Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wetzstein (US 2021/0203904) in view of either POOL (US 2019/0081637) or KASHYAP (US 2019/0042544).
As to claim 1, Wetzstein discloses at least one memory comprising machine readable instructions to cause at least one processor circuit to at least:
cause at least one tensor core to perform an operation associated with a neural network (para. 0068, e.g. display processing circuitry 130);
provide an input image to the neural network (para. 0091); and
obtain a high dynamic range image based on an output of the neural network, the high dynamic range image to have higher resolution than the input image (para. 0098, 0097, 0132, 0134).
Wetzstein is silent regarding performing a mixed-precision matrix operation associated with a neural network, the mixed-precision matrix operation involving a combination of data precisions including at least half-precision and single precision;
Either POOL or KASHYAP teaches performing a mixed-precision matrix operation associated with a neural network, the mixed-precision matrix operation involving a combination of data precisions including at least half-precision and single precision (POOL, para. 0035; KASHYAP, para. 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate either POOL’s teaching or KASHYAP’s teaching into Wetzstein since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and improve processing capability.
As to claim 2, the combination of Wetzstein and either POOL or KASHYAP discloses the at least one memory of claim 1, wherein the machine readable instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit to cause an inverse tone mapping operation to be performed on the output of the neural network (para. 0081, 0098, 0106, e.g., tone mapping of LDR to HDR corresponds to inverse tone mapping).
As to claim 3, the combination of Wetzstein and either POOL or KASHYAP discloses the at least one memory of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor circuit includes a graphics processing unit, and the inverse tone mapping operation is performed by the graphics processing unit (Wetzstein, para. 0068).
As to claim 4, the combination of Wetzstein and either POOL or KASHYAP discloses the at least one memory of claim 1, wherein the neural network is a deep learning neural network (Wetzstein, Fig. 5A, 5B, para. 0091).
As to claim 5, the combination of Wetzstein and either POOL or KASHYAP discloses the at least one memory of claim 1, wherein the neural network is a convolutional neural network (Wetzstein, para. 0091).
As to claim 6, the combination of Wetzstein and either POOL or KASHYAP discloses the at least one memory of claim 1, wherein the input image has a different dynamic range than the high dynamic range image (Wetzstein, para. 0098, 0134).
As to claim 7, the combination of Wetzstein and either POOL or KASHYAP discloses the at least one memory of claim 6, wherein the machine readable instructions are to cause one or more of the at least one processor circuit to perform an operation to cause the high dynamic range image to have a higher dynamic range than the input image (Wetzstein, para. 0098, 0134).
As to claim 8, the combination of Wetzstein and either POOL or KASHYAP discloses the at least one memory of claim 1, wherein the input image is a video frame (Wetzstein, para. 0098, 0117).
As to claims 9-25, these claims recite features similar to those discussed above. Therefore, they are rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHUOC TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668