DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 08/18/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Korean application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. The transmission of the priority documents failed on 01/18/2025, please resubmit the documents again. If assistance is needed, please reach out to the Patent Electronic Business Center, Customer Support Center at 1-866-217-9197 from Monday to Fridays between the hours of 6am and midnight (EST) or email PDX@uspto.gov.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-11, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 20230273763 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim (US 20230273763 A1) an image display apparatus comprising:
a display (Kim, Fig. 1, item 160);
an audio output device configured to output sound (Kim, Fig. 1, item 155);
an interface configured to exchange data with an external sound output device (Kim, Fig. 1, item 177); and
a signal processing device (Kim, Fig. 1, item 120) which, in a simultaneous sound output mode of the sound output device (Kim, Fig. 2, item 270) and the audio output device, configured to output a first audio signal to the audio output device and a second audio signal to the sound output device (Kim, ¶ [0051]: “the audio output interface may output audio signals having a plurality of different channels (e.g., stereo (first audio) channels or 5.1 channels (second audio)) via at least some of the plurality of speakers.”), and in a single sound output mode of the audio output device, configured to output a third audio signal to the audio output device (Kim, [0055]: “ the electronic device may support a single output mode or a simultaneous
output mode.”, ¶ [0058]: “the single output mode may be configured to output the audio signal (third audio) to one audio output device”, a headset or earphones), wherein
a volume level of a first sound based on the first audio signal, which is output from the audio output device, is different from a volume level of a third sound based on the third audio signal which is output from the audio output device (Kim, ¶ [0087-0088], ¶ [0105]: “identify the volume performance difference between the first audio
output device and the second audio output device and perform control to simultaneously output average volume levels.” Fig. 4, items 477, 480 (headset), 490 (Surround sound)).
Regarding claim 8, Kim is disclosing all the limitations of claim 1.
Kim further discloses in case in which the sound output device is turned off during operation in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to switch to the single sound output mode in which the audio output device solely outputs sound (Kim, ¶ [0048]: “the audio signal processor may perform …changing channels (e.g., switching between mono and stereo)”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim is disclosing all the limitations of claim 1.
Kim further discloses while a broadcast video is displayed on the display, the signal processing device is configured to control a volume level of the first sound based on the first audio signal, which is output from the audio output device, to be lower than a volume level of the third sound based on the third audio signal which is output from the audio output device (Kim, ¶ [0048]: “the audio signal processor may perform changing a sampling rate, applying one or more filters, interpolation
processing, amplifying or attenuating a whole or partial frequency bandwidth”).
Regarding claim 10, Kim is disclosing all the limitations of claim 1.
Kim further discloses, wherein while a game video is displayed on the display, the signal processing device is configured to control a volume level of the first sound based on the first audio signal (stereo), which is output from the audio output device, to be greater than a volume level of the third sound based on the third audio signal (earphones) which is output from the audio output device (Kim, Fig. 4, items 477, 480, 485 and fig. 10, items 10001, 1011, 10002, 1012, 1021, 1022, sound of the stereo are louder than the sound from the headset, the power or volume of an external speaker is generally higher than that of a headset or earbud).
Regarding claim 11, Kim (US 20230273763 A1) an image display apparatus comprising:
a display (Kim, Fig. 1, item 160);
an audio output device configured to output sound (Kim, Fig. 1, item 155);
an interface configured to exchange data with an external sound output device (Kim, Fig. 1, item 177); and
a signal processing device (Kim, Fig. 1, item 120) which, in a simultaneous sound output mode of the sound output device (Kim, Fig. 2, item 270), configured to calculate an output gain (manage the power that is supplied to the electronic device 101) based on output power information (Kim, ¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim (US 20230273763 A1) an image display apparatus comprising:
a display (Kim, Fig. 1, item 160);
an audio output device configured to output sound (Kim, Fig. 1, item 155);
an interface configured to exchange data with an external sound output device (Kim, Fig. 1, item 177); and
a signal processing device (Kim, Fig. 1, item 120) which, in a simultaneous sound output mode of the sound output device (Kim, Fig. 2, item 270) and the audio output device, configured to output a first audio signal to the audio output device and a second audio signal to the sound output device (Kim, ¶ [0051]: “the audio output interface may output audio signals having a plurality of different channels (e.g., stereo (first audio) channels or 5.1 channels (second audio)) via at least some of the plurality of speakers.”), wherein
the interface (Kim, Fig. 1, item 101, 177; ¶ [0032]) is configured to:
receive output power information (Kim, Fig. 1, item 188, 194,199, 104; ¶ [0040]: “The signal or the power may then be transmitted or received between the communication module and the external electronic device”) or additional offset information from the sound output device through a first transmission line; and
in the simultaneous sound output mode, transmit the second audio signal to the sound output device through a second transmission line (wire), (Kim, Fig. 1, items 178, 102; ¶ [0051]: “ the audio output interface may output audio signals having a plurality of different channels (e.g., stereo channels (first and second audio signals) or 5.1 channels) via at least some of the plurality of speakers…the audio output interface may be connected with the external electronic device (e.g., an external speaker or a headset) directly via the connecting terminal ”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 12-13, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230273763 A1), and further in view of Kou (US 20210227323 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kim is disclosing all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Kim fails to disclose, wherein in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate an output gain of the first audio signal based on output power information or additional offset information of the sound output device.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kou (US 20210227323 A1) discloses a simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate (Kou, Fig. 9, item 201) an output gain of the first audio signal based on output power information (Kou, Fig. 10, items S93-S98, ¶ [0007], ¶ [0187]) or additional offset information of the sound output device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kou with Kim provide a protection to the speakers base on direct current resistance of the voice coil and temperature.
Regarding claim 3, Kim is disclosing all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Kim fails to disclose, wherein the interface is configured to receive the output power information or the additional offset information from the sound output device, wherein in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate an output gain of the first audio signal based on the output power information or the additional offset information.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kou discloses an interface is configured to receive the output power information or the additional offset information from the sound output device (Kou, Abstract: “determining an audio input power based on the voice coil direct current resistance and the audio input signal. The method further comprises obtaining a thermal model of the speaker, and determining a transient power threshold based on the audio input power and the thermal model.”), wherein
in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate an output gain of the first audio signal based on the output power information (Kou, Fig. 10, items S92-S98)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kou with Kim provide a protection to the speakers base on direct current resistance of the voice coil and temperature.
Regarding claim 12, Kim is disclosing all the limitations of claim 11.
However, Kim fails to disclose, wherein the interface is configured to receive the output power information or the additional offset information from the sound output device, wherein in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate an output gain of the first audio signal based on the output power information or the additional offset information.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kou (US 20210227323 A1) discloses wherein the interface is configured to receive the output power information (Kou, Fig. 10, items S93-S98, ¶ [0007], ¶ [0187]) and a simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate an output gain of the first audio signal based on the output power information or the additional offset information (Kou, Fig. 9, item 201).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kou with Kim provide a protection to the speakers base on direct current resistance of the voice coil and temperature.
Regarding claim 13, Kim is disclosing all the limitations of claim 11.
However, Kim fails to disclose, wherein in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate the output gain of the first audio signal based on volume settings information of the audio output device, and the output power information or the additional offset information of the sound output device.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kou discloses wherein in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate the output gain of the first audio signal based on volume settings information of the audio output (power) device (Kou, Fig. 10, items S92-S98); and
the output power information or the additional offset information of the sound output device (Kou, Abstract: “determining an audio input power based on the voice coil direct current resistance and the audio input signal. The method further comprises obtaining a thermal model of the speaker, and determining a transient power threshold based on the audio input power and the thermal model.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kou with Kim provide a protection to the speakers base on direct current resistance of the voice coil and temperature.
Regarding claim 17, Kim is disclosing all the limitations of claim 16.
However, Kim fails to disclose, wherein the interface is configured to receive the output power information or the additional offset information from the sound output device, wherein in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate an output gain of the first audio signal based on the output power information or the additional offset information.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kou discloses wherein the interface is configured to receive the output power information or the additional offset information from the sound output device (Kou, Abstract: “determining an audio input power based on the voice coil direct current resistance and the audio input signal. The method further comprises obtaining a thermal model of the speaker, and determining a transient power threshold based on the audio input power and the thermal model.”), wherein
in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate an output gain of the first audio signal based on the output power information or the additional offset information (Kou, Fig. 10, items S92-S98)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kou with Kim provide a protection to the speakers base on direct current resistance of the voice coil and temperature.
Regarding claim 19, Kim is disclosing all the limitations of claim 16.
However, Kim fails to disclose, wherein in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate the output gain of the first audio signal based on the volume settings information of the audio output device, sound mode information, and the output power information or the additional offset information of the sound output device.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Kou discloses wherein in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate the output gain of the first audio signal based on the volume settings information of the audio output device (Kou, Fig. 10, items S92-S98), and
the output power information (Kou, Abstract: “determining an audio input power based on the voice coil direct current resistance and the audio input signal. The method further comprises obtaining a thermal model of the speaker, and determining a transient power threshold based on the audio input power and the thermal model.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Kou with Kim provide a protection to the speakers base on direct current resistance of the voice coil and temperature.
Claim(s) 4-6, 14-15, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230273763 A1), and further in view of Anderson (US 20190319591 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kim is disclosing all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Kim fails to disclose, wherein in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate the output gain of the first audio signal based on volume settings information of the audio output device, and the output power information or the additional offset information of the sound output device.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Anderson (US 20190319591 A1), discloses a signal processing device configured to calculate the output gain of the first audio signal based on volume settings information of the audio output device, and the output power information (Anderson, ¶ [0147]: “amplifying the PSC (speaker power amplifier) based on gain information determined by an audio volume control (AVC) and producing a speaker power output”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Anderson with Kim to provide a protection to the audio signal and the amplifier electronics, an amplifier is used to provide high input impedance, with no further gain.
Regarding claim 5, Kim is disclosing all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Kim fails to disclose, wherein in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate the output gain of the first audio signal based on the volume settings information of the audio output device, sound mode information, and the output power information or the additional offset information of the sound output device.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Anderson (US 20190319591 A1), discloses a signal processing device configured to calculate the output gain of the first audio signal based on volume settings information of the audio output device (Anderson, ¶ [0147]: “ amplifying the PSC (speaker power amplifier) based on gain information
determined by an audio volume control (AVC) and producing a speaker power
output”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Anderson with Kim to provide a protection to the audio signal and the amplifier electronics, an amplifier is used to provide high input impedance, with no further gain.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kim and Anderson discloses all limitations of claim 5.
Kim further discloses, wherein as a level of the volume settings information of the audio output device increases, or a level of the output power information decreases, or a level of the additional offset information increases, the signal processing device is configured to increase the output gain of the first audio signal (Kim, ¶ [0089]: “the processor may control the volume of the later connected second audio output
device (A) to fit the volume level of the first audio output device (B) or may identify the volume performance difference between the first audio output device (B) and the second audio output device (A) and perform control to simultaneously output average volume levels.”).
Regarding claim 14, Kim is disclosing all the limitations of claim 11.
However, Kim fails to disclose, wherein in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate the output gain of the first audio signal based on volume settings information of the audio output device, and the output power information or the additional offset information of the sound output device.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Anderson (US 20190319591 A1), discloses a signal processing device configured to calculate the output gain of the first audio signal based on volume settings information of the audio output device, and the output power information (Anderson, ¶ [0147]: “amplifying the PSC (speaker power amplifier) based on gain information determined by an audio volume control (AVC) and producing a speaker power output”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Anderson with Kim to provide a protection to the audio signal and the amplifier electronics, an amplifier is used to provide high input impedance, with no further gain.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kim and Anderson discloses all limitations of claim 14.
Kim further discloses, wherein as a level of the volume settings information of the audio output device increases, or a level of the output power information decreases, or a level of the additional offset information increases, the signal processing device is configured to increase the output gain of the first audio signal (Kim, ¶ [0089]: “the processor may control the volume of the later connected second audio output
device (A) to fit the volume level of the first audio output device (B) or may identify the volume performance difference between the first audio output device (B) and the second audio output device (A) and perform control to simultaneously output average volume levels.”).
Regarding claim 18, Kim is disclosing all the limitations of claim 16.
However, Kim fails to disclose, wherein in the simultaneous sound output mode, the signal processing device is configured to calculate the output gain of the first audio signal based on volume settings information of the audio output device, and the output power information
In an analogous field of endeavor, Anderson (US 20190319591 A1), discloses a signal processing device configured to calculate the output gain of the first audio signal based on volume settings information of the audio output device, and the output power information (Anderson, ¶ [0147]: “amplifying the PSC (speaker power amplifier) based on gain information determined by an audio volume control (AVC) and producing a speaker power output”),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Anderson with Kim to provide a protection to the audio signal and the amplifier electronics, an amplifier is used to provide high input impedance, with no further gain.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230273763 A1), and further in view of Harper (US 10315563 B1).
Regarding claim 7, Kim is disclosing all the limitations of claim 1.
However, Kim fails to disclose wherein the interface is configured to receive the output power information or the additional offset information of the sound output device through a first transmission line, wherein in the simultaneous sound output mode, the interface is configured to transmit the second audio signal to the sound output device through a second transmission line.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Harper (US 10315563 B1), discloses an interface configured to receive the output power information (Harper, col. 4, ln. 29-37: “The processor(s) can access and/or or receive data (e.g., speaker data) representing information on the speaker(s) (e.g., from an internal and/or external data source) and the information can include, but is not limited to…speaker characteristics (e.g., frequency response, output level per watt of power, etc.), etc.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Harper with Kim provide a protection to the speakers.
Conclusion
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/FRIEDRICH FAHNERT/
Examiner
Art Unit 2692