DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/09/2025 has been entered. Claims 18-25 and 27-37 remain pending in the application.
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 27 lines 2-4 recite the limitation “a roller bearing of the second bearing arrangement via which the elliptical disk deforms the external gear wheel to produce the partial engagement”. It is unclear how the second bearing arrangement is situated axially outside the partial engagement on the drive shaft, as required by claim 1, but also aligned with and causing the partial engagement, as shown in Fig. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-20, 27, 29-30, 32-34 and 36-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ohm (US 4044274 A).
Regarding claim 18, Ohm discloses a strain wave gear (see Fig. 1) comprising: a drive shaft (4) mounted in a housing (30); and an output shaft (8); a first bearing arrangement (see annotated Fig. 1 below; A) supporting the drive shaft but not the output shaft (see annotated Fig. 1 below, wherein A supports drive shaft 4 but not output shaft 8); a second bearing arrangement (see annotated Fig. 1 below; B) supporting the output shaft on the drive shaft (see annotated Fig. 1 below, wherein B supports output shaft 8 on drive shaft 4); a flexible external gear wheel (7) connected to the drive shaft (via 5, 6) and a rigid internal gear wheel (10) connected to the output shaft (via 7); and a wave generator (5) that engages the flexible external gear wheel from a radially inward direction of the flexible external gear wheel (see Fig. 1, wherein wave generator 5 engages the flexibly external gear 7 from a radially inward direction), to establish a partial engagement of the flexible external gear wheel with the rigid internal gear wheel over a circumference of the flexible external gear wheel and to move the partial engagement in a circumferential direction (see Fig. 2); wherein the output shaft is supported coaxially by the drive shaft using the second bearing arrangement (see annotated Fig. 1 below, wherein output shaft 8 is supported coaxially by the drive shaft 4 using the second bearing arrangement B), and wherein the second bearing arrangement is situated axially outside the partial engagement on the drive shaft (see annotated Fig. 1 below, wherein B is situated axially outside the partial engagement on 4).
Regarding claim 19, Ohm discloses the drive shaft (4) extends axially from a drive side of the strain wave gear (right side in the figure), the drive side is positioned axially next to the partial engagement on a first side (right side in the figure), to an output side of the strain wave gear (left side in the figure), the output side is positioned axially next to the partial engagement on a second side facing away from the first side (left side in the figure), and the output shaft (8) is supported on the drive shaft (8) using the second bearing arrangement (B) on the output side (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Ohm discloses the output shaft (8) is supported on the drive shaft (4) using the second bearing arrangement (B) designed as a roller bearing (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 27, Ohm discloses the wave generator (5) comprises an elliptical disk (see Fig. 2) arranged on the drive shaft (4) and a roller bearing (6) of the second bearing arrangement via which the elliptical disk deforms the external gear wheel to produce the partial engagement when rotating about a common axis of rotation of the drive shaft and the output shaft (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 29, Ohm discloses the first bearing arrangement (A) is situated in the housing (30) in which the drive shaft (4) is mounted (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 30, Ohm discloses the output shaft (8) is free from the first bearing arrangement (A) in the housing (30).
Regarding claim 32, Ohm discloses a rotor (3) of an electric motor is arranged on the drive shaft (4), and a stator (1) of the electric motor is arranged in the housing (30).
Regarding claim 33, Ohm discloses the drive shaft (4) is at least substantially cylindrical or stepped cylindrical (see Fig. 1), and the output shaft (8) is at least substantially hollow cylindrical with a connected flange (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 34, Ohm discloses an actuator comprising: a strain wave gear (see Fig. 1) including: a drive shaft (4) mounted in a housing (30); and an output shaft (8); a first bearing arrangement (see annotated Fig. 1 below; A) supporting the drive shaft but not the output shaft (see annotated Fig. 1 below, wherein A supports drive shaft 4 but not output shaft 8); a second bearing arrangement (see annotated Fig. 1 below; B) supporting the output shaft on the drive shaft (see annotated Fig. 1 below, wherein B supports output shaft 8 on drive shaft 4); a flexible external gear wheel (7) connected to the drive shaft (via 5, 6) and a rigid internal gear wheel (10) connected to the output shaft (via 7); and a wave generator (5) that engages the flexible external gear wheel from a radially inward direction of the flexible external gear wheel (see Fig. 1, wherein wave generator 5 engages the flexibly external gear 7 from a radially inward direction), to establish a partial engagement of the flexible external gear wheel with the rigid internal gear wheel over a circumference of the flexible external gear wheel and to move the partial engagement in a circumferential direction (see Fig. 2); wherein the output shaft is supported coaxially by the drive shaft using the second bearing arrangement (see annotated Fig. 1 below, wherein output shaft 8 is supported coaxially by the drive shaft 4 using the second bearing arrangement B), and wherein the second bearing arrangement is situated axially outside the partial engagement on the drive shaft (see annotated Fig. 1 below, wherein B is situated axially outside the partial engagement on 4).
Regarding claim 36, Ohm discloses the drive shaft (4) extends axially from a drive side of the strain wave gear (right side in the figure), the drive side is positioned axially next to the partial engagement on a first side (right side in the figure), to an output side of the strain wave gear (left side in the figure), the output side is positioned axially next to the partial engagement on a second side facing away from the first side (left side in the figure), and the output shaft (8) is supported on the drive shaft (8) using the second bearing arrangement (B) on the output side (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 37, Ohm discloses the output shaft (8) is supported on the drive shaft (4) using the second bearing arrangement (B) designed as a roller bearing (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohm (US 4044274 A) in view of NTN.
Regarding claim 21, Ohm fails to disclose the second bearing arrangement has at least two rows. However, NTN teaches the second bearing arrangement has at least two rows (see page 2, figure). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Ohm with the second bearing arrangement having at least two rows, as taught by NTN, to provide a fixed and a floating bearing so that one bearing that prevents axial movement of the shaft in relation to the housing and to provide another bearing which allows axial movement of the shaft to compensate for thermal expansion and manufacturing tolerances (see page 2, fixed/floating bearing arrangement).
Regarding claim 22, Ohm fails to disclose the second bearing arrangement has an X-arrangement. However, NTN teaches the bearing arrangement has an X-arrangement (see page 4, x-arrangement). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Ohm with an x-arrangement of the bearing, as taught by NTN, to accommodate partial axial loads and heavy radial loads while allowing for greater tolerance of mounting errors or shaft deflection.
Regarding claim 23, Ohm fails to disclose the second bearing arrangement has an O-arrangement. However, NTN teaches the bearing arrangement has an O-arrangement (see page 3, o-arrangement). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Ohm with an o-arrangement of the bearing, as taught by NTN, to provide high rigidity and stability by preloading the bearings, while also being particularly useful when the bearings need to withstand high loads and maintain accuracy.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of claim 21 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the second bearing arrangement comprises a fixed bearing and a floating bearing (NTN, see page 2, fixed/floating bearing arrangement). Ohm in view of NTN fail to disclose the fixed bearing is arranged on a side of the floating bearing axially facing away from the partial engagement. However, given the finite number of solutions, i.e., the fixed bearing arranged on the side of the floating bearing axially facing away from the partial arrangement, or the fixed bearing arranged on the side of the floating bearing axially facing toward the partial arrangement, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try both arrangements.
Regarding claim 25, Ohm fails to disclose bearing inner rings or bearing outer rings of the at least two rows of the second bearing arrangement are elastically clamped against one another in an axial direction. However, NTN teaches bearing inner rings or bearing outer rings of the at least two rows of the second bearing arrangement are elastically clamped against one another in an axial direction (NTN, page 2, definition of fixed/floating bearing arrangement, wherein axial displacement occurs in the housing; in other words, the bearings are clamped against each other and flexible within the housing which is an inherent property of fixed/floating bearing pair). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Ohm with elastically clamped bearings, as taught by NTN, to allow for the fixed/floating bearing arrangement while also allowing for axial displacement within the housing (see NTN, page 2).
Claim 28 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohm (US 4044274 A) in view of Poletuchij (SU 882735 A1).
Regarding claim 28, Ohm fails to disclose the roller bearing has a flexible outer ring and an inner ring is formed by the elliptical disk, or the roller bearing has a flexible inner ring and a flexible outer ring. However, Poletuchij teaches the roller bearing (see figure; bearing of 9) has a flexible outer ring and an inner ring is formed by the elliptical disk, or the roller bearing has a flexible inner ring and a flexible outer ring (see figure, wherein 9 is shown to have an inner ring and an outer ring. The inner ring and outer ring of a wave generator are inherently flexible, otherwise the shape of the elliptical disk would not allow for the partial engagement of the external gear and the internal gear). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Ohm with a roller bearing having a flexible inner ring and a flexible outer ring, as taught by Poletuchij, to fix the position of the roller bearing without allowing any axial deviation of the roller bearing.
Regarding claim 35, Ohm fails to disclose the actuator is part of a robot. However, Poletuchij teaches the actuator is part of a robot (see attached English translation, wherein a manipulator with connected links which make a relative spatial movement is disclosed). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Ohm to be used in a robot, as taught by Poletuchij, to actuate a part of a robot.
Claim 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohm (US 4044274 A) in view of Maurischat (DD 233401 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Ohm fails to disclose the output shaft is sealed against the housing with a seal. However, Maurischat teaches the output shaft (see Fig. 2, 10) is sealed against the housing (13) with a seal (14). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Ohm with the output shaft sealed against the housing, as taught by Maruischat, to prevent dust and/or debris from entering the housing and causing damage to the internal parts of the strain wave gear while also preventing lubricant from leaking from the strain wave gear.
1 - US 4044274 A Fig. 1 Annotated
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections that were necessitated by the amendment of 12/09/2025.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment on 12/08/2025 necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618