DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites “the bend” in line 5, it is suggested be consistent with the previously cited of “a first bend” in line 3.
Claim 10 recites “the bend” in line 2, it is suggested be consistent with the previously cited of “a first bend” in line 3 of claim 9.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-4 and 18 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, 19, 8 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,048,114 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the element nest of the instant application is cited in claims 1, 7, 19, 8 and 18 of the U.S. Patent No. US 12,048,114. Claim 1 of the instant application is a sub-combination which is clearly cited in the element supply which is a combination in the US patent, see the annotated chart below.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. US 12,048,114 B2
1. An air conditioned enclosure, the air conditioned enclosure comprising: an electronics enclosure that includes an internal electronics area and an air-conditioner opening into the internal electronics area; and an air conditioner that includes: an ambient-exchange housing that defines an exchange cavity that is open for air exchange to ambient, the exchange cavity including a first heat exchanger; a cooling enclosure, including a mating surface and first walls that define a cooling cavity, the cooling cavity including a second heat exchanger, and the mating surface being mounted to the electronics enclosure to provide a sealed perimeter around the air-condition opening with cooling cavity aligned for air exchange with the internal electronics area; the cooling enclosure defining a fluid connection between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity, the fluid connection including a fluid trap that extends from the second heat exchanger along a trap height to capture and retain condensate from the second heat exchanger as a barrier to ingress from the exchange cavity into the cooling cavity.
1. An air conditioner for solid particle ingress protection and liquid ingress protection for an enclosure having an interior volume accessible via an inlet and an outlet, the air conditioner comprising: a housing that partly defines an ambient air exchange cavity; a tub that further defines the ambient air exchange cavity and partly defines a cooling cavity, the tub supporting: a first heat exchanger disposed within the ambient air exchange cavity; a first fan to move air through the ambient air exchange cavity and across the first heat exchanger; and a second heat exchanger and a second fan disposed within the cooling cavity, the second heat exchanger included in a coolant flow loop with the first heat exchanger and the second fan moves air through the cooling cavity, across the second heat exchanger, and into the inlet of the enclosure, the second heat exchanger is located above the second fan; and a condensed water coil defining a fluid trap provided below the second heat exchanger to capture and retain condensate from the second heat exchanger and direct the condensate into the ambient air exchange cavity for disposal.
2. The air conditioner of claim 1, wherein, during operation of the air conditioner, the captured and retained condensate provides a seal between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity.
7. The air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the trap provides a seal between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity.
3. The air conditioner of claim 2, wherein the trap height is greater than an altered level of condensate within the fluid trap created by a pressure differential during a spray down procedure.
19. The air conditioner of claim 18, further comprising a fan disposed within the cooling cavity capable of generating a pressure differential therein; the fluid trap having a height greater than an altered level of condensate within the fluid trap created by the pressure differential during a spray down procedure in which the cooling cavity experiences a negative pressure change.
4. The air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the trap height is at least eight inches.
8. The air conditioner of claim 7, wherein the trap has a trap height of at least eight inches.
18. An air conditioner for attachment to an enclosure, the air conditioner comprising: an ambient air exchange cavity with a first heat exchanger; a cooling cavity adjacent the ambient air exchange cavity, the cooling cavity including a second heat exchanger in fluid communication with the first heat exchanger; and a fluid drain having a U-shaped fluid trap to retain condensate during a pressure differential between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity, to impede the passage of solid particles between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity.
18. An air conditioner for attachment to an enclosure, the air conditioner comprising: an ambient air exchange cavity with a first heat exchanger; a cooling cavity adjacent the ambient air exchange cavity with a second heat exchanger in fluid communication with the first heat exchanger; and a fluid drain disposed below the second heat exchanger that captures condensate formed by the second heat exchanger and disposes of the condensate into the ambient air exchange cavity; wherein the fluid drain has a U-shaped fluid trap that retains the captured condensate within the fluid trap to mitigate the passage of solid particles from the ambient air exchange cavity into the cooling cavity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1, 4-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Neuenfeldt et al. (US 5036677) in view of Hagiwara (US 6437851).
In regards to claim 1, Neuenfeldt discloses an air conditioned enclosure (cabinet box 11; Figs. 1-8), the air conditioned enclosure (11) comprising: an electronics enclosure (electronic controls enclosure 28; Fig. 5) that includes an internal electronics area (area around heat load structure 29; Fig. 5) and an air-conditioner opening (cooled air outlet as shown in Fig. 5) into the internal electronics area (Fig. 5); and an air conditioner (conditioner 10) that includes: an ambient-exchange housing (housing with ambient inlet and outlets 23 and 24) that defines an exchange cavity (cavity inside lower compartment 35) that is open (via ambient inlet and outlets 23 and 24) for air exchange to ambient (as can be seen in Fig. 5), the exchange cavity including a first heat exchanger (condenser 52); a cooling enclosure (enclosure in compartments 37 and 38), including a mating surface (see annotated Fig. below) and first walls (see annotated Fig. below) that define a cooling cavity (cavity in compartments 37, 38), the cooling cavity (37, 38) including a second heat exchanger (evaporator coil 39), and the mating surface being mounted to the electronics enclosure (28) to provide a sealed perimeter (col.5, lines 37-42) around the air-condition opening (opening at inlets and outlets 25, 26) with cooling cavity aligned for air exchange with the internal electronics area (area around heat load structure 29); the cooling enclosure (37/38) defining a fluid connection (connection of collection tray 47 and a condensate drain tube 48 extending downward and out of the load inlet compartment 37) between the ambient air exchange cavity (35) and the cooling cavity (37/38).
Neuenfeldt fails to explicitly teach the fluid connection including a fluid trap that extends from the second heat exchanger along a trap height to capture and retain condensate from the second heat exchanger as a barrier to ingress from the exchange cavity into the cooling cavity. Hagiwara teaches an air conditioning apparatus (Fig. 2) wherein the fluid connection including a fluid trap (a U-shaped trap 15) that extends from the second heat exchanger (cooler 7) along a trap height (height “h”; Fig. 2) to capture and retain condensate from the second heat exchanger (7) as a barrier to ingress from the exchange cavity into the cooling cavity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air conditioner of Neuenfeldt such that the fluid connection including a fluid trap that extends from the second heat exchanger along a trap height to capture and retain condensate from the second heat exchanger as a barrier to ingress from the exchange cavity into the cooling cavity as taught by Hagiwara in order to prevent outside air from entering from the piping downstream or outward of the drain (refer to col. 9, lines 54-57 of Hagiwara).
In regards to claim 4, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the trap height is at least eight inches.
Hagiwara does however teach a drain pipe 5 has a trap 15 in the form of a U-shaped portion of the pipe, which constitutes a water collector; a trap of the tube which can resist the pressure difference DELTA.P needs to contain such an amount of water that the height h of the balanced water surfaces is greater than DELTA.P/2, (Col.10, lines 2-8). Therefore, the trap height to alter the level of condensate within the fluid trap created by a pressure differential is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is preventing outside air from entering from the piping downstream or outward of the drain against the temperature control drainage discharged from the apparatus through the pipe (Col.9, lines 52-57). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the trap height altered level of condensate within the fluid trap created by a pressure differential were disclosed in the prior art by Hagiwara, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Neuenfeldt, by setting the trap height to be at least eight inches.
In regards to claim 5, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Neuenfeldt teaches wherein the second heat exchanger (39) is positioned within an upper portion (see Figs. 8-9) of the cooling cavity (37/38). Hagiwara further teaches the fluid trap (15; Fig. 2) extending below the second heat exchanger (cooler 7; col.2, lines 1-4 of Hagiwara).
In regards to claim 6, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 5. Further, Hagiwara teaches wherein an outlet (outlet of trap 15 at ho; Fig. 2) of a second portion (left side above lower bend of trap 15) of the fluid trap (15) is below an inlet (top inlet of the drain pipe 5; Fig. 2) of a first portion (right side above lower bend of trap 15) of the fluid trap (15).
In regards to claim 7, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 5. Further, Neuenfeldt teaches wherein a first tray (condensate collection tray 47; Fig. 9) is arranged below the second heat exchanger (39) to capture condensate from the second heat exchanger (refer to col.3, lines 31-34).
In regards to claim 8, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 7. Further, Hagiwara teaches wherein the first tray (corresponding to pan 4; Fig. 2) defines an inlet opening (top inlet opening to drain pipe 5; Fig. 2) to direct captured condensate from the first tray (4) into a first portion (right side above lower bend of trap 15) of the fluid trap (15) that extends along the trap height (h).
In regards to claim 12, Neuenfeldt discloses an air conditioned enclosure (cabinet box 11; Figs. 1-8), comprising: an ambient air exchange cavity (cavity inside lower compartment 35); a cooling cavity (cavity in compartments 37 and 38); a first heat exchanger (a condenser 52) within the ambient air exchange cavity (35); a second heat exchanger (evaporator 39) within the cooling cavity (37/38) and in a coolant flow loop (loop of compressor 53) with the first heat exchanger (52); but fails to explicitly teach a fluid trap extending downward from the second heat exchanger to an outlet of the fluid trap into the ambient air exchange cavity; the fluid trap defining a trap height that extends below the outlet to retain condensate from the second heat exchanger against a pressure difference between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity. Hagiwara teaches an air conditioning apparatus (Fig. 2) wherein a fluid trap (a U-shaped trap 15) extending downward from the second heat exchanger (corresponding to cooler 7) to an outlet (outlet of trap 15 at ho; Fig. 2) of the fluid trap (30) into the ambient air exchange cavity (cavity inside lower compartment 35 of Neuenfeldt); the fluid trap (30) defining a trap height (h) that extends below the outlet to retain condensate from the second heat exchanger (7) against a pressure difference between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity (corresponding to a pressure difference between the end points A and B of a U-tube).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air conditioner of Neuenfeldt to include a fluid trap extending downward from the second heat exchanger to an outlet of the fluid trap into the ambient air exchange cavity; the fluid trap defining a trap height that extends below the outlet to retain condensate from the second heat exchanger against a pressure difference between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity as taught by Hagiwara in order to prevent outside air from entering from the piping downstream or outward of the drain (refer to col. 9, lines 54-57).
Claims 2-3, 9-11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neuenfeldt et al. (US 5036677) in view of Hagiwara (US 6437851), further in view of Buckley (US 4918940).
In regards to claim 2, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein, during operation of the air conditioner, the captured and retained condensate provides a seal between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity.
Buckley further teaches air conditioning apparatus (Figs. 1-2) wherein, during operation of the air conditioner, the captured and retained condensate (condensate in trap 30) provides a seal (fluid seal is operatively maintained in trap 30; col.2, lines 66-67) between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity (from col.2, line 66 to col.3, lines 1-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air conditioner of Neuenfeldt such that during operation of the air conditioner, the captured and retained condensate provides a seal between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity as taught by Buckley, in order to prevent air flow through first pipework section 28, the height of legs 32, 34 providing a water seal of sufficient depth to ensure that the seal will not be broken under the operative air pressure which may be applied in the region of the drip tray.
In regards to claim 3, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 2, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the trap height is greater than an altered level of condensate within the fluid trap created by a pressure differential during a spray down procedure.
Hagiwara does however teach a drain pipe 5 has a trap 15 in the form of a U-shaped portion of the pipe, which constitutes a water collector; a trap of the tube which can resist the pressure difference DELTA.P needs to contain such an amount of water that the height h of the balanced water surfaces is greater than DELTA.P/2, (Col.10, lines 2-8). Therefore, the trap height to alter the level of condensate within the fluid trap created by a pressure differential is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is preventing outside air from entering from the piping downstream or outward of the drain against the temperature control drainage discharged from the apparatus through the pipe (Col.9, lines 52-57). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the trap height altered level of condensate within the fluid trap created by a pressure differential were disclosed in the prior art by Hagiwara, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Neuenfeldt, by setting the trap height to be greater than an altered level of condensate within the fluid trap created by a pressure differential during a spray down procedure.
In regards to claim 9, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the fluid trap includes: a first portion that is aligned to receive condensate from the second heat exchanger and extends downward to a first bend; and a second portion that is connected to the first portion by the first bend, the second portion extending upward from the bend to a trap outlet that fluidically connects the cooling cavity to the exchange cavity. Buckley further teaches air conditioning apparatus (Figs. 1-2) wherein the fluid trap (a U-shaped trap 30) includes: a first portion (a vertical down-leg 32) that is aligned to receive condensate (via tray 26) from the second heat exchanger (corresponding to cooler coil of air conditioning apparatus col.2, lines 30-37) and extends downward to a first bend (U shaped bend at trap 30); and a second portion (a vertical up-leg 34) that is connected to the first portion (32) by the first bend (Fig. 2), the second portion (34) extending upward from the bend to a trap outlet (open ended delivery spout 38) that fluidically connects the cooling cavity (cooling cavity 37/38 of Neuenfeldt) to the exchange cavity (exchange cavity 35 of Neuenfeldt).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air conditioner of Neuenfeldt such that the fluid trap includes: a first portion that is aligned to receive condensate from the second heat exchanger and extends downward to a first bend; and a second portion that is connected to the first portion by the first bend, the second portion extending upward from the bend to a trap outlet that fluidically connects the cooling cavity to the exchange cavity as taught by Buckley, in order to prevent air flow through first pipework section 28, the height of legs 32, 34 providing a water seal of sufficient depth to ensure that the seal will not be broken under the operative air pressure which may be applied in the region of the drip tray.
In regards to claim 10, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 9. Further, Buckley teaches wherein the trap height (height of leg 34) is defined by an upward extent of the second portion (34) above the bend (above U-shaped bend at trap 30).
In regards to claim 11, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 9. Further, Buckley teaches wherein the second portion (leg 34) of the fluid trap (30) includes a second bend (angled pipework section 36) that directs condensate from the cooling cavity downwardly toward the second tray (corresponding to tray 42).
In regards to claim 13, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 12. Further, Neuenfeldt teaches further comprising: a first tray (collection tray 47) disposed below the second heat exchanger (39) to capture condensate from the second heat exchanger (refer to col.3, lines 31-34); but fails to explicitly teach wherein the fluid trap includes: a first portion including an inlet and extending downward from the first tray; and a bend connecting the first portion to a second portion; the second portion extending upward from the bend to the outlet.
Buckley further teaches air conditioning apparatus (Figs. 1-2) wherein the fluid trap (U-shaped trap 30) includes: a first portion (a vertical down-leg 32) including an inlet (inlet at tray 26) and extending downward from the first tray (tray 26); and a bend (U shaped bend at trap 30) connecting the first portion (32) to a second portion (a vertical up-leg 34); the second portion (34) extending upward from the bend (bend at trap 30) to the outlet (open ended delivery spout 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air conditioner of Neuenfeldt such that fluid trap includes: a first portion including an inlet and extending downward from the first tray; and a bend connecting the first portion to a second portion; the second portion extending upward from the bend to the outlet as taught by Buckley, in order to prevent air flow through first pipework section 28, the height of legs 32, 34 providing a water seal of sufficient depth to ensure that the seal will not be broken under the operative air pressure which may be applied in the region of the drip tray.
In regards to claim 14, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 13, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the trap height is eight inches or greater.
Hagiwara does however teach a drain pipe 5 has a trap 15 in the form of a U-shaped portion of the pipe, which constitutes a water collector; a trap of the tube which can resist the pressure difference DELTA.P needs to contain such an amount of water that the height h of the balanced water surfaces is greater than DELTA.P/2, (Col.10, lines 2-8). Therefore, the trap height to alter the level of condensate within the fluid trap created by a pressure differential is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is preventing outside air from entering from the piping downstream or outward of the drain against the temperature control drainage discharged from the apparatus through the pipe (Col.9, lines 52-57). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the trap height altered level of condensate within the fluid trap created by a pressure differential were disclosed in the prior art by Hagiwara, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Neuenfeldt, by setting the trap height to be eight inches or greater.
In regards to claim 15, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 14. Further, Buckley teaches wherein the trap height (height of leg 34) is defined along the second portion (34) of the fluid trap (30), (as can be seen in Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 16, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 13, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the outlet is at a lower height than the inlet of the first portion of the fluid trap.
Hagiwara does however teach a drain pipe 5 has a trap 15 in the form of a U-shaped portion of the pipe, which constitutes a water collector; a trap of the tube which can resist the pressure difference DELTA.P needs to contain such an amount of water that the height h of the balanced water surfaces is greater than DELTA.P/2, (Col.10, lines 2-8). Therefore, the trap height to alter the level of condensate within the fluid trap created by a pressure differential is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is preventing outside air from entering from the piping downstream or outward of the drain against the temperature control drainage discharged from the apparatus through the pipe (Col.9, lines 52-57). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the trap height altered level of condensate within the fluid trap created by a pressure differential were disclosed in the prior art by Hagiwara, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Neuenfeldt, by setting the outlet to be at a lower height than the inlet of the first portion of the fluid trap.
In regards to claim 17, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 13. Further, Neuenfeldt teaches wherein the outlet (outlet at end of drain tube 48 in collection tray 58; Figs. 8-9) is positioned above a second tray (tray 58) within the ambient air exchange cavity (35), (as can be seen in Figs. 8-9).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neuenfeldt et al. (US 5036677) in view of Buckley (US 4918940).
In regards to claim 18, Neuenfeldt discloses an air conditioned (air conditioner in cabinet box 11; Figs. 1-8) for attachment to an enclosure (cabinet box 11), the air conditioner comprising: an ambient air exchange cavity (cavity inside lower compartment 35) with a first heat exchanger (condenser 52); a cooling cavity (cavity in compartments 37 and 38) adjacent (near) the ambient air exchange cavity (35), the cooling cavity (37/38) including a second heat exchanger (evaporator 39) in fluid communication with the first heat exchanger (52); and a fluid drain (drain system including collection tray 47 and a condensate drain tube 48), but fails to explicitly teach the drain having a U-shaped fluid trap to retain condensate during a pressure differential between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity, to impede the passage of solid particles between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity.
Buckley further teaches air conditioning apparatus (Figs. 1-2) wherein the fluid having a U-shaped fluid trap (U-shaped trap 30) to retain condensate during a pressure differential between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity, to impede the passage of solid particles (preventing air borne contamination) between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity (col.2, lines 66-68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air conditioner of Neuenfeldt such that the drain having a U-shaped fluid trap to retain condensate during a pressure differential between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity, to impede the passage of solid particles between the ambient air exchange cavity and the cooling cavity as taught by Buckley, in order to prevent air flow through first pipework section 28, the height of legs 32, 34 providing a water seal of sufficient depth to ensure that the seal will not be broken under the operative air pressure which may be applied in the region of the drip tray.
In regards to claim 19, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 18, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the fluid trap includes: a first portion including an inlet extending downward from the first tray; and a bend connecting the first portion to a second portion; the second portion extending upward from the bend to an outlet into the ambient air exchange cavity.
Buckley further teaches air conditioning apparatus (Figs. 1-2) wherein the fluid trap (U-shaped trap 30) includes: a first portion (a vertical down-leg 32) including an inlet (inlet at tray 26) and extending downward from the first tray (tray 26); and a bend (U shaped bend at trap 30) connecting the first portion (32) to a second portion (a vertical up-leg 34); the second portion (34) extending upward from the bend (bend at trap 30) to the outlet (open ended delivery spout 38) into the ambient air exchange cavity (cavity inside lower compartment 35 of Neuenfeldt).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the air conditioner of Neuenfeldt such that fluid trap includes: a first portion including an inlet and extending downward from the first tray; and a bend connecting the first portion to a second portion; the second portion extending upward from the bend to the outlet into the ambient air exchange cavity as taught by Buckley, in order to prevent air flow through first pipework section 28, the height of legs 32, 34 providing a water seal of sufficient depth to ensure that the seal will not be broken under the operative air pressure which may be applied in the region of the drip tray.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neuenfeldt et al. (US 5036677) in view of Buckley (US 4918940), further in view of Hagiwara (US 6437851).
In regards to claim 20, Neuenfeldt as modified meets the claim limitations as disclosed above in the rejection of claim 19, but fails to explicitly teach wherein defined along the second portion of the fluid trap is 8 inches or greater.
Hagiwara does however teach a drain pipe 5 has a trap 15 in the form of a U-shaped portion of the pipe, which constitutes a water collector; a trap of the tube which can resist the pressure difference DELTA.P needs to contain such an amount of water that the height h of the balanced water surfaces is greater than DELTA.P/2, (Col.10, lines 2-8). Therefore, the trap height to alter the level of condensate within the fluid trap created by a pressure differential is recognized as result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is preventing outside air from entering from the piping downstream or outward of the drain against the temperature control drainage discharged from the apparatus through the pipe (Col.9, lines 52-57). Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. the trap height altered level of condensate within the fluid trap created by a pressure differential were disclosed in the prior art by Hagiwara, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range or value by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify Neuenfeldt, by setting the second portion of the fluid trap is 8 inches or greater.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARTHA TADESSE whose telephone number is (571)272-0590. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30am-5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached on 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For
more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/M.T/
Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763