DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed July 8, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are now pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 8, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8, 15-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsujimoto et al. (WO 2004010028 A1, hereafter referred to as Tsujimoto).
Regarding Claim 1, Tsujimoto discloses (see Figure 5) an apparatus (Page 2, ¶ 10: “The present invention relates to a transmission, and more particularly, to a friction type transmission capable of changing a gear ratio steplessly.”) for driving an accessory comprising:
an electric starter/generator (ESG) (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) including a rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3);
a permanent magnet motor/generator (PMMG) (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) associated with the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG, the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) including a rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) and a stator (81, Page 9, ¶ 3);
a gear (62, Page 9, ¶ 2) coupled to the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) for rotating in a first mode responsive to rotation of the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) and for rotating in a second mode responsive to rotation of the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3), wherein rotation of the gear (62, Page 9, ¶ 2) drives the accessory (Page 7, ¶ 3: “The driving force extracted from the output shaft 14 can be transmitted to a driven device such as a propeller shaft of an automobile, for example.”);
wherein application of a current to the stator (81, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) is configured to cause rotation of the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) and the gear (62, Page 9, ¶ 2) coupled to the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) in the first mode when a rotation speed of the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) is faster than a rotation speed of the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) (Page 10, ¶ 2: “If the engine is stopped and the rotor 76 of the first motor generator 74 is braked while the battery is charged, the input shaft 12 is fixed to the housing 10 and does not rotate. When the braking of the vehicle is released and the second motor generator 80 is driven, the power roller 40 rolls along the engaging portion 30a of the first power wheel 3◦, thereby Then, the second No. 3 wheel 32 is rotated at a speed relative to the first power wheel, and --> 2 Drum 18, output shaft 14 and propeller shaft 60 rotate. The driving by the second motor generator 80 is controlled by controlling the rotation of the second motor generator 80 when the running resistance of the vehicle is the smallest. The speed can be changed from a state in which the vehicle is started forward or backward to the cruising speed, and therefore, it is possible to travel with the minimum power by the second motor generator 80 having a small output. Obviously, it is also possible to move the first and second power wheels 30, 32 in the axial direction if necessary.”); and
wherein when the rotation speed of the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) equals the rotation speed of the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3), the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) is configured to engage the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) to rotate concurrently therewith in the second mode (Page 10, ¶ 3: “When the rotor 82 of the second motor generator 80, that is, the first drum 16 is braked and the first motor generator 74 is driven, the output shaft 14 rotates. Furthermore, the first, is rotated synchronously with the second Motor generators 7 4, 8 0, Nono .sup.0 Waro over La 4 0 does not rotate, therefore, the output shaft 1 4 same as the input shaft 1 2 speed And the speed ratio becomes 1: 1. Since the movable member of the continuously variable transmission transmits the rotation of the input shaft 12 to the output shaft 14 and the propeller shaft 60 without rotating relatively, the transmission efficiency is highest.”).
Regarding Claim 2/1, Tsujimoto has been discussed above.
Additionally, Tsujimoto discloses (see Figure 5 above) a locking mechanism (70, Page 10, ¶ 5) configured to engage the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) to the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) in the second mode.
Regarding Claim 3/2/1, Tsujimoto has been discussed above.
Additionally, Tsujimoto discloses (see Figure 5 above) that the locking mechanism (70, Page 10, ¶ 5) further comprises a one-way clutch configured to engage the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) to the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3).
Regarding Claim 8/1, Tsujimoto has been discussed above.
Additionally, Tsujimoto discloses that the first mode comprises a pre-start up and start-up mode of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) (Page 10, ¶ 2: “If the engine is stopped and the rotor 76 of the first motor generator 74 is braked while the battery is charged, the input shaft 12 is fixed to the housing 10 and does not rotate. When the braking of the vehicle is released and the second motor generator 80 is driven, the power roller 40 rolls along the engaging portion 30a of the first power wheel 3◦, thereby Then, the second No. 3 wheel 32 is rotated at a speed relative to the first power wheel, and --> 2 Drum 18, output shaft 14 and propeller shaft 60 rotate. The driving by the second motor generator 80 is controlled by controlling the rotation of the second motor generator 80 when the running resistance of the vehicle is the smallest. The speed can be changed from a state in which the vehicle is started forward or backward to the cruising speed, and therefore, it is possible to travel with the minimum power by the second motor generator 80 having a small output. Obviously, it is also possible to move the first and second power wheels 30, 32 in the axial direction if necessary.”).
Regarding Claim 15, Tsujimoto discloses (see Figure 5) a method comprising:
associating a permanent magnet motor/generator (PMMG) (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) including a rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) and a stator (81, Page 9, ¶ 3) with the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of an electric starter/generator (ESG) (74, Page 9, ¶ 3);
coupling a gear to the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3);
applying a current to the stator (81, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) to cause rotation of the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3);
rotating the gear (62, Page 9, ¶ 2) in a first mode responsive to rotation of the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) when a rotation speed of the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) is faster than the rotation speed of the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) (Page 10, ¶ 2: “If the engine is stopped and the rotor 76 of the first motor generator 74 is braked while the battery is charged, the input shaft 12 is fixed to the housing 10 and does not rotate. When the braking of the vehicle is released and the second motor generator 80 is driven, the power roller 40 rolls along the engaging portion 30a of the first power wheel 3◦, thereby Then, the second No. 3 wheel 32 is rotated at a speed relative to the first power wheel, and --> 2 Drum 18, output shaft 14 and propeller shaft 60 rotate. The driving by the second motor generator 80 is controlled by controlling the rotation of the second motor generator 80 when the running resistance of the vehicle is the smallest. The speed can be changed from a state in which the vehicle is started forward or backward to the cruising speed, and therefore, it is possible to travel with the minimum power by the second motor generator 80 having a small output. Obviously, it is also possible to move the first and second power wheels 30, 32 in the axial direction if necessary.”), wherein rotation of the gear (62, Page 9, ¶ 2) drives an accessory associated with the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) (Page 7, ¶ 3: “The driving force extracted from the output shaft 14 can be transmitted to a driven device such as a propeller shaft of an automobile, for example.”);
engaging the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) to rotate concurrently with the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) in a second mode when the rotation speed of the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) equals the rotation speed of the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) (Page 10, ¶ 3: “When the rotor 82 of the second motor generator 80, that is, the first drum 16 is braked and the first motor generator 74 is driven, the output shaft 14 rotates. Furthermore, the first, is rotated synchronously with the second Motor generators 7 4, 8 0, Nono .sup.0 Waro over La 4 0 does not rotate, therefore, the output shaft 1 4 same as the input shaft 1 2 speed And the speed ratio becomes 1: 1. Since the movable member of the continuously variable transmission transmits the rotation of the input shaft 12 to the output shaft 14 and the propeller shaft 60 without rotating relatively, the transmission efficiency is highest.”); and
rotating the gear (62, Page 9, ¶ 2) in a second mode responsive to rotation of the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3), wherein rotation of the gear (62, Page 9, ¶ 2) drives the accessory associated with the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) (Page 7, ¶ 3: “The driving force extracted from the output shaft 14 can be transmitted to a driven device such as a propeller shaft of an automobile, for example.”).
Regarding Claim 16/15, Tsujimoto has been discussed above.
Additionally, Tsujimoto discloses that the step of engaging further comprises locking the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) to the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) using a one-way clutch (70, Page 10, ¶ 5) in the second mode (see Page 10, ¶ 5-6).
Regarding Claim 20/15, Tsujimoto has been discussed above.
Additionally, Tsujimoto discloses that the first mode comprises a pre-start up and start-up mode of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) (Page 10, ¶ 2: “If the engine is stopped and the rotor 76 of the first motor generator 74 is braked while the battery is charged, the input shaft 12 is fixed to the housing 10 and does not rotate. When the braking of the vehicle is released and the second motor generator 80 is driven, the power roller 40 rolls along the engaging portion 30a of the first power wheel 3◦, thereby Then, the second No. 3 wheel 32 is rotated at a speed relative to the first power wheel, and --> 2 Drum 18, output shaft 14 and propeller shaft 60 rotate. The driving by the second motor generator 80 is controlled by controlling the rotation of the second motor generator 80 when the running resistance of the vehicle is the smallest. The speed can be changed from a state in which the vehicle is started forward or backward to the cruising speed, and therefore, it is possible to travel with the minimum power by the second motor generator 80 having a small output. Obviously, it is also possible to move the first and second power wheels 30, 32 in the axial direction if necessary.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsujimoto as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kasuya et al. (WO 2015108147 A1, hereafter referred to as Kasuya).
Regarding Claim 7/1, Tsujimoto has been discussed above.
Tsujimoto does not disclose that the gear associated with the rotor of the PMMG is configured to drive an oil pump that is configured to provide oil to the ESG prior to and during start-up of the ESG.
However, Kasuya, in the same field of technology, teaches (see Figure 1) that the gear (70, Page 10, ¶ 2) associated with the rotor (RO, Page 4, ¶ 6) of the PMMG is configured to drive an oil pump (OP, Page 4, ¶ 5) that is configured to provide oil to a motor or generator (As shown in FIGS. 2 and 3, the vehicle drive device 1 according to the present embodiment includes a pump drive member 60, a transmission gear mechanism 70, and a drive transmission mechanism 80 as pump drive mechanisms for driving the oil pump OP.) (Page 13, ¶ 1: “Oil discharged by driving the oil pump OP is supplied via a hydraulic control device (not shown) for controlling the engagement state of the engagement device CL and the like, and for lubricating and cooling each part of the device.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus for driving an accessory disclosed by Tsujimoto such that the gear associated with the rotor of the PMMG is configured to drive an oil pump that is configured to provide oil to the ESG prior to and during start-up of the ESG, as taught by Kasuya, in order to provide effective cooling for the apparatus during operation (Page 13, ¶ 1: “Oil discharged by driving the oil pump OP is supplied via a hydraulic control device (not shown) for controlling the engagement state of the engagement device CL and the like, and for lubricating and cooling each part of the device.”)
The examiner notes that Kasuya teaches the structural limitations of the gear, the rotor of the PMMG, and the oil pump, but fails to teach the use of “to drive an oil pump that is configured to provide oil to the ESG prior to and during start-up of the ESG”. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 4, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art not showing or fairly teaching the specific limitation of:
-- an outer concentric shaft (202) surrounding a portion of the rotor shaft (104) of the ESG (102); wherein the PMMG (110) rotor (112) and the gear (118) are fixedly connected to an outer surface of the outer concentric shaft (202); and a plurality of bearings (204) located between the outer concentric shaft (202) and the rotor shaft (104) of the ESG (102) configured to enable rotation of the outer concentric shaft (202) around the rotor shaft (104) of the ESG (102). (see Figure 4) – in the combination as claimed.
Claims 5-6 are allowable due to their dependence on claim 4.
Regarding Claim 17, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art not showing or fairly teaching the specific limitation of:
-- wherein the step of coupling further comprises: surrounding a portion of the rotor shaft (104) of the ESG (102) with an outer concentric shaft (202); fixedly connecting the PMMG (110) rotor (112) and the gear (118) to an outer surface of the outer concentric shaft (202); and locating a plurality of bearings (204) between the outer concentric shaft (202) and the rotor shaft (104) of the ESG (102) to enable rotation of the outer concentric shaft (202) around the rotor shaft (104) of the ESG (102). (see Figure 4 above) – in the combination as claimed.
Claim 18 is allowable due to dependence on claim 17.
Regarding Claim 19, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art not showing or fairly teaching the specific limitation of:
-- wherein the accessory further comprises an oil pump (106) providing oil to the ESG (102) further comprising driving the oil pump (106) with the gear (118) associated with the rotor (112) of the PMMG (110) drives to provide the oil to the ESG (102) prior to and during start-up of the ESG. – in the combination as claimed.
Claims 9-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 9, closest prior art Tsujimoto teaches (see Figure 5) an apparatus comprising:
an electric starter/generator (ESG) (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) including a rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3);
an outer concentric shaft (Annotated Figure 5) surrounding a portion of the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3);
at least one bearing (Annotated Figure 5) located between the outer concentric shaft (Annotated Figure 5) and the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) configured to enable rotation of the outer concentric shaft (Annotated Figure 5) around the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3);
a permanent magnet motor/generator (PMMG) (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) associated with the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3), the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) including a rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) and a stator (81, Page 9, ¶ 3);
a gear (62, Page 9, ¶ 2) configured to rotate in a first mode responsive to rotation of the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) (Page 10, ¶ 2: “If the engine is stopped and the rotor 76 of the first motor generator 74 is braked while the battery is charged, the input shaft 12 is fixed to the housing 10 and does not rotate. When the braking of the vehicle is released and the second motor generator 80 is driven, the power roller 40 rolls along the engaging portion 30a of the first power wheel 3◦, thereby Then, the second No. 3 wheel 32 is rotated at a speed relative to the first power wheel, and --> 2 Drum 18, output shaft 14 and propeller shaft 60 rotate. The driving by the second motor generator 80 is controlled by controlling the rotation of the second motor generator 80 when the running resistance of the vehicle is the smallest. The speed can be changed from a state in which the vehicle is started forward or backward to the cruising speed, and therefore, it is possible to travel with the minimum power by the second motor generator 80 having a small output. Obviously, it is also possible to move the first and second power wheels 30, 32 in the axial direction if necessary.”) and configured to rotate in a second mode responsive to rotation of the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) (Page 10, ¶ 3: “When the rotor 82 of the second motor generator 80, that is, the first drum 16 is braked and the first motor generator 74 is driven, the output shaft 14 rotates. Furthermore, the first, is rotated synchronously with the second Motor generators 7 4, 8 0, Nono .sup.0 Waro over La 4 0 does not rotate, therefore, the output shaft 1 4 same as the input shaft 1 2 speed And the speed ratio becomes 1: 1. Since the movable member of the continuously variable transmission transmits the rotation of the input shaft 12 to the output shaft 14 and the propeller shaft 60 without rotating relatively, the transmission efficiency is highest.”);
wherein application of a current to the stator (81, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) causes rotation of the rotor of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) and the gear (62, Page 9, ¶ 2) in the first mode when a rotation speed of the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3) is faster than the rotation speed of the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) (Page 10, ¶ 2: “If the engine is stopped and the rotor 76 of the first motor generator 74 is braked while the battery is charged, the input shaft 12 is fixed to the housing 10 and does not rotate. When the braking of the vehicle is released and the second motor generator 80 is driven, the power roller 40 rolls along the engaging portion 30a of the first power wheel 3◦, thereby Then, the second No. 3 wheel 32 is rotated at a speed relative to the first power wheel, and --> 2 Drum 18, output shaft 14 and propeller shaft 60 rotate. The driving by the second motor generator 80 is controlled by controlling the rotation of the second motor generator 80 when the running resistance of the vehicle is the smallest. The speed can be changed from a state in which the vehicle is started forward or backward to the cruising speed, and therefore, it is possible to travel with the minimum power by the second motor generator 80 having a small output. Obviously, it is also possible to move the first and second power wheels 30, 32 in the axial direction if necessary.”); and
wherein when the rotation speed of the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) equals the rotation speed of the rotor (82, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the PMMG (80, Page 9, ¶ 3), the outer concentric shaft is configured to engage the rotor shaft (12, Page 9, ¶ 3) of the ESG (74, Page 9, ¶ 3) to rotate concurrently therewith in the second mode (Page 10, ¶ 3: “When the rotor 82 of the second motor generator 80, that is, the first drum 16 is braked and the first motor generator 74 is driven, the output shaft 14 rotates. Furthermore, the first, is rotated synchronously with the second Motor generators 7 4, 8 0, Nono .sup.0 Waro over La 4 0 does not rotate, therefore, the output shaft 1 4 same as the input shaft 1 2 speed And the speed ratio becomes 1: 1. Since the movable member of the continuously variable transmission transmits the rotation of the input shaft 12 to the output shaft 14 and the propeller shaft 60 without rotating relatively, the transmission efficiency is highest.”).
Neither Tsujimoto nor the cited prior art teaches wherein the rotor of the PMMG is fixedly connected to an outer surface of the outer concentric shaft,
Therefore, regarding claim 9, allowability resides, at least in part, with the prior art not showing or fairly teaching the specific limitation of:
-- wherein the rotor (112) of the PMMG (110) is fixedly connected to an outer surface of the outer concentric shaft (202) (see Figure 4 below) – in the combination as claimed.
Claims 10-14 are allowed due to their dependence on claim 9.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Uchida et al. (US 20040124722 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-3.
Kasahara et al. (US 20190344652 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figure 8.
Fujikawa et al. (US 20190264794 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-3.
Gieras et al. (US 20140361652 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-2.
Kusase et al. (US 20130221778 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1 and 11.
Berenzher et al. (RU 2406846 C2) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 7-8.
Bangura et al. (US 9580065 B2) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-6.
Conclusion
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834