DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to application communication filed on 7/4/2024.
2. Claims 1-18 are pending in the case.
3. Claims 1 and 10 are independent claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12086393 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application recite every element of the patented claims and therefor, anticipate the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanche et al., U.S. Published Application No. 20150319554 A1 in view of Youn et al. (hereinafter “Youn”), U.S. Published Application No. 20160165037 A1.
Independent Claim 1:
Blanche teaches An electronic device configured to communicate using an avatar in a virtual space, the electronic device comprising: memory storing executable instructions; (e.g., memory of device as shown in Figure 7)
and at least one processor electrically connected with the memory and configured to access the memory to execute the instructions and cause the electronic device to perform operations comprising: (e.g., memory and processor of device as shown in Figure 7)
controlling a display to display a first avatar corresponding to a user of the electronic device in a virtual space, (e.g., displaying virtual representation of the body 310 of the user par. 55; The output device 214 may display a graphical representation 316 of an area, such as a graphical representation 316 of the area around and including a body 310 of the user. In one or more implementations, the graphical representation 316 may be captured by the front-facing image capture device 318, and/or the graphical representation 316 may be a virtual representation of the body 310 of the user, such as a generated and/or retrieved graphical representation 316 of the body 310 of the user. representation 316 may be a virtual representation of the body 310 of the user, such as a generated and/or retrieved graphical representation 316 of the body 310 of the user.)
wherein the first avatar configured to display at least one peripheral electronic device GUI resource; (e.g., pairable devices that are worn by the virtual representation of a user as shown in Figure 3 par. 56; The graphical representation 316 may include depictions 304A-F of one or more pairable devices, such as pairable devices that are worn by, and/or proximal to, the user. For explanatory purposes, in FIG. 3 the depiction 304A corresponds to smart shoe devices, the depiction 304B corresponds to a smart phone device, the depiction 304C corresponds to a smart monitor device, the depiction 304D corresponds to a smart glasses device, the depiction 304E corresponds to a smart clothing device, and the depiction 304F corresponds to a smart watch device.)
controlling the display to display a peripheral electronic device selecting GUI including at least one peripheral electronic device capable of establishing a communication connection with the electronic device; (e.g., displaying a list of services including pairing the pairable device with another pairable device par. 57; The graphical representation 316 may further include a list of services 312 that may be displayed on the graphical representation 316 proximal to the depiction 304F of the corresponding pairable device. In one or more implementations, the electronic device 102 may display the list of services 312 in response to a selection of the pairable device corresponding to the depiction 304F. As shown in FIG. 3, in one or more implementations the list of services 312 may include connecting and/or pairing with the pairable device, pairing the pairable device with another pairable device, sharing the capabilities of the pairable device, display the available services provided by the pairable device, and/or input information about the pairable device, such as by a user interacting with the electronic device 102.)
and based on the selected peripheral electronic device being connected with the electronic device, controlling the display to display at least one function GUI resource capable of executing or stopping a specified function provided by the selected peripheral electronic device in the virtual space. (e.g., displaying available services such as pairing with the device or with another device. Examiner considers pairing with another device to be example of stopping pairing function with the currently paired device par. 57; As shown in FIG. 3, in one or more implementations the list of services 312 may include connecting and/or pairing with the pairable device, pairing the pairable device with another pairable device)
Blanche fails to expressly teach based on receiving an input selecting a peripheral electronic device using the peripheral electronic device selecting GUI, controlling the display to display a peripheral electronic device GUI resource corresponding to the selected peripheral electronic device at a corresponding first avatar position;
However, Youn teaches based on receiving an input selecting a peripheral electronic device using the peripheral electronic device selecting GUI, controlling the display to display a peripheral electronic device GUI resource corresponding to the selected peripheral electronic device at a corresponding first avatar position; (e.g., dragging device from a list to human icon position see Figure 5A; par. 202; Here, the user may apply an input 540 for dragging one 521 of icons 521, 522, 523, 524, 525, 526 corresponding to a plurality of sensors to one 514 of icons 510, 512, 514 corresponding to the sensed wearable devices. For an embodiment, the user may apply an input 540 for dragging an icon 512 corresponding to the GPS sensor to an icon 514 corresponding to the smart watch.)
and based on the selected peripheral electronic device being connected with the electronic device, controlling the display to display at least one function GUI resource capable of executing or stopping a specified function provided by the selected peripheral electronic device in the virtual space. (e.g., activating or deactivating GPS sensor function par. 203; Accordingly, a control signal for activating the GPS sensor provided in the smart watch may be transmitted to the smart watch. Here, a pop-up window 550 for indicating that the GPS sensor of the smart watch is activated may be displayed. Par. 204; Furthermore, a control signal for deactivating the GPS sensor provided in the smart glasses may be transmitted to the smart glasses which is a sensed wearable device other than the smart watch. Similarly, a control signal for deactivating the GPS sensor provided in the smart headset to the smart headset.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display of virtual representation and list of services as taught by Blanche to include selectable devices to drag to a position on the human representation as taught by Youn, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide predictable and expected results (e.g., intuitively providing desired service as the desired location relative to the human body).
Claim 2 depends on claim 1:
Blanche teaches wherein the at least one function GUI resource includes a GUI resource capable of displaying the information obtained from the peripheral electronic device in the virtual space. (e.g., displaying available services obtained from pairable device par. 57; display the available services provided by the pairable device, and/or input information about the pairable device, such as by a user interacting with the electronic device 102)
Claim 9 depends on claim 1:
Blanche teaches wherein the corresponding first avatar position corresponds to a body part at which the peripheral electronic device is worn by the user. (e.g., virtual representation wearing devices as shown in Figure 3, par. 56; The graphical representation 316 may include depictions 304A-F of one or more pairable devices, such as pairable devices that are worn by, and/or proximal to, the user.)
Independent Claim 10:
Claim 10 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 10.
Claim 11 depends on claim 10:
Claim 11 is substantially encompassed in claim 2, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 2 to reject claim 11.
Claim 18 depends on claim 10:
Claim 18 is substantially encompassed in claim 9, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 9 to reject claim 18.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and proper terminal disclaimer is submitted.
Conclusion
/HENRY ORR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172