DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 30 – 51) in the reply filed on 3 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant arguments/Remarks made in amendment in which the following is noted: Claims 1 – 29 are directed to non-elected claims and are withdrawn. Claims 30 – 51 are currently pending and an Office action on the merits follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30 – 35 and 43 - 51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FU et al; (Publication number: US 2020/0222001 A1), hereafter FU, in view of Berger et al; (Publication number: US 2011/0010924 A1), hereafter Berger.
Regarding claim 30:
FU discloses a sensor arrangement for monitoring a user (system for monitoring a user includes a garment configured to be placed on a foot of a user, a cover coupled to the garment, and a second arrangement between the garment and the cover; see FU ABSTRACT), the sensor arrangement comprising:
at least one base comprising a recessed portion having at least one region (the housing 140 may include at least one cavity 142 for receiving a proximal end of the sensor arrangement 120; FU [0044] and Figure 1C); and
coupling a conductive member to the at least one region (the housing, where the proximal ends of the sensor leads 122 may be coupled; FU [0055] see also Figure 1C leads 122 coupled to cavity region),
wherein at least one sensor is coupled to the at least one region (the housing 140 may include at least one cavity 142 for receiving a proximal end of the sensor arrangement; FU [0044] and Figure 1C), wherein a portion of the at least one conductive member in coupled to the at least one region (the housing, where proximal ends of sensor leads 122 may be coupled; FU [0055] Figure 1C leads coupled to cavity region), and
wherein an encapsulating material encapsulates the at least one sensor and the portion of the at least one conductive member in the recessed portion of the base (the housing may be substantially sealed, e.g., when the garment is washed or worn, when the user is sweating etc. For example, the cavity 142 may be filled with and/or otherwise sealed with a substance adhering to the housing140, such as ultraviolet glue, silicone, other epoxy or polymer, etc; FU [0045]).
FU does not expreslly disclose wherein the recessed portion having at least one conductive region.
However, Berger discloses wherein the recessed portion having at least one conductive region (electrical connections with the sensing element are made by bonding wires 24 which extend between the sensing element and conductive traces 25 on the bottom wall of cavity 17 that interconnect with electronic circuitry in cavity 18 via conductive traces in the ceramic body … any suitable conductive material such as a eutectic solder or conductive adhesive; Berger [0023]).
It would have been obvious to modify FU to include the conductive region as taught by Berger for the purpose of forming electrical connections with the sensing element (Berger [0023]).
Regarding claim 31:
FU (in view of Berger) discloses the sensor arrangement of claim 30, wherein the at least one sensor comprises a temperature sensor (one or more sensors 124 such as 124a-c; FU [0047]).
Regarding claim 32:
FU (in view of Berger) does not disclose the sensor arrangement of claim 30, wherein the at least one conductive region comprises a first conductive region and a second conductive region, wherein a first end of the at least one sensor is coupled to the first conductive region and a second end of the at least one sensor is coupled to the second conductive region.
However, Berger discloses wherein at least a first conductive region and a second conductive region (conductive traces 25 on the bottom wall of cavity 17; FU [0023]; see also Figure 4) wherein a first send of the at least one sensor is coupled to the first conductive region and a second end of the at least one sensor is coupled to the second conductive region (electrical connections with the sensing element are made by bonding wires 24 which extend between the sensing element and conductive traces 25 on the bottom wall of cavity 176 that interconnect with electric circuity in cavity 18 via conductive traces in the ceramic body; [0023]).
It would have been obvious to further modify FU (in view of Berger) to include the conductive regions connected to the sensor as taught in Berger for the purpose of allowing for electrical connections between the sensor and other electronic circuits (Berger [0023]).
Regarding claim 33:
FU (in view of Berger) does not disclose the sensor arrangement of claim 32, wherein the current flows into the at least one sensor along the first conductive region and current flows out from the at least one sensor along the second conductive region.
However, Berger discloses wherein the current flows into the at least one sensor along the first conductive region (input/output bonding pads on the sensing element can be attached directly to mating conductive traces on the pedestal to form a conducing bond at each of the bonding pads [current input and output to sensor] [0023).
It would have been obvious to further modify FU (in view Berger) wherein the current flows into the at least one sensor along the first conductive region and current flows out from the at least one sensor along the second conductive region, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate providing input and output contacts for the sensor (Berger [0023]).
Regarding claim 34:
FU (in view of Berger) does not disclose the sensor arrangement of claim 32, wherein the recessed portion includes a non-conductive region between the first conductive region and the second conductive region.
However, Berger discloses wherein the recessed portion includes a non-conductive region between the first conductive region and the second conductive region (the body is preferably formed of an insulative material, and in the embodiment illustrated, it consists of a stack of ceramic layers of laminations, [0020]; bonding wires 24 which extend between the sensing and conductive traces 25 on the bottom wall of cavity 17 that interconnect with electronic circuity in cavity 18 via conductive traces in the ceramic body; [0023]; also see Figure 4 non-conductive ceramic region between traces and wires).
It would have been obvious to modify FU (in view of Berger) wherein the recessed portion includes a non-conductive region between the first conductive region and the second conductive region, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate shielding between sensing elements and electronic components (Berger [0042]).
Regarding claim 35:
FU (in view of Berger) discloses the sensor arrangement of claim 30, wherein a shape of the recessed portion is configured to increase contact between the encapsulating material and the at least one base (the one or more recessed portions may be patterned to have a shape similar to that of the sensor arrangement. For example, as showin in Figure 1B, a recessed portion [underlying the cover 130] may generally resemble the outline or path(s) of the senor leads 122 of the sensor arrangement. Similarly as shown in Figure 1A, a recessed portion [underlying the cover 130] may have a rectilinear path following path(s) of the senor leads 122 extending from the sole region 112 of the garment to the ankle region 114 of the garment … for good contact … In other words, the outline of a recessed portion 116 may substantially correspond to the outline of the sensor arrangement; [0042]).
Regarding claim 43:
FU (in view of Berger) discloses the sensor arrangement of claim 30, wherein the at least one conductive member comprises a plurality of conductive members (the sensor arrangement 120 may include one or more sensor leads 122, where each senso lead is coupled to a respective temperature sensor 124, [0053]).
Regarding claim 44:
FU (in view of Berger) discloses the sensor arrangement of claim 43, wherein each conductive member of the plurality of conductive members is coupled to a respective base of at least one base (the sensor arrangement 120 may include one or more sensor leads 122, where each senso lead is coupled to a respective temperature sensor 124, [0053]).
Regarding claim 45:
FU (in view of Berger) discloses the sensor arrangement of claim 44, wherein each conductive members are bundled together to form the sensor arrangement (Generally, the sensor leads 122 may be grouped together which may have multiple advantages; [0060]).
Regarding claim 46:
FU (in view of Berger) discloses a system comprising the sensor arrangement of claim 30, the system further including: a garment coupled to the sensor arrangement and configured to be placed on a foot of a user (generally, sensor leads 122 may be arranged to distribute the temperature sensors 124 among a variety of discrete target locations of the garment, so as to measure skin temperature at different locations of interest when the garment is placed on a user’s foot; [0060]).
Regarding claim 47:
FU (in view of Berger) discloses the system of claim 46, wherein the system is configured to measure a temperature of the foot of the user (to measure skin temperature at different locations of interest when the garment is placed on the user’s foot; [0060]).
Regarding claim 48:
FU (in view of Berger) discloses the system of claim 46, further comprising: a cover coupled to the garment, wherein the sensor arrangement is placed between the cover and the garment (the sensor arrangement is placed between the cover and the garment – the sensor arrangement may be coupled to the garment by situating the sensor arrangement within a cover, and heat sealing the cover to the garment. The sensor arrangement may also be placed in a protective film prior to being coupled to the garment, as described above. The housing may be attached to the garment in any suitable manner e.g., by placing the housing in a cover and heat sealing the cover to the garment, using an adhesion mechanism such as a snap fit; [0086]).
Regarding claim 49:
FU (in view of Berger) discloses the system of claim 46, wherein the sensor arrangement is encased in a protective film (a protective film 950 may provide benefit of protecting the sensors form damage and/or outside moisture; [0059]).
Regarding claim 50:
FU (in view of Berger) disclose the system of claim 46, wherein the protective film is polyurethane film (a protective film 950 may provide benefit of protecting sensors from damage and/or outside moisture … protective, flexible film 950 e.g., plastic such as polyurethane film; [0059]).
Regarding claim 51:
FU (in view of Berger) disclose the system of claim 46, wherein the garment is a sock (the method is described by reference to making a foot-borne garment such as a sock; [0071]).
Claim(s) 36 - 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FU et al; (Publication number: US 2020/0222001 A1), hereafter FU, in view of Berger et al; (Publication number: US 2011/0010924 A1), hereafter Berger, in view of McDevitt et al; (Publication number: US 2003/0186228 A1), hereafter McDevitt.
Regarding claim 36:
FU (in view of Berger) does not disclose the sensor arrangement of claim 30, wherein a shape of the recessed portion is configured to increase a contact between the encapsulating material and the at least one base.
However, McDivitt teaches a portable sensor array. More particularly, McDivitt teaches wherein the shape of the recessed portion comprises a central cavity and at least one peripheral cavity adjoining the central cavity (the sensor array system includes an array or particles [0118]; plurality of chemically sensitive particles; [0017]; the supporting member includes cavities. The cavities may be formed such that at least one particle is substantially contained within the cavity [0119]; see also Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to further modify FU (in view of Berger) wherein a shape of the recessed portion is configured to increase a contact between the encapsulating material and the at least one base, as claimed, for forming a sensor array, with sensing in local micro-environments (McDivitt [0011][0027]).
Regarding claim 37:
FU (in view of Berger and McDivitt) discloses the sensor arrangement of claim 36, wherein the at least one peripheral cavity includes a first peripheral cavity and a second peripheral cavity ((the sensor array system includes an array or particles [0118]; plurality of chemically sensitive particles; [0017]; the supporting member includes cavities. The cavities may be formed such that at least one particle is substantially contained within the cavity [0119]; see also Figure 1).
Regarding claim 38:
FU (in view of Berger and McDivitt) discloses the sensor arrangement of claim 37, wherein the first peripheral cavity and the second peripheral cavity are opposite each other across the central cavity (McDivitt teaches wherein the first peripheral cavity and the second peripheral cavity are opposite each other across the central cavity; the sensor array system includes an array or particles [0118]; plurality of chemically sensitive particles; [0017]; the supporting member includes cavities. The cavities may be formed such that at least one particle is substantially contained within the cavity [0119]; see also Figure 1).
Regarding claim 39:
FU (in view of Berger and McDivitt) discloses the sensor arrangement of claim 27, wherein the shape further includes a third peripheral cavity and a fourth peripheral cavity (the sensor array system includes an array or particles [0118]; plurality of chemically sensitive particles; [0017]; the supporting member includes cavities. The cavities may be formed such that at least one particle is substantially contained within the cavity [0119]; see also Figure 1 – a central cavity with a third and fourth cavity on either side).
Regarding claim 40:
FU (in view of Berger and McDivitt) discloses the sensor arrangement of claim 39, wherein the third peripheral cavity and the fourth peripheral cavity are opposite each other across the central cavity (the sensor array system includes an array or particles [0118]; plurality of chemically sensitive particles; [0017]; the supporting member includes cavities. The cavities may be formed such that at least one particle is substantially contained within the cavity [0119]; see also Figure 1 – a central cavity with a third and fourth cavity on either side).
Regarding claim 41:
FU (in view of Berger and McDivitt) discloses the sensor arrangement of claim 40, wherein: the first peripheral cavity and the third peripheral cavity are on a first side of the central cavity; and the second peripheral cavity and the fourth peripheral cavity are on a second side of the central cavity (the sensor array system includes an array or particles [0118]; plurality of chemically sensitive particles; [0017]; the supporting member includes cavities. The cavities may be formed such that at least one particle is substantially contained within the cavity [0119]; see also Figure 1 –central cavity with first and third cavity on left side and second and fourth cavity on right side).
Regarding claim 42:
FU (in view of Berger and McDivitt) discloses the sensor arrangement of claim 41, wherein: the first peripheral cavity and the third peripheral cavity are spaced apart on the first of the central cavity, and the second peripheral cavity and the fourth peripheral cavity are spaced apparat on the second side of the central cavity (the sensor array system includes an array or particles [0118]; plurality of chemically sensitive particles; [0017]; the supporting member includes cavities. The cavities may be formed such that at least one particle is substantially contained within the cavity [0119]; see also Figure 1 –central cavity with first and third cavity spaced apart on left side and second and fourth cavity space apart on right side).
Conclusion
/MIHIR K RAYAN/ 25 August 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622