (Figs 11A-B), and
a controller (902, 208) having a processing unit and a computer-readable medium operatively connected to the processing unit and having instructions stored thereon executable by the processing unit (controller(s) 902, 208 are computer based; col.5 ll.3-6, col.16 ll.60-62) to,
upon the aircraft engine (interpreted under 112b above) being powered off, cause the blocking member to move from the open position to the closed position (col.3 l.53 – col.4 l.10, col.16 ll.26-41, col.16 l.42 – col.17 l.6, col.19 l.57 – col.20 l.11).
Regarding claim 11, Mackin teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Mackin further teaches the blocking mechanism includes an actuator (1116) and a door (1104) that is movable by the actuator between the closed position in which the door blocks the intake conduit and the open position in which the door unblocks the intake conduit (Figs 11A-B).
Regarding claim 12, Mackin teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Mackin further teaches the door is dimensioned to block substantially all airflow through the intake conduit when the door is in the closed position and the aircraft propulsor is moving at a cruise airspeed
relative to Earth (Fig 11B; col.19 ll.37-46,57-end).
Regarding claim 13, Mackin teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Mackin further teaches the door is pivotable between the open position and the closed position (Figs 11A-B; via 1110).
Regarding claim 15, Mackin teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Mackin further teaches the heat engine a gas turbine engine (Fig 10).
Regarding claim 21, Mackin teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Mackin further teaches the turbine is drivingly engaged to a propeller (504), the nacelle intake located downstream of the propeller, the propeller overlapping the nacelle intake (Fig 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin in view of Cousin 6129509.
Regarding claim 4, Mackin teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Mackin further teaches the door extending across the intake conduit in the open position (and the closed position) and being axially offset from the downstream portions of the intake conduit in the closed position (and the open position).
Mackin does not teach the intake conduit defines a bypass outlet such that the door extends across the bypass outlet in the open position and is offset from the bypass outlet in the closed position.
However, Cousin teaches providing a bypass outlet (through 16 into 15 or through doors 19 out of 15; Figs 1-2) in a downstream portion of an inlet conduit (for 6, downstream of 7) feeding a core compressor of a turboprop engine (Fig 1; col.1 l.63 – col.2 l.7) for particle removal after particle separation (Title, col.2 ll.35-44); wherein the air intake is at the same radial position as the bypass outlet, and is axially offset from the bypass outlet (Figs 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mackin to include the particle separator and bypass outlet of Cousin in order to provide particle separation (Cousin, Title, col.2 ll.35-44).
Regarding claim 22, Mackin teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Mackin further teaches the intake conduit has a curved section curving towards the core (all parts of the inlet conduit curving towards the core in both radial and axial cross-section; Figs 10-11B).
Mackin does not teach the bypass outlet (interpreted as “a” bypass outlet) located at the curved section.
However, Cousin teaches providing a bypass outlet (through 16 into 15 or through doors 19 out of 15; Figs 1-2) located at a curved section of an inlet conduit (for 6, downstream of 7) feeding a core compressor of a turboprop engine (Fig 1; col.1 l.63 – col.2 l.7) for particle removal after particle separation (Title, col.2 ll.35-44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mackin to include the particle separator and bypass outlet of Cousin in order to provide particle separation and particle removal (Cousin, Title, col.2 ll.35-44).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 25 November 2025 with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 10-13, 15 and 21-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/STEPHANIE SEBASCO CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741