DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference numeral 145 is disclosed as being a spring in paragraphs [0020] and [0024], but is 150 in paragraph [0021] and in Fig. 1.
“Pivot 410” [0029] should be --Pivot 430-- to agree with the rest of the disclosure as reference numeral 410 is disclosed elsewhere as the brace.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-9, “a rail comprising” (line 5) is unclear whether this is the same as the positively recited “a rail comprising” in line 3. For the purpose of examination, the rails are being interpreted as being different parts.
Claims 2-9 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, is it unclear which rail, “the rail” (line 3) is referring back to from claim 1, from which it is dependent.
Regarding claim 5, is it unclear which rail, “the rail” (lines 1 and 2) are referring back to from claim 1, from which it is dependent.
Regarding claim 6, is it unclear which rail, “the rail” (line 2) is referring back to from claim 1, from which it is dependent.
Regarding claim 7, is it unclear which rail, “the rail” (line 2) is referring back to from claim 1, from which it is dependent.
Regarding claims 10-20, “a rail comprising” (line 5) is unclear whether this is the same as the positively recited “a rail comprising” in line 3. For the purpose of examination, the rails are being interpreted as being different parts.
Claims 11-20 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, is it unclear which rail, “the rail” (line 3) is referring back to from claim 10, from which it is dependent.
Regarding claim 14, is it unclear which rail, “the rail” (line 1) is referring back to from claim 10, from which it is dependent.
Regarding claim 15, is it unclear which rail, “the rail” (line 2) is referring back to from claim 10, from which it is dependent.
Regarding claim 16, is it unclear which rail, “the rail” (line 2) is referring back to from claim 10, from which it is dependent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cook et al. (WO2016205244) in view of Hironori et al. (JP2020115839).
Regarding claim 1, Cook et al. (hereinafter Cook) teaches a rigidity measuring device comprising: an arm 121 comprising: a rail (portion connecting the arm 121 to reference numeral 110); and a base (the outer body of the load cell) connected to a rail (the portion connecting the reference numerals 130 and 141 to the beam perpendicular to the arm in Fig. 1C) comprising: a load cell 141 attached to the base (Fig. 1C) [0042].
Cook remains silent as to a rail comprising: a limit switch disposed along the length of the rail. Cook teaches that the support may extend from a tractor or the like and engage with stems while the tractor moves along a row of crops measuring information [0038].
Hironori et al. (hereinafter Hironori) teaches a crop harvester with a stem position detection part. The stem position detection part comprises a limit switch 224 disposed long the length of a rail 221 (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the stem position detection part of Hironori on the tractor of Cook, as Cook aims to collect data and quantify lodging resistance and step position detection are a well-known method of counting stalks.
Regarding claim 10, Cook teaches an arm 121 comprising: a rail (portion connecting the arm 121 to reference numeral 110); and a base (the outer body of the load cell) connected to a rail (the portion connecting the reference numerals 130 and 141 to the beam perpendicular to the arm in Fig. 1C) comprising: a load cell 141 attached to the base (Fig. 1C) [0042]; a processor electronically connected to the load cell [0048].
Cook remains silent as to a rail comprising: a limit switch disposed along the length of the rail. Cook teaches that the support may extend from a tractor or the like and engage with stems while the tractor moves along a row of crops measuring information [0038].
Hironori teaches a crop harvester with a stem position detection part. The stem position detection part comprises a limit switch 224 disposed long the length of a rail 221 (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the stem position detection part of Hironori on the tractor of Cook, as Cook aims to collect data and quantify lodging resistance and step position detection are a well-known method of counting stalks.
Regarding claim 20, Cook as modified by Hironori teaches the rigidity measuring system of claim 10, wherein the processor displays a plant rigidity result on a display screen (Cook [0046]).
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/A.V.D/Examiner, Art Unit 2852