DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 06/05/2026 has been entered. Claims 18-25 and 27-37 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 04/30/2026.
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-19, 27-30, 33-34 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (CN 115031006 A).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou discloses a strain wave gear (see Fig. 1) comprising: a drive shaft (21) mounted in a housing (24); and an output shaft (43); a first bearing arrangement (see annotated Fig. 1 below; A) supporting the drive shaft but not the output shaft (see annotated Fig. 1 below, wherein bearing arrangement A supports drive shaft 21 but not the output shaft 43); a second bearing arrangement (44) supporting the output shaft on the drive shaft (see Fig. 1, wherein bearing arrangement 44 supports output shaft 43 on the drive shaft 21; see attached English translation, page 9 paragraph 4, wherein “the centre of the output shaft 43 through the deep groove ball bearing 44 rotating support is installed on the planet bracket 21 power output end”; and see attached English translation, page 11 claim 9, wherein “the centre of the output shaft (43) is rotatably supported and mounted on the power output end of the planetary bracket (21) through a deep groove ball bearing (44)”; a flexible external gear wheel (31) connected to the drive shaft and a rigid internal gear wheel (32) connected to the output shaft; and a wave generator (33, 34) that engages the flexible external gear wheel from a radially inward direction of the flexible external gear wheel (see Fig. 1, wherein wave generator 33, 34 engages flexible gear wheel 31 from a radially inward direction), to establish a partial engagement of the flexible external gear wheel with the rigid internal gear wheel over a circumference of the flexible external gear wheel and to move the partial engagement in a circumferential direction (inherent operation of a strain wave gear); wherein the output shaft is supported coaxially by the drive shaft using the second bearing arrangement (see Fig. 1, wherein output shaft 43 is supported coaxially by drive shaft 21 using bearing 44), and wherein the second bearing arrangement is situated axially outside the partial engagement on the drive shaft (see Fig. 1, wherein bearing 44 is situated axially outside of the partial engagement of 31 and 32 on the drive shaft 21).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou discloses the drive shaft (21) extends axially from a drive side of the strain wave gear (left side in the figure), the drive side is positioned axially next to the partial engagement on a first side (left side in the figure), to an output side of the strain wave gear (right side in the figure), the output side is positioned axially next to the partial engagement on a second side (right side in the figure) facing away from the first side, and the output shaft is supported on the drive shaft using the second bearing arrangement on the output side (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 27, Zhou discloses the wave generator (33, 34) comprises an elliptical disk (33) arranged on the drive shaft (21) and a roller bearing (34) that deforms the external gear wheel (31) in response to rotation of the elliptical disk about a common axis of rotation of the drive shaft and the output shaft to produce the partial engagement (inherent operation of a strain wave gear).
Regarding claim 28, Zhou discloses the roller bearing (34) has a flexible outer ring and an inner ring is formed by the elliptical disk, or the roller bearing has a flexible inner ring and a flexible outer ring (see attached English translation, wherein 34 is disclosed as a flexible bearing).
Regarding claim 29, Zhou discloses the first bearing arrangement (see annotated Fig. 1 below; A) is situated in the housing (24) in which the drive shaft (21) is mounted (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 30, Zhou discloses the output shaft (43) is free from any bearing arrangement in the housing (24).
Regarding claim 33, Zhou discloses the drive shaft (21) is at least substantially cylindrical or stepped cylindrical (see Fig. 1), and the output shaft (34) is at least substantially hollow cylindrical with a connected flange (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 34, Zhou discloses an actuator (see Fig. 1; 11) comprising: a strain wave gear (see Fig. 1; 3) comprising: a drive shaft (21) mounted in a housing (24); and an output shaft (43); a first bearing arrangement (see annotated Fig. 1 below; A) supporting the drive shaft but not the output shaft (see annotated Fig. 1 below, wherein bearing arrangement A supports drive shaft 21 but not the output shaft 43); a second bearing arrangement (44) supporting the output shaft on the drive shaft (see Fig. 1, wherein bearing arrangement 44 supports output shaft 43 on the drive shaft 21; see attached English translation, page 9 paragraph 4, wherein “the centre of the output shaft 43 through the deep groove ball bearing 44 rotating support is installed on the planet bracket 21 power output end”; and see attached English translation, page 11 claim 9, wherein “the centre of the output shaft (43) is rotatably supported and mounted on the power output end of the planetary bracket (21) through a deep groove ball bearing (44)”; a flexible external gear wheel (31) connected to the drive shaft and a rigid internal gear wheel (32) connected to the output shaft; and a wave generator (33, 34) that engages the flexible external gear wheel from a radially inward direction of the flexible external gear wheel (see Fig. 1, wherein wave generator 33, 34 engages flexible gear wheel 31 from a radially inward direction), to establish a partial engagement of the flexible external gear wheel with the rigid internal gear wheel over a circumference of the flexible external gear wheel and to move the partial engagement in a circumferential direction (inherent operation of a strain wave gear); wherein the output shaft is supported coaxially by the drive shaft using the second bearing arrangement (see Fig. 1, wherein output shaft 43 is supported coaxially by drive shaft 21 using bearing 44), and wherein the second bearing arrangement is situated axially outside the partial engagement on the drive shaft (see Fig. 1, wherein bearing 44 is situated axially outside of the partial engagement of 31 and 32 on the drive shaft 21).
Regarding claim 36, Zhou discloses the drive shaft (21) extends axially from a drive side of the strain wave gear (left side in the figure), the drive side is positioned axially next to the partial engagement on a first side (left side in the figure), to an output side of the strain wave gear (right side in the figure), the output side is positioned axially next to the partial engagement on a second side (right side in the figure) facing away from the first side, and the output shaft is supported on the drive shaft using the second bearing arrangement on the output side (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 115031006 A).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou fails to disclose the output shaft is supported on the drive shaft using the second bearing arrangement designed as a roller bearing. However, Zhou teaches a roller bearing (see Fig. 1; 42). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify the ball bearing of Zhou with a roller bearing, since it is well known in the art that roller bearings provide a larger surface area to support heavier loads and resist shock.
Regarding claim 37, Zhou fails to disclose the output shaft is supported on the drive shaft using the second bearing arrangement designed as a roller bearing. However, Zhou teaches a roller bearing (see Fig. 1; 42). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify the ball bearing of Zhou with a roller bearing, since it is well known in the art that roller bearings provide a larger surface area to support heavier loads and resist shock.
Claim 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 115031006 A) in view of NTN.
Regarding claim 21, Zhou fails to disclose the second bearing arrangement has at least two rows. However, NTN teaches the second bearing arrangement has at least two rows (see page 2, figure). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Zhou with the second bearing arrangement having at least two rows, as taught by NTN, to provide a fixed and a floating bearing so that one bearing that prevents axial movement of the shaft in relation to the housing and to provide another bearing which allows axial movement of the shaft to compensate for thermal expansion and manufacturing tolerances (see page 2, fixed/floating bearing arrangement).
Regarding claim 22, Zhou fails to disclose the second bearing arrangement has an X-arrangement. However, NTN teaches the bearing arrangement has an X-arrangement (see page 4, x-arrangement). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Zhou with an x-arrangement of the bearing, as taught by NTN, to accommodate partial axial loads and heavy radial loads while allowing for greater tolerance of mounting errors or shaft deflection.
Regarding claim 23, Zhou fails to disclose the second bearing arrangement has an O-arrangement. However, NTN teaches the bearing arrangement has an O-arrangement (see page 3, o-arrangement). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Zhou with an o-arrangement of the bearing, as taught by NTN, to provide high rigidity and stability by preloading the bearings, while also being particularly useful when the bearings need to withstand high loads and maintain accuracy.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of claim 21 elsewhere above would necessarily result in the following limitations: the second bearing arrangement comprises a fixed bearing and a floating bearing (NTN, see page 2, fixed/floating bearing arrangement). Zhou in view of NTN fail to disclose the fixed bearing is arranged on a side of the floating bearing axially facing away from the partial engagement. However, given the finite number of solutions, i.e., the fixed bearing arranged on the side of the floating bearing axially facing away from the partial arrangement, or the fixed bearing arranged on the side of the floating bearing axially facing toward the partial arrangement, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try both arrangements.
Regarding claim 25, Zhou fails to disclose bearing inner rings or bearing outer rings of the at least two rows of the second bearing arrangement are elastically clamped against one another in an axial direction. However, NTN teaches bearing inner rings or bearing outer rings of the at least two rows of the second bearing arrangement are elastically clamped against one another in an axial direction (NTN, page 2, definition of fixed/floating bearing arrangement, wherein axial displacement occurs in the housing; in other words, the bearings are clamped against each other and flexible within the housing which is an inherent property of fixed/floating bearing pair). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Zhou with elastically clamped bearings, as taught by NTN, to allow for the fixed/floating bearing arrangement while also allowing for axial displacement within the housing (see NTN, page 2).
Claim 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 115031006 A) in view of Maurischat (DD 233401 A1).
Regarding claim 31, Zhou fails to disclose the output shaft is sealed against the housing with a seal. However, Maurischat teaches the output shaft (see Fig. 2, 10) is sealed against the housing (13) with a seal (14). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Zhou with the output shaft sealed against the housing, as taught by Maurischat, to prevent dust and/or debris from entering the housing and causing damage to the internal parts of the strain wave gear while also preventing lubricant from leaking from the strain wave gear.
Claim 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 115031006 A) in view of Ohm (US 4044274 A).
Regarding claim 32, Zhou discloses a rotor of an electric motor (11) is arranged on the drive shaft (21). Zhou fails to disclose a stator of the electric motor is arranged in the housing. However, Ohm teaches a stator (1) of the electric motor is arranged in the housing (30). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Zhou with a stator of the electric motor arranged in the housing, as taught by Ohm, to provide a surface on which the motor can be fixed to provide input to the strain wave gear, and to provide protection for the motor and the internal components of the strain wave gear.
Claim 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 115031006 A) in view of Poletuchij (SU 882735 A1).
Regarding claim 35, Zhou fails to disclose the actuator is part of a robot. However, Poletuchij teaches the actuator is part of a robot (see attached English translation, wherein a manipulator with connected links which make a relative spatial movement is disclosed). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify Zhou to be used in a robot, as taught by Poletuchij, to actuate a part of a robot.
1 - Zhou (CN 115031006 A) Fig. 1 Annotated
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections that were necessitated by the amendment of 12/09/2025.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment on 12/09/2025 necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618