DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 12/15/2025 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 10, 12, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: The acronyms “NE-DC”, “NR-DC”, “EN-DC”, “NGEN-DC”, or "IMSI” appear without being first defined. Appropriate correction is required.
35 USC 112 CLAIM REJECTIONS
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant’s claims 10 and 12 recite NE-DC, NR-DC, EN-DC, and NGEN-DC without defining what the first part of the abbreviations stand for or what they mean, whereas the DC has been defined in the specification to be dual connectivity. In paragraph 0040 of the published application, MR-DC is defined as multi-RAT dual connectivity but the terms above are only ever mentioned but not explained what each of the abbreviations stands for and how each differ from each other. Thus, given the above, this would not allow one to conclude that the inventor had possession of the broadly claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al (US2025/0071632 A1).
Regarding claims 1,13, 19, and 20, Chen teaches a gap information transmission method/network side device, being a first node (Abstract), comprising:
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or instructions that are executable on the processor, and when the program or instructions are executed by the processor, the following step is implemented (Paras. 0008-0011):
sending/receiving, by a first/second node, gap information to a second node, wherein the gap information comprises at least one of gap status information or gap type information (Fig. 8; Paras. 0093-0096; MN informs SN for each pre-MG, gapPurpose (per UE or per FR1) and pre-MG status indication for each BWP through message 820. In some examples, message 820 may be RRC signaling. In some variant, SN may send a gap request to MN; i.e. MN/master node reads on the first node and SN/secondary node reads on the second node).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Chen teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Chen further teaches wherein the first node is one of a master node (MN) and at least one secondary node (SN), and the second node is the other of the MN and the at least one SN; or the first node is one of a control unit (CU) and at least one data unit (DU), and the second node is the other of the CU and the at least one DU (Fig. 8; Paras. 0093-0096; MN informs SN for each pre-MG, gapPurpose (per UE or per FR1) and pre-MG status indication for each BWP through message 820. In some examples, message 820 may be RRC signaling. In some variant, SN may send a gap request to MN; i.e. MN/master node reads on the first node and SN/secondary node reads on the second node).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Chen further teaches wherein the gap status information comprises at least one of the following: a gap state; or gap-related configuration information, wherein the gap state is used to indicate an activated/a deactivated state of a target gap, or the gap state is used to indicate that the target gap is a dynamic gap; and the target gap is a gap configured by the first node, or the target gap is a gap configured by the second node under a request of the first node (Fig. 8; Paras. 0093-0096; MN informs SN for each pre-MG, gapPurpose (per UE or per FR1) and pre-MG status indication for each BWP through message 820. In some examples, message 820 may be RRC signaling. In some variant, SN may send a gap request to MN; i.e. gap purpose reads on gap-related configuration information).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Chen further teaches wherein the gap-related configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a measurement frequency associated with the target gap; a measurement object associated with the target gap; a gap purpose of the target gap, wherein the gap purpose comprises: per-user equipment (per-UE), per-frequency range 1 (per-FR1), per-requency range 2 (per-FR2), per-cell group (per-CG), or a gap related to a secondary cell group (SCG); gap configuration information of the target gap; an identifier of the target gap; or a priority of the target gap; or, wherein the gap state comprises at least one of the following: first state information, used to indicate whether the target gap is a pre-configured gap; second state information, used to indicate whether the target gap is a dynamic gap; third state information, used to indicate whether the target gap is droppable; fourth state information, used to indicate a transmission state during the target gap; a first gap state, used to indicate a real-time activated/deactivated state of the target gap; or a second gap state, used to indicate an initial activated/deactivated state of the target gap (Fig. 8; Paras. 0093-0096; MN informs SN for each pre-MG, gapPurpose (per UE or per FR1) and pre-MG status indication for each BWP through message 820. In some examples, message 820 may be RRC signaling. In some variant, SN may send a gap request to MN).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Chen teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Chen further teaches wherein the gap type information comprises at least one of the following: a to-be-configured gap type; an association indication, used to indicate whether to associate the target gap with an association object or at least one measurement frequency; an association object, wherein the association object comprises at least one of the following: a radio access technology (RAT), positioning or a positioning reference signal (PRS), or multi IMSI; a gap priority; or a to-be-configured gap purpose, wherein the gap purpose comprises: per-user equipment (per-UE), per-frequency range 1 (per-FR1), per-requency range 2 (per-FR2), per-cell group (per-CG), or a gap related to a secondary cell group (SCG) (Fig. 8; Paras. 0093-0096; MN informs SN for each pre-MG, gapPurpose (per UE or per FR1) and pre-MG status indication for each BWP through message 820. In some examples, message 820 may be RRC signaling. In some variant, SN may send a gap request to MN).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Chen further teaches wherein the to-be-configured gap type comprises at least one of the following: a pre-configured gap; a coexisting gap or a gap configured with an association relationship; a network controlled small gap; an autonomous gap; a gap used for positioning measurement; a gap used for a multi IMSI purpose; an uplink gap; or a measurement gap (Fig. 8; Paras. 0081 and 0093-0096; the MN determines from pre-configured measurement gap (pre-MG) configurations for at least one pre-MG; MN informs SN for each pre-MG, gapPurpose (per UE or per FR1) and pre-MG status indication for each BWP through message 820. In some examples, message 820 may be RRC signaling. In some variant, SN may send a gap request to MN).
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Chen further teaches wherein in a case in which the first node is the MN and the second node is the at least one SN, the sending, by a first node, gap information to a second node comprises: sending, by the MN to the at least one SN, gap information of a target gap configured by the MN for a terminal (Fig. 8; Paras. 0081 and 0093-0096; the MN determines from pre-configured measurement gap (pre-MG) configurations for at least one pre-MG; MN informs SN for each pre-MG, gapPurpose (per UE or per FR1) and pre-MG status indication for each BWP through message 820. In some examples, message 820 may be RRC signaling. In some variant, SN may send a gap request to MN).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Chen further teaches wherein the gap information is carried in a measurement gap configuration measGapConfig; or, wherein the sending, by the MN to the at least one SN, gap information of a target gap configured by the MN for a terminal comprises: sending, by the MN, a gap activation status message to the at least one SN, wherein the gap activation status message is used to indicate gap status information of the target gap configured by the MN for the terminal (Fig. 8; Paras. 0093-0096; when the event 810 is a BWP switching in MN, MN informs SN (e.g., through message 820) about the per UE pre-MG and per FR1 pre-MG status every time upon a change in the pre-MG status).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Chen further teaches wherein the sending, by the MN, a gap activation status message to the at least one SN comprises: sending, by the MN, the gap activation status message to the at least one SN periodically or when a gap activation status of the target gap changes (Fig. 8; Paras. 0084 and 0093-0096; for one pre-MG which may be in an activation status (“on”) in the other CG; when the event 810 is a BWP switching in MN, MN informs SN (e.g., through message 820) about the per UE pre-MG and per FR1 pre-MG status every time upon a change in the pre-MG status).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Chen further teaches wherein a gap configured by the MN is a gap of a first gap purpose, and the first gap purpose comprises at least one of the following: per-user equipment (per-UE), per-frequency range 1 (per-FR1), per-requency range 2 (per-FR2), per-cell group (per-CG), or a gap related to a secondary cell group (SCG); or, wherein in NE-DC or NR-DC, a gap purpose of the target gap is per-UE, per-FR1, or per-FR2; and in EN-DC or NGEN-DC, the gap purpose of the target gap is per-UE or per-FR1 (Fig. 8; Paras. 0081 and 0093-0096; the MN determines from pre-configured measurement gap (pre-MG) configurations for at least one pre-MG; MN informs SN for each pre-MG, gapPurpose (per UE or per FR1) and pre-MG status indication for each BWP through message 820. In some examples, message 820 may be RRC signaling. In some variant, SN may send a gap request to MN).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Chen further teaches wherein in a case in which the first node is the SN and the second node is the MN, the sending, by a first node, gap information to a second node comprises: sending, by the SN, a cell group configuration (CG-Config) to the MN, wherein the cell group configuration carries gap information of a target gap configured for a terminal under a request of the SN (Fig. 8; Paras. 0084 and 0093-0096; for one pre-MG which may be in an activation status (“on”) in the other CG; when the event 810 is a BWP switching in MN, MN informs SN (e.g., through message 820) about the per UE pre-MG and per FR1 pre-MG status every time upon a change in the pre-MG status).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Chen further teaches wherein in EN-DC or NGEN-DC, a gap purpose of the target gap configured under the request of the SN is per-FR2; or, wherein the sending, by a first node, gap information to a second node comprises: in EN-DC, NGEN-DC, or NR-DC, sending, by the SN, the gap type information to the MN by using a measConfigSN, wherein the CG-Config comprises the measConfigSN (Fig. 8; Paras. 0087 and 0093-0096; when the UE is in EN-DC, LTE may not update for pre-MG, thus pre-MG is requested by SN and only applicable for FR2 gap).
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Chen further teaches further comprising: determining, by the second node, a gap state of a target gap and/or a gap configuration based on the gap information, wherein the target gap is a gap configured by the first node for a terminal or a gap configured for the terminal under a request of the first node (Fig. 8; Paras. 0093-0096; MN informs SN for each pre-MG, gapPurpose (per UE or per FR1) and pre-MG status indication for each BWP through message 820. In some examples, message 820 may be RRC signaling. In some variant, SN may send a gap request to MN; i.e. gap purpose reads on gap-related configuration information).
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Chen further teaches wherein the determining, by the second node, a gap state and/or a gap configuration based on the gap information comprises: determining, by the second node, the gap configuration based on the gap type information; and/or performing, by the second node, at least one of the following operations based on the gap status information: determining a gap state of the target gap, wherein the gap state comprises any one of an activated state, a deactivated state, and a dynamic gap; determining whether there is a conflict in the target gap; ignoring the target gap; dropping the target gap; or transmitting data during the target gap (Fig. 8; Paras. 0093-0096; MN informs SN for each pre-MG, gapPurpose (per UE or per FR1) and pre-MG status indication for each BWP through message 820. In some examples, message 820 may be RRC signaling. In some variant, SN may send a gap request to MN).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Chen further teaches wherein the gap status information comprises at least one of the following: a gap state; or gap-related configuration information, wherein the gap state is used to indicate an activated/a deactivated state of the target gap, or the gap state is used to indicate that the target gap is a dynamic gap; and the target gap is a gap configured by the first node, or the target gap is a gap configured by the second node under a request of the first node; wherein the gap-related configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a measurement frequency associated with the target gap; a measurement object associated with the target gap; a gap purpose of the target gap, wherein the gap purpose comprises: per-user equipment (per-UE), per-frequency range 1 (per-FR1), per-requency range 2 (per-FR2), per-cell group (per-CG), or a gap related to a secondary cell group (SCG); gap configuration information of the target gap; an identifier of the target gap; or a priority of the target gap; or, wherein the gap state comprises at least one of the following: first state information, used to indicate whether the target gap is a pre-configured gap; second state information, used to indicate whether the target gap is a dynamic gap; third state information, used to indicate whether the target gap is droppable; fourth state information, used to indicate a transmission state during the target gap; a first gap state, used to indicate a real-time activated/deactivated state of the target gap; or a second gap state, used to indicate an initial activated/deactivated state of the target gap (Fig. 8; Paras. 0093-0096; MN informs SN for each pre-MG, gapPurpose (per UE or per FR1) and pre-MG status indication for each BWP through message 820. In some examples, message 820 may be RRC signaling. In some variant, SN may send a gap request to MN).
Conclusion
/KENT KRUEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474