DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) filed on the record are in compliance with the content requirements of 37 CFR 1.97 and 37 CFR 1.98 and have been considered.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,029,870 B2, hereinafter "the '870 patent". Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the '870 patent encompass all of the limitations of the instant claim.
The following claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the '870 patent:
Claim 2; unpatentable over claim 3 of the '870 patent.
Claim 3; unpatentable over claim 4 of the '870 patent.
Claim 4; unpatentable over claim 5 of the '870 patent.
Claim 5; unpatentable over claim 6 of the '870 patent.
Claim 6; unpatentable over claim 7 of the '870 patent.
Claim 7; unpatentable over claim 8 of the '870 patent.
Claim 11; unpatentable over claim 5 of the '870 patent.
Claim 12; unpatentable over claim 6 of the '870 patent.
Claim 13; unpatentable over claim 10 of the '870 patent.
Claim 14; unpatentable over claim 11 of the '870 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10-11 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lobl (U.S. Pub. 2007/0255237, hereinafter "Lobl"). Regarding claim 1, Lobl discloses an implantable medical device for withdrawing cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) from a CSF-containing space of a subject and for infusing fluid into the subject, the device comprising:
a first inlet configured to be accessed by a needle of an aspiration device;
a first outlet;
a first fluid pathway extending from the first inlet to the first outlet;
a second inlet;
a second outlet;
a second fluid pathway extending from the second inlet to the second outlet; and one or more CSF catheters comprising a first lumen, a first distal opening in fluid communication with the first lumen, a second lumen and a second distal opening in fluid communication with the second lumen,
wherein the first lumen is in fluid communication with, or is configured to be placed in fluid communication with the first fluid pathway,
wherein the second lumen is in fluid communication with, or is configured to be placed in fluid communication with the second fluid pathway, wherein the first distal opening is configured to be placed in the CSF-containing space of the subject, and
wherein the first fluid pathway is free of a filter configured to prevent passage of a microbe (see annotated Figure 16 below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (inlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (outlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (second fluid pathway)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (inlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (outlet)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first fluid pathway)][AltContent: textbox (second lumen)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (first lumen)][AltContent: arrow]
Lobl, Annotated Fig. 16.
Regarding claim 2, Lobl discloses the implantable medical device wherein the second fluid pathway comprises a filter configured to allow passage of a therapeutic fluid and configured to prevent passage of a microbe (filter; see para. [0058]). Regarding claim 3, Lobl discloses the implantable medical device wherein the second distal opening is configured to be placed in the CSF-containing space (see para. [0074], disclosing that drugs can be delivered to the brain through a hole in the skull using a bone needle; and see cerebro-spinal fluid in para. [0031]). Regarding claim 4, Lobl discloses the implantable medical device, comprising self-sealing septum, wherein the septum is positioned across the first inlet (self-sealing elastomeric septum covers the reservoir; see para. [0039]). Regarding claim 10, Lobl discloses the implantable medical device wherein the second distal opening is configured to be placed in the CSF-containing space (see para. [0074], disclosing that drugs can be delivered to the brain through a hole in the skull using a bone needle; and see cerebro-spinal fluid in para. [0031]). Regarding claim 11, Lobl discloses the implantable medical device, comprising a self-sealing septum, wherein the septum is positioned across the first inlet (self-sealing elastomeric septum covers the reservoir; see para. [0039]). Regarding claim 14, Lobl discloses the implantable medical device wherein the second inlet is configured to be coupled to an accessory device catheter (dual lumen catheter 102; see Figures 15-16). Regarding claim 15, Lobl discloses the implantable medical device wherein the first and second inlets are configured to be positioned in proximity to a skull (see para. [0074], disclosing that drugs can be delivered to the brain through a hole in the skull using a bone needle; and see cerebro-spinal fluid in para. [0031]). Regarding claim 16, Lobl discloses the implantable medical device wherein at least a portion of the device is configured to be positioned in or around a burr hole in the skull (see para. [0074], disclosing that drugs can be delivered to the brain through a hole in the skull using a bone needle; and see cerebro-spinal fluid in para. [0031]). Regarding claim 17, Lobl discloses a method comprising:
implanting the device of claim 1, in the subject,
aspirating CSF from the subject through the first distal opening, the first lumen, and the first fluid pathway, and
infusing a therapeutic fluid to the subject through the second fluid pathway, the second lumen, and the second distal opening (one side of the port receiving fluid from another source and the other side used to withdraw fluid from the target tissue; see para. [0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lobl.
Regarding claims 5-6, Lobl discloses the implantable medical device except wherein the device comprises a top surface, and wherein the top surface comprises the first inlet, and wherein the device comprises a side surface, wherein the side surface comprises the second inlet. Instead, the top surface comprises the second inlet, and the side surface comprises the first inlet (Figures 15 and 16).
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the top surface with the first inlet and the side surface with the second inlet since rearranging parts requires routine skill in the art. Furthermore, the device would perform equally well with the aspiration in the second lumen and infusion in the first lumen. Regarding claim 7, Lobl discloses the implantable medical device wherein the second inlet is configured to be coupled to an accessory device catheter (dual lumen catheter, 102: Figures 15-16). Regarding claim 8, Lobl discloses the implantable medical device wherein the first and second inlets are configured to be positioned in proximity to a skull (see para. [0074], disclosing that drugs can be delivered to the brain through a hole in the skull using a bone needle; and see cerebro-spinal fluid in para. [0031]). Regarding claim 9, Lobl discloses the implantable medical device wherein at least a portion of the device is configured to be positioned in or around a burr hole in a skull (see para. [0074], disclosing that drugs can be delivered to the brain through a hole in the skull using a bone needle; and see cerebro-spinal fluid in para. [0031]). Regarding claims 12-13, Lobl discloses the implantable medical device except wherein the device comprises a top surface, and wherein the top surface comprises the first inlet, and wherein the device comprises a side surface, wherein the side surface comprises the second inlet. Instead, the top surface comprises the second inlet, and the side surface comprises the first inlet (Figures 15 and 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the top surface with the first inlet and the side surface with the second inlet since rearranging parts requires routine skill in the art. Furthermore, the device would perform equally well with aspiration through the second fluid pathway to the second lumen and infusion through the first fluid pathway to the first lumen.
Conclusion
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 07/13/2026