Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of by Zhou et al. (WO2020/137992).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 5, Zhou teaches the formation of a water/oil repellant layer over an “underlayer” by employing a surface treatment agent that reads upon the fluoro-containing ether compound including a fluoro-polyether chain and a reactive silyl group as claimed (see fluorine containing compound having reactive silyl groups section) and an oxide of lithium (see Underlayer section). Zhou fails to teach wherein the two compositions are combined into one. However, changing the order of the steps of the operation of Zhou from performing the steps of depositing the coatings successively to depositing them simultaneously would be considered a mere change in the order of the steps of Zhou wherein the Court has long held that in the absence of the new and unexpected outcome arising from the provision of the steps of Zhou in the new order, any order of performing the process steps is a prima facie case of obviousness. See In reBurhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946).
Regarding claim 3, the teachings of Zhou are as shown above. Zhou likely teaches embodiments wherein the amount of metal present reads upon the claims range but fails to provide the teachings in terms of percentage mass as claimed. Zhou largely uses the phrase “mass percent concentration” which excludes the mass of oxygen. However, Zhou teaches that the metal compound presence affects the reactivity of the reactions taking place on the surface of the underlayer as relates to the overlying water/oil repellant layer (see Base material with water and oil repellant layer section). Therefore, in the absence of criticality of the specific mass percentage range of the current claims, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the amount of the metallic element provided in the composition of Zhou in order to control the reactivity of the layers of Zhou as guided by Zhou. Discovery of optimum value of result effective variable in known process is ordinarily within skill of art. In re Boesch, CCPA 1980, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ215.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou further teaches wherein the water/oil repellant layer comprises a “liquid medium” (see First embodiment section).
Regarding claim 6, the water/oil repellant layer of Zhou is stated as being applied “by either a dry coating method or a wet coating method” (see First embodiment section).
Response to Arguments
New art was not provided in the current Office Action but nonetheless the applicants’ are generally moot as they are largely drawn to claim limitations newly provided herein and rejected under U.S.C. 103(a) instead of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Conclusion
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717