DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 14 and 20 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14, Ln. 2 recites “the provision” which should read “a provision” as it is a first introduction
Claim 20, Ln. 10 includes an unnecessary indent which appears to separate the phrasing “such that said sealing skirt” in the text coming from Ln. 9
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “said at least one port is dimensioned to allow passage of a hand therethrough.” The at least one port of claim 1 corresponds to the one or more ports 114 of the specification, which are configured to allow passage of a medical conduit. The port(s) of the specification which are “dimensioned to allow passage of a hand therethrough” are instead arm ports 110 (e.g. ¶0059). The instant claim thus appears to be improperly conflating the use of the different ports of the disclosure. The application as originally filed fails to describe a port configured to “allow passage of a medical conduit therethrough” (claim 1) which is also dimensioned “to allow passage of a hand therethrough” (claim 4). There is thus lack of sufficient written description support in the application as originally filed for the overall requirements of claim 4.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “said sealing skirt extends at most 95% of a length of said peripheral edge.” The application as originally filed only specifically discusses the sealing skirt length at “at least 85%” (¶0053). There is not found to be any discussion in the application as originally filed of any upper bound length of the sealing skirt. The presently claimed length of “at most 95%” thus amounts to new matter not described in the application as originally filed. There is thus lack of sufficient written description support in the application as originally filed for the overall requirements of claim 7.
Claim(s) 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “each of said at least two arm ports” in Ln. 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination the claim will be interpreted as depending from claim 3 and further defining the at least one arm port of claim 3 as now at least two arm ports.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “said at least one access opening, said at least two arm ports” in Ln. 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitations requires dependence on both claims 2 and 11, which are not currently in the same claim tree.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
The corresponding structure for the “securing means” are best understood from the specification as at least: adjustable fasteners (¶0058).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 8-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 and 16-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,059,379. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all requirements of instant claim 1 are found within the overall scope of patent claim 1, the instant claim merely being broader in scope. Similarly, all requirements of instant claim 20 are found within the overall scope of patent claim 17, the instant claim merely being broader in scope. A further mapping of dependent claims is as follows:
Instant claim 2 vs. patent claim 1
Instant claim 3 vs. patent claim 1
Instant claim 5 vs. patent claim 2
Instant claim 6 vs. patent claim 3
Instant claims 8-18 vs. patent claims 4-14, respectively
Instant claim 19 vs. patent claim 16
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esch (U.S. Pub. 2013/0025062) in view of Breggi (U.S. Pub. 2019/0380901).
Regarding claim 1, Esch discloses a neonatal care unit (Fig. 8D, set also Fig. 4; ¶¶0094-0095) comprising: a hood (Figs. 8A & 8D #44; ¶¶0094-0095) defining an interior space and having a bottom opening (Figs. 8A-8D #44 is open at its bottom where it meets #1; ¶0094), wherein said hood is dimensioned to accommodate a neonate (Fig. 8D #2; ¶0066); a sealing skirt (Fig. 8D #1; ¶¶0066-0067, 0094-0095) extending along at least a portion of a peripheral edge of said bottom opening (Fig. 8D) and configured to engage at least part of a front torso region of a human in a sealing engagement (Fig. 8D; ¶¶0075-0076).
Esch fails to disclose at least one port configured to allow passage of a medical conduit therethrough.
Breggi teaches a neonatal incubator (Fig. 4A; ¶0033) including access tubes (Fig. 4A #31; ¶0066) for passing of fluids, air, electrical cords or other device connections (¶0066).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Esch at least one port configured to allow passage of a medical conduit therethrough in order to provide the benefit of adding to the incubator of Esch the option of passing fluids, air, electrical cords or other device connections to the interior of the incubator in view of Breggi.
Regarding claim 2, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches at least one access opening (¶0088 – side flap) in said hood, dimensioned to allow passage of said neonate therethrough (¶0088).
Regarding claim 3, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious at least one arm port located about a wall of the hood (Figs. 7A-7B obviously suggest the mother placing her hands on the child which obviously suggests arm ports at some location), wherein each arm port is dimensioned to allow passage of a hand therethrough. Note additionally the various recess openings illustrated in Fig. 3F, which one ordinary skill in the art would obviously expect to be capable of passing a mother’s hand through. Further, note the hand ports (Figs. 4A & 5-6 #29; ¶0063) in Breggli.
Regarding claim 4, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious said at least one port is dimensioned to allow passage of a hand therethrough (Figs. 7A-7B obviously suggest the mother placing her hands on the child which obviously suggests arm ports at some location). Note additionally the various recess openings illustrated in Fig. 3F, which one ordinary skill in the art would obviously expect to be capable of passing a mother’s hand through and which could also receive a medical conduit.
Regarding claim 5, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and Breggli as incorporated therein further suggests as obvious said hood comprises a double-layer construction (¶0073).
Regarding claim 6, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious said sealing skirt extends at least 85% of a length of said peripheral edge (Figs. 8A-8D). One of ordinary skill in the art would obviously expect the mattress 1 to span a full length of the peripheral edge of incubator 44 in Figs. 8A-8D such that the child is secured inside while allowing the incubator 44 to perform its intended functionality.
Regarding claim 8, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches said sealing skirt is made of an elastic material (¶¶0086, 0089).
Regarding claim 9, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious said sealing skirt is an inflatable sealing skirt (¶0017). Esch teaches that a prior art inflatable air cushion is known and useable for infants (¶¶0014-0017). One of ordinary skill in the art would thus have considered it prima facie obvious to have tried use of an inflatable mattress based upon the prior art knowledge of Esch.
Regarding claim 10, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches said at least one access opening comprises a door which may be opened and closed (¶0088 – side flap).
Esch teaches the invention as modified above and Breggli as incorporated therein further suggests as obvious a periphery of said door comprises a sealing element (¶¶0064, 0105 – ports unsealed for delivery and resealed after delivery) which engages a periphery of said at least one access opening in a sealing engagement.
Regarding claim 11, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and Breggli as incorporated therein further suggests as obvious each of said at least two arm ports comprises a sealing membrane (¶0063 – sealing cuffs, sealing around user’s wrist) configured to at least partially sealingly engage a periphery of an arm entering through said arm port.
Regarding claim 12, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and Breggli as incorporated therein further suggests as obvious said medical conduit is one of: a tube, a cable (¶0066), a connector, a wire (¶0066), a liquid carrier (¶0066), a gas carrier (¶0066), an electrical wire (¶0066), a monitoring cable, a viewing cable, and a data cable, wherein said medical conduit is associated with at least one of: an intravenous pump, an oxygen supplementation system, a continuous positive airway pressure system, a feeding tube, an umbilical artery catheter, a fluid transport device (¶0066), a hemofiltration system, a hemodialysis system, a ventilation system (¶0066), an air conditioning system, an air humidification system, an air heating system, and at least one medical monitoring device, and wherein said medical monitoring device is configured to measure one of: ambient air temperature, body temperature, air humidity, neonate respiration, neonate cardiac function, neonate blood oxygenation, neonate brain activity, neonate blood pressure, and neonate cardio-respiratory activity. Only one form of the initial “one of” clause is required for reading on the full claim. It is noted that the medical monitoring device is not read as positively recited.
Regarding claim 13, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and Breggli as incorporated therein further teaches one or more sensors (¶¶0080-0081) configured to monitor at least one of, ambient air temperature (¶0080), body temperature, air humidity (¶0081), neonate respiration (¶0081), neonate cardiac function (¶0081), neonate blood oxygenation, neonate brain activity, neonate blood pressure, neonate cardio-respiratory activity (¶0081). Breggli teaches that various sensors are known to be commonly used in incubators (¶¶0080-0081)
Regarding claim 14, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and Breggli as incorporated therein further suggests as obvious a controller (¶¶0080-0081 – regulating incubator microenvironment based on sensor feedback) configured to control a provision of at least one of: a medication, heat (¶0080), humidity (¶0081), nutrition and ventilation, based on one or more signals received from the one or more sensors.
Regarding claim 15, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and further teaches a heating element (¶0056). It is noted that the heating element of the claim does not need to be specifically connected to any other previously recited element. Thus, the heating bed discussed in ¶0056 is readable on the claimed heating element even if it is not used during placement on the incubator 44 on the mother. Additionally, Breggli as incorporated in the modified Esch teaches a heater (¶¶0093-0094).
Regarding claim 16, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious one or more straps configured to extend around said torso and operably connect using securing means. It is noted that the one or more straps are not recited as being connected to any prior element of the claim. Thus, a brassiere being worn around the mother’s torso in normal wearing fashion will read on the claim.
Regarding claim 17, Esch teaches the invention as modified above and further suggests as obvious the sealing skirt is included in a garment configured to be worn by the human. While the sealing skirt of claim 1 is recited as extending along the bottom opening the claim does not specify any particular form of connection between the sealing skirt and the bottom opening. Thus, in an alternate reading to that discussed above in regard to claim 1 the full structure shown in Fig. 8A can be read as the hood and the garment worn by the mother, such as a hospital gown, may be read on the sealing skirt. When the configuration of Fig. 8D is placed on the mother the mother’s garment will be expected to be forced downward against the mother’s skin to cause at least a measure of sealing between the mother’s torso and the mother’s garment. Thus, the mother’s garment alone is readable from Esch as the sealing skirt.
Regarding claim 20, Esch discloses a method of neonatal caring comprising: providing a neonatal care unit (Fig. 8D, set also Fig. 4; ¶¶0094-0095) comprising: a hood (Figs. 8A & 8D #44; ¶¶0094-0095) defining an interior space and having a bottom opening (Figs. 8A-8D #44 is open at its bottom where it meets #1; ¶0094), wherein said hood is dimensioned to accommodate a neonate (Fig. 8D #2; ¶0066); a sealing skirt (Fig. 8D #1; ¶¶0066-0067, 0094-0095) extending along at least a portion of a peripheral edge of said bottom opening (Fig. 8D) and configured to engage at least part of a front torso region of a human in a sealing engagement (Fig. 8D; ¶¶0075-0076); positioning said neonatal care unit about a front torso region of a human (Fig. 8D), such that said sealing skirt engages at least part of said front torso region in a sealing engagement (Fig. 8D; ¶¶0075-0076); placing a neonate within said interior space (Fig. 8D).
Esch fails to disclose at least one port configured to allow passage of a medical conduit therethrough; and passing at least one medical conduit through said at least one port.
Breggi teaches a neonatal incubator (Fig. 4A; ¶0033) including access tubes (Fig. 4A #31; ¶0066) for passing of fluids, air, electrical cords or other device connections (¶0066).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated in Esch at least one port configured to allow passage of a medical conduit therethrough; and passing at least one medical conduit through said at least one port in order to provide the benefit of adding to the incubator of Esch the option of passing fluids, air, electrical cords or other device connections to the interior of the incubator in view of Breggi.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 7, Esch fails to teach or suggest said sealing skirt extends at most 95% of a length of said peripheral edge. The claim limits the sealing skirt to not extending more than 95% of the peripheral edge of the bottom opening of the hood. One having ordinary skill in the art would not have expected the mattress 1 in Esch to extend any less than a full perimeter of incubator 44.
The other prior art readable on claim 1 is Pronzinski (U.S. Patent 4712263) which teaches a flat perimeter edge 14 on neonatal blanket 10 (Figs. 1 & 3). However, flat perimeter edge 14 would only be expected to extend along the entire bottom perimeter of neonatal blanket 10.
It is thus found that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention would only have arrived at the instantly claimed invention, with its particular limiting on the length of the sealing skirt along the bottom opening, by way of improper hindsight reasoning.
Regarding claim 18, Esch fails to teach or suggest an infrared reflective coating applied to at least a portion of an interior surface of said hood. Esch has no consideration of an interiorly located infrared reflective coating.
Pronzinski, as mentioned in the discussion of claim 7 above, also fails to teach or suggest the requirements of the instant claim.
One prior art of note is Eustace et al. (U.S. Pub. 2002/0032361) which teaches an infant care unit (Fig. 1) including an infrared-coating (¶0038). However, the infrared-coating of Eustace is intended to block radiant heat from an infrared heater 51, 53 above the cover 50 from being transmitted through canopy 21 and to the infant (e.g. Fig. 4; ¶0038). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art recognizing that the infrared-coating is intended to block radiant heat from an upward direction would have expected the infrared-coating to be placed on an exterior surface and not an interior surface.
It is thus found that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention would only have arrived at the instantly claimed invention by way of improper hindsight reasoning.
Regarding claim 19, Esch fails to teach or suggest an infrared reflective cover configured to be positioned over said hood and cover an exterior surface of said hood, other than said at least one access opening, said at least two arm ports, and said at least one port. Esch has no consideration of an exteriorly placed infrared reflective cover which would cover the exterior surface of said hood with the exception of all ports and openings of the hood.
Pronzinski, as mentioned in the discussion of claim 7 above, also fails to teach or suggest the requirements of the instant claim.
One prior art of note is Eustace et al. (U.S. Pub. 2002/0032361) which teaches an infant care unit (Fig. 1) including an infrared-coating (¶0038). However, the infrared-coating of Eustace is intended to block radiant heat from an infrared heater 51, 53 above the cover 50 from being transmitted through canopy 21 and to the infant (e.g. Fig. 4; ¶0038). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art recognizing that the infrared-coating is intended to block radiant heat from an upward direction would have expected the infrared-coating to be placed only in line with the infrared heaters and not over the full exterior surface excepting all ports and openings.
It is thus found that one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention would only have arrived at the instantly claimed invention by way of improper hindsight reasoning.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, see PTO-892 for additional attached references.
/JOSEPH D. BOECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785