DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,031,659. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims include all of the elements (annular cartridge, protrusion, head, plug, annular collar and cellular foam) recited in the application claims sufficiently to establish a clear case of anticipation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent No. 3376898 to Hugley (Hugley) in view of United States Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0038391 to Kloft et al. (Kloft).
Kloft discloses a stabilizer/pulsation dampener device (Kloft, abstract, title), an analogous field of endeavor to the pressure dampener device of Hugley.
With regard to claim 1, Hugley discloses a stabilizer cartridge (column 1, lines 22-26), comprising:
an annular cartridge of deformable material (10, column 2, lines 41-44 “a flexible membrane in the form of an elongate flexible tube formed of natural or synthetic rubber or any suitable or desirable elastomer”) into which a protrusion (26, fig. 3, column 4, lines 1-3) from a head (25, figs. 1 and 3, column 4, lines 1-3) is inserted at a first end thereof (shown in figs. 1, 3, 6);
a plug (31, fig. 1, column 4, lines 10-13) inserted into the annular cartridge at a second end thereof (shown in fig. 1), wherein the protrusion, the plug, and an annular collar (32, fig. 1) seal an interior volume of the annular cartridge (shown in figs. 1 and 3, disclosed at column 3, line 66 to column 4, line 7 and column 4, lines 10-13); and
a cellular foam filling the interior volume of the annular cartridge (not disclosed).
Kloft discloses a stabilizer/pulsation dampener device (10) comprising a head (22, fig. 1), a shell (12, ) sealed by the head (when 26 is inserted into opening 22 in the head as shown in fig. 2), and a cellular foam (38) included within the interior volume of the shell of deformable material (see fig. 3)
The cellular foam of Kloft allows an operational dampening stiffness gradient to be controlled as desired and also provides temperature and pressure stability during use. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the stabilizer cartridge of Hugley with a cellular foam in the interior of the flexible shell in order to provide a cartridge with a tunable operational dampening stiffness gradient that also provides temperature and pressure stability and provide a more versatile and useful device.
With regard to claim 7, Hugley in view of Kloft discloses the stabilizer cartridge of Claim 1 as set forth above, and further discloses wherein the deformable material is a multi-ply material (11/12/13, column 1, line 71 to column 2, line 2).
Conclusion
/DAVID R DEAL/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3753