DETAILED ACTION
The office action is a response to an application filed on July 08, 2024, wherein claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims1, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastogi et al. (Rastogi hereafter) (US 20160142933 A1) Bhatia et al. (Bhatia hereafter) (US 20140189036 A1)
Regarding claim1 Rastogi teaches, A method performed by a network apparatus, the method comprising:
obtaining a list of radio bearers associated with plurality of user equipments (UEs) (data radio bearers of the active UEs) (Rastogi; [0018] ...the eNodeB scheduler in one example implementation calculates, for each cell and for all data radio bearers of the active UEs...[0020] ... the eNodeB scheduler has the DRBs of the active UEs in a given cell in order of the relative DRB priorities, UEs are selected for scheduling in the order of the weighted priority of their associated DRB regardless of whether the UE is a CA UE or a non-CA UE.... [0022] in FIG. 2 at block 202. This limit/percentage is derived by the eNodeB scheduler in each TTI based on the aggregate of GBR rates of all the admitted (non-zero pending data) DRBs in the system...as is shown by example at FIG. 1B the eNodeB scheduler can set different such limits per cell for the same period being scheduled)(See fig. 1A fig. 1B);
identifying a radio bearer group from the plurality of radio bearer groups based on a radio bearer having a highest priority (Prioritized DRBs for Cell A, (See fig. 1B)) and the information on the number of divisions for each radio bearer (each radio data bearer a set of tokens which the eNodeB calculates based on the bit rate associated with the data radio bearer.); and (Rastogi; [0020] the eNodeB scheduler assigns to each radio data bearer a set of tokens which the eNodeB calculates based on the bit rate associated with the data radio bearer. These tokens are refreshed periodically (such as once per 20 ms, more generally over a multiple of scheduling periods) or when the UE data bearer is scheduled. [0025] To ensure that the bit-rate quality of service (QoS) guarantees are met for a high bit-rate GBR data bearer for a CA UE, additional radio resources from the remaining radio resources (after serving the highest priority GBR data bearers) can be assigned to this data bearer in its other serving cells) (Fig. 1B).
performing resource allocation for at least one UE associated with the identified radio bearer group (Rastogi; [0034] This enables it to know at the start of its phase 2 allocations whether the GBR for the CA UE DRBs are fully satisfied from the phase 1 allocations or if any of those DRBs need to be considered again in the scheduler's phase 2 resource allocations)
{Examiner is construing that Fig 1B shows list of radio bearers associated with plurality of user equipments}
Rastogi fails to explicitly teach, classifying the list of radio bearers into a plurality of radio bearer groups based on information on a number of divisions possible in an uplink slot, for each radio bearer of the list of radio bearers associated with the plurality of UEs;
However, in the same field of endeavor Bhatia teaches, classifying the list of radio bearers into a plurality of radio bearer groups([0114] algorithm uses low and high watermark buffer occupancy thresholds .theta..sub.L,.theta..sub.H respectively to determine when to maintain or to suspend data transfers) based on information on a number of divisions possible in an uplink slot (unconstrained data transfers) ([0105] ... particular user to schedule in this time slot. It does so in the measurement phase by collecting rate and channel quality information for the users in set S.sub.2 while they do unconstrained data transfers. [0119] operates in discrete scheduling intervals or time slots where each time slot has at least two phases), for each radio bearer of the list of radio bearers associated with the plurality of UEs ([0103] dynamic prioritizing of data transfer with k users.) (Bhatia; [0100-0119], [0105] Among the remaining users, in set S.sub.2, the algorithm determines which particular user to schedule in this time slot. It does so in the measurement phase by collecting rate and channel quality information for the users in set S.sub.2 while they do unconstrained data transfers. [0114] FIG. 8 algorithm uses low and high watermark buffer occupancy thresholds .theta..sub.L,.theta..sub.H respectively to determine when to maintain or to suspend data transfers. the algorithm uses a minimum buffer occupancy threshold .theta..sub.i(k). This is the minimum buffer occupancy for user U.sub.i to be scheduled for dynamic prioritizing of data transfer with k users. It can be thought of having two components, one is a conventional buffer occupancy threshold BT and the other represents additional buffering associated with the FIG. 8 algorithm. The latter component is used because data transfers for a dynamically prioritized user may be spaced far apart, and more particularly, spaced k time intervals apart on the average and even more in the worst case. ...buffer occupancy thresholds herein can be specified in terms of a number of time slots.) (See fig. 1A, fig. 8) (, [0103-0106], [0118],[0119]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Rastogi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Bhatia in order to determine when to maintain or to suspend data transfers (Bhatia; [0114]).
Regarding claim 9 Rastogi teaches, A network apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor (central processing unit (CPU) 402 (more generally at least one processor) ), comprising processing circuitry (Rastogi; Fig. 4 [0057] ) ; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Rastogi; Fig. 4 [0057] an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), a digital processor and the like; storing means such as at least one computer-readable memory (MEM) 404 storing at least one computer program (PROG) 406 having computer executable code,), causes the network apparatus to:
obtain a list of radio bearers associated with plurality of user equipments (UEs) (data radio bearers of the active UEs) (Rastogi; [0018] ...the eNodeB scheduler in one example implementation calculates, for each cell and for all data radio bearers of the active UEs...[0020] ... the eNodeB scheduler has the DRBs of the active UEs in a given cell in order of the relative DRB priorities, UEs are selected for scheduling in the order of the weighted priority of their associated DRB regardless of whether the UE is a CA UE or a non-CA UE.... [0022] in FIG. 2 at block 202. This limit/percentage is derived by the eNodeB scheduler in each TTI based on the aggregate of GBR rates of all the admitted (non-zero pending data) DRBs in the system...as is shown by example at FIG. 1B the eNodeB scheduler can set different such limits per cell for the same period being scheduled)(See fig. 1A fig. 1B);
identify a radio bearer group from the plurality of radio bearer groups based on a radio bearer having a highest priority (Prioritized DRBs for Cell A, (See fig. 1B)) and the information on the number of divisions for each radio bearer (each radio data bearer a set of tokens which the eNodeB calculates based on the bit rate associated with the data radio bearer.); and (Rastogi; [0020] the eNodeB scheduler assigns to each radio data bearer a set of tokens which the eNodeB calculates based on the bit rate associated with the data radio bearer. These tokens are refreshed periodically (such as once per 20 ms, more generally over a multiple of scheduling periods) or when the UE data bearer is scheduled. [0025] To ensure that the bit-rate quality of service (QoS) guarantees are met for a high bit-rate GBR data bearer for a CA UE, additional radio resources from the remaining radio resources (after serving the highest priority GBR data bearers) can be assigned to this data bearer in its other serving cells) (Fig. 1B).
perform resource allocation for at least one UE associated with the identified radio bearer group (Rastogi; [0034] This enables it to know at the start of its phase 2 allocations whether the GBR for the CA UE DRBs are fully satisfied from the phase 1 allocations or if any of those DRBs need to be considered again in the scheduler's phase 2 resource allocations)
{Examiner is construing that Fig 1B shows list of radio bearers associated with plurality of user equipments}
Rastogi fails to explicitly teach, classify the list of radio bearers into a plurality of radio bearer groups based on information on a number of divisions possible in an uplink slot, for each radio bearer of the list of radio bearers associated with the plurality of UEs;
However, in the same field of endeavor Bhatia teaches, classify the list of radio bearers into a plurality of radio bearer groups([0114] algorithm uses low and high watermark buffer occupancy thresholds .theta..sub.L,.theta..sub.H respectively to determine when to maintain or to suspend data transfers) based on information on a number of divisions possible in an uplink slot (unconstrained data transfers) ([0105] ... particular user to schedule in this time slot. It does so in the measurement phase by collecting rate and channel quality information for the users in set S.sub.2 while they do unconstrained data transfers. [0119] operates in discrete scheduling intervals or time slots where each time slot has at least two phases), for each radio bearer of the list of radio bearers associated with the plurality of UEs (Bhatia; [0100-0119], [0105] Among the remaining users, in set S.sub.2, the algorithm determines which particular user to schedule in this time slot. It does so in the measurement phase by collecting rate and channel quality information for the users in set S.sub.2 while they do unconstrained data transfers. [0114] FIG. 8 algorithm uses low and high watermark buffer occupancy thresholds .theta..sub.L,.theta..sub.H respectively to determine when to maintain or to suspend data transfers. the algorithm uses a minimum buffer occupancy threshold .theta..sub.i(k). This is the minimum buffer occupancy for user U.sub.i to be scheduled for dynamic prioritizing of data transfer with k users. It can be thought of having two components, one is a conventional buffer occupancy threshold BT and the other represents additional buffering associated with the FIG. 8 algorithm. The latter component is used because data transfers for a dynamically prioritized user may be spaced far apart, and more particularly, spaced k time intervals apart on the average and even more in the worst case. ...buffer occupancy thresholds herein can be specified in terms of a number of time slots.) (See fig. 1A, fig. 8) (, [0103-0106], [0118],[0119]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Rastogi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Bhatia in order to determine when to maintain or to suspend data transfers (Bhatia; [0114]).
Regarding claim 17 Rastogi teaches, A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause a network apparatus to:
obtain a list of radio bearers associated with plurality of user equipments (UEs) (data radio bearers of the active UEs) (Rastogi; [0018] ...the eNodeB scheduler in one example implementation calculates, for each cell and for all data radio bearers of the active UEs...[0020] ... the eNodeB scheduler has the DRBs of the active UEs in a given cell in order of the relative DRB priorities, UEs are selected for scheduling in the order of the weighted priority of their associated DRB regardless of whether the UE is a CA UE or a non-CA UE.... [0022] in FIG. 2 at block 202. This limit/percentage is derived by the eNodeB scheduler in each TTI based on the aggregate of GBR rates of all the admitted (non-zero pending data) DRBs in the system...as is shown by example at FIG. 1B the eNodeB scheduler can set different such limits per cell for the same period being scheduled)(See fig. 1A fig. 1B);
identify a radio bearer group from the plurality of radio bearer groups based on a radio bearer having a highest priority (Prioritized DRBs for Cell A, (See fig. 1B)) and the information on the number of divisions for each radio bearer (each radio data bearer a set of tokens which the eNodeB calculates based on the bit rate associated with the data radio bearer.); and (Rastogi; [0020] the eNodeB scheduler assigns to each radio data bearer a set of tokens which the eNodeB calculates based on the bit rate associated with the data radio bearer. These tokens are refreshed periodically (such as once per 20 ms, more generally over a multiple of scheduling periods) or when the UE data bearer is scheduled. [0025] To ensure that the bit-rate quality of service (QoS) guarantees are met for a high bit-rate GBR data bearer for a CA UE, additional radio resources from the remaining radio resources (after serving the highest priority GBR data bearers) can be assigned to this data bearer in its other serving cells) (Fig. 1B).
perform resource allocation for at least one UE associated with the identified radio bearer group (Rastogi; [0034] This enables it to know at the start of its phase 2 allocations whether the GBR for the CA UE DRBs are fully satisfied from the phase 1 allocations or if any of those DRBs need to be considered again in the scheduler's phase 2 resource allocations)
{Examiner is construing that Fig 1B shows list of radio bearers associated with plurality of user equipments}
Rastogi fails to explicitly teach, classify the list of radio bearers into a plurality of radio bearer groups based on information on a number of divisions possible in an uplink slot, for each radio bearer of the list of radio bearers associated with the plurality of UEs;
However, in the same field of endeavor Bhatia teaches, classify the list of radio bearers into a plurality of radio bearer groups([0114] algorithm uses low and high watermark buffer occupancy thresholds .theta..sub.L,.theta..sub.H respectively to determine when to maintain or to suspend data transfers) based on information on a number of divisions possible in an uplink slot (unconstrained data transfers) ([0105] ... particular user to schedule in this time slot. It does so in the measurement phase by collecting rate and channel quality information for the users in set S.sub.2 while they do unconstrained data transfers. [0119] operates in discrete scheduling intervals or time slots where each time slot has at least two phases), for each radio bearer of the list of radio bearers associated with the plurality of UEs (Bhatia; [0100-0119], [0105] Among the remaining users, in set S.sub.2, the algorithm determines which particular user to schedule in this time slot. It does so in the measurement phase by collecting rate and channel quality information for the users in set S.sub.2 while they do unconstrained data transfers. [0114] FIG. 8 algorithm uses low and high watermark buffer occupancy thresholds .theta..sub.L,.theta..sub.H respectively to determine when to maintain or to suspend data transfers. the algorithm uses a minimum buffer occupancy threshold .theta..sub.i(k). This is the minimum buffer occupancy for user U.sub.i to be scheduled for dynamic prioritizing of data transfer with k users. It can be thought of having two components, one is a conventional buffer occupancy threshold BT and the other represents additional buffering associated with the FIG. 8 algorithm. The latter component is used because data transfers for a dynamically prioritized user may be spaced far apart, and more particularly, spaced k time intervals apart on the average and even more in the worst case. ...buffer occupancy thresholds herein can be specified in terms of a number of time slots.) (See fig. 1A, fig. 8) (, [0103-0106], [0118],[0119]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Rastogi to include the above recited limitations as taught by Bhatia in order to determine when to maintain or to suspend data transfers (Bhatia; [0114]).
Claims 2, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastogi-Bhatia as applied to claims 1,9, and 17 above, and further in view of Yi et al. (Yi hereafter) (US 20100046456 A1)
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18 Rastogi-Bhatia teaches,The method of claim 1, 9, and 17
Rastogi-Bhatia fails to explicitly teach, wherein the identifying of the radio bearer group comprises: identifying, among the plurality of radio bearer groups, at least one radio bearer group, each radio bearer group of the selected at least one radio bearer group, wherein the highest priority indicates a maximum buffer occupancy (BO)
identifying, among the at least one identified radio bearer group, the radio bearer group having a lowest number of divisions possible in a slot
However, in the same field of endeavor Yi teaches, wherein the identifying of the radio bearer group comprises: identifying, among the plurality of radio bearer groups, at least one radio bearer group, each radio bearer group of the selected at least one radio bearer group, wherein the highest priority indicates a maximum buffer occupancy (BO) (Yi; [0062] A buffer occupancy BO1 of the RB1 is 700 bits, a buffer occupancy BO2 of the RB2 is 1500 bits, and a buffer occupancy BO3 of the RB3 is 600 bits. A buffer occupancy (BO) is an amount of a buffer currently occupied by data...[0063] of FIG. 10, the LCP2 of the RB2 is the next highest,); and
identifying, among the at least one identified radio bearer group, the radio bearer group having a lowest number of divisions possible in a slot (Yi; [0063] of FIG. 10the LCP3 of the RB3 is the lowest. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Rastogi-Bhatia to include the above recited limitations as taught by Yi in order to support various applications and concurrently provide various radio services (Yi; [0003]).
Claims 5, 6, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastogi-Bhatia as applied to claims 1,9, and 17 above, and further in view of Teyeb et al. (Teyeb hereafter) (US 20090196177 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 13 Rastogi-Bhatia teaches,The method of claim 1, and 9
Rastogi-Bhatia fails to explicitly teach, wherein determining the BO of each radio bearer of the list of radio bearers associated with the plurality of UEs comprises:
receiving a buffer status report by each UE, wherein the buffer status report includes amount of data available at each radio bearer of the list of radio bearer associated with the corresponding UE for uplink transmission
However, in the same field of endeavor Teyeb teaches, receiving a buffer status report by each UE, wherein the buffer status report includes amount of data available at each radio bearer of the list of radio bearer associated with the corresponding UE for uplink transmission (Teyeb; [0031] uplink UL BSR, referring to the amount of buffered data in the logical channel queues in UE (which may be in the Medium Access Control or higher logical protocol layer), are needed in order to provide support for quality of service (QoS)--aware packet scheduling. Radio bearers (RBs) that have similar QoS requirements are grouped under a radio bearer group (RBG), and currently proposals to LTE are for a total of four RBGs. The UE sends a BSR of the RBGs to the e-NodeB); and
determining the BO of each radio bearer of the list of radio bearers associated with the plurality of UEs based on the received buffer status report (Teyeb; [0033] Having the RN simply forward to the controlling e-NodeB each individual BSR report that the RN receives from the relayed UEs will result in fairly high control signaling overhead, which by these teachings will be seen to be unnecessary for the case where the RN is the one responsible for scheduling its UEs. For similar reasons, having the RN simply relay to the e-NodeB each of the CQI values (which are measured by the RN itself) for each of the UE-RN links).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Rastogi-Bhatia to include the above recited limitations as taught by Teyeb in order to provide an integrated way of scheduling and controlling the flow of UL data (Teyeb; [0048]).
Regarding claims 6 and 14 Rastogi-Bhatia teaches,The method of claim 1 and 9
Rastogi-Bhatia fails to explicitly teach, wherein classifying the list of radio bearers into the plurality of radio bearer groups comprises:
determining a plurality of BO thresholds for each radio bearer of the list of radio bearers associated with plurality of UE based on a plurality of scheduling parameters and transmission capability of each UE;
grouping each of the radio bearers of the list of radio bearers associated with plurality of UE by comparing a BO of each of the radio bearer of list of radio bearers with BO thresholds for a corresponding bearer of the list of radio bearers associated with the plurality of UEs
Teyeb further teaches, determining a plurality of BO thresholds for each radio bearer of the list of radio bearers associated with plurality of UE based on a plurality of scheduling parameters and transmission capability of each UE (Teyeb; [0048] Two specific mechanisms are detailed: one to summarize and pass the buffer status of relayed UEs to the e-NodeB, and the other to summarize and pass the UL CQI of the UE-RN links to the e-NodeB. The e-NodeB can then use this information for optimal UL scheduling); and
grouping each of the radio bearers of the list of radio bearers associated with plurality of UE by comparing a BO of each of the radio bearer of list of radio bearers with BO thresholds for a corresponding bearer of the list of radio bearers associated with the plurality of UEs (Teyeb; [0060] the RN receives from each of a plurality of UEs an indication of user data volume to be sent to a relay by the respective user equipment. The RN receives the BSRs of the RBGs from these UEs and stores that information as a `virtual buffer`. In an embodiment, each virtual buffer is an average of the RBGs across all of the UEs. The RN then determines a relay data volume to be sent from the relay. This is the RN's `actual` buffer, which is occupancy (percentage) of the uplink data buffer 16G in the RN itself. The RN then compiles the indications of user data volume (the BSRs that are stored as virtual buffers) and the determined relay data volume (the actual buffer 16G) into an uplink status report, which the RN sends to the eNB on the uplink 20B. In a particular embodiment, the RN sends the uplink buffer status report not on a periodic basis, but only when occupancy of the virtual buffer falls below a low threshold or possibly also when the occupancy of the virtual buffer rises above a high threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Rastogi-Bhatia to include the above recited limitations as taught by Teyeb in order to provide an integrated way of scheduling and controlling the flow of UL data (Teyeb; [0048]).
Claims 7, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastogi-Bhatia as applied to claims 1,9, and 17 above, and further in view of Shaheen et al. (Shaheen hereafter) (US 20180368173 A1).
Regarding claims 7, 15, and 19 Rastogi-Bhatia teaches,The method of claims 1,9, and 17
Rastogi-Bhatia fails to explicitly teach, wherein the information on the number of divisions is determined based on a buffer occupancy of a radio bearer and a smallest BO threshold using at least one scheduling parameter of a UE corresponding to the radio bearer
However, in the same field of endeavor Shaheen teaches, wherein the information on the number of divisions is determined based on a buffer occupancy of a radio bearer and a smallest BO threshold using at least one scheduling parameter of a UE corresponding to the radio bearer (Shaheen; [0070] The scheduling entity needs to be aware information including: an indication that a UE 102 has data to transmit; buffer size for each logical channel (group); priority indication for each logical channel (group); and/or an indication of a set of the associated numerologies/TTI durations for each logical channel (group). For each UE 102, the above information may be reported by a SR or a BSR).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Rastogi-Bhatia to include the above recited limitations as taught by Shaheen in order to support variety of services. (Shaheen; [0074]).
Claims 8, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastogi-Bhatia-Shaheen as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Speight (Speight hereafter) (US 20180063862 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Rastogi-Bhatia-Shaheen teaches,. The method of claim 7,
Rastogi-Bhatia-Shaheen fails to explicitly teach, wherein a number of divisions for the radio bearer is determined such that a BO threshold in case of the number of divisions for the radio bearer is smallest in a set of BO thresholds that are greater than the buffer occupancy of the radio bearer
However, in the same field of endeavor Speight teaches, wherein a number of divisions for the radio bearer is determined such that a BO threshold in case of the number of divisions for the radio bearer is smallest in a set of BO thresholds that are greater than the buffer occupancy of the radio bearer (Speight; [0086] The algorithm describes one mechanism to limit a number of queues served at a single instant of time. The algorithm may be run when a number of active users (i.e. those users known to have a buffer occupancy greater than zero in any queue) is greater than a known fixed parameter, for example ‘max_number_queues_serviced’, as defined by the Element Manager (EM).) (See fig. 6, [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Rastogi-Bhatia-Shaheen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Speight in order to provide prioritization of services across users (Speight; [0086]).
Regarding claims 16, and 20 Rastogi-Bhatia teaches,. The claims 9, and 17
Rastogi-Bhatia fails to explicitly teach, wherein a number of divisions for the radio bearer is determined such that a BO threshold in case of the number of divisions for the radio bearer is smallest in a set of BO thresholds that are greater than the buffer occupancy of the radio bearer
Speight further teaches, wherein a number of divisions for the radio bearer is determined such that a BO threshold in case of the number of divisions for the radio bearer is smallest in a set of BO thresholds that are greater than the buffer occupancy of the radio bearer (Speight; [0086] The algorithm describes one mechanism to limit a number of queues served at a single instant of time. The algorithm may be run when a number of active users (i.e. those users known to have a buffer occupancy greater than zero in any queue) is greater than a known fixed parameter, for example ‘max_number_queues_serviced’, as defined by the Element Manager (EM).) (See fig. 6, [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to create the invention of Rastogi-Bhatia-Shaheen to include the above recited limitations as taught by Speight in order to provide prioritization of services across users (Speight; [0086]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: performing of the resource allocation comprises: determining an uplink physical resource block usage metric for at least one machine learning model determining whether the UL PRB usage metric meets a UL PRB usage metric threshold obtaining uplink slot division based on the at least one ML model using a plurality of scheduling parameters associated with at least one UE, wherein the plurality of scheduling parameters is determined based on the UL PRB usage metric meeting the UL PRB usage metric threshold.
Conclusion
/W. T/Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416