DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 08/05/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 5-6, 8, 12-14 and 17-18 have been amended.
Claims 3-4, 10-11 and 15-16 have been amended.
Claims 21-26 have been added.
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 12-14 and 17-26 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 13-14, 18-22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 20250261275 A1) in view of Sha et al. (US 20240349302 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration method (method of Fig. 6), comprising: receiving a specific DRX configuration (the terminal device 110 receives, from the network device 120, a configuration of DRX cycle, [0150]), wherein the specific DRX configuration corresponds to a parameter configuration with a non-integer cycle (the configuration may indicate a length of DRX cycle, a start offset for DRX cycle and a slot offset for DRX cycle. In these embodiments, the length of DRX cycle is a non-integer value, [0150]).
However, Wang does not clearly teach wherein receiving the specific DRX configuration comprises: receiving a plurality of sets of DRX configuration, wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprise the specific DRX configuration; wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprise: indication information of the specific DRX configuration; wherein the indication information indicates one or more of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations corresponding to the parameter configuration with the non-integer cycle, or type information of each of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations, wherein the type information comprises an integer cycle type or a non-integer cycle type.
In an analogous art, Sha teaches wherein receiving the specific DRX configuration comprises:
receiving a plurality of sets of DRX configuration (UE side receives the configuration information, [0053]; the configuration information includes a plurality of sets of DRX configurations, [0040]), wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprise the specific DRX configuration (The base station configures the following for the UE in a RRC connection mode: a start time of a PDCCH monitoring (i.e., PDCCH Monitoring Start Time), an end time of a PDCCH monitoring (i.e., PDCCH Monitoring End Time), and a DRX cycle length, [0084]);
wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprise:
indication information of the specific DRX configuration (UE needs to monitor the PDCCH within the specified time interval. In addition, the UE does not need to monitor the PDCCH or monitors the PDCCH according to a second PDCCH search space (with a larger PDCCH monitoring cycle) during the non-specified time interval, [0084]), wherein the indication information indicates one or more of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations corresponding to the parameter configuration with the non-integer cycle (the plurality of sets of DRX configurations may also be used for DRX configurations of non-integer cycles. For example, the traffic arrival start time is 0hh0mm0ss0 ms, the traffic arrival end time is 0hh0mm0ss1ms, the traffic cycle is 60 fps (=16.667 ms), [0126]), or
type information of each of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations, wherein the type information comprises an integer cycle type or a non-integer cycle type.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the DRX configuration of Wang with the DRX configuration of Sha to provides a method wherein monitoring flexibility is improved, and energy conservation can be achieved for terminals with uncertain data packet transmission occasions or large-cycle traffic, and traffic cycles being not integer multiples of 10240 ms as suggested, Sha [0032].
Regarding claim 2, Wang as modified by Sha teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the specific DRX configuration corresponds to a time jitter parameter configuration (the terminal device 110 may determine a starting time of DRX cycle based on the determined integer, [0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang as modified by Sha teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprises at least one of following parameters: a DRX on duration timer (drx-onDurationTimer); a DRX inactivity timer (drx-InactivityTimer); a downlink DRX retransmission timer (drx-RetransmissionTimerDL); an uplink DRX retransmission timer (drx-RetransmissionTimerUL);a long DRX cycle; a short DRX cycle; a long DRX cycle offset; or a short DRX cycle offset (the configuration may be configured for a long DRX cycle, [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang as modified by Sha teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), wherein the first MAC CE is a MAC CE used for the specific DRX configuration (In some embodiments, the network device 120 may transmit the configuration to the terminal device 110 via a MAC CE, [0085]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches a terminal (device of Fig. 10 executing method of Fig. 6), comprising: a processor (processor 1010) and a memory (memory 1020) storing one or more computer programs (prog 1030) therein, wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more computer programs, is caused to:
receive a specific DRX configuration (the terminal device 110 receives, from the network device 120, a configuration of DRX cycle, [0150]), wherein the specific DRX configuration corresponds to a parameter configuration with a non-integer cycle the configuration may indicate a length of DRX cycle, a start offset for DRX cycle and a slot offset for DRX cycle. In these embodiments, the length of DRX cycle is a non-integer value, [0150]).
However, Wang does not clearly teach wherein receiving the specific DRX configuration comprises: receiving a plurality of sets of DRX configuration, wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprise the specific DRX configuration; wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprise: indication information of the specific DRX configuration; wherein the indication information indicates one or more of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations corresponding to the parameter configuration with the non-integer cycle, or type information of each of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations, wherein the type information comprises an integer cycle type or a non-integer cycle type.
In an analogous art, Sha teaches wherein receiving the specific DRX configuration comprises:
receiving a plurality of sets of DRX configuration (UE side receives the configuration information, [0053]; the configuration information includes a plurality of sets of DRX configurations, [0040]), wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprise the specific DRX configuration (The base station configures the following for the UE in a RRC connection mode: a start time of a PDCCH monitoring (i.e., PDCCH Monitoring Start Time), an end time of a PDCCH monitoring (i.e., PDCCH Monitoring End Time), and a DRX cycle length, [0084]);
wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprise:
indication information of the specific DRX configuration (UE needs to monitor the PDCCH within the specified time interval. In addition, the UE does not need to monitor the PDCCH or monitors the PDCCH according to a second PDCCH search space (with a larger PDCCH monitoring cycle) during the non-specified time interval, [0084]), wherein the indication information indicates one or more of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations corresponding to the parameter configuration with the non-integer cycle (the plurality of sets of DRX configurations may also be used for DRX configurations of non-integer cycles. For example, the traffic arrival start time is 0hh0mm0ss0 ms, the traffic arrival end time is 0hh0mm0ss1ms, the traffic cycle is 60 fps (=16.667 ms), [0126]), or
type information of each of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations, wherein the type information comprises an integer cycle type or a non-integer cycle type.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the DRX configuration of Wang with the DRX configuration of Sha to provides a method wherein monitoring flexibility is improved, and energy conservation can be achieved for terminals with uncertain data packet transmission occasions or large-cycle traffic, and traffic cycles being not integer multiples of 10240 ms as suggested, Sha [0032].
Regarding claim 9, Wang as modified by Sha teaches the terminal according to claim 8, wherein the specific DRX configuration corresponds to a time jitter parameter configuration (the terminal device 110 may determine a starting time of DRX cycle based on the determined integer, [0057]).
Regarding claim 13, Wang as modified by Sha teaches the terminal according to claim 8, wherein each of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprises at least one of following parameters: a DRX on duration timer (drx-onDurationTimer); a DRX inactivity timer (drx-InactivityTimer); a downlink DRX retransmission timer (drx-RetransmissionTimerDL); an uplink DRX retransmission timer (drx-RetransmissionTimerUL); a long DRX cycle; a short DRX cycle; a long DRX cycle offset; or a short DRX cycle offset (the configuration may be configured for a long DRX cycle, [0054]).
Regarding claim 14, Wang teaches a network element device (Device of Fig. 10 executing method of Fig. 3A), comprising: a processor (processor 1010) and a memory (memory 1020) storing one or more computer programs therein (prog 1030), wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more computer programs, is caused to:
transmit a specific DRX configuration (the network device 120 transmits 301, to the terminal device 110, a configuration of DRX cycle, [0054]), wherein the specific DRX configuration corresponds to a parameter configuration with a non-integer cycle (the configuration may indicate at least one of the following: a length of DRX cycle, a start offset for DRX cycle, and a slot offset for DRX cycle. The length of DRX cycle is a non-integer value, [0055]).
However, Wang does not clearly teach wherein receiving the specific DRX configuration comprises: receiving a plurality of sets of DRX configuration, wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprise the specific DRX configuration; wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprise: indication information of the specific DRX configuration; wherein the indication information indicates one or more of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations corresponding to the parameter configuration with the non-integer cycle, or type information of each of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations, wherein the type information comprises an integer cycle type or a non-integer cycle type.
In an analogous art, Sha teaches wherein receiving the specific DRX configuration comprises:
receiving a plurality of sets of DRX configuration (UE side receives the configuration information, [0053]; the configuration information includes a plurality of sets of DRX configurations, [0040]), wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprise the specific DRX configuration (The base station configures the following for the UE in a RRC connection mode: a start time of a PDCCH monitoring (i.e., PDCCH Monitoring Start Time), an end time of a PDCCH monitoring (i.e., PDCCH Monitoring End Time), and a DRX cycle length, [0084]);
wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprise:
indication information of the specific DRX configuration (UE needs to monitor the PDCCH within the specified time interval. In addition, the UE does not need to monitor the PDCCH or monitors the PDCCH according to a second PDCCH search space (with a larger PDCCH monitoring cycle) during the non-specified time interval, [0084]), wherein the indication information indicates one or more of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations corresponding to the parameter configuration with the non-integer cycle (the plurality of sets of DRX configurations may also be used for DRX configurations of non-integer cycles. For example, the traffic arrival start time is 0hh0mm0ss0 ms, the traffic arrival end time is 0hh0mm0ss1ms, the traffic cycle is 60 fps (=16.667 ms), [0126]), or
type information of each of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations, wherein the type information comprises an integer cycle type or a non-integer cycle type.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the DRX configuration of Wang with the DRX configuration of Sha to provides a method wherein monitoring flexibility is improved, and energy conservation can be achieved for terminals with uncertain data packet transmission occasions or large-cycle traffic, and traffic cycles being not integer multiples of 10240 ms as suggested, Sha [0032].
Regarding claim 18, Wang as modified by Sha teaches the network element device according to claim 45, wherein each of the plurality of sets of DRX configurations comprises at least one of following parameters: a DRX on duration timer (drx-onDurationTimer); a DRX inactivity timer (drx-InactivityTimer); a downlink DRX retransmission timer (drx-RetransmissionTimerDL); an uplink DRX retransmission timer (drx-RetransmissionTimerUL); a long DRX cycle; a short DRX cycle; a long DRX cycle offset; or a short DRX cycle offset (the configuration may be configured for a long DRX cycle, [0054]).
Regarding claim 19, Wang as modified by Sha teaches the network element device according to claim 14, wherein the processor, when loading and running the one or more computer programs, is further caused to: transmit a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), wherein the first MAC CE is a MAC CE used for the specific DRX configuration (In some embodiments, the network device 120 may transmit the configuration to the terminal device 110 via a MAC CE, [0085]).
Regarding claim 20, Wang as modified by Sha teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing one or more computer programs therein, wherein the one or more computer programs, when loaded and run by a processor, cause the processor to perform the DRX configuration method as defined in claim 1 (The program 1030 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 1010, enable the device 1000 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure, [0194]).
Regarding claim 21, Wang as modified by Sha teaches method according to claim 7. Shar further teaches wherein the first MAC CE is a MAC CE used for the specific DRX configuration corresponding to an index of a DRX configuration, or a MAC CE used for the specific DRX configuration in a DRX group (The first specified position comprises a radio frame, a subframe, and/or a slot of the first transmission of a radio resource control (RRC) message or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) including configuration information, or the first specified position comprises a specified radio frame, subframe, and/or slot, Sha [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the DRX configuration of Wang with the DRX configuration of Sha to provides a method wherein monitoring flexibility is improved, and energy conservation can be achieved for terminals with uncertain data packet transmission occasions or large-cycle traffic, and traffic cycles being not integer multiples of 10240 ms as suggested, Sha [0032].
Regarding claim 22, Wang as modified by Sha teaches method according to claim 7. Sha further teaches wherein the first MAC CE is a MAC CE used for the specific DRX configuration in a terminal, or a MAC CE used for the specific DRX configuration in each DRX group (The first specified position comprises a radio frame, a subframe, and/or a slot of the first transmission of a radio resource control (RRC) message or a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) including configuration information, or the first specified position comprises a specified radio frame, subframe, and/or slot, Sha [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the DRX configuration of Wang with the DRX configuration of Sha to provides a method wherein monitoring flexibility is improved, and energy conservation can be achieved for terminals with uncertain data packet transmission occasions or large-cycle traffic, and traffic cycles being not integer multiples of 10240 ms as suggested, Sha [0032].
Regarding claim 25, Wang as modified by Sha teaches method according to claim 7, further comprising: using a short DRX cycle for the specific DRX configuration and/or starting a short DRX cycle timer for the specific DRX configuration in response to receiving the first MAC CE and the short DRX cycle being configured; or using a long DRX cycle for the specific DRX configuration and/or starting a long DRX cycle timer for the specific DRX configuration in response to receiving the first MAC CE and the long DRX cycle being configured (For example, for a short DRX cycle, the terminal device 110 may determine the candidate set of starting times based on equation, Wang [0097]).
Claims 5, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Sha and further in view of Liu et al. (US 20210176729 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Wang as modified by Sha teaches the method according to claim 3.
However, Wang and Sha do not clearly teach wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations belong to a same DRX group or different DRX groups.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations belong to a same DRX group or different DRX groups (The first terminal device determines the group number of the first terminal device based on a DRX cycle of the first terminal device and the mapping relationship between a group number and a DRX cycle, [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the DRX configuration of Wang and Sha with the DRX grouping of Liu to provides a terminal device grouping method, a related apparatus, and a system, to reduce power consumption of a terminal device as suggested, Liu [0005].
Regarding claim 12, Wang as modified by Sha teaches the terminal according to claim 10.
However, Wang and Sha do not clearly teach wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations belong to a same DRX group or different DRX groups.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations belong to a same DRX group or different DRX groups (The first terminal device determines the group number of the first terminal device based on a DRX cycle of the first terminal device and the mapping relationship between a group number and a DRX cycle, [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the DRX configuration of Wang and Sha with the DRX grouping of Liu to provides a terminal device grouping method, a related apparatus, and a system, to reduce power consumption of a terminal device as suggested, Liu [0005].
Regarding claim 17, Wang as modified by Sha teaches the network element device according to claim 15.
However, Wang and Sha not clearly teach wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations belong to a same DRX group or different DRX groups.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches wherein the plurality of sets of DRX configurations belong to a same DRX group or different DRX groups (The first terminal device determines the group number of the first terminal device based on a DRX cycle of the first terminal device and the mapping relationship between a group number and a DRX cycle, [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the DRX configuration of Wang and Sha with the DRX grouping of Liu to provides a terminal device grouping method, a related apparatus, and a system, to reduce power consumption of a terminal device as suggested, Liu [0005].
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Sha and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 20210051698 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Wang as modified by Sha teaches the method according to claim 7.
However, Wang and Sha do not teach further comprising: stopping a timer for the specific DRX configuration in response to receiving the first MAC CE.
In an analogous art, Tsai teaches stopping a timer for the specific DRX configuration in response to receiving the first MAC CE (The specific timer may be stopped when one or more than one of the followings happens: 1) when the UE does not receive the WUS on the WUS occasion; 2) when the UE receives the WUS on WUS occasion and the WUS indicates the UE not to wake up (e.g., ask the UE to go to sleep); 3) when the UE receives (Long) DRX command MAC CE, 0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the DRX configuration of Wang and Sha with the DRX configuration of Tsai to provides a terminal wherein enhancements for dynamically adapting PDCCH monitoring to reduce PDCCH monitoring on a specific serving cell(s) or a specific cell group may be beneficial for power saving as suggested, Tsai [0020].
Regarding claim 24, Wang as modified by Sha teaches the method according to claim 7.
However, Wang and Sha do not teach further comprising: stopping a short DRX cycle timer for the specific DRX configuration and/or using a long DRX cycle for the specific DRX configuration in response to receiving the first MAC CE and the first MAC CE being a first long DRX command MAC CE.
In an analogous art, Tsai teaches stopping a short DRX cycle timer for the specific DRX configuration and/or using a long DRX cycle for the specific DRX configuration in response to receiving the first MAC CE and the first MAC CE being a first long DRX command MAC CE (The type of DRX cycle may be short DRX cycle and/or long DRX cycle. Preferably, when the type of DRX cycle is changed (e.g., when receiving the DRX command MAC CE), the UE may need to change the status of dormant behavior (e.g., stop PDCCH monitoring) of the specific cell group., [0086]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the DRX configuration of Wang and Sha with the DRX configuration of Tsai to provides a terminal wherein enhancements for dynamically adapting PDCCH monitoring to reduce PDCCH monitoring on a specific serving cell(s) or a specific cell group may be beneficial for power saving as suggested, Tsai [0020].
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Sha and further in view of Islam et al. (US 20200037396 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Wang as modified by Sha teaches the method according to claim 7.
However, Wang and Sha do not teach wherein the first MAC CE comprises at least one of the following pieces of information: a logical channel (LC) identify (ID) of the first MAC CE; a DRX group ID; a DRX configuration index; or a DRX type ID.
In an analogous art, Islam teaches wherein the first MAC CE comprises at least one of the following pieces of information: a logical channel (LC) identify (ID) of the first MAC CE; a DRX group ID; a DRX configuration index; or a DRX type ID (A new MAC CE may be introduced for DRX parameters reconfiguration, which is identified by a MAC PDU subheader with a dedicated LCID (Logical Channel Group ID), [0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the DRX configuration of Wang and Sha with the DRX configuration of Islam to provides a terminal to improve UE power consumption as suggested, Islam [0022].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu et al. (US 20210059004 A1): Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communications are described. A user equipment (UE) of a group of UEs may receive, from a group member of the group of UEs, traffic information including a transmission schedule associated with traffic of the group member UE. The UE may determine a discontinuous reception configuration for the group of UEs based at least in part on the transmission schedule. The discontinuous reception configuration may include a discontinuous reception schedule for the group of UEs. The UE may transmit, to the group of UEs, the discontinuous reception configuration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641