DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Brace (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0167703).
Regarding claim 1, Brace discloses (Figs.) an articulating bridge system comprising: a bridge body (300) comprising a mounting point (320); a first panoramic mounting arm (304) comprising a mounting plate (flat part at 402); a second panoramic mounting arm (302) comprising a mounting plate (flat part at 366); a first hinge (at 312) rotatably coupling the bridge body to the first panoramic mounting arm; and a second hinge (at 308) rotatably coupling the bridge body to the second panoramic mounting arm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lasky (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0025567) in view of Moody et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2004/0238724).
Regarding claim 2, Lasky discloses (Figs.) a panoramic night vision system comprising: a first tube subassembly (104a) comprising a first tube, the first tube subassembly having an outer side; a second tube subassembly (104b) comprising a third tube, the second tube subassembly having an outer side; an articulating bridge system comprising: a bridge body (100) comprising a mounting point (113); a first arm (130) comprising a mounting plate (at 135) coupled to the first tube subassembly; a second arm (140) comprising a mounting plate (at 145) coupled to the second tube subassembly; a first hinge (134) rotatably coupling the bridge body to the first arm and configured to rotate the first tube subassembly from its outer side; and a second hinge (144) rotatably coupling the bridge body to the second arm and configured to rotate the second tube subassembly from its outer side. Lasky does not disclose the first tube subassembly having a second tube and the second tube subassembly having a fourth tube. Lasky further discloses ([0073]) using other monoculars. Moody et al. teach (Figs.) a monocular subassembly having first and second tubes or third and fourth tubes. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing of the invention to provide such monoculars in the apparatus of Lasky in view of Moody et al. to obtain a wider view as known and predictable.
Double Patenting
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,032,152. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘152 claim is simply a broader version (inclusive of) of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 2, the ‘152 patent claims (claim 1) a panoramic night vision system comprising: a first tube subassembly (“first tube subassembly”) comprising a first tube (“first tube”) and a second tube (“second tube”), the first tube subassembly having an outer side (“outer side”); a second tube subassembly (“second tube subassembly”) comprising a third tube (“third tube”) and a fourth tube (“fourth tube”), the second tube subassembly having an outer side (“outer side”); an articulating bridge system (“articulating bridge system”) comprising: a bridge body (“bridge body”) comprising a mounting point (“mounting point”); a first arm (“first arm”) comprising a mounting plate (“mounting plate”) coupled to the first tube subassembly; a second arm (“second arm”) comprising a mounting plate (“mounting plate”) coupled to the second tube subassembly; a first hinge (“first hinge”) rotatably coupling (“rotatably coupling”) the bridge body to the first arm and configured to rotate (“rotate”) the first tube subassembly from its outer side (“its outer side”); and a second hinge (“second hinge”) rotatably coupling (“rotatably coupling”) the bridge body to the second arm and configured to rotate (“rotate”) the second tube subassembly from its outer side (“its outer side”).
Conclusion
/THANH LUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878