DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 05/12/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4, line 5, the phrase, "the at least one sensor" should be rewritten as "the at least one proximity sensor." Appropriate corrections are required.
Double Patenting
The non statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). A timely filed terminal disclaimer in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(c) or 1.321(d) may be used to overcome an actual or provisional rejection based on a non-statutory double patenting ground provided the reference application or patent either is shown to be commonly owned with this application, or claims an invention made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of a joint research agreement. A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.321(b). The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1, 6, 8, 10, 12, 17 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, 8 and 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,032,872 (the '872 patent) in view of Liu (US 2022/0308739). Regarding claim 1, in the table below, the left side contains claim 1 in the instant application while the right side contains portions of claim 1 of the '872 patent:
18/766,327 (present application)
12,032,872
Claim 1: A playback device comprising: a graphical display; at least one processor; program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor to cause the playback device to:
Claim 1: A playback device comprising a graphical display a capacitive volume control disposed on a housing of the playback device; at least one processor; at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium; and program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor to cause the playback device to:
while the playback device is not playing back media content, determining, via the at least one proximity sensor, that a user has approached the playback device; in response to determining that the user has approached the playback device: determine a set of quick start commands, each quick start command comprising a command to begin playback of respective media content;
while the graphical display is in a sleep state, detect, via one or more proximity sensors, that a user is proximate to the playback device; based on detecting that the user is proximate to the playback device, cause the graphical display to (i) exit the sleep state and (ii) present a graphical user interface (GUI) comprising a list of selectable quick start icons, each selectable quick start icon in the list comprising a selectable icon corresponding to respective media content and a respective command to begin playback of the respective media content, wherein the list does not include information identifying the respective media content;
populate the graphical display with a set of selectable quick start icons corresponding to the set of quick start commands, wherein the set of selectable quick start icons does not include information identifying the respective media content;
based on detecting that the user is proximate to the playback device, cause the graphical display to (i) exit the sleep state and (ii) present a graphical user interface (GUI) comprising a list of selectable quick start icons, each selectable quick start icon in the list comprising a selectable icon corresponding to respective media content and a respective command to begin playback of the respective media content, wherein the list does not include information identifying the respective media content;
detect user input indicating selection of a given quick start icon from the set of selectable quick start icons, the given quick start icon corresponding to a given quick start command; and
detect an input selecting one of the selectable quick start icons via the graphical display; and
based on the user input: begin to play back the respective media content corresponding to the given quick start command; and
based on detecting the input selecting one of the selectable quick start icons via the graphical display, begin to play back the respective media content corresponding to the selected one of the selectable quick start icons
update the graphical display to include information identifying the respective media content corresponding to the given quick start command.
Claim 6: The playback device of claim 1, wherein each selectable quick start icon comprises an indicator having a respective color.
Claim 6: The playback device of claim 5, wherein each selectable quick start icon in the list is displayed in a different corresponding color
Claim 8: The playback device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the set of quick start commands is determined based on contextual information comprising information related to a time of day.
Claim 4: … cause the playback device to dynamically determine the respective media content corresponding to one of the selectable quick start icons based on a time of day.
Claim 10: The playback device of claim 1, further comprising: a capacitive volume control comprising a depression in a housing of the playback device.
Claim 9: A playback device comprising a graphical display a capacitive volume control disposed on a housing of the playback device … wherein the capacitive volume control comprises a depression in the housing of the playback device … wherein the depression in the housing of the playback device comprises a linear depression.
The '872 patent does not expressly disclose based on the user input: update the graphical display to include information identifying the respective media content corresponding to the given quick start command.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu teaches based on the user input: update the graphical display to include information identifying the respective media content corresponding to the given quick start command (Fig. 11, [0113-0115] teaches displaying media information and playing media in response to a user selected a shortcut icon). It would be desirable to incorporate this feature to provide more information to a user when they select media content. Claims 12 and 19 recite similar limitations as claim 1 and are likewise rejected.
Claim 17 recites similar limitations to claim 6 and is likewise rejected.
Claims 2, 3 and 5, 13, 14, 16 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,032,872 (the '872 patent) in view of Liu and further in view of Bates (US 2020/0194004).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of the '872 patent and Liu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. However, the combination of the '872 patent and Liu does not expressly disclose select, from two or more user profiles associated with the playback device, a given user profile indicating media content preferences and listening history.
In the same field of endeavor, Bates teaches
select, from two or more user profiles associated with the playback device, a given user profile indicating media content preferences and listening history (Abstract, [0078, 0084-0086, 0090, 0093-097], a playback device detects one or more users with a particular range/proximity of the playback device e.g., using a Bluetooth connection to their smartphone, and retrieves configuration data regarding those users i.e., user profile data; as noted in [0082, 0084-0086, 0158], the user profile may include records of media content the user has recently listened to, and media preferences; [0097], user profiles for identified users may be selectively retrieved from local memory or a cloud computing system),
wherein at least some of the set of quick start commands are determined based on the media content preferences and listening history of the given user profile (Abstract, [0078, 0084-0086, 0090, 0093-097], a playback device detects one or more users with a particular range/proximity of the playback device e.g., using a Bluetooth connection to their smartphone, and retrieves configuration data regarding those users i.e., user profile data; as noted in [0082, 0084-0086, 0158], the user profile may include records of media content the user has recently listened to, and media preferences; [0097], user profiles for identified users may be selectively retrieved from local memory or a cloud computing system). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated select, from two or more user profiles associated with the playback device, a given user profile indicating media content preferences and listening history, wherein at least some of the set of quick start commands are determined based on the media content preferences and listening history of the given user profile as suggested in Bates into the '872 patent, because the '872 patent and Bates pertain to analogous fields of technology. The '872 patent pertains to a playback device that presents quick start icons for playing media for a user, in response to the user coming close to the playback device. Bates also pertains to a playback device that detects a user coming close to the playback device and playing media in response to input from the user. In Bates, the system detects the proximity of one or more users (e.g., using their smartphone) and then obtains user profile data corresponding to the one or more users. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature to Liu to provide a technique for identifying users and providing individualized profile data e.g., see Bates Abstract, [0078, 0084-0086, 0090, 0093-007].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of the '872 patent, Liu and Bates teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. The combination of the '872 patent, Liu and Bates also teaches
identify, via the at least one sensor, a control device that is within a threshold proximity of the playback device; and determine a particular user profile that is associated with the control device, wherein the particular user profile comprises the given user profile (Bates Abstract, [0078, 0084-0086, 0090, 0093-097], a playback device detects one or more users with a particular range/proximity of the playback device e.g., using a Bluetooth connection to their smartphone, and retrieves configuration data regarding those users i.e., user profile data; as noted in Bates [0082, 0084-0086, 0158], the user profile may include records of media content the user has recently listened to, and media preferences; Bates [0097], user profiles for identified users may be selectively retrieved from local memory or a cloud computing system; see also Hwang [0079, 0186-0189), which describes detecting the proximity of an external device). Regarding claim 5, the combination of the '872 patent, Liu and Bates teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. The combination of the '872 patent, Liu and Bates also teaches based on selecting the given user profile indicating the set of quick start commands, assign each quick start command to a respective selectable quick start icon; and display, via the graphical display, the set of selectable quick start icons (Bates [0082, 0084-0086, 0158] teaches utilizing a user profile indicating user preferences; see also claim 1 of the '872 patent).
Claims 13, 14, 16 and 20 correspond to claims 2, 3 and 5, and are likewise rejected.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,032,872 (the '872 patent) in view of Liu and further in view of Montoy (US 2015/0106737).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of the '872 patent and Liu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. However, the combination of the '872 patent and Liu does not expressly disclose wherein at least one of the set of quick start commands is determined based on contextual information comprising information related to a location of the playback device within a media playback system.
In the same field of endeavor, Montoy teaches wherein at least one of the set of quick start commands is determined based on contextual information comprising information related to a location of the playback device within a media playback system ([0049, 0079, 0092, 0100, 0039], it is known for a system to display selected media/applications based on contextual factors, including the location of the playing device or the time of day; the device may be any computing device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein at least one of the set of quick start commands is determined based on contextual information comprising information related to a location of the playback device within a media playback system as suggested in Montoy into the '872 patent because the '872 patent and Montoy pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both the '872 patent and Montoy relate to devices that selectively display applications on an interface. In Montoy, the system displays applications based on contextual factors e.g., the location of the displaying device, the time of day, etc. It would be desirable to incorporate these features into Liu to allow additional factors to be taken into account when playlist/media options are selectively presented e.g., see Montoy [0049, 0079, 0092, 0100, 0039].
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 2022/0308739) in view of Hwang (US 2017/0140644).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a playback device (Fig. 1, [0039-0041] describes a device that can play songs and playlists) comprising:
a graphical display (Figs. 1, 13 [0039], the device includes an interface);
at least one processor;
program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium
(Figs. 1, 13 [0152-0153], the device includes a processor and memory) that are executable by the at least one processor to cause the playback device to:
determine a set of quick start commands, each quick start command comprising a command to begin playback of respective media content (Fig. 1, [0039-0041], the system generates various recommended playlists; these may be based on known user preferences, most popular songs etc.; these are represented by icons as seen in Fig. 1; a user can select these icons/playlists, and the system will then play songs within those playlists);
populate the graphical display with a set of selectable quick start icons corresponding to the set of quick start commands, wherein the set of selectable quick start icons does not include information identifying the respective media content (Fig. 1, [0039-0041], the system generates various recommended playlists; these may be based on known user preferences, most popular songs etc.; these are represented by icons as seen in Fig. 1; a user can select these icons/playlists, and the system will then play songs within those playlists; as seen in Fig. 1, each playlist is represented by one or more icons e.g., a symbol on the left side and a box on the right with a generic phrase e.g., "Recommended playlist D1"; neither icon includes information identifying a particular track or song or type of music; see also Fig. 10, which presents another set of shortcut icons, which similarly do not identify particular media e.g., songs, tracks or albums);
detect user input indicating selection of a given quick start icon from the set of selectable quick start icons, the given quick start icon corresponding to a given quick start command; and
based on the user input:
begin to play back the respective media content corresponding to the given quick start command (Fig. 1, [0039-0041], the system generates various recommended playlists; these may be based on known user preferences, most popular songs etc.; these are represented by icons as seen in Fig. 1; a user can select these icons/playlists, and the system will then play songs within those playlists; see also Fig. 11, [0113-0115]); and
update the graphical display to include information identifying the respective media content corresponding to the given quick start command (Fig. 11, [0113-0115] teaches displaying media information and playing media in response to a user selected a shortcut icon)
However, Liu does not expressly disclose the playback device further comprising at least one proximity sensor; while the playback device is not playing back media content, determining, via the at least one proximity sensor, that a user has approached the playback device; performing the determining and populating operations in response to determining that the user has approached the playback device.
In the same field of endeavor, Hwang teaches
the playback device further comprising at least one proximity sensor (Abstract describes a proximity sensor on a device; see also [0003-0004, 0056-0058];
while the playback device is not playing back media content, determining, via the at least one proximity sensor, that a user has approached the playback device:
performing the determining and populating operations in response to determining that the user has approached the playback device (Figs. 8A-8C, [0172-0176, 0056-0058], the device may have a lock screen and in a sleep mode, in which it is not performing any functions; when the device detects that a user is within proximity of the device, the device may unlock the lock screen and display a background screen e.g., as seen in Fig. 8C, with selectable icons or buttons).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the playback device further comprising at least one proximity sensor; while the playback device is not playing back media content, determining, via the at least one proximity sensor, that a user has approached the playback device; performing the determining and populating operations in response to determining that the user has approached the playback device as suggested in Hwang into Liu because Liu and Hwang pertain to analogous fields of technology. Liu pertains to a device that displays a page of icon applications, one or more of which may relate to the playback of recommended media. Hwang also pertains to a wide variety of devices that can display a page of icon applications e.g., see Liu Fig. 8C, [0056-0058]. In Hwang, the device can detect the proximity of a user; when it does so, it can display icon applications. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Liu, so that the device could save power and only display the applications when a user is close enough to use them e.g., see Hwang Figs. 8A-8C, [0172-0176, 0056-0058].
Regarding claim 12, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. Liu also teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium, wherein the non-transitory computer readable medium is provisioned with program instructions (Liu Figs. 1, 13 [0152-0153], the device includes a processor and memory).
Regarding claim 19, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 13, 14, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Hwang, as applied in claims 1, 12 and 19, and further in view of Bates (US 2020/0194004).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Liu and Hwang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Liu and Hwang also teaches wherein at least some of the set of quick start commands are determined based on the media content preferences and listening history of the given user profile ([0041], Liu teaches an interface that presents selectable, customized/recommended playlists; the playlists may be based on ones that the user recently listened to, or user preferences).
However, the combination of Liu and Hwang does not expressly disclose select, from two or more user profiles associated with the playback device, a given user profile indicating media content preferences and listening history.
In the same field of endeavor, Bates teaches
select, from two or more user profiles associated with the playback device, a given user profile indicating media content preferences and listening history (Abstract, [0078, 0084-0086, 0090, 0093-097], a playback device detects one or more users with a particular range/proximity of the playback device e.g., using a Bluetooth connection to their smartphone, and retrieves configuration data regarding those users i.e., user profile data; as noted in [0082, 0084-0086, 0158], the user profile may include records of media content the user has recently listened to, and media preferences; [0097], user profiles for identified users may be selectively retrieved from local memory or a cloud computing system).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated select, from two or more user profiles associated with the playback device, a given user profile indicating media content preferences and listening history as suggested in Bates into Liu, because Liu and Bates pertain to analogous fields of technology. Liu pertains to a playback device that provides recommended playlists/shortcut options on an interface, which are generated based on an analysis of user preferences and past history. Bates also pertains to a playback device that stores data on individual user preferences and history, and uses it to enhance and customize playback. In Bates, the system detects the proximity of one or more users (e.g., using their smartphone) and then obtains user profile data corresponding to the one or more users. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature to Liu to provide a technique for identifying users and providing individualized profile data e.g., see Bates Abstract, [0078, 0084-0086, 0090, 0093-007].
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Liu, Hwang and Bates teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. The combination of Liu, Hwang and Bates also teaches
identify, via one or more proximity sensors, a control device that is within a threshold proximity of the playback device; and
determine a particular user profile that is associated with the control device, wherein the particular user profile comprises the given user profile (Bates Abstract, [0078, 0084-0086, 0090, 0093-097], a playback device detects one or more users with a particular range/proximity of the playback device e.g., using a Bluetooth connection to their smartphone, and retrieves configuration data regarding those users i.e., user profile data; as noted in [0082, 0084-0086, 0158], the user profile may include records of media content the user has recently listened to, and media preferences; [0097], user profiles for identified users may be selectively retrieved from local memory or a cloud computing system).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Liu, Hwang and Bates teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. The combination of Liu, Hwang and Bates also teaches
based on selecting the given user profile indicating the set of quick start commands, assign each quick start command to a respective selectable quick start icon; and
display, via the graphical display, the set of selectable quick start icons (Bates [0082, 0084-0086, 0158] teaches utilizing a user profile indicating user preferences; Liu Fig. 1, [0039-0041] teaches displaying recommended playlists and associated icons on an interface based on such user preferences).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Liu and Hwang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 12. Claim 13 also corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Liu, Hwang and Bates teaches the invention as claimed in claim 13. Claim 14 also corresponds to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Liu, Hwang and Bates teaches the invention as claimed in claim 13. Claim 16 also corresponds to claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Liu and Hwang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 19. Claim 20 also corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, Hwang and Bates, as applied in claims 2 and 13, and further in view of Wu (US 10,779,046).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Liu, Hwang and Bates teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. However, the combination of Liu, Hwang and Bates does not expressly disclose determine a particular user profile that most frequently plays back media content via the playback device, wherein the particular user profile comprises the given user profile.
In the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches determine a particular user profile that most frequently plays back media content via the playback device, wherein the particular user profile comprises the given user profile (Fig. 1, col. 8, line 63 to col. 9, line 5; col. 5, lines 35-37, it is known to recommend media based on a user profile, where the user profile tracks the most frequently played media by a user at a user device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated determine a particular user profile that most frequently plays back media content via the playback device, wherein the particular user profile comprises the given user profile as suggested in Wu into Liu, Hwang and Bates because Lu and Wu pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both Lu and Wu relate to systems for recommending media to a user based on a profile i.e., stored user preference data. In Wu, recommendations for media can be made based on the media that the user has interacted with most frequently. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Liu to improve recommendations e.g., see Wu Fig. 1, col. 8, line 63 to col. 9, line 5; col. 5, lines 35-37.)
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Liu, Hwang and Bates teaches the invention as claimed in claim 13. Claim 15 also corresponds to claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Hwang, as applied in claims 1 and 12, and further in view of Nagasaka (US 2008/0295028).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Liu and Hwang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. However, Liu does not expressly disclose wherein each selectable quick start icon comprises an indicator having a respective color.
In the same field of endeavor, Nagasaka teaches wherein each selectable quick start icon comprises an indicator having a respective color ([0031], icons for different media can have different colors; different color hues can be used to indicate different associations).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein each selectable quick start icon comprises an indicator having a respective color as suggested in Nagasaka into Liu and Hwang because Liu and Nagasaka pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both Liu and Nagasaka pertain to interfaces having icons representing media. In Nagasaka, the icons can have different colors. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Liu to help distinguish the icons e.g., see Nagasaka [0031].
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches the invention as claimed in claim 12. Claim 17 also corresponds to claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 7, 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Hwang, as applied in claims 1 and 12, and further in view of Montoy (US 2015/0106737).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Liu and Hwang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. However, the combination of Liu and Hwang does not expressly disclose wherein at least one of the set of quick start commands is determined based on contextual information comprising information related to a location of the playback device within a media playback system.
In the same field of endeavor, Montoy teaches wherein at least one of the set of quick start commands is determined based on contextual information comprising information related to a location of the playback device within a media playback system ([0049, 0079, 0092, 0100, 0039], it is known for a system to display selected media/applications based on contextual factors, including the location of the playing device or the time of day; the device may be any computing device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein at least one of the set of quick start commands is determined based on contextual information comprising information related to a location of the playback device within a media playback system as suggested in Montoy into Liu and Hwang because Liu and Montoy pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both Liu and Montoy relate to devices that selectively display applications on an interface, based on inferences regarding a user's preferences. In Montoy, the system displays applications based on contextual factors e.g., the location of the displaying device, the time of day, etc. It would be desirable to incorporate these features into Liu to allow additional factors to be taken into account when playlist/media options are selectively presented e.g., see Montoy [0049, 0079, 0092, 0100, 0039].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Liu and Hwang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. However, the combination of Liu and Hwang does not expressly disclose wherein at least one of the set of quick start commands is determined based on contextual information comprising information related to a time of day.
In the same field of endeavor, Montoy teaches wherein at least one of the set of quick start commands is determined based on contextual information comprising information related to a time of day ([0049, 0079, 0092, 0100, 0039], it is known for a system to display selected media/applications based on contextual factors, including the location of the playing device or the time of day; the device may be any computing device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein at least one of the set of quick start commands is determined based on contextual information comprising information related to a time of day as suggested in Montoy into Liu and Hwang because Liu and Montoy pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both Liu and Montoy relate to devices that selectively display applications on an interface, based on inferences regarding a user's preferences. In Montoy, the system displays applications based on contextual factors e.g., the location of the displaying device, the time of day, etc. It would be desirable to incorporate these features into Liu to allow additional factors to be taken into account when playlist/media options are selectively presented e.g., see Montoy [0049, 0079, 0092, 0100, 0039].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Liu and Hwang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 12. Claim 18 also corresponds to claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Hwang, as applied in claim 1, and further in view of Triplett (US 2016/0026429).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Liu and Hwang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. However, the combination of Liu and Hwang does not expressly disclose wherein at least one of the set of quick start commands is determined based on contextual information comprising information about media content currently being played back by one or more other playback devices, and wherein the at least one of the set of quick start commands comprises a command to play back media content in synchrony with the one or more other playback devices.
In the same field of endeavor, Triplett teaches
wherein at least one of the set of quick start commands is determined based on contextual information comprising information about media content currently being played back by one or more other playback devices, and
wherein the at least one of the set of quick start commands comprises a command to play back media content in synchrony with the one or more other playback devices (Fig. 4, [0080-0089, 0063-0064], the system includes an interface with various icons/buttons for controlling playback of media at a first playback device; the system can detect that another second playback device is playing target media e.g., see [0086, 0089]; the interface can provide options for causing a first playback device to play the target media in synchrony with the second device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein at least one of the set of quick start commands is determined based on contextual information comprising information about media content currently being played back by one or more other playback devices, and wherein the at least one of the set of quick start commands comprises a command to play back media content in synchrony with the one or more other playback devices as suggested in Triplett into Liu and Hwang because Liu and Triplett pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both Liu and Triplett pertain to interfaces for playback devices that control the play of music/media. In Triplett, the system can indicate and detect what a second playback device is playing, and provide corresponding interface options for causing a first playback device to join in the media playback. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Liu, to provide further playback options for a playback device e.g., see Triplett Fig. 4, [0080-0089, 0063-0064].
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Hwang, as applied in claim 1, and further in view of Emigh (US 2018/0191517).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Liu and Hwang teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. However, the combination of Liu and Hwang does not expressly disclose a capacitive volume control comprising a depression in a housing of the playback device.
In the same field of endeavor, Emigh teaches a capacitive volume control comprising a depression in a housing of the playback device (Abstract, [0017-0018, 0030-0031, 0009], it is known to have device with an exterior housing/surface having a depression or groove, where a user swipes along the groove to control parameters, such as volume, to control devices e.g., an audio controller; the corresponding touch sensor may be a capacitive touch sensor).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated a capacitive volume control comprising a depression in a housing of the playback device as suggested in Emigh into Liu and Hwang, because Liu and Emigh pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both Liu and Emigh pertain to devices that control audio playback with interfaces that a user can interact with. In Emigh, the interface may include capacitive touch sensors in the form of grooves, used to control volume. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Liu to provide various options for controlling playback and volume of audio from a playback device e.g., see Emigh Abstract, [0017-0018, 0030-0031, 0009].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Liu, Hwang and Emigh teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10. The combination of Liu, Hwang and Emigh also teaches wherein a volume level of the playback device is adjustable via one or more slide inputs provided along the capacitive volume control (Emigh Abstract, [0017-0018, 0030-0031, 0009], it is known to have device with an exterior housing/surface having a depression or groove, where a user swipes along the groove to control parameters, such as volume, to control devices e.g., an audio controller; the corresponding touch sensor may be a capacitive touch sensor).
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant's amendments to claims 1, 12 and 19.
Regarding independent claims 1, 12 and 19, the Applicant alleges that the combination of references does not teach the amended limitation of "while the playback device is not playing back media content, determining, via the at least one proximity sensor, that a user has approached the playback device: in response to determining that the user has approached the playback device … update the graphical display to include information identifying the
respective media content corresponding to the given quick start command." Examiner has therefore rejected claims 1, 12 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Hwang. Applicant's remarks are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Applicant further argues that claims 2-11, 13-18 and 20 are allowable in view of their dependency on claims 1, 9 and 17. Claims 2-11, 13-18 and 20 remain rejected as being unpatentable over Liu, Hwang, Bates, Wu, Nagasaka, Montoy, Triplett and/or Emigh.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeong (US 2020/0333995) teaches a device may be in a power off mode and have a blank display; when the device detects the proximity of a user, the device may display a UI displaying various types of information e.g., see Jeong Figs. 5A, 5B, [0124-0126, 0127].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC J YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118