DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-6 have been reviewed and are under consideration by this office action.
Notice to Applicant
The following is a Final Office action. In response to Examiner’s Non- Final Rejection Applicant amended claims. Claims 1-6 are pending in this application and have been rejected below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments are received and acknowledged.
Response to Arguments - 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 101 rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the amended claims overcome the 101 Rejection.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The 101 Rejection is updated and maintained below.
Response to Arguments - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the amended claims recite a presenter walking through a demonstration of content to user. Applicant further asserts that the cited prior art does not teach these limitations.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and further has now made Hu the primary prior art reference as it more clearly describes the presentation feature. (Hu, [col. 12, li. 63-67]; The demo device control module 340 enables a remote sales person or technical support person to guide a user through a demo session. The remote sales person may control the demo device that is being used by the user, and may explain the features of the demo device 322 while they control the demo device 322). Further supporting evidence is provided below in the full 103 Rejection.
The 103 Rejection is updated and maintained below.
Claim Interpretation
For purposes of examination the Examiner is interpreting the claims in light of the specification. With respect to Claims 1-6 the claims recite:
- presenter computing circuit – The Examiner is interpreting this to be the computer operated virtually for the demo presentation (Specification, [21]; software product demo is defined as a step-by-step demonstration that will be shown either in person or virtually by a user, to one or more people for the purposes of educating them about the software product as part of the sales or training processes)
- prospective customer computing circuit – Examiner interprets this to be the recipient of the demo presentation. (specification, [21 above and further 25]; the invention opens a communication channel with the demo and confirms that they can communicate, in step 306. The invention waits, in step 307, for user input in the demo to fire a navigation event of the communicate channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step One - First, pursuant to step 1 in the January 2019 Guidance on 84 Fed. Reg. 53, the claim(s) 1-6 is/are directed to statutory categories.
Step 2A, Prong One – The claims are found to recite limitations that set forth the abstract idea(s), namely in independent claims 1-6 recite a series of steps for the abstract idea recited below.
Regarding Claim(s) 1, (additional elements bolded)
At least one tangible non-transitory computer-readable medium
on which are stored instructions that, when executed by one or more processing devices, enable the one or more processing devices to perform a method, comprising the steps of:
perform a method, comprising the steps of:
(a) loading, into a presenter computing circuit, metadata about a computer-based demonstration configured for a presenter to provide to a prospective customer;
(b) rendering, with the presenter computing circuit on a presenter display, a presenter interface associated with the demonstration;
(c) rendering with the presenter computing circuit in the presenter interface on the presenter
display, a preview of a current step in the demonstration;
(d) rendering, with the presenter computing circuit in the presenter interface on the presenter
display, a preview of a successive default step in the demonstration;
(e) receiving with the presenter computing circuit from the presenter interface, an
instruction to launch the demonstration with a prospective-customer computing
circuit on a prospective-customer display;
(f) upon demonstration launch, opening a communication channel between the presenter computing circuit and the prospective-customer computing circuit;
(g) receiving from the presenter computing circuit or the prospective-customer
computing circuit, an instruction entered into the demonstration or into the
presenter interface. respectively, to fire a navigation event of the communication channel;
(h) upon receipt of the instruction, updating the presenter interface on the presenter display
with the presenter computing circuit to show relevant information associated with the new
demonstration step;
(i) rendering, in the presenter interface on the presenter display with the presenter
computing circuit, a next-default-demonstration default demo step preview; and
(j) repeating steps (g)-(i).
The claims are directed towards the abstract idea grouping of “Certain methods of organizing human activity” — commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations) and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) as the claims are directed towards demonstrating a product and training seller on how to use a product (See Specification, [04]).
Step 2A, Prong Two - This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The independent claims utilize at least an one tangible non-transitory computer-readable medium on which are stored instructions that, when executed by one or more processing devices, enable the one or more processing devices; loading, into a presenter computing circuit, metadata; rendering, with the presenter computing circuit on a presenter display, a presenter interface; receiving with the presenter computing circuit from the presenter interface, an instruction to launch the demonstration with a prospective-customer computing circuit on a prospective-customer display; opening a communication channel between the presenter computing circuit and the prospective-customer computing circuit; receiving from the presenter computing circuit or the prospective-customer computing circuit, an instruction entered into the demonstration or into the presenter interface; updating the presenter interface on the presenter display with the presenter computing circuit to show; and rendering, in the presenter interface on the presenter display with the presenter computing circuit. The additional elements are performing the steps would be no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and/or amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Step 2B - The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements are just “apply it” on a computer. (See MPEP 2106.05(f) – Mere Instructions to Apply an Exception – “Thus, for example, claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible.” Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 235) and/or amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h).
Regarding Claim(s) 2 and 6, the claim further narrows the abstract idea or recite additional elements previously addressed in the independent claims.
Regarding Claim(s) 3, the claim further recite the additional element(s) of presenters interface includes at least one of a title of the demonstration, presenter notes, or a current location in the demonstration rendered on the prospective-customer computing circuit. This element(s) is performing the steps would be no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and/or amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h) in Steps 2A-Prong 2 and 2B.
Regarding Claim(s) 4, the claim further recite the additional element(s) of preview of the current step is loaded from an source external to the presenter computing circuit and the prospective customer computing circuit. This element(s) is performing the steps would be no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and/or amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h) in Steps 2A-Prong 2 and 2B.
Regarding Claim(s) 5, the claim further recite the additional element(s) of rendering a click beacon. This element(s) is performing the steps would be no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. See MPEP 2106.05(f) and/or amounts to no more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP 2106.05(h) in Steps 2A-Prong 2 and 2B.
Accordingly, the claim fails to recite any improvements to another technology or technical field, improvements to the functioning of the computer itself, use of a particular machine, effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, adding unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application, and/or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular environment. See 84 Fed. Reg. 55. Viewed individually or as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 8905763 B1) in view of Guruswamy et al. (US 11726804 B1).
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Hu teaches: At least one tangible non-transitory computer-readable medium on which are stored instructions that, when executed by one or more processing devices, enable the one or more processing devices to perform a method, comprising the steps of: perform a method, comprising the steps of: (a) loading, into a presenter computing circuit, metadata about a computer-based demonstration configured for a presenter to provide to a prospective customer; (Hu, [col. 7, 35-42]; In one embodiment, the demo profiles 260 are sales pitch profiles for selection by a sales person. For example, the sales person may determine that he will be presenting an interactive demonstration to a group of engineers, and may select an engineer sales pitch profile. In one embodiment, a user may select multiple demo profiles. Demo contents associated with the multiple demo profiles may then be included in the demo session and [col. 19, li. 55-58]; The data storage device 1214 includes a computer-readable storage medium 1216 on which is stored one or more sets of instructions embodying any one or more of the methodologies or functions described herein).
(b) rendering, with the presenter computing circuit on a presenter display, a presenter interface associated with the demonstration; (Hu, [col. 5-6, li. 65-3]; While the connection to the demo device 105 is active, the user device 110 may receive a stream of a display output of the demo device 105. Thus a user of the user device 110 may see the same displayed contents that a user of the demo device 105 sees and [col. 12, li. 43-49]; Demo device control module 340 may provide to a user device 328 an interface that resembles an interface of the demonstration device 322. This interface may include buttons corresponding to all of the hardware keys/buttons of the demo device. Via the interface, the user device 328 may generate any command that can be generated based on user interaction with the demo device 322).
(e) receiving with the presenter computing circuit from the presenter interface, an instruction to launch the demonstration with a prospective-customer computing circuit on a prospective-customer display; (Hu, [col. 2, lines 34-44]; The demonstration server may then transmit the demonstration session to any other demonstration device in response to receiving the user login from the other demonstration device. This enables a user to start a demonstration session on a first user device at a first retail store, and then continue the demonstration session at a later date from any other retail store that also has the demonstration device on display. The user may also continue the demonstration session from an online virtual demonstration device hosted by a demonstration server and [col. 5, li. 49-56]; the user device 110 accesses the link via web browser 135. In another embodiment, the user device 110 downloads a remote sharing module (not shown) from the demo server 125 in response to accessing the link. The user device 110 may then install and execute the remote sharing module to establish a connection with the demo device 105. In one embodiment, demo servers 125 facilitate the connection between the demo device 105 and the user device 110 and [co. 6, li. 4-8]; The demo module 140 may perform operations in response to the commands as though the user of the demo device 105 had interacted with the demo device 105. Thus, a remote user can share in a demo session with a user of the demo device 105 and Hu, [col. 9, li. 37-45]; The remote control module 235 then streams a display output of the demonstration device 200 to the user device (or to the demo server, which then forwards the display output to the user device). Additionally, a user of the user device is provided with controls that the user can manipulate to control the demo device 200. The remote control module 235 may receive such commands and execute them as though they originated from the demo device 200).
(f) upon demonstration launch, opening a communication channel between the presenter computing circuit and the prospective-customer computing circuit; (Hu, [col. 5, li. 53-60]; The user device 110 may then install and execute the remote sharing module to establish a connection with the demo device 105. In one embodiment, demo servers 125 facilitate the connection between the demo device 105 and the user device 110. In one embodiment, the demo servers 125 facilitate establishment of the connection, after which the demo device 105 and the user device 110 communicate directly and [co. 12, li. 25-31]; In one embodiment, demo device control module 340 verifies whether the demo session specified in the link is currently active on a demo device 322. If the demo session is active on a demo device 322, then demo device control module 340 may send a command to the demo device 322 to cause the demo device 322 to begin streaming a display output of the demo device 322 to the demo device control module 340 and [co. 12-13; li. 65-4]; The remote sales person may control the demo device that is being used by the user, and may explain the features of the demo device 322 while they control the demo device 322. For example, if the demo device 322 includes a speaker, then the demo device 322 may output the sales person's voice while the sales person guides the user through the demo session).
(g) receiving from the presenter computing circuit or the prospective-customer
computing circuit, an instruction entered into the demonstration or into the presenter interface, respectively, to fire a navigation event of the communication channel; (Hu, [col. 5, li. 49-56]; the user device 110 accesses the link via web browser 135. In another embodiment, the user device 110 downloads a remote sharing module (not shown) from the demo server 125 in response to accessing the link. The user device 110 may then install and execute the remote sharing module to establish a connection with the demo device 105. In one embodiment, demo servers 125 facilitate the connection between the demo device 105 and the user device 110 and [co. 6, li. 4-8]; The demo module 140 may perform operations in response to the commands as though the user of the demo device 105 had interacted with the demo device 105. Thus, a remote user can share in a demo session with a user of the demo device 105 and [col. 9, li. 37-45]; The remote control module 235 then streams a display output of the demonstration device 200 to the user device (or to the demo server, which then forwards the display output to the user device). Additionally, a user of the user device is provided with controls that the user can manipulate to control the demo device 200. The remote control module 235 may receive such commands and execute them as though they originated from the demo device 200 and [co. 12-13; li. 65-4]; The demo device control module 340 enables a remote sales person or technical support person to guide a user through a demo session. The remote sales person may control the demo device that is being used by the user, and may explain the features of the demo device 322 while they control the demo device 322. For example, if the demo device 322 includes a speaker, then the demo device 322 may output the sales person's voice while the sales person guides the user through the demo session).
(h) upon receipt of the instruction, updating the presenter interface on the presenter display with the presenter computing circuit to show relevant information associated with the new demonstration step; (Hu, [col. 9, li. 37-45]; The remote control module 235 then streams a display output of the demonstration device 200 to the user device (or to the demo server, which then forwards the display output to the user device). Additionally, a user of the user device is provided with controls that the user can manipulate to control the demo device 200. The remote control module 235 may receive such commands and execute them as though they originated from the demo device 200 and Hu, [col. 12-13, li. 63-5]; The demo device control module 340 enables a remote sales person or technical support person to guide a user through a demo session. The remote sales person may control the demo device that is being used by the user, and may explain the features of the demo device 322 while they control the demo device 322. For example, if the demo device 322 includes a speaker, then the demo device 322 may output the sales person's voice while the sales person guides the user through the demo session and Hu, [col. 15, lines 36-43]; At block 540, the demo device receives selection of available digital content (e.g., a digital book for sale at the online content store). At block 545, the demo device downloads the selected digital content. At block 550, the downloaded content is added to a current demo session. Any of blocks 530-550 may be performed repeatedly until a user stops interacting with the demo device).
While Hu teaches rendering a presenter interface that can be seen by the presenter as well as the prospective customer device, Hu does not appear to teach a preview. However, Hu in view of the analogous art of Guruswamy (i.e. demonstrations) does teach: (c) rendering with the presenter computing circuit in the presenter interface on the presenter display, a preview of a current step in the demonstration; (Guruswamy, [col. 8, lines 9-24]; In some embodiments, the content Engine 120 is further configured to provide a preview area where the user can preview the workflow created. FIG. 12 shows an exemplary user interface provided by the content engine 120 to allow a user to preview the 2-page workflow created in FIGS. 7-11 prior to saving the template to the demo store 170, according to some embodiments of the present invention. FIG. 13 shows an exemplary user interface provided by the content engine 120 to allow a user to add a link to a component (e.g., the login button) of a template page for the workflow created from FIGS. 7-12, according to some embodiments of the present invention. FIG. 14 shows an exemplary user interface provided by the content engine 120 to allow a user to link the second template page to the first template page of the workflow created from FIGS. 7-12, according to some embodiments of the present invention.
(d) rendering, with the presenter computing circuit in the presenter interface on the presenter display, a preview of a successive default step in the demonstration; (Guruswamy, [col. 8, lines 31-41]; The content engine 120 can publish the demo workflow to the public via the Internet, where the demo is hosted as a webpage. FIG. 15 shows an exemplary user interface provided by the content engine 120 that allows the user to access a list of available demo workflows, according to some embodiments of the present invention. The user interface 1300 is configured to show a My Demos section 1302 with a list of demo workflows created by the current user, a Default Demos section 1304 with a list of demo workflows prebuilt for reference purposes, and a Client Branded Demos 1306 section with a list of demo workflows branded for specific clients.).
(i) rendering, in the presenter interface on the presenter display with the presenter
computing circuit, a next-default-demonstration default demo step preview; and (Guruswamy, [col. 8, lines 49-60]; The customization engine 120 provides the user with the flexibility to change one or more parts of a template after a demo workflow is created. Exemplary customizations include, but are not limited to, add and/or update client Branding (e.g., Client logo, colors, and themes, etc.), add and/or update styles and texts to an element, toggle element display, add and/or update section, add and/or update inline CSS and/or script, replace a section with image, create a sequence, add and/or update hot links, insert component (or another template), prefill value, and remove, insert, clone, swap or move a component. In some embodiments, the components inserted into a template is retrieved by the user from the document store 170).
(j) repeating steps (g)-(i). (Guruswamy, [col. 7, lines 53-61]; Other exemplary toolsets include customization tools that allow the user to add various customizations to a template in cooperation with the customization engine 130. This process can be repeated for each desired template page of the workflow until the workflow is fully assembled. FIG. 9 shows an exemplary user interface provided by the content engine 120 that allows the user to add and/or create the next page to the workflow of FIGS. 7 and 8, according to some embodiments of the present invention).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have combined the teachings of Hu including rendering a presenter interface that can be seen by the presenter as well as the demo device with the teachings of Guruswamy including preview steps and further repeating steps in allow a user to see what has already been accomplished and order to create steps for templates of workflows and demonstrations ((Guruswamy, [col. 8, lines 31-41]; The content engine 120 can publish the demo workflow to the public via the Internet, where the demo is hosted as a webpage. FIG. 15 shows an exemplary user interface provided by the content engine 120 that allows the user to access a list of available demo workflows, according to some embodiments of the present invention. The user interface 1300 is configured to show a My Demos section 1302 with a list of demo workflows created by the current user, a Default Demos section 1304 with a list of demo workflows prebuilt for reference purposes, and a Client Branded Demos 1306 section with a list of demo workflows branded for specific clients and Guruswamy, [col. 7, lines 53-61]; Other exemplary toolsets include customization tools that allow the user to add various customizations to a template in cooperation with the customization engine 130. This process can be repeated for each desired template page of the workflow until the workflow is fully assembled. FIG. 9 shows an exemplary user interface provided by the content engine 120 that allows the user to add and/or create the next page to the workflow of FIGS. 7 and 8, according to some embodiments of the present invention).
Regarding Claim(s) 2, While Hu teaches metadata for demonstrations, Hu does not appear to specify the exact metadata. However, Hu/Guruswamy does teach: The medium of claim 1, wherein the metadata contains at least one of a title of the demonstration, sections of the demonstration, individual steps of the demonstration, clickable areas of the demonstration demo-interface, and other overlays1that may be rendered in the presenter interface. (Guruswamy, [col. 2, lines 61-66]; In some embodiments, interlinking the selected templates comprises embedding one or more user-clickable links or buttons in the templates to allow traversal among the templates in the demo workflow. In some embodiments, a template further comprises a group of templates linked together to form a sub-flow and Guruswamy, [col. 7, lines 29-36]; As shown, via this interface, the content engine 120 can gather some basic information for the new demo workflow, including demo type, sub-type, client name, initial template to be added to the workflow, version name/description for the initial template, etc. The content engine 120 can then add that downloaded template to the demo workflow in the order it is downloaded and Guruswamy, [col. 9, lines 24-26]; In another aspect, when content is generated by the process 200 of FIG. 2, two pieces of information are generated, including (i) the content itself which can be stored as documents and (ii) its corresponding metadata file, which can be stored as JSON files. The metadata serves as a mechanism to provide key information about the content so that the subsystems of the content orchestration system 100 can complete their tasks accordingly. In some embodiments, there are 5 different types of metadata files used by system 100, including metadata for templates, metadata for components, metadata for prototypes, metadata for documents, and metadata for demo workflows. In some embodiments, these metadata files are stored in the document store 170 and/or the demo store 180).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have combined the teachings of Hu including metadata for demonstrations with the teachings of Guruswamy including the specific types of data in order to have the basic information of the demo and further use to generate workflows of the demos. (Guruswamy, [col. 7, lines 29-36]; As shown, via this interface, the content engine 120 can gather some basic information for the new demo workflow, including demo type, sub-type, client name, initial template to be added to the workflow, version name/description for the initial template, etc. The content engine 120 can then add that downloaded template to the demo workflow in the order it is downloaded).
Regarding Claim(s) 3, While Hu teaches a presenter interface providing the demonstration and details, Hu does not appear to explicitly describe the title of the demonstration. Hu in view of Guruswamy does teach: The medium of claim 1, wherein the presenters interface includes at least one of a title of the demonstration, presenter notes, or a current location in the demonstration rendered on the prospective-customer computing circuit. (Guruswamy, [col. 8, lines 30-41]; The content engine 120 can publish the demo workflow to the public via the Internet, where the demo is hosted as a webpage. FIG. 15 shows an exemplary user interface provided by the content engine 120 that allows the user to access a list of available demo workflows, according to some embodiments of the present invention. The user interface 1300 is configured to show a My Demos section 1302 with a list of demo workflows created by the current user, a Default Demos section 1304 with a list of demo workflows prebuilt for reference purposes, and a Client Branded Demos 1306 section with a list of demo workflows branded for specific clients).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have combined the teachings of Hu teaches a presenter interface providing the demonstration and details with the teachings of Guruswamy including titles of demonstrations in order to allow the user to see all the demonstrations available to that user. (Guruswamy, [col. 8, lines 30-41]; The content engine 120 can publish the demo workflow to the public via the Internet, where the demo is hosted as a webpage. FIG. 15 shows an exemplary user interface provided by the content engine 120 that allows the user to access a list of available demo workflows, according to some embodiments of the present invention. The user interface 1300 is configured to show a My Demos section 1302 with a list of demo workflows created by the current user, a Default Demos section 1304 with a list of demo workflows prebuilt for reference purposes, and a Client Branded Demos 1306 section with a list of demo workflows branded for specific clients).
Regarding Claim(s) 4, While Hu teaches rendering a presenter interface that can be seen by the presenter as well as the prospective customer device and further loading from an external source (Hu, [co.15, li. 65-67]; the demo device downloads the demo session information associated with the user login or identifier from the demo server), Hu does not appear to teach a preview The medium of claim 1, wherein the preview of the current step is loaded from an source external to the presenter computing circuit and the prospective customer computing circuit. (Guruswamy, [col. 2, lines 44-49]; Any of the above aspects can include one or more of the following features. In some embodiments, the demo workflow is published to the Internet as a webpage. In some embodiments, the user is allowed to download the demo workflow and serve the demo workflow offline on a local computing device without Internet connectivity and Guruswamy, [col. 7, lines 25-40]; FIG. 7 shows an exemplary user interface provided by the content engine 120 to allow a user to initiate creation of a new demo workflow, according to some embodiments of the present invention. As shown, via this interface, the content engine 120 can gather some basic information for the new demo workflow, including demo type, sub-type, client name, initial template to be added to the workflow, version name/description for the initial template, etc. The content engine 120 can then add that downloaded template to the demo workflow in the order it is downloaded. FIG. 8 shows an exemplary user interface provided by the content engine 120 that displays the template selected by the user via the interface of FIG. 7, according to some embodiments of the present invention. This template page serves as a landing/first page of the workflow being created).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have combined the teachings of Hu including rendering a presenter interface that can be seen by the presenter as well as the demo device with the teachings of Guruswamy including preview steps and further repeating steps in allow a user to see what has already been accomplished and order to create steps for templates of workflows and demonstrations (Guruswamy, [col. 8, lines 31-41]; The content engine 120 can publish the demo workflow to the public via the Internet, where the demo is hosted as a webpage. FIG. 15 shows an exemplary user interface provided by the content engine 120 that allows the user to access a list of available demo workflows, according to some embodiments of the present invention. The user interface 1300 is configured to show a My Demos section 1302 with a list of demo workflows created by the current user, a Default Demos section 1304 with a list of demo workflows prebuilt for reference purposes, and a Client Branded Demos 1306 section with a list of demo workflows branded for specific clients and Guruswamy, [col. 7, lines 53-61]; Other exemplary toolsets include customization tools that allow the user to add various customizations to a template in cooperation with the customization engine 130. This process can be repeated for each desired template page of the workflow until the workflow is fully assembled. FIG. 9 shows an exemplary user interface provided by the content engine 120 that allows the user to add and/or create the next page to the workflow of FIGS. 7 and 8, according to some embodiments of the present invention).
Regarding Claim(s) 6, While Hu teaches a presenter interface providing the demonstration and details, Hu does not appear to teach updating. However, Hu in view of Guruswamy does teach: The medium of claim 1, wherein the method further includes updating at least one of a current-step number, presenter notes, or a preview window. (Guruswamy, [col. 8, lines 48-60]; The customization engine 120 provides the user with the flexibility to change one or more parts of a template after a demo workflow is created. Exemplary customizations include, but are not limited to, add and/or update client Branding (e.g., Client logo, colors, and themes, etc.), add and/or update styles and texts to an element, toggle element display, add and/or update section, add and/or update inline CSS and/or script, replace a section with image, create a sequence, add and/or update hot links, insert component (or another template), prefill value, and remove, insert, clone, swap or move a component. In some embodiments, the components inserted into a template is retrieved by the user from the document store 170).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have combined the teachings of Hu including rendering a presenter interface that can be seen by the presenter as well as the demo device with the teachings of Guruswamy including updating in order to allow for the customization of demonstrations (Guruswamy, [col. 7, li. 53-62]; Other exemplary toolsets include customization tools that allow the user to add various customizations to a template in cooperation with the customization engine 130. This process can be repeated for each desired template page of the workflow until the workflow is fully assembled. FIG. 9 shows an exemplary user interface provided by the content engine 120 that allows the user to add and/or create the next page to the workflow of FIGS. 7 and 8, according to some embodiments of the present invention).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 8905763 B1) in view of Guruswamy et al. (US 11726804 B1), and DeCharms et al. (US 20240273793 A1) (including provisional application 63/485,023).
Regarding Claim(s) 5, While Hu/Guruswamy teach a demo that include interfaces and next and default steps, neither appear to explicitly teach: The medium of claim 1, wherein the method further includes rendering a click beacon for a default step a presenter should take next in the demonstration. However, Guruswamy/Hu in view of the analogous art of DeCharms (i.e. instructional interfaces) does teach the entirety of the limitation: (DeCharms, [25]; Next paragraph button. Software may remove sentence n from display, increment sentence number from n to n+m where (n+m)=first sentence of next paragraph to move to next sentence n+m, play n+m sentence audio; 448: Review mode: forward, eg forward one highlight. Software may remove sentence n from display, increment sentence number from n to n+j where (n+j)=next highlighted sentence to move to next highlighted sentence n+j, play n+j sentence audio; 449: Highlight button: may indicate to increment the highlight level of the current text element; 450: Extra button: user assignable button, may control other software functions; 451: Library Button: go to screen to select content; 452: Read Button: go to screen to read content; 453: Notes Button: go to screen to see highlights, selections, comments, notes, other users').
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the disclosed invention to have combined the teachings of Guruswamy/Hu teaching a demo that include interfaces and next and default steps with the teachings of DeCharms including a click beacon for a next step in order to draw a user’s attention to an area of interest. (DeCharms, [31]; The software may provide focus measurement functionality in this way for reading-based tasks, such as using other reading and content-consumption features presented herein. The software may also provide focus measurement functionality in this way for other types of tasks, including but not limited to the use of apps or functions on a device, the attention to content in particular windows on a device, the consumption of certain types or elements of content, interaction with particular users or agents, completion of other types of tasks, health tracking, fitness tracking, relaxation, focus tracking, sleep induction).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY L GUNN/Examiner, Art Unit 3624
1 Overlay - In a graphical user interface (GUI), an overlay is a layer of UI elements, such as pop-up windows, menus, or notifications, that appears on top of the main content, temporarily obscuring it or focusing the user's attention on a specific task or information… Overlays can include interactive elements like buttons and input fields, enabling users to perform actions or input data.
< https://www.google.com/search?q=what+is+an+overlay+in+a+gui>