Claim(s) 1 - 20 is pending for examination.
This Action is made NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 8, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the initial activation step" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “at least one of the information items in a manner that can be discernible at a distance of at least 25 feet” and “visible from a distance at least 25 feet” in claims 8 and 14 respectively are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “at least one of the information items in a manner that can be discernible at a distance of at least 25 feet” and “visible from a distance at least 25 feet” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Visibility and discernibility is dependent on a number of factors and what is visible/discernible for one person is not necessarily visible/discernible for another. Additionally what a person may consider visible/discernible varies from person to person for example one person might consider visible/discernible to merely mean detectable while another may consider it to mean readable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grider et al. (US 20100230193 A1, hereinafter known as Grider).
Regarding claim 1, Grider teaches An electric vehicle charge status display system comprising: a display;
{abstract “A vehicle having a vehicle body has an interior portion with a plurality of trim components. A plurality of windows are supported on the body and positioned next to the interior portion. An electrical charging system having a rechargeable battery is attached to the vehicle body and configured to receive an electrical charge from at least one of an on-board charger, an external charger or a charging station. A display panel is connected to the electrical charging system and mounted on one of the trim components. The display panel is configured to display information indicative of a status of the electrical charging system. The display panel is disposed in a position such that the information is visible from a position exterior to the vehicle body.”
}
a data connection to the electric vehicle, the data connection conveying: at least one of the following status indications: ready to charge, charging in progress, connected, disconnected, charging interrupted, waiting, and charging complete; and at least one of the following information items: electric vehicle charge level, rate of charge to the electric vehicle, time left in charging session, state of charging session, where the display projects at least one of the status indications and at least one of the information items.
{Para [0040] “Display panel 40 is attached to vehicle body 12 and is configured to display information. Display panel 40 is connected to rechargeable battery 20 and may be configured to detect the state of charge of rechargeable battery 20. Display panel 40 is also connected to docking station 22 and may be configured to detect whether docking station 22 is connected to an external power source. In other embodiments of display panel 40, display panel 40 is configured to receive signals from rechargeable battery 20 relating to the state of charge of rechargeable battery 20 and signals from docking station 22 indicative of whether docking station 22 is connected to an external power source. Display panel 40 is mounted to a trim component 42 mounted within an interior portion of vehicle body 12. The trim component may be, for example, a pillar cover, a package shelf, or other vehicle trim component.”
Para [0045] “Display panel 40 also includes a charging/fault readout 54. Charging/fault readout 54 displays an indication of whether or not electrical charging system 28 is receiving a charge from household electric outlet 38 or from some other source when docking station 22 is engaged with either plug 34 or some other charging apparatus. If rechargeable battery 20 is receiving a charge, then the charging portion of charging/fault readout 54 may be illuminated. If docking station 22 is engaged with plug 34 but no charge is being received by rechargeable battery 20, charging/fault readout 54 will indicate a fault. An engine block heater readout 56 may also be included on display panel 40 and may indicate that an engine block associated with internal combustion engine 30 is receiving current. Other readouts may include an indication of remaining battery life for rechargeable battery 20. Additionally, display panel 40 may be configured to include an input window 51 having touch screen type sensitivity or buttons or any other configuration effective to allow a user to input settings relating to a recharging cycle for rechargeable battery 20. For instance, using input window 51, a vehicle operator may be able to initiate a charge mode or set a charge mode to begin or end at a desired time or to initiate a charge mode at the discretion of a local utility company in accordance with a contractual arrangement that the vehicle operator has with the local utility company. A vehicle operator may also be able to use input window 51 to initiate or end an engine block heating cycle. Display panel 40 may further include a charge mode indicator 53 which can indicate information relating to the charge received by rechargeable battery 20 such as whether a current charge cycle has been initiated by the vehicle operator or by the local utility company. In other embodiments, display panel 40 may be configured to provide information relating to a charge enable status, a charge pause status, metered energy and price control charge.”
Para [0046] “Display panel 40 may include a variety of means to display some or all of the information items discussed above or additional informational items potentially of interest to user 31. Display 40 may include a liquid crystal display illuminated by incandescent or fluorescent light bulbs. Display panel 40 may include a backlit liquid crystal display. Display panel 40 may utilize light emitting diodes to convey information. Display panel 40 may comprise a plurality of different colored lights to convey the information discussed above. Display panel 40 may include a cathode ray tube to display the above-described information. Display panel 40 may include any other apparatus effective to display information pertaining to electrical charging system 28.”
}
Regarding claim 8, Grider teaches The electric vehicle charge status display system of claim 1, where the display projects at least one of the status indications and at least one of the information items in a manner that can be discernible at a distance of at least 25 feet.
{fig. 2a and fig. 3 and para [0043] “With respect to FIG. 2B, a perspective view of interior portion 14 of vehicle body 12 is presented. A portion of the windshield 16 is illustrated. A-pillar cover 48 covers a portion of A-pillar 46 (not shown) and may comprise plastic or other materials suitable for use to cover and conceal A-pillar 46. Display panel 40 is mounted to an upper portion of A-pillar cover 48 and protrudes outwardly therefrom in a direction generally parallel to the driver's side window 16. Mounted in this manner, the display portion of display panel 40 is visible from a position outside of vehicle body 12 and may or may not be visible to a user seated in interior portion 14. In some embodiments, display panel 40 may be permanently affixed to A-pillar cover 48 while in other embodiments, display panel 40 may be disposed within a recess in A-pillar cover 48 and may deploy to a visible position when electrical charging system 28 is being charged.”
Based on size of the display in the figures the illumination status of the display which correlates with the connection status of the charge port would be discernable from 25 feet.
Para [0049] “In some embodiments of vehicle 10, display panel 40 may be configured to illuminate upon the initiation of a charging cycle. In such embodiments, display panel 40 will illuminate when plug 34 engages docking station 22. In embodiments of vehicle 10 equipped with light sensor 58, the illumination of display panel 40 may occur only when ambient light registers below the predetermined level. In vehicles 10 lacking light sensor 58, display panel 48 may be configured to illuminate regardless of ambient light conditions. In other embodiments, display panel 40 may illuminate automatically when a plug 34 is engaged with docking station 22 and an increased level of illumination may be provided if light sensor 58 determines that ambient light is below the predetermined level.”
}
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al. (US 20100230193 A1, hereinafter known as Grider) in view of Wall et al. (US 20160159292 A1, hereinafter known as Wall).
Regarding Claim 2, Grider teaches The electric vehicle charge status display system of claim 1 further comprising:
{Para [0043] “With respect to FIG. 2B, a perspective view of interior portion 14 of vehicle body 12 is presented. A portion of the windshield 16 is illustrated. A-pillar cover 48 covers a portion of A-pillar 46 (not shown) and may comprise plastic or other materials suitable for use to cover and conceal A-pillar 46. Display panel 40 is mounted to an upper portion of A-pillar cover 48 and protrudes outwardly therefrom in a direction generally parallel to the driver's side window 16. Mounted in this manner, the display portion of display panel 40 is visible from a position outside of vehicle body 12 and may or may not be visible to a user seated in interior portion 14. In some embodiments, display panel 40 may be permanently affixed to A-pillar cover 48 while in other embodiments, display panel 40 may be disposed within a recess in A-pillar cover 48 and may deploy to a visible position when electrical charging system 28 is being charged.”
}
Grider does not teach a support bracket capable of moving the display.
However, Wall teaches : a support bracket capable of moving the display
{Fig. 1-3 Abstract “A trim part of a motor vehicle has a gap into which a display device with a screen can be retracted into the interior of the trim part in a covered position. The screen projects into a passenger compartment of the motor vehicle in a use position by moving through the gap from the covered position with a pivot movement. The screen is suspended in the trim part by one or more coupling mechanisms supporting the pivot movement.”
Para [0012] “In order to transmit a drive force for the pivot movement of the screen to the screen, the carrier plate of one of the pivot elements may be coupled in a rotatable manner to the trim part by an electric rotary motor and a gear mechanism of the rotary motor, for example a toothed gear mechanism, on at least one side. Therefore, in this case, the rotary motor, together with its gear mechanism, forms one of the bearing devices. The gear mechanism can also be an integral constituent part of the rotary motor (geared motor). The driven pivot element in this case forms a crank in the coupling mechanism which, in this case, converts a rotary movement of the rotary motor into the pivot movement which is then transmitted to the screen according to the design of the coupling mechanism. The second pivot element, which is located on the same side of the carrier plate, then acts as a swing arm.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grider to incorporate the teachings of Wall to move the display device using a support bracket of wall because as discussed in Wall para [0032] “Overall, the example shows how the following advantages can be obtained. A slim display 20 with a low thickness D2 can be used, without a significant intermediate space remaining between the top face 46 and the surrounding boundary of the gap 44 in the covered position S1. Simple, robust mechanics by a simple four-joint system can be used. The screen kinematics system is independent of the screen width since the kinematics system is produced solely on the carrier plate 22 and the pivot elements 24, 26, 24′, 26′ and independently of the screen width B2. An additional cover for closing the gap 44 when the screen is retracted is not required. The extension curve according to the pivot movement 52 can be shaped by the design of the pivot elements 24, 26, 24′, 26′ and, as a result, can be designed in an attractive and elegant manner. A low total physical height 54 is produced in the retracted state overall.”
Regarding Claim 3, Grider in view of Wall teaches The electric vehicle charge status display system of claim 2. Grider further teaches further comprising: a storage location in the electric vehicle capable of holding the display in the stored position.
{Para [0043] “With respect to FIG. 2B, a perspective view of interior portion 14 of vehicle body 12 is presented. A portion of the windshield 16 is illustrated. A-pillar cover 48 covers a portion of A-pillar 46 (not shown) and may comprise plastic or other materials suitable for use to cover and conceal A-pillar 46. Display panel 40 is mounted to an upper portion of A-pillar cover 48 and protrudes outwardly therefrom in a direction generally parallel to the driver's side window 16. Mounted in this manner, the display portion of display panel 40 is visible from a position outside of vehicle body 12 and may or may not be visible to a user seated in interior portion 14. In some embodiments, display panel 40 may be permanently affixed to A-pillar cover 48 while in other embodiments, display panel 40 may be disposed within a recess in A-pillar cover 48 and may deploy to a visible position when electrical charging system 28 is being charged.”
}
Regarding Claim 4, Grider in view of Wall teaches The electric vehicle charge status display system of claim 2. Wall further teaches further comprising: a motor capable of moving the display from a stored position to an active position.
{Fig. 1-3 Abstract “A trim part of a motor vehicle has a gap into which a display device with a screen can be retracted into the interior of the trim part in a covered position. The screen projects into a passenger compartment of the motor vehicle in a use position by moving through the gap from the covered position with a pivot movement. The screen is suspended in the trim part by one or more coupling mechanisms supporting the pivot movement.”
Para [0012] “In order to transmit a drive force for the pivot movement of the screen to the screen, the carrier plate of one of the pivot elements may be coupled in a rotatable manner to the trim part by an electric rotary motor and a gear mechanism of the rotary motor, for example a toothed gear mechanism, on at least one side. Therefore, in this case, the rotary motor, together with its gear mechanism, forms one of the bearing devices. The gear mechanism can also be an integral constituent part of the rotary motor (geared motor). The driven pivot element in this case forms a crank in the coupling mechanism which, in this case, converts a rotary movement of the rotary motor into the pivot movement which is then transmitted to the screen according to the design of the coupling mechanism. The second pivot element, which is located on the same side of the carrier plate, then acts as a swing arm.”
}
Claim(s) 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al. (US 20100230193 A1, hereinafter known as Grider) in view of Hershkovitz et al. (US 20100094496 A1, hereinafter known as Hershkovitz).
Regarding Claim 5, Grider teaches The electric vehicle charge status display system of claim 1
Grider does not teach further comprising: a wireless transmitter transmitting the same data as projected by the display.
However, Hershkovitz teaches further comprising: a wireless transmitter transmitting the same data as projected by the display.
{Para [0105] “In some embodiments, the electric vehicle control system 107 provides information about the present status of the electric vehicle 102 to a mobile device 112 (e.g., a mobile phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a laptop computer, etc.) of the user 110. For example, the status information may include the present charge level of the one or more battery packs 104, whether charging has completed, etc. This status information may also be provided via an on-board display screen.”
Fig. 1 and para [0103] show the connection to the phone to be wireless
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grider to incorporate the teachings of Hershkovitz to wirelessly transmit data projected on the display to a phone because it improves convenience. A person would be able to perform tasks away from their vehicle while still being able to monitor charge status.
Regarding Claim 9, Grider teaches The electric vehicle charge status display system of claim 1
Grider does not teach further comprising: a wireless transmitter transmitting at least one of the status indications and at least one of the information items.
However, Hershkovitz teaches further comprising: a wireless transmitter transmitting at least one of the status indications and at least one of the information items.
{Para [0105] “In some embodiments, the electric vehicle control system 107 provides information about the present status of the electric vehicle 102 to a mobile device 112 (e.g., a mobile phone, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a laptop computer, etc.) of the user 110. For example, the status information may include the present charge level of the one or more battery packs 104, whether charging has completed, etc. This status information may also be provided via an on-board display screen.”
Fig. 1 and para [0103] show the connection to the phone to be wireless
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grider to incorporate the teachings of Hershkovitz to wirelessly transmit data projected on the display to a phone because it improves convenience. A person would be able to perform tasks away from their vehicle while still being able to monitor charge status.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al. (US 20100230193 A1, hereinafter known as Grider) in view of Walker (US 11086354 B1).
Regarding Claim 6, Grider teaches The electric vehicle charge status display system of claim 1
Grider does not teach further comprising: mounting hardware allowing for a user to position the display in a desired location.
However, Walker teaches further comprising: mounting hardware allowing for a user to position the display in a desired location.
{Column 2-3 “Automated retractable display device 10 may be configured to mount detachably on interior or exterior of vehicle 50. In an embodiment, automated retractable display device 10 may be configured to mount on a widow of vehicle 50. In other embodiments, automated retractable display device 10 may be configured to mount on a dashboard or on a window glass, windshield glass, and so on, of vehicle 50.
Automated retractable display device 10 may be a portable device which may be removed from vehicle 50 for various purposes, such as patrolling, repair, and so on. Automated retractable display device 10 may be mounted at interior or exterior of vehicle 50 through a set of fastening members (not shown here) which may be affixed on windshield glass or window glass through suction. Accordingly, when mounted on interior of vehicle 50, automated retractable display device 10 may be directly operated by first user, such as driver 52. Alternatively, when mounted on exterior of vehicle 50, automated retractable display device 10 may be directly operated by second user, such as Traffic Police Officer. In accordance with other embodiments, automated retractable display device 10 may slide into or affix onto a slot of vehicle door through which window is raised and lowered therefrom. In some embodiments, automated retractable display device 10 may slide or pop upward to side window opening of driver's door when actuated by actuating element 20.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grider to incorporate the teachings of Walker to have a mountable display because it improves convenience as it allows a person to take it where they need it. Walker Column 3 “Automated retractable display device 10 may be a portable device which may be removed from vehicle 50 for various purposes, such as patrolling, repair”
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al. (US 20100230193 A1, hereinafter known as Grider) in view of Jung et al. (US 20220024339 A1; hereinafter known as Jung).
Regarding Claim 7, Grider teaches The electric vehicle charge status display system of claim 1
Grider does not teach where the data connection is a connection to a data port of the electric vehicle.
However, Jung teaches where the data connection is a connection to a data port of the electric vehicle.
{Para [0050] “Then, the OBD device 200, which receives the charging situation data, displays, on the display means (not illustrated) of the OBD device 200, the connection status with the vehicle during the charging operation, the maximum charging current value, the charging progress status, and whether the ICCB operates normally. As a result, it is possible to solve the problem in that the reason why charging is interrupted cannot be recognized, when the charging is interrupted due to an abnormal situation during a charging operation, by using the low-speed charging cable in the related art.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grider to incorporate the teachings of Jung to connect to a vehicle data port because it allows failures in charging to be identified more easily as discussed in para [0015] and [0016] of Jung.
Claim(s) 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grider et al. (US 20100230193 A1, hereinafter known as Grider) in view of Austin (US 20110175569 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Grider teaches A method for charging an electric vehicle comprising the steps of: recognizing a connection from an external charging system to a charge port of the electric vehicle;
acquiring a current vehicle state of charge from the electric vehicle;
{Para [0040] “Display panel 40 is attached to vehicle body 12 and is configured to display information. Display panel 40 is connected to rechargeable battery 20 and may be configured to detect the state of charge of rechargeable battery 20. Display panel 40 is also connected to docking station 22 and may be configured to detect whether docking station 22 is connected to an external power source. In other embodiments of display panel 40, display panel 40 is configured to receive signals from rechargeable battery 20 relating to the state of charge of rechargeable battery 20 and signals from docking station 22 indicative of whether docking station 22 is connected to an external power source. Display panel 40 is mounted to a trim component 42 mounted within an interior portion of vehicle body 12. The trim component may be, for example, a pillar cover, a package shelf, or other vehicle trim component.”
}
activating a display in the electric vehicle;
{Para [0049] “In some embodiments of vehicle 10, display panel 40 may be configured to illuminate upon the initiation of a charging cycle. In such embodiments, display panel 40 will illuminate when plug 34 engages docking station 22. In embodiments of vehicle 10 equipped with light sensor 58, the illumination of display panel 40 may occur only when ambient light registers below the predetermined level. In vehicles 10 lacking light sensor 58, display panel 48 may be configured to illuminate regardless of ambient light conditions. In other embodiments, display panel 40 may illuminate automatically when a plug 34 is engaged with docking station 22 and an increased level of illumination may be provided if light sensor 58 determines that ambient light is below the predetermined level.”
}
comparing the current vehicle state of charge with the target charge level, and if the current vehicle state of charge equals the target charge level, display completion of charging session;
{Para [0044] “With respect to FIG. 3, a portion of A-pillar 46 circled in FIG. 2a is enlarged. FIG. 3 illustrates some of the information that may be displayed by display panel 40 including a read-out 50 depicting a state of charge for rechargeable battery 20. In the illustrated embodiment, a plurality of bars are depicted, the number of bars corresponding to a percentage of charge held by rechargeable battery 20. The higher the number of bars depicted, the greater the percentage of charge rechargeable battery 20 is holding. Display panel 40 also displays an estimated charge completion time readout 52. This allows display panel 40 to display to user 31 the estimated time when charging may be completed. In other embodiments, charge completion readout 52 may display the number of hours or minutes remaining until charge is complete.”
}
detecting a start of a charging session, and if a charging session is not started, put system into waiting status;
{Para [0045] “Display panel 40 also includes a charging/fault readout 54. Charging/fault readout 54 displays an indication of whether or not electrical charging system 28 is receiving a charge from household electric outlet 38 or from some other source when docking station 22 is engaged with either plug 34 or some other charging apparatus. If rechargeable battery 20 is receiving a charge, then the charging portion of charging/fault readout 54 may be illuminated. If docking station 22 is engaged with plug 34 but no charge is being received by rechargeable battery 20, charging/fault readout 54 will indicate a fault. An engine block heater readout 56 may also be included on display panel 40 and may indicate that an engine block associated with internal combustion engine 30 is receiving current. Other readouts may include an indication of remaining battery life for rechargeable battery 20. Additionally, display panel 40 may be configured to include an input window 51 having touch screen type sensitivity or buttons or any other configuration effective to allow a user to input settings relating to a recharging cycle for rechargeable battery 20. For instance, using input window 51, a vehicle operator may be able to initiate a charge mode or set a charge mode to begin or end at a desired time or to initiate a charge mode at the discretion of a local utility company in accordance with a contractual arrangement that the vehicle operator has with the local utility company. A vehicle operator may also be able to use input window 51 to initiate or end an engine block heating cycle. Display panel 40 may further include a charge mode indicator 53 which can indicate information relating to the charge received by rechargeable battery 20 such as whether a current charge cycle has been initiated by the vehicle operator or by the local utility company. In other embodiments, display panel 40 may be configured to provide information relating to a charge enable status, a charge pause status, metered energy and price control charge.”
Not indicating that the charge cycle has been initiated can be considered as being in a waiting status.
}
checking the connection between the electric vehicle charge port and the external charging system, and evaluating if the connection is disconnected or terminated, whereafter displaying a stopped status;
{ Para [0045] “Display panel 40 also includes a charging/fault readout 54. Charging/fault readout 54 displays an indication of whether or not electrical charging system 28 is receiving a charge from household electric outlet 38 or from some other source when docking station 22 is engaged with either plug 34 or some other charging apparatus. If rechargeable battery 20 is receiving a charge, then the charging portion of charging/fault readout 54 may be illuminated. If docking station 22 is engaged with plug 34 but no charge is being received by rechargeable battery 20, charging/fault readout 54 will indicate a fault.”
The fault indication can be considered as displaying a stopped status.
}
detecting if a charging session begins, and then repeating the following steps: acquiring a current vehicle state of charge;
comparing the current vehicle state of charge with a target charge level;
calculating time to reach target charge level based on a current rate of charge and the vehicle state of charge;
displaying a "charging" state;
{Para [0044] “With respect to FIG. 3, a portion of A-pillar 46 circled in FIG. 2a is enlarged. FIG. 3 illustrates some of the information that may be displayed by display panel 40 including a read-out 50 depicting a state of charge for rechargeable battery 20. In the illustrated embodiment, a plurality of bars are depicted, the number of bars corresponding to a percentage of charge held by rechargeable battery 20. The higher the number of bars depicted, the greater the percentage of charge rechargeable battery 20 is holding. Display panel 40 also displays an estimated charge completion time readout 52. This allows display panel 40 to display to user 31 the estimated time when charging may be completed. In other embodiments, charge completion readout 52 may display the number of hours or minutes remaining until charge is complete.”
}
displaying a state of the charging session, where the state of the charging session can be seen outside of the electric vehicle;
{Para [0030] “Embodiments of the present invention provide solutions to the above-referenced problems. For example, a vehicle having an interior and a plurality of surfaces formed by trim components disposed throughout the interior of the vehicle body will include a display panel mounted on one of the trim components. The vehicle body will also include a plurality of windows disposed about the vehicle body. The display panel may be disposed on a trim component that is positioned in close proximity to one of the windows and may further be positioned such that a display screen or other display portion of the display panel is visible from a position outside the vehicle.”
}
detecting if a charging session stops, and if the stopping of the charging session is planned, display "complete" status, otherwise if the stopping of the charging session is unplanned or interrupted, display "stopped" status.
{Para [0045] “Display panel 40 also includes a charging/fault readout 54. Charging/fault readout 54 displays an indication of whether or not electrical charging system 28 is receiving a charge from household electric outlet 38 or from some other source when docking station 22 is engaged with either plug 34 or some other charging apparatus. If rechargeable battery 20 is receiving a charge, then the charging portion of charging/fault readout 54 may be illuminated. If docking station 22 is engaged with plug 34 but no charge is being received by rechargeable battery 20, charging/fault readout 54 will indicate a fault. An engine block heater readout 56 may also be included on display panel 40 and may indicate that an engine block associated with internal combustion engine 30 is receiving current. Other readouts may include an indication of remaining battery life for rechargeable battery 20. Additionally, display panel 40 may be configured to include an input window 51 having touch screen type sensitivity or buttons or any other configuration effective to allow a user to input settings relating to a recharging cycle for rechargeable battery 20. For instance, using input window 51, a vehicle operator may be able to initiate a charge mode or set a charge mode to begin or end at a desired time or to initiate a charge mode at the discretion of a local utility company in accordance with a contractual arrangement that the vehicle operator has with the local utility company. A vehicle operator may also be able to use input window 51 to initiate or end an engine block heating cycle. Display panel 40 may further include a charge mode indicator 53 which can indicate information relating to the charge received by rechargeable battery 20 such as whether a current charge cycle has been initiated by the vehicle operator or by the local utility company. In other embodiments, display panel 40 may be configured to provide information relating to a charge enable status, a charge pause status, metered energy and price control charge.”
Para [0044] “With respect to FIG. 3, a portion of A-pillar 46 circled in FIG. 2a is enlarged. FIG. 3 illustrates some of the information that may be displayed by display panel 40 including a read-out 50 depicting a state of charge for rechargeable battery 20. In the illustrated embodiment, a plurality of bars are depicted, the number of bars corresponding to a percentage of charge held by rechargeable battery 20. The higher the number of bars depicted, the greater the percentage of charge rechargeable battery 20 is holding. Display panel 40 also displays an estimated charge completion time readout 52. This allows display panel 40 to display to user 31 the estimated time when charging may be completed. In other embodiments, charge completion readout 52 may display the number of hours or minutes remaining until charge is complete.”
Where showing full bars or showing 0 time remaining can be considered as showing a completed status.
}
Grider does not teach acquire target charge level from the electric vehicle
However, Austin teaches acquire target charge level from the electric vehicle
{para [100] “When the button 110 is selected (and in some embodiments, after the user selects the navigation button 82 described above to return to the first screen 40, and after the user commands the vehicle charging cord 22 to begin a charging session by pressing the power button 34), the controller 44 determines whether the charge level of the vehicle battery 20 connected thereto is below the threshold input by the user. The battery charge level can be determined as described above. If the battery charge level is below the threshold input by the user, or in some cases at or below the threshold input by the user, the controller 44 of the vehicle charging cord 22 automatically causes the switch 92 to close, thereby charging the vehicle battery 20 without delay.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grider to incorporate the teachings of Austin to have a user set charge level because as discussed in Austin para [0002-0004] performing full charging at certain times of the day can stress electrical infrastructure thus performing charging only to a target level that isn’t the full level reduces stress on infrastructure.
Regarding Claim 11, Grider in view of Austin teaches The method of claim 10. Grider further teaches where the display is active from the initial activation step until the electric vehicle leaves the external charging station.
{Para [0049] “In some embodiments of vehicle 10, display panel 40 may be configured to illuminate upon the initiation of a charging cycle. In such embodiments, display panel 40 will illuminate when plug 34 engages docking station 22. In embodiments of vehicle 10 equipped with light sensor 58, the illumination of display panel 40 may occur only when ambient light registers below the predetermined level. In vehicles 10 lacking light sensor 58, display panel 48 may be configured to illuminate regardless of ambient light conditions. In other embodiments, display panel 40 may illuminate automatically when a plug 34 is engaged with docking station 22 and an increased level of illumination may be provided if light sensor 58 determines that ambient light is below the predetermined level.”
Where the display is illuminated (active) when the vehicle is on-plug and it implied that the display is thus de-illuminated when unplugged which can be said to correspond with leaving the charging station. It should be noted that applicant has not provided a mechanism as to how it is determined when the vehicle has left the charging station.
}
Regarding Claim 12, Grider in view of Austin teaches The method of claim 10. Grider further teaches further comprising: deactivating the display if the external charging system is disconnected from the electric vehicle charge port.
{Para [0049] “In some embodiments of vehicle 10, display panel 40 may be configured to illuminate upon the initiation of a charging cycle. In such embodiments, display panel 40 will illuminate when plug 34 engages docking station 22. In embodiments of vehicle 10 equipped with light sensor 58, the illumination of display panel 40 may occur only when ambient light registers below the predetermined level. In vehicles 10 lacking light sensor 58, display panel 48 may be configured to illuminate regardless of ambient light conditions. In other embodiments, display panel 40 may illuminate automatically when a plug 34 is engaged with docking station 22 and an increased level of illumination may be provided if light sensor 58 determines that ambient light is below the predetermined level.”
Where the display is illuminated (active) when the vehicle is on-plug and it implied that the display is thus de-illuminated when unplugged which can be said to correspond with leaving the charging station. It should be noted that applicant has not provided a mechanism as to how it is determined when the vehicle has left the charging station.
}
Regarding Claim 13, Grider in view of Austin teaches The method of claim 10. Grider further teaches further comprising: moving the deactivated display into a storage compartment within the electric vehicle.
{Para [0043] “With respect to FIG. 2B, a perspective view of interior portion 14 of vehicle body 12 is presented. A portion of the windshield 16 is illustrated. A-pillar cover 48 covers a portion of A-pillar 46 (not shown) and may comprise plastic or other materials suitable for use to cover and conceal A-pillar 46. Display panel 40 is mounted to an upper portion of A-pillar cover 48 and protrudes outwardly therefrom in a direction generally parallel to the driver's side window 16. Mounted in this manner, the display portion of display panel 40 is visible from a position outside of vehicle body 12 and may or may not be visible to a user seated in interior portion 14. In some embodiments, display panel 40 may be permanently affixed to A-pillar cover 48 while in other embodiments, display panel 40 may be disposed within a recess in A-pillar cover 48 and may deploy to a visible position when electrical charging system 28 is being charged.”
As the display is deployed when charging it is implied that it is moved into the compartment when not charging. Additionally, being in the storage compartment itself can be considered a deactivated state.
}
Regarding Claim 14, Grider in view of Austin teaches The method of claim 10. Grider further teaches where all displayed information is visible from a distance at least 25 feet from the electric vehicle.
{ fig. 2a and fig. 3 and para [0043] “With respect to FIG. 2B, a perspective view of interior portion 14 of vehicle body 12 is presented. A portion of the windshield 16 is illustrated. A-pillar cover 48 covers a portion of A-pillar 46 (not shown) and may comprise plastic or other materials suitable for use to cover and conceal A-pillar 46. Display panel 40 is mounted to an upper portion of A-pillar cover 48 and protrudes outwardly therefrom in a direction generally parallel to the driver's side window 16. Mounted in this manner, the display portion of display panel 40 is visible from a position outside of vehicle body 12 and may or may not be visible to a user seated in interior portion 14. In some embodiments, display panel 40 may be permanently affixed to A-pillar cover 48 while in other embodiments, display panel 40 may be disposed within a recess in A-pillar cover 48 and may deploy to a visible position when electrical charging system 28 is being charged.”
Based on size of the display in the figures the illumination status of the display which correlates with the connection status of the charge port would be discernable from 25 feet.
Para [0049] “In some embodiments of vehicle 10, display panel 40 may be configured to illuminate upon the initiation of a charging cycle. In such embodiments, display panel 40 will illuminate when plug 34 engages docking station 22. In embodiments of vehicle 10 equipped with light sensor 58, the illumination of display panel 40 may occur only when ambient light registers below the predetermined level. In vehicles 10 lacking light sensor 58, display panel 48 may be configured to illuminate regardless of ambient light conditions. In other embodiments, display panel 40 may illuminate automatically when a plug 34 is engaged with docking station 22 and an increased level of illumination may be provided if light sensor 58 determines that ambient light is below the predetermined level.”
}
Regarding Claim 15, Grider in view of Austin teaches The method of claim 10. Austin further teaches further comprising: transmitting the displayed information via a wireless transmission protocol.
{Para [0105] “In some embodiments, the controller 44 of the vehicle charging cord 22 can send a communication to the user in the event that one or more different events associated with a vehicle charging session occur. By way of example only, by using conventional power detection circuitry, the controller 44 can detect when a supply of power to the vehicle charging cord 22 has been interrupted, such as in a power failure in the electrical system of the user, at the power utility, or anywhere in between. Identifying and communicating this status to a user can be very important to the user, enabling the user to find another source of electrical power to charge the user's vehicle 18, or at least enabling the user to make appropriate plans based upon the existing level of charge in the vehicle battery 20. As another example, and by using conventional battery diagnostic circuitry, the controller 44 can detect when the battery 20 connected thereto is fully charged or has reached any other level of charge (e.g., a minimum battery charge level as described above). Still other events that can be detected and communicated to the user include a battery fault condition, a problem with the vehicle charging cord 22, and the like.”
Para [0107] “The controller 44 of the vehicle charging cord 22 can communicate any of the events described above in a number of different manners. For example, the vehicle charging cord 22 can have a speaker or other sound emitting device (not shown) coupled to the controller 44 and capable of emitting an auditory alarm when any of the above-described events have occurred. The audible alarm can be emitted once upon the occurrence of the event, or can be emitted upon the occurrence of the event and at periodic times (e.g., every 5 minutes, every hour, and the like) after the occurrence of the event. As another example, the controller 44 of the vehicle charging cord 22 can transmit a wired or wireless signal to the user's computer and/or to the power utility 48 (i.e., to the controller 50 of the power utility 48) in any of the manners of communication described above in connection with the controller 50. Such a signal can automatically trigger a visual or auditory alarm or other notice via the user's computer and/or the controller 50 of the power utility 48, such as by automatically generating a text message or e-mail from the controller 50 of the power utility 48 to a computer, phone, PDA, or other device of the user, by automatically generating a text message or e-mail from the user's computer to a phone, PDA, or other device of the user, by displaying an alert on the user's computer, and the like. Another mode of communication to the user include an automatically generated telephone call from the power utility 48 (triggered by and/or under control of the controller 50) or the user's computer to a phone of the user, followed by an automatically generated voice message communicating the event and played by phone to the user when the phone is answered. Still other modes of alerting the user to any of the events described above are possible, and fall within the spirit and scope of the present invention.”
}
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Grider to incorporate the teachings of Austin to transmit wireless information because being able to view charge information on a wireless device is convenient as it allows the user to be away from the vehicle while charging.
Regarding Claim 16, Grider in view of Austin teaches The method of claim 10. Austin further teaches where the target charge level is acquired from one of the electric vehicle or an operator of the electric vehicle.
{para [100] “When the button 110 is selected (and in some embodiments, after the user selects the navigation button 82 described above to return to the first screen 40, and after the user commands the vehicle charging cord 22 to begin a charging session by pressing the power button 34), the controller 44 determines whether the charge level of the vehicle battery 20 connected thereto is below the threshold input by the user. The battery charge level can be determined as described above. If the battery charge level is below the threshold input by the user, or in some cases at or below the threshold input by the user, the controller 44 of the vehicle charging cord 22 automatically causes the switch 92 to close, thereby charging the vehicle battery 20 without delay.”
}
Regarding Claim 17, Grider in view of Austin teaches The method of claim 10. Grider further teaches where recognizing a connection from an external charging system to a charge port of the electric vehicle comprises openin