DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
.
Claim (s) 2-6,8, 11-12,14 -19, 22-29,32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (CN107104293B; see English Translation).
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses a partitioned cable joint (Fig.1) comprising: a plurality of joint elements (211), each joint element having a first mounting region having a shape configured to accept one petal of superconducting cable ( bottom part of top conductor 14) and a second mounting region (bottom part of 211) having a shape configured to accept one petal of a second conductor (top part of 14), the plurality of joint elements in combination defining a joint length (see combined 211); and dielectric material (see 212) positioned on respective ones of the plurality of joint elements such that the dielectric material is disposed between the plurality of joint elements (212 is disposed between each 211) and the superconducting cable when the superconducting cable is mounted on the first mounting region (see Fig.1).
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses dielectric material (212) disposed between the plurality of joint elements (211) to electrically isolate each joint element from others of the plurality of joint elements (212 isolates each 211).
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses a malleable metal (see solder 22 in Fig.1) disposed in the first mounting region (top surface of 211) of each of the plurality of joint elements such that in response to the superconducting cable (14) being disposed in the first mounting region, the malleable metal deforms to form a continuous interface layer between the mounting surface of the first mounting region and a surface of the superconducting cable ( solder is deformable to conform to 14 and 211)..
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses means (see means 231 and 232) for holding the superconducting cable in the first mounting region and for holding the second conductor in the second mounting region. (231 and 232 clamp together the two superconductors 14).
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses means for holding the superconducting cable in the first mounting region and for holding the second conductor in the second mounting region comprises a clamp (see 231 and 232 forming a clamp).
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses wherein the plurality of joint elements have a substantially block shape (see 211 with a block shape).
Regarding claim 11, Huang discloses wherein the plurality of joint elements have a double saddle shape (see 212 having a double saddle shape).
Regarding claim 12, Huang discloses partitioned cable joint, comprising: a plurality of spaced apart joint elements (see 212), each of the plurality of spaced apart joint elements comprising a first mounting region and a second mounting region (see top and bottom surfaces of 212); and a compression structure (231 and 232) comprising a clamp (231 and 232 form a clamp to clamp 14s toward 212) configured to compress a first conductor into the first mounting region and a second conductor into the second mounting region (see Fig.1).
Regarding claim 14, Huang discloses a malleable metal between the first conductor and at least one joint element (see solder 22 formed between 14 and 212).
Regarding claim 15, Huang discloses wherein the first mounting region is shaped to conform to a shape of the first conductor and the second mounting region is shaped to conform to a shape of the second conductor (see saddle shape of top surface of 211 and bottom surface of 211).
Regarding claim 16, Huang discloses wherein the plurality of spaced apart joint elements have a substantially block shape (see block shape of 212).
Regarding claim 17, Huang discloses wherein each of at least two of the plurality of spaced apart joint elements has a double saddle shape (see double saddle shape of 212).
Regarding claim 18, Huang discloses wherein the clamp comprises an upper cover and a lower cover, each of the upper and lower covers comprising a through hole for receiving a respective one of the first and second conductors (see 231 and 232 each having a through hole to receive top 14 and bottom 14).
Regarding claim 19, Huang discloses a partitioned cable joint (Fig.1), comprising: a plurality of spaced apart joint elements (212), each of the plurality of spaced apart joint elements comprising a first mounting region (top surface of 212) and a second mounting region (bottom surface of 21) ;a compression structure (231 and 232) comprising a clamp configured to compress a first conductor into the first mounting region and a second conductor into the second mounting region (see 231 and 232 used to clamp 14 towards 211); and a malleable metal ( 22) between the first conductor and at least one joint element.
Regarding claim 22, Huang disclose a s method of manufacturing a partitioned cable joint (Fig.1), the method comprising: forming a plurality of joint elements (211), wherein each joint element comprises a first mounting region and a second mounting region (see top and bottom surfaces of 211) and forming each joint element of the plurality of joint elements comprises: configuring the first mounting region to accept one petal of a superconducting cable (bottom surface of 14) , and configuring the second mounting region to accept one petal of a second conductor (top surface of 14) ; and positioning a dielectric material (212) on respective ones of the plurality of joint elements (211).
Regarding claim 23, Huang discloses mounting the superconducting cable on the first mounting region such that the dielectric material is disposed between the plurality of joint elements and the superconducting material (see 212 is between each 211 and also between both 14s).
Regarding claim 24, Huang discloses a second dielectric material between the plurality of joint elements to electrically isolate each joint element from others of the plurality of joint elements ( see a plurality of 212 that electrical isolate 211).
Regarding claim 25, Huang disclose disposing a malleable metal (22) in the first mounting region of each of the plurality of joint elements (top surface of 211) such that, when the superconducting cable (14) is mounted in the first mounting region, the malleable metal deforms to form a continuous interface layer between the mounting surface of the first mounting region and a surface of the superconducting layer (see continues layer 22 formed between 14 and 211).
Regarding claim 26, Huang discloses securing the superconducting cable in the first mounting region; and securing the second conductor in the second mounting region (see Fig.1 and Fig.2).
Regarding claim 27, Huang discloses wherein the means for securing the superconducting cable in the first mounting region and for securing the second conductor in the second mounting region comprises a clamp (see 231 and 232 forming a clamp ; Fig.1-2).
Regarding claim 29, Huang discloses wherein the forming each joint element comprises forming each joint element to have a substantially block shape (see 211;Fig.1).
Regarding claim 32, Huang discloses wherein forming each joint element further comprises forming each joint element to have a double saddle shape (see top and bottom surface of 211 forming a saddle shape).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9-10,13,20-21, 28, and 30-31 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 7, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein the plurality of joint elements have a substantially diamond shape " in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein the dielectric material is disposed about the plurality of joint elements to form an opening having a substantially diamond shape " in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 2 and 8.
Regarding claim 10, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein the dielectric material is disposed about the plurality of joint elements to form an opening having one of a substantially rectangular shape, a substantially square shape, a substantially oval shape, or a substantially multi-faceted shape" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 2 and 8.
Regarding claim 13, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein the first conductor comprises a first partitioned, twisted high temperature superconducting cable and the second conductor comprises a second partitioned, twisted high temperature superconducting cable and each of the plurality of spaced apart joint elements electrically connects a single petal of the first partitioned, twisted high temperature superconducting cable to a single petal of the second partitioned, twisted high temperature superconducting cable" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 12 .
Regarding claim 20-21, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein the first conductor comprises a first partitioned, twisted high temperature superconducting cable and the second conductor comprises a comprises a second partitioned, twisted high temperature superconducting cable and each of the plurality of spaced apart joint elements electrically connects a single petal of the first partitioned, twisted high temperature superconducting cable to a single petal of the second partitioned, twisted high temperature superconducting cable " in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 19.
Regarding claim 28, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein the forming each joint element comprises forming each joint element to have a substantially diamond shape" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 22.
Regarding claim 30, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein positioning the dielectric material further comprises forming an opening having a substantially diamond shape. " in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 22 and 29.
Regarding claim 31, The prior art of record neither anticipates norrenders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole eithertaken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach" wherein positioning the dielectric material further comprises forming an opening having one of a substantially rectangular shape, a substantially square shape, a substantially oval shape, or a substantially multi-faceted shape" in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim 22.
Therefore, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the instantapplication claimed invention as a whole either taken alone or in combination.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETE LEE whose telephone number is (571) 270-5921. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (2nd & 4th Friday Off). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Timothy Dole can be reached at (571) 272-2229 The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/PETE T LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847