DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment filed 8 June 2026 required the new reference shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickes (US 2009/0218900), in view of Galmiche et al. (“Galmiche”; US 2020/0112215).
Regarding claim 1: Dickes discloses a rotor (166, Fig. 16) for an external rotor motor (paragraph 0085), comprising:
a stack of ring-shaped steel sheets (168),
permanent magnets (32) fixed to an inner side of the stack of sheets (Fig. 16), and
a carrier (24, Fig. 1) which has a hub for a shaft (18) and is fastened to the stack of sheets, wherein tie rods (74) are pines that each project axially within a channel through the carrier and the stack of sheets and pull the stack of sheets against the carrier (Fig. 2, paragraph 0055).
Dickes does not explicitly disclose at only one end of the pins a removable end piece has a width that is greater than a width of the channel.
However, Galmiche discloses at only one end of the pins (27, Fig. 5) a removable end piece (30) has a width that is greater than a width of the channel (as shown in Fig. 5, paragraph 0086).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pin of Dickes to have only one removable end piece, as disclosed by Galmiche, in order to reduce the complexity by reducing the number of removable pieces.
Regarding claim 6: Dickes discloses the tie rods are threaded pins and the end pieces are screwed onto the pins (as a nut is screwed onto the pin, paragraph 0060).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickes and Galmiche, as applied to claim 1, further in view of Mongeau et al. (“Mongeau”; US 2022/0069649).
Regarding claim 7: Dickes discloses the stack sheets and the carrier, but does not explicitly disclose the stack of sheets carries an end ring at its end facing away from the carrier, which end ring forms an axial stop for the permanent magnets, and the tie rods also project through the end ring.
However, Mongeau discloses the stack of sheets (42, Fig. 6) carries an end ring (52) at its end facing away from the carrier (58, shown best in Fig. 5), which end ring forms an axial stop for the permanent magnets, and the tie rods (54) also project through the end ring (as shown in Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the stack sheets to include the end ring of Mongeau in order to better secure the magnets to the carrier.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dickes and Galmiche, as applied to claim 1, further in view of Semken et al. (“Semken”; US 2015/0222151).
Regarding claim 8: Dickes discloses the stack of sheets is formed from sheets which have a plurality of openings (58) for the tie rods, the openings each having a round main area (58), but does not explicitly disclose a slot extending from the main area.
However, Semken discloses the sheets have an opening (148) having a round main area and a slot extending from the main area (Fig. 5a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the openings of Dickes to include the slot of Semken in order to better align the sheets.
Regarding claim 9: Dickes modified by Semken disclose the slot, Semken further discloses the slot is directed radially inwards (paragraph 0159, other configurations can be used, and when combined with the outward rotor of Dickes, the slot would be directed radially inward, towards the stator).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN GUGGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834