DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of US Pat. 12,069,099. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are directed to substantially similar methods, systems, and/or media, for example contrast claims 1, 3, and 4 with claims 1 of ‘099:
Instant Claims 1, 3, and 4
‘099 claim 1
Non-transitory computer-readable storage media having computer-executable instructions stored thereon for autonomous cybersecurity within a network computing environment, wherein when executed by at least one processor the computer-executable instructions cause the at least one processor to:
Non-transitory computer-readable storage media having computer-executable instructions stored thereon for autonomous cybersecurity within a network computing environment, wherein when executed by at least one processor the computer-executable instructions cause the at least one processor to:
establish electronic communication with a network computing environment;
establish electronic communication with a network computing environment;
receive data records from a data source, each of the data records containing data elements relating to resources and/or activity within the network computing environment;
receive data records from a data source, each of the data records containing data elements relating to resources and/or activity within the network computing environment;
(claim 3) feed the data records to an observer program to generate the at least some data elements fed to the optimizer program.
feed the data records to an observer program to generate at least some data elements of one or more of the data records,
(claim 4) the observer program is configured to generate the at least some data elements fed to the optimizer program at least in part by applying pre-processing rules to compare the data records against a plurality of pre-defined profiles, the plurality of pre-defined profiles including a plurality of pre-defined node profiles and a plurality of pre-defined edge profiles,
the observer program being configured to generate the at least some data elements at least in part by applying pre-processing rules to compare the data records against a plurality of pre-defined profiles, the plurality of pre-defined profiles including a plurality of pre-defined node profiles and a plurality of pre-defined edge profiles,
(claim 4) based on the application of the pre-processing rules, identifying a plurality of pre-matched records of the data records, each of the plurality of pre-matched records matching at least one of the plurality of pre-defined profiles, building a production graph database model at least in part by modeling the plurality of pre-matched records using corresponding ones of the plurality of pre-defined profiles,
based on the application of the pre-processing rules, identifying a plurality of pre-matched records of the data records, each of the plurality of pre-matched records matching at least one of the plurality of pre-defined profiles, building a production graph database model at least in part by modeling the plurality of pre-matched records using corresponding ones of the plurality of pre-defined profiles,
(claim 4) generating a natural language narrative describing a region of interest within the production graph database model, the natural language narrative comprising the at least some data elements fed to the optimizer program.
generating a natural language narrative describing a region of interest within the production graph database model, the natural language narrative comprising the at least some data elements,
execute an optimizer program and feed at least some of the data elements of one or more of the data records to the optimizer program for comparison against a system goal and calculation of a first distance to the system goal based on the comparison;
execute an optimizer program and feed the at least some data elements to the optimizer program for comparison against a system goal and calculation of a first distance to the system goal based on the comparison;
based on the first distance, implement pre-determined changes in the network computing environment;
based on the first distance, implement pre-determined changes in the network computing environment;
receive additional data records containing additional data elements recorded within the network computing environment following the implementation of the pre-determined changes;
receive additional data records containing additional data elements recorded within the network computing environment following the implementation of the pre-determined changes;
execute the optimizer program and feed at least some of the additional data elements of one or more of the additional data records to the optimizer program for follow-up comparison against the system goal and calculation of a second distance to the system goal based on the follow-up comparison;
execute the optimizer program and feed at least some of the additional data elements of one or more of the additional data records to the optimizer program for follow-up comparison against the system goal and calculation of a second distance to the system goal based on the follow-up comparison;
determine that the second distance is less than the first distance; and based on the determination, configure the optimizer program for additional changes to further advance the network computing environment toward the system goal.
determine that the second distance is less than the first distance; and based on the determination, configure the optimizer program for additional changes to further advance the network computing environment toward the system goal.
That is, the differences between the claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in that the scope of the instant invention overlaps with the scope of the patent. Further, instant claims 1 and 4-20, correspond similarly to subject matter of ‘099 claims 2-16. Therefore, if a patent were to be granted, it may result in an improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” of the subject matter and may lead to possible harassment by multiple assignees.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 11-13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as being anticipated by Ahuja et al (US Pub. No. 2018/0103064), hereafter, “Ahuja.”
As to claim 1, Ahuja discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage media having computer-executable instructions stored thereon for autonomous cybersecurity within a network computing environment (Abstract), wherein when executed by at least one processor the computer-executable instructions cause the at least one processor to:
establish electronic communication with a network computing environment (Abstract);
receive data records from a data source, each of the data records containing data elements relating to resources and/or activity within the network computing environment ([0093], particularly, “At block 1002, server profile data is generated for a plurality of existing virtual servers, where the server profile data indicates values for a plurality of properties associated with each of the plurality of existing virtual servers. For example, a policy configuration microservice 710 may generate the server profile data for a set of virtual servers running on hypervisors (e.g., hypervisors 720-752).”);
execute an optimizer program and feed at least some of the data elements of one or more of the data records to the optimizer program for comparison against a system goal and calculation of a first distance to the system goal based on the comparison ([0098], particularly, “At block 1014, the property values determined for the new virtual server are compared against the generated server profile data for the existing population of virtual servers to identify one or more closest matching existing virtual servers. For example, a policy configuration microservice 710 may compare the property values determined at block 1008 against property values stored for a population of virtual servers in a server properties database 716.” And [0101], particularly, “Determining a closest match may include a number of mathematical processes such as clustering (determining a distance metric from each existing server and selecting the shortest distance), calculating a weighting of certain properties, masking (requiring an exact match) certain properties, or any other methods, including combinations of multiple methods.”; the “system goal” being to find security profiles for new virtual servers);
based on the first distance, implement pre-determined changes in the network computing environment ([0102], particularly, “Referring to FIG. 10B, at block 1016, a security policy associated with the closest matching existing virtual server is deployed to the new virtual server. For example, based on identifying one or more closest matching existing virtual servers at block 1014, a policy configuration microservice 710 may determine a particular security policy associated with the closest matching server(s) (e.g., by looking up the existing virtual server's security policy from the security policy database 712).”);
receive additional data records containing additional data elements recorded within the network computing environment following the implementation of the pre-determined changes ([0104], particularly, “For example, the policy configuration microservice 710 may update the server properties database 716 with information for the new virtual server. The property information, for example, may include the information determined at block 1008 and may include any other additional information known about the new virtual server. By storing the property information for the new virtual server in the server properties database 716, information about the new virtual server can be used to inform security policy selections for subsequently created virtual servers.”);
execute the optimizer program and feed at least some of the additional data elements of one or more of the additional data records to the optimizer program for follow-up comparison against the system goal and calculation of a second distance to the system goal based on the follow-up comparison (Figs. 10A, 10B and [0104], particularly, “For example, the policy configuration microservice 710 may update the server properties database 716 with information for the new virtual server. The property information, for example, may include the information determined at block 1008 and may include any other additional information known about the new virtual server. By storing the property information for the new virtual server in the server properties database 716, information about the new virtual server can be used to inform security policy selections for subsequently created virtual servers.”; the process is iterative, i.e. “subsequently created virtual servers” will use the same process outlined above in [0098]-[00101]);
determine that the second distance is less than the first distance (Figs. 10A, 10B and [0104], particularly, “For example, the policy configuration microservice 710 may update the server properties database 716 with information for the new virtual server. The property information, for example, may include the information determined at block 1008 and may include any other additional information known about the new virtual server. By storing the property information for the new virtual server in the server properties database 716, information about the new virtual server can be used to inform security policy selections for subsequently created virtual servers.”; the process is iterative, i.e. “subsequently created virtual servers” will use the same process outlined above in [0098]-[0101]); and
based on the determination, configure the optimizer program for additional changes to further advance the network computing environment toward the system goal (Figs. 10A, 10B and [0104], particularly, “For example, the policy configuration microservice 710 may update the server properties database 716 with information for the new virtual server. The property information, for example, may include the information determined at block 1008 and may include any other additional information known about the new virtual server. By storing the property information for the new virtual server in the server properties database 716, information about the new virtual server can be used to inform security policy selections for subsequently created virtual servers.”; the process is iterative, i.e. “subsequently created virtual servers” will use the same process outlined above in [0098]-[0101]).
As to claim 11, it is rejected by a similar rationale by that set forth in claim 1’s rejection.
As to claims 2 and 12, Ahuja discloses the pre-determined changes include all or some of the following with respect to one or more entities within the network computing environment: (i) restrictions on, and/or enablement of, behavior and/or capabilities of the one or more entities ([0076], particularly, “For example, each security policy profile may include data specifying one or more security policy configurations, rules, parameters, etc., to be applied to a virtual server. For example, a security policy profile may specify rules relating to accessible networks, application permissions, user permissions, encryption policies, data loss prevention policies, etc.”); and (ii) instructions for the creation or deactivation of, and/or for the performance of one or more activities by, the one or more entities ([0076], particularly, “For example, each security policy profile may include data specifying one or more security policy configurations, rules, parameters, etc., to be applied to a virtual server. For example, a security policy profile may specify rules relating to accessible networks, application permissions, user permissions, encryption policies, data loss prevention policies, etc.”).
As to claims 3 and 13, Ahuja discloses the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to feed the data records to an observer program to generate the at least some data elements fed to the optimizer program ([0093], particularly, “At block 1002, server profile data is generated for a plurality of existing virtual servers, where the server profile data indicates values for a plurality of properties associated with each of the plurality of existing virtual servers. For example, a policy configuration microservice 710 may generate the server profile data for a set of virtual servers running on hypervisors (e.g., hypervisors 720-752).”).
As to claims 6 and 16, Ahuja discloses the computer-executable instructions further cause the at least one processor to based on pre-defined data collection requirements of the observer program, instruct at least one resource within the network computing environment to supplement pre-existing data collection practices and to report out or expose corresponding supplemental data relating to one or more of network traffic, endpoint behavior, serverless code execution, logging systems, and authentication systems ([0093], particularly, “At block 1002, server profile data is generated for a plurality of existing virtual servers, where the server profile data indicates values for a plurality of properties associated with each of the plurality of existing virtual servers. For example, a policy configuration microservice 710 may generate the server profile data for a set of virtual servers running on hypervisors (e.g., hypervisors 720-752).”).
As to claims 7 and 17, Ahuja discloses the network computing environment comprises at least one cloud computing account and/or cloud service type ([0132]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahuja in view of Teshome et al (US Pub. No. 2020/0134394), hereafter, “Teshome.”
As to claims 8 and 18, Ahuja discloses the parent claim but does not disclose the comparison and the follow-up comparison against the system goal are performed using a machine learning system state model of the optimizer program, the machine learning system state model being configured to generate the first and second distances from the system goal. However, Teshome discloses a comparison and a follow-up comparison against a system goal are performed using a machine learning system state model of an optimizer program, the machine learning system state model being configured to generate a first and second distances from the system goal ([0051], particularly, “In an embodiment, the performance mapping system characteristic 304 may determine to which applications or processes certain operational resources may be dedicated in order to optimize performance for the information handling system, as used by the current user. For example, the performance mapping system characteristic 304 may prioritize tasks for various computing components based on which activities the user is engaging in (e.g. as dictated by the behavioral use 302 system characteristic), how much power is expected to be available (e.g. as dictated by the power status 306 system characteristic), which activities are disallowed due to established policies (as dictated by the configuration 310 system characteristic) or due to security considerations (as dictated by the security profile 308 system characteristic).” and [0063], “In various other embodiments, machine learning systems may employ Naïve Bayes predictive modeling analysis of several varieties, learning vector quantization artificial neural network algorithms, or implementation of boosting algorithms such as Adaboost or stochastic gradient boosting systems for iteratively updating weighting to train a machine learning classifier to determine a relationship between an influencing attribute and a system characteristic and/or a degree to which such an influencing attribute affects the outcome of such a system characteristic. Several of these latter algorithms may establish a model with training data for utilization by the sensor fusion prediction based automatic adjustment system.”)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Ahuja and Teshome in order to provide a system using known means so as to produce a more reliable and adaptable system in response to changing inputs.
As to claims 9 and 19, the teachings of Ahuja and Teshome as combined for the same reasons set forth in claims 8 and 18’s rejection further disclose the optimizer program is configured for the additional changes by a machine learning change model of the optimizer program, the machine learning change model being configured to relate differences between the first and second distances to the pre-determined changes implemented in the network computing system (Ahuja, [0101] and Teshome, [0051] and [0063]).
As to claims 10 and 20, the teachings of Ahuja and Teshome as combined for the same reasons set forth in claims 8 and 18’s rejection further disclose discloses the pre-determined changes are automatically discovered within the network computing system and selected by the machine learning change model for implementation within the network computing system (Ahuja, [0101], [0104], and Teshome, [0051] and [0063]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims provided the Double Patenting rejections are also alleviated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited on the attached PTO 892 form and their particular relevance, if not cited above, is noted in this application’s parent case history (application 17/551,641, now Pat. 12,069,099) and is elaborated on therein.
/THOMAS J DAILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458