CTNF 18/766,192 CTNF 85483 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2024 has been considered by the examiner. Claim Objections Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the terms “MO” and "MG" are an acronym which can mean different things and/or change in meaning over time; hence, it would be desirable to write out the actual words to which the acronym refers. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2019/0306734) . Regarding claims 1 and 17, Huang discloses a method and a terminal device for determining a measurement period (Abstract), the method comprising: determining, by a terminal device, a measurement period of a first frequency point and/or a first MO based on a first positional relationship (paragraphs [0007], [0012]; e.g., the measurement configuration indicates an equal splitting for gap sharing, an inverse of an average of a sum of measured probabilities of the target MO in each of the gap occasion patterns where the target MO is a candidate MO is determined to be the carrier-specific scaling factor of the target MO); wherein the first positional relationship comprises a positional relationship between at least some MGs of a plurality of MGs that are configured and measurement timing windows of the first frequency point (paragraphs [0013], [0034]; e.g., can be provided such that timings of a sequence of measurement gaps (MG) can be determined and the time periods that UE 110 does not have to receive or transmit any data can be provided to the UE 110. The MG can also be referred to as a gap occasion, or a gap window duration). It is noted that limitation “the first MO, and/or a positional relationship between third MGs of the plurality of MGs that are used to measure the first frequency point and/or the first MO and remaining MGs of the plurality of MGs except the third MGs” is omitted to address due to alternative claim such as “and/or”. Regarding claims 2 and 18, Huang discloses the method and the terminal device according to claims 1 and 17, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on the first positional relationship comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on the positional relationship between the at least some MGs of the plurality of MGs and the measurement timing windows of the first frequency point and/or the first MO in response that MGs are not required to be used in a measurement of the first frequency point and/or the first MO (paragraphs [0013], [0034], [0036]). Regarding claims 3 and 19, Huang discloses the method and the terminal according to claims 2 and 18, wherein in a case where MGs associated with the first frequency point and/or the first MO are not configured, the at least some MGs comprise each MG of the plurality of MGs (paragraphs [0035], [0038]; e.g., The UE 110 typically select one frequency layer of the neighboring cells 131-134 to monitor during one MG if the UE 110 does not have the capability to monitor multiple MOs at a time). Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on the positional relationship between the at least some MGs of the plurality of MGs and the measurement timing windows of the first frequency point and/or the first MO comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on relevant parameters for measurement conducted outside the plurality of MGs in a case where none of the measurement timing windows of the first frequency point and/or the first MO are overlapped by respective MGs of the plurality of MGs (paragraphs [0038], [0082]; e.g., the SMTC windows configured for measuring the neighboring cell 131 fully overlap the gap occasions specified by the measurement configurations). Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on the positional relationship between the at least some MGs of the plurality of MGs and the measurement timing windows of the first frequency point and/or the first MO comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on relevant parameters for measurement conducted within first MGs of the plurality of MGs in a case where all of the measurement timing windows of the first frequency point and/or the first MO are overlapped by the first MGs and not overlapped by second MGs of the plurality of MGs (paragraphs [0038], [0082]). Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on the positional relationship between the at least some MGs of the plurality of MGs and the measurement timing windows of the first frequency point and/or the first MO comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on relevant parameters for measurement conducted within first MGs of the plurality of MGs or relevant parameters for measurement conducted outside first MGs in a case where part of the measurement timing windows of the first frequency point and/or the first MO are overlapped by the first MGs and none of the measurement timing windows of the first frequency point and/or the first MO are overlapped by second MGs of the plurality of MGs (paragraphs [0034], [0036]). Regarding claim 7, Huang discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein a first scaling factor in the relevant parameters for measurement conducted outside the first MGs is determined based on a period of the first MGs (paragraphs [0098], [0108]). Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO, according to the positional relationship between the at least some MGs of the plurality of MGs and the measurement timing windows of the first frequency point and/or the first MO comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on relevant parameters for measurement conducted outside the plurality of MGs in a case where part of the measurement timing windows of the first frequency point and/or the first MO are overlapped by respective MGs of the plurality of MGs, and the measurement timing windows include a part of measurement timing windows that are not overlapped by any one of the plurality of MGs (paragraphs [0082], [0098], [0108]). Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the first scaling factor in the relevant parameters for measurement conducted outside the plurality of MGs is determined based on a positional relationship between the plurality of MGs (paragraphs [0034], [0036], [0093], [0095]). Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the at least some MGs comprise fourth MGs configured by a network device and associated with the first frequency point and/or the first MO (paragraphs [0013], [0051]). Regarding claim 11, Huang discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on the positional relationship between the at least some MGs of the plurality of MGs and the measurement timing windows of the first frequency point and/or the first MO comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on relevant parameters for measurement conducted outside the fourth MGs in a case where none of the measurement timing windows of the first frequency point and/or the first MO are overlapped by the fourth MGs (paragraphs [0034], [0036]). Regarding claim 12, Huang discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein in a case where none of the measurement timing windows are overlapped by remaining MGs of the plurality of MGs except the fourth MGs, a first scaling factor in the relevant parameters for measurement conducted outside the fourth MGs is a preset value(paragraphs [0034], [0036]). It is noted that limitation “in a case where part of the measurement timing windows are overlapped by remaining MGs of the plurality of MGs except the fourth MGs, a first scaling factor in the relevant parameters for measurement conducted outside the fourth MGs is determined based on periods of the remaining MGs” is omitted to address due to alternative claimed. Regarding claim 13, Huang discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on the positional relationship between the at least some MGs of the plurality of MGs and the measurement timing windows of the first frequency point and/or the first MO comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on relevant parameters for measurement conducted within the fourth MGs in a case where all of the measurement timing windows of the first frequency point and/or the first MO are overlapped by the fourth MGs (paragraphs [0034], [0036]). Regarding claim 14, Huang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on the first positional relationship comprises: determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on the positional relationship between the third MGs and remaining MGs of the plurality of MGs except the third MGs in response that MGs are required to be used in a measurement of the first frequency point and/or the first MO (paragraphs [0034], [0036]). Regarding claim 15, Huang discloses the method according to claim 14, wherein the third MGs are MGs configured by a network device and associated with the first frequency point and/or the first MO (paragraphs [0034], [0036], [0093], [0095]). Regarding claim 16, Huang discloses the method according to claim 14, wherein the determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on the positional relationship between the third MGs and remaining MGs of the plurality of MGs except the third MGs comprise: determining, by the terminal device, the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on relevant parameters for measurement conducted within the third MGs in a case where the third MGs do not overlap with the remaining MGs (paragraphs [0034], [0036]). It is noted that limitation “determining the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on relevant parameters for measurement conducted within the third MGs in response that a priority of the third MGs is higher than priorities of the remaining MGs, in a case where the third MGs overlap with the remaining MGs; or determining the measurement period of the first frequency point and/or the first MO based on a fifth scaling factor and relevant parameters for measurement conducted within the third MGs in response that a priority of the third MGs is lower than priorities of the remaining MGs, in a case where the third MGs overlap with the remaining MGs; wherein the fifth scaling factor is determined based on ratios between periods of the remaining MGs and a period of the third MGs” is omitted to address due to alternative claimed. Claim 20 is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium configured to store a computer program comprising code means for generating steps of claim 1. Therefore, the same rationale applied to claim 1 applies. In addition, Huang inherently discloses a computer program product, i.e., given that Huang discloses a process (paragraph [0127]), the process would be implemented by a processor that requires a computer program product, e.g., a RAM, to function . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cui et al. (US 2023/0284057) discloses measurement timing in connection with UEs that are capable of signaling whether a measurement gap (MG) needed to measure a target frequency carrier. Wakabayashi et al. (US 2022/0279404) discloses determining measurement gap parameter between UE and network device. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TIMOTHY X PHAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7115. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri: 8:30-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Resha Desai can be reached at 571-270-7792. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TIMOTHY X PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,192 Page 2 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,192 Page 3 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,192 Page 4 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,192 Page 5 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,192 Page 6 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,192 Page 7 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,192 Page 8 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,192 Page 9 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/766,192 Page 10 Art Unit: 3648