Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
((a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al
Regarding claim1, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses A wireless device (fig. 1, Access point 102) comprising:
a wireless transceiver to receive and transmit frames and a controller operably coupled to the wireless transceiver to process the frames, [0100] [0101] disclose the wireless communication device 700 can be a device for use in an AP, includes at least one processor least one transmitter, at least one receiver, and at least one antenna;[0003]An AP periodically broadcasts beacon frames to enable any STAs within wireless range of the AP to establish or maintain a communication link with the WLAN) (fig. 2 and [0056] The AP 102-a and the STA 104-a may communicate over a communication link 205 (for example, transmitting data or pilot signals on the uplink or the downlink),
wherein the controller is configured to generate at least one frame that includes a resource unit for a first user that is rotated in frequency such that a first frequency location of the resource unit for a first time period is different than a second frequency location of the resource unit for a second time period. ( fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated ,as discuss in table 2 and table 4.
Regarding claim 2, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein the controller is configured to assign frequency locations of the resource unit in one of a full span, a partial span and a mixed span,
wherein the full span is a span where a total available bandwidth is visited by the resource unit, wherein the partial span is a span where less than the total available bandwidth is visited by the resource unit, and the mixed span is a span that includes at least one full span and at least one partial span (fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed
RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated , as discuss in table 2 and table 4 and [0070] A channel bandwidth spanning RU configured using one or more of shifted tone sets 220
Regarding claim 3, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein the controller is configured to assign frequency locations of the resource unit such that at least one frequency range is hopped by the frequency locations of the resource unit (fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed
RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated , as discuss in table 2 and table 4 and [0070] A channel bandwidth spanning RU configured using one or more of shifted tone sets 220
Regarding claim 4, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein the controller is configured to assign frequency locations of the resource unit such that the frequency locations have mixed sizes. (fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated , as discuss in table 2 and table 4 and [0070] A channel bandwidth spanning RU configured using one or more of shifted tone sets 220.
Regarding claim 5, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein the resource unit includes a multiple resource unit. (fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated , as discuss in table 2 and table 4 and [0070] A channel bandwidth spanning RU configured using one or more of shifted tone sets 220
Regarding claim 6, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein the controller is configured to assign frequency locations of the resource unit such that one of a punctured area, a reserved area and a partitioned area of a total available bandwidth is not visited by the resource unit. (fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated , as discuss in table 2 and table 4 and [0070] A channel bandwidth spanning RU configured using one or more of shifted tone sets 220
Regarding claim 7, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein the controller is configured to use unoccupied bits of a signal element of the frame or symbols in the frame to provide information for reception of the frame with the resource unit. (fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed
RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated , as discuss in table 2 and table 4 and [0070] A channel bandwidth spanning RU configured using one or more of shifted tone sets 220
Regarding claim 8, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein the controller is configured to use an existing spatial mapping matrix when there is no transmit beamforming, and use an averaged spatial mapping matrix when there is transmit beamforming. (fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated , as discuss in table 2 and table 4 and [0070] A channel bandwidth spanning RU configured using one or more of shifted tone sets 220
Regarding claim 9, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein the controller is configured to use one long training field when there is no transmit beamforming, and use a long training field per user when there is no transmit beamforming. (fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed
RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated , as discuss in table 2 and table 4 and [0070] A channel bandwidth spanning RU configured using one or more of shifted tone sets 220
Regarding claim 10, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein the controller is configured to generate a long training field in the frame with a sparse tone plan, wherein the sparse tone plan uses less than half of available tones. (fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated , as discuss in table 2 and table 4 and [0070] A channel bandwidth spanning RU configured using one or more of shifted tone sets , [0074]the distributed RU may be based on other factors. For example, a type of data or format of the data to be transmitted in the distributed RU may determine the allocation of tones or the data tone mapping for the distributed RU. Uncompressed long training fields (LTFs) such as 4x LTFs may be used to transmit data in each pilot tone and in each data tone of the sets of data tones.
Regarding claim 11, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 10.
Yang further discloses wherein the controller is configured to generate a preamble in the frame that is power boosted by up to one of six (6) decibels or
power boosted to three (3) decibels and six (6) decibels. [0035] The configurations of some RUs (for example, the locations of the allocated data and pilot tones in each RU) may not efficiently utilize the available transmit power of the transmitting device. For example, a device may reduce power when communicating via one or more RUs, such as
based on a power spectral density (PSD) limit for a communication bandwidth including the one or more RUs. In some implementations, a channel bandwidth may have a transmit power constraint (such as a regulatory constraint or a capability constraint) for communications in terms of PSD (for example, in a PSD-limited domain). For example, there may be a PSD limit of 11 decibel-milliwatts (dBm) of each megahertz (MHz) for a specific bandwidth, which may result in a total PSD limit of 14 dBm for an RU (for example, a small RU, such as an RU that includes 26 tones). Communications over some RUs may therefore be reduced in transmit power to remain within the PSD limit. Additionally or alternatively, a channel bandwidth may be subject to constraints in available frequency ranges, and improved techniques are generally desired
Regarding claim 12, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 10.
Yang further discloses wherein the controller is configured to generate a short or long training field in the frame that is power boosted, wherein a time domain repetition is applied to the short or long training field. [0074] Additionally, or alternatively, the distributed RU 210 may be based on other factors. For example, a type of data or format of the data to be transmitted in the distributed RU 210 may determine the allocation of tones or the data tone mapping for the distributed RU 210. Uncompressed long training fields (LTFs) such as 4x LTFs may be used to transmit data in each pilot tone and in each data tone of the sets of data tones. Compressed LTFs (for example, LTFs with a tone group factor, Ng, greater than 1, such as lx or 2x LTFs) may transmit one value over a set of tones. For example, 2x LTF may transmit one value over a set of two tones (such as by using one tone of the set of two tones). In these cases, a transmitting device may support 2x LTF by transmitting one data tone in each group of contiguous data tones. The transmitting device may additionally transmit pilot signals on all distributed pilot tones. In other cases, the devices may not use compressed LTFs, and may transmit uncompressed 4x LTFs. In some examples, for short training fields (STFs), the APs 102 and STAs 104 of the wireless communication network 200 may implement an existing 20 MHz STF for each 20 MHz channel bandwidth 215 in OFDMA, wherein [0096] The AP 102-b and the STA 104-b may communicate using distributed RUs to increase frequency diversity and transmit power utilization
Regarding claim 13, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 10.
Yang further discloseswherein the sparse tone plan includes at least one of
twenty-four (24) data tones, [0080] FIG. 4; FIG. 4 shows an example tone mapping configuration 400 usable for distributed RU configurations. The tone mapping configuration 400 illustrates an example of data tone 410 and pilot tone 415 mapping for a distributed RU, Some data tones 410 and pilot tones 415 may be allocated for a first distributed RU. For example, the distributed RU may be an example of an RU26, and may include 24 data tones 410 and 2 pilot tones 415
twenty-eight (28) data tones,
forty-eight (48) data tones,
fifty-two (52),
data tones fifty-six (56) data tones,
ninety-six (96) data tones,
one hundred two (102) data tones, and
one hundred fourteen (114) data tones.
Regarding claim 14, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 10.
Yang further discloses wherein the sparse tone plan includes a particular number of data tones to support at least one of
one (1) megabits per second, 1.5 megabits per second, two (2) megabits per second, three (3) megabits per second, and four (4) megabits per second.
[0035] The configurations of some RUs (for example, the
locations of the allocated data and pilot tones in each RU)
may not efficiently utilize the available transmit power of the
transmitting device. For example, a device may reduce
power when communicating via one or more RUs, such as
based on a power spectral density (PSD) limit for a communication
bandwidth including the one or more RUs. In
some implementations, a channel bandwidth may have a
transmit power constraint (such as a regulatory constraint or
a capability constraint) for communications in terms of PSD
(for example, in a PSD-limited domain). For example, there
may be a PSD limit of 11 decibel-milliwatts (dBm) of each
megahertz (MHz) for a specific bandwidth, which may result
in a total PSD limit of 14 dBm for an RU (for example, a
small RU, such as an RU that includes 26 tones). Communications over some RUs may therefore be reduced in transmit power to remain within the PSD limit. Additionally or alternatively, a channel bandwidth may be subject to constraints in available frequency ranges, and improved techniques are generally desired
Regarding claim 15, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 10.
Yang further discloses wherein the sparse tone plan is one of an offset sparse tone plan and a non-uniform sparse tone plan. (fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated , as discuss in table 2 and table 4 and [0070] A channel bandwidth spanning RU configured using one or more of shifted tone sets , [0074]the distributed RU may be based on other factors. For example, a type of data or format of the data to be transmitted in the distributed RU may determine the allocation of tones or the data tone mapping for the distributed RU . Uncompressed long training fields (LTFs) such as 4x LTFs may be used to transmit data in each pilot tone and in each data tone of the sets of data tones.
Regarding claim 16, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses A method of transmitting a frame in a communications system, the method comprising: assigning a first user with first resource unit locations in the frame that are rotated in frequency; and assigning a second user with second resource unit locations in the frame that are rotated in frequency such that at least one of the first resource unit locations and at least one of the second resource unit locations are in a same subcarrier range. ( fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed
RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated ,as discuss in table 2 and table 4
Regarding claim 17, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 16.
Yang further discloses wherein assigning the first user with the first resource unit locations in the frame includes assigning the first resource unit locations in one of a full span, a partial span and a mixed span, wherein the full span is a span where a total available bandwidth is visited by a resource unit associated with the first resource unit locations, wherein the partial span is a span where less than the total available bandwidth is visited by the resource unit, and the mixed span is a span that includes at least one full span and at least one partial span(fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed
RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated , as discuss in table 2 and table 4 and [0070] A channel bandwidth spanning RU configured using one or more of shifted tone sets 220
Regarding claim 18, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses A wireless device comprising: a wireless transceiver to receive and transmit frames; and a controller operably coupled to the wireless transceiver to process the frames, wherein the controller is configured to generate at one frame that includes first resource unit locations in the frame for a first user that are rotated in frequency and second resource unit locations in the frame for a second user that are rotated in frequency such that at least one of the first resource unit locations and at least one of the second resource unit locations are in a same subcarrier range( fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed
RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated ,as discuss in table 2 and table 4
Regarding claim 19, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 18.
Yang further discloses wherein the controller is configured to assign the first resource unit locations in one of a full span, a partial span and a mixed span, wherein the full span is a span where a total available bandwidth is visited by a resource unit associated with the first resource unit locations, wherein the partial span is a span where less than the total available bandwidth is visited by the resource unit, and the mixed span is a span that includes at least one full span and at least one partial span(fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed
RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated , as discuss in table 2 and table 4 and [0070] A channel bandwidth spanning RU configured using one or more of shifted tone sets 220
Regarding claim 20, Yang et al. US 2021/0143955 Al discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Yang further discloses wherein the controller is configured to assign the first resource unit locations such that at least one frequency range is hopped by the first resource unit locations( fig. 6 and [0094]-[0099] At 605, the AP 102-b may determine a distributed
RU that includes a set of tones distributed across a channel bandwidth, the set of tones may include a subset of data tones and a subset of pilot tones ,the AP 102-b may transmit an indication of the distributed RU to the STA104-4 ,and additionally allocate other RUs distributed across the channel bandwidth to the STA 104-b or other STAs 104 , the STAs may receive information on the downlink such that the STA 104-b may transmit information on the uplink , The channel bandwidth configuration may support transmission of data tones and pilot tones distributed across the channel bandwidth for a quantity of distributed RU, where in a resource unit is rotated ,as discuss in table 2 and table 4
Conclusion
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478