CTNF 18/766,108 CTNF 71522 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1- 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wetzstein (US 2021/0203904) . As to claim 1, Wetzstein discloses at least one memory comprising machine readable instructions to cause at least one processor circuit to at least: cause at least one tensor core to perform an operation associated with a neural network (para. 0068, e.g. display processing circuitry 130); provide an input image to the neural network (para. 0091); and obtain a high dynamic range image based on an output of the neural network, the high dynamic range image to have higher resolution than the input image (para. 0098, 0097, 0132, 0134). As to claim 2, Wetzstein discloses the at least one memory of claim 1, wherein the machine readable instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit to cause an inverse tone mapping operation to be performed on the output of the neural network (para. 0081, 0098, 0106, e.g., tone mapping of LDR to HDR corresponds to inverse tone mapping). As to claim 3, Wetzstein discloses the at least one memory of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor circuit includes a graphics processing unit, and the inverse tone mapping operation is performed by the graphics processing unit (para. 0068). As to claim 4, Wetzstein discloses the at least one memory of claim 1, wherein the neural network is a deep learning neural network (Fig. 5A, 5B, para. 0091). As to claim 5, Wetzstein discloses the at least one memory of claim 1, wherein the neural network is a convolutional neural network (para. 0091). As to claim 6, Wetzstein discloses the at least one memory of claim 1, wherein the input image has a different dynamic range than the high dynamic range image (para. 0098, 0134). As to claim 7, Wetzstein discloses the at least one memory of claim 6, wherein the machine readable instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit to perform an operation to cause the high dynamic range image to have a higher dynamic range than the input image (para. 0098, 0134). As to claim 8, Wetzstein discloses the at least one memory of claim 1, wherein the input image is a video frame (para. 0098, 0117). As to claims 9-25, these claims recite features similar to those discussed above. Therefore, they are rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kalantari discloses techniques for generating high dynamic range images and video from a set of low dynamic range images and video using convolution neural networks (CNNs). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHUOC TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-7399. The examiner can normally be reached 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Vu Le can be reached at 571-272-7332. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PHUOC TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/766,108 Page 2 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/766,108 Page 3 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/766,108 Page 4 Art Unit: 2668