DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The applicant is requested to update the status of related applications on page 1 of the specification. Application No. 18/127,315 is now US Patent No. 12,069,736.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 47-66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dinan (2015/0304891).
Regarding claims 47 and 56, Dinan discloses a method and a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (see wireless device in figure 4), comprising: a processor configured to: receive an order that indicates a handover and a number of repetitions for a transmission associated with the handover (see The source eNB may transparently (for example, does not alter values/content) forward the handover message/information received from the target eNB to the UE in paragraph 0049; the maximum number of preamble transmission preambleTransMax in paragraph 0095; max number of preamble transmission parameter in paragraph 0041); transmit, based on the order received by the WTRU, a random-access channel (RACH) preamble (see the UE transmitting a random access preamble in paragraph 0033); repeat transmission of the RACH preamble based on the number of repetitions indicated in the order received by the WTRU (see if no RAR is received within the RAR window, or if none of all received RAR contains a random access preamble identifier corresponding to the transmitted random access preamble, the random access response reception may considered not successful. If RAR is not received, UE may increment PREAMBLE_TRANSMISSION_COUNTER by 1 in paragraph 0103); and receive a random-access response (RAR) (see The UE may stop monitoring for RAR(s) after successful reception of a RAR containing random access preamble identifiers that matches the transmitted random-access preamble in paragraph 0101).
Regarding claims 48 and 57, Dinan discloses receive the order via a channel located below a radio resource control (RRC) layer of a radio protocol stack (see a wireless device may have one RRC connection with the network. At RRC connection establishment/re-establishment/handove in paragraph 0022; PRACH configuration (RACH resources, configuration parameters, RAR window) for the SCell may be common to UEs. RACH resource parameters may include prach-configuration index, and/or prach-frequency offset. SCell RACH common configuration parameters may also include power: power ramping parameter(s) for preamble transmission; and max number of preamble transmission parameter in paragraph 0041).
Regarding claims 49 and 58, Dinan discloses receive the order in a source cell, and wherein the handover is associated with a switch to a target cell (see The source eNB may transmit a handover request message to one or more potential target eNB passing information to prepare the handover at the target side in paragraph 0059).
Regarding claims 50 and 59, Dinan discloses indicates that the RACH preamble is to be transmitted in a contention-free RACH procedure (see UE Random access procedure may employ a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated in the mobility control information in paragraph 0063).
Regarding claims 51 and 60, Dinan discloses indicates one or more physical random-access channel (PRACH) resources for transmitting the RACH preamble (see PRACH configuration (RACH resources, configuration parameters, RAR window) for the SCell may be common to UEs. RACH resource parameters may include prach-configuration index, and/or prach-frequency offset. SCell RACH common configuration parameters may also include power: power ramping parameter(s) for preamble transmission; and max number of preamble transmission parameter. It is more efficient to use common parameters for RACH configuration, since different UEs will share the same random-access channel in paragraph 0041).
Regarding claims 52 and 61, Dinan discloses select, from the one or more PRACH resources indicated by the order, a PRACH resource that corresponds to the number of repetitions indicated by the order (see PRACH configuration (RACH resources, configuration parameters, RAR window) for the SCell may be common to UEs. RACH resource parameters may include prach-configuration index, and/or prach-frequency offset. SCell RACH common configuration parameters may also include power: power ramping parameter(s) for preamble transmission; and max number of preamble transmission parameter in paragraph 0041).
Regarding claims 53 and 62, Dinan discloses receive the RAR within a pre-configured time window (see PRACH configuration (RACH resources, configuration parameters, RAR window) in paragraph 0041).
Regarding claims 54 and 63, Dinan discloses the pre-configured time window starts after a last repetition of the RACH preamble (see the random-access response (RAR) window which may start at the subframe that contains the end of the preamble transmission plus three subframes and has length ra-ResponseWindowSize subframes in paragraph 0101).
Regarding claims 55 and 64, Dinan discloses receive the RAR within the pre-configured time window comprises the processor being configured to monitor a physical downlink control channel for the RAR during the pre-configured time window (see the UE may monitor the PDCCH of the PCell for random access response(s) identified by the RA-RNTI (random access radio network identifier) a specific RA-RNTI defined below, in the random-access response (RAR) window in paragraph 0101).
Regarding claims 65 and 66, claims 65 and 66 claimed a network device (see base station in figure 4) that is in communication with the WTRU (see wireless device in figure 4) claimed in claims 47 and 48 where the process is the reversed process of the WTRU. Claims 65 and 66 are, therefore, subject to the same rejection.
Conclusion
/BRIAN D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475