DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1-3, 5-14, 16-22 have been examined in this application. This communication is a non-final rejection in response to the “Amendments to the claims” and “Remarks” filed 10/24/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-14, 16-22 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over US Patent Application Number 2015/0053143 by Gratza in view of US Patent Application Number 2008/0004371 by Axelrod and US Patent Number 4,935,019 to Papp.
Regarding claim 1, Gratza discloses a trackable pet toy (100) comprising a woven fabric (paragraph 44 discloses “Other embodiments may employ other fabrics, such as, but not limited to, material woven from other synthetics, heavy canvas cloth, leather, or the like”), the trackable pet boy having an external surface (surface 102) and an interior volume (opening 116).
Gratza does not disclose at least a portion of the trackable pet toy comprises a radiopaque material configured for detection using x-ray imaging within a digestive system of an animal. However, this limitation is taught by Axelrod. Axelrod discloses animal chew toys comprising a radiopaque polymer, and paragraph 16 discloses “The radiopaque polymer may comprise a polymer that is inherently radiopaque or a polymer that has been made radiopaque by the addition of an additive that provides radiopaque characteristics”. Paragraph 11 suggests that “there has existed a longstanding need to develop and provide an economical process to produce an animal chew toy so that the chew toy can be detected by standard X-ray analysis by trained medical professionals”. It would thus be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Gratza using the teachings from Axelrod in order to allow the chew toy to be detected by x-rays if it was accidentally swallowed.
Gratza and Axelrod do not disclose at least one and less than all of the threads of the thread count comprise the radiopaque material. However, this limitation is taught by Papp. Papp discloses a fabric with a radiopaque marker such as lines 12 and 13, and column 3, lines 16-18 disclose “The radiopaque marker may be applied to the fabric in a distinctive pattern which is readily identified in an X-ray image”. As shown in Figure 1, only the threads at lines 12 and 13 would comprise the radiopaque material, therefore at least one and less than all of the threads of the thread count comprise the radiopaque material. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Gratza and Axelrod using the teachings from Papp in order to give the fabrics of Gratza a distinctive pattern that can be readily identified in an X-ray image if all or part of the toy were swallowed.
Regarding claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Gratza as modified by Axelrod and Papp further teaches the animal being a dog (paragraph 5 of Gratza discloses dogs as a particular type of targeted pet) and at least a portion of the external surface, at least a portion of the interior volume, or both comprises the radiopaque material (incorporating radiopaque fabric as taught by Papp into the toy of Gratza would have to incorporate the material into either the external surface or interior volume of the toy).
Regarding claim 3 (dependent on claim 1), Gratza, Axelrod, and Papp do not explicitly disclose at least a portion of the external surface and the interior volume comprising the radiopaque material. However, since Papp teaches the application of the radiopaque markers onto a fabric, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Gratza, Axelrod, and Papp to incorporate the radiopaque material throughout both the external surface and interior volume of the toy made up of fabric so that it can still be detected by x-ray analysis even if the animal only swallows a piece of the toy.
Regarding claims 5 (dependent on claim 4), 22 (dependent on claim 21), Gratza, Axelrod, and Papp do not disclose 1 in 10 to 1 in 300 threads is the radiopaque material. However, since Papp teaches only some threads of the fabric comprising radiopaque material, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to choose the amount of radiopaque material to make the pattern readily identifiable in an X-ray, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6 (dependent on claim 1), Rodrigues further teaches the woven fabric being impregnated with the radiopaque material, the radiopaque material being water insoluble. Column 3, lines 6-15 discuss the polymeric material being cured to the fabric, and plastisol being one type of material that can be used, which is water insoluble.
Regarding claim 7 (dependent on claim 4), Gratza as modified by Axelrod and Papp further teaches the trackable pet toy is formed in the shape of an animal comprising an ear ,a leg, a nose, and/or a tail (see Figures 1-6 of Gratza), the ear, leg, nose, and/or tail having at least one thread of the radiopaque material (as taught by Axelrod and Papp, see discussion above).
Regarding claims 8 (dependent on claim 1), 9 (dependent on claim 8), 12 (dependent on claim 10), 13 (dependent on claim 12), Gratza discloses a noise emitting component, wherein the noise emitting component comprises one selected from the group consisting of a squeak device, a plastic film, a crinkle paper, and a silent ultrasonic squeaker device. Paragraph 43 discloses “This may include pulling out the stuffing without destroying the toy, and enjoying a hidden treat found inside the toy. Such a treat may be…a noisemaker ‘squeaky toy’”.
Gratza, Axelrod, and Papp do not disclose at least a portion of the noise emitting component comprises the radiopaque material. However, paragraph 11 of Axelrod suggests that “there has existed a longstanding need to develop and provide an economical process to produce an animal chew toy so that the chew toy can be detected by standard X-ray analysis by trained medical professionals”. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Gratza and Axelrod to incorporate the radiopaque material throughout the different components of the toy so that it can still be detected by x-ray analysis even if the animal only swallows a piece of the toy.
Regarding claim 10, Gratza discloses a pet toy (100) comprising an external surface (surface 102) and an interior volume (opening 116).
Gratza does not disclose only a portion of the external surface, only a portion of the interior volume, or both comprises a radiopaque material configured for detection using x-ray imaging within a digestive system of an animal. However, this limitation is taught by Axelrod and Papp. Axelrod discloses animal chew toys comprising a radiopaque polymer, and paragraph 16 discloses “The radiopaque polymer may comprise a polymer that is inherently radiopaque or a polymer that has been made radiopaque by the addition of an additive that provides radiopaque characteristics”. Paragraph 11 suggests that “there has existed a longstanding need to develop and provide an economical process to produce an animal chew toy so that the chew toy can be detected by standard X-ray analysis by trained medical professionals”. Furthermore, Happ teaches a fabric 11 with only a portion of the fabric at lines 12 and 13 comprising a radiopaque material. It would thus be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Gratza using the teachings from Axelrod in order to give the fabric of the toy a distinctive pattern that can be readily identified in an X-ray image if all or part of the toy were swallowed.
Regarding claim 11 (dependent on claim 10), Gratza discloses at least a portion of the external surface and/or the interior volume comprises a woven fabric. Paragraph 44 discloses “Other embodiments may employ other fabrics, such as, but not limited to, material woven from other synthetics, heavy canvas cloth, leather, or the like”.
Axelrod and Papp further teaches only a portion of the external surface, only a portion of the interior volume, or both comprise a radiopaque material configured for detection using medical imaging within a digestive system of an animal. Axelrod provides a teaching to incorporate radiopaque material into a pet chew toy to make the pet toy detectable by x-ray, and Papp discloses a fabric with a radiopaque marker such as lines 12 and 13, and column 3, lines 16-18 disclose “The radiopaque marker may be applied to the fabric in a distinctive pattern which is readily identified in an X-ray image”. As shown in Figure 1, only the threads at lines 12 and 13 would comprise the radiopaque material, therefore at least one and less than all of the threads of the thread count comprise the radiopaque material.
Furthermore, column 3, lines 6-15 of Papp discuss plastisol being one type of material that can be used, which is water insoluble.
Regarding claim 14 (dependent on claim 13), Gratza discloses the noise emitting component being disposed in the interior volume. Paragraph 43 discloses “This may include pulling out the stuffing without destroying the toy, and enjoying a hidden treat found inside the toy. Such a treat may be…a noisemaker ‘squeaky toy’”.
Regarding claim 16, Gratza discloses a pet toy (100) having an external surface (surface 102) and an interior volume (opening 116) and comprising a noise emitting component (Paragraph 43 discloses “This may include pulling out the stuffing without destroying the toy, and enjoying a hidden treat found inside the toy. Such a treat may be…a noisemaker ‘squeaky toy’”).
Gratza does not disclose the toy being x-ray detectable and comprising at least one radiopaque material. However, this limitation is taught by Axelrod. Axelrod discloses animal chew toys comprising a radiopaque polymer, and paragraph 16 discloses “The radiopaque polymer may comprise a polymer that is inherently radiopaque or a polymer that has been made radiopaque by the addition of an additive that provides radiopaque characteristics”. Paragraph 11 suggests that “there has existed a longstanding need to develop and provide an economical process to produce an animal chew toy so that the chew toy can be detected by standard X-ray analysis by trained medical professionals”. It would thus be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Gratza using the teachings from Axelrod in order to allow the chew toy to be detected by x-rays if it was accidentally swallowed.
Gratza and Axelrod do not disclose the pet toy comprises radiopaque and non-radiopaque portions. However, this limitation is taught by Papp. Papp discloses a fabric with a radiopaque marker such as lines 12 and 13, and column 3, lines 16-18 disclose “The radiopaque marker may be applied to the fabric in a distinctive pattern which is readily identified in an X-ray image”. As shown in Figure 1, only the portion of fabric 11 at lines 12 and 13 would comprise the radiopaque material, therefore the rest of the fabric would comprise non-radiopaque portions. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Gratza and Axelrod using the teachings from Papp in order to give the fabrics of Gratza a distinctive pattern that can be readily identified in an X-ray image if all or part of the toy were swallowed.
Regarding claim 17 (dependent on claim 16), Gratza discloses a noise emitting component, wherein the noise emitting component is selected from the group consisting of a squeak device, a plastic film, a crinkle paper, and a silent ultrasonic squeaker device, wherein the noise emitting component is disposed between the external surface and the interior volume, or within the interior volume (paragraph 43 discloses “This may include pulling out the stuffing without destroying the toy, and enjoying a hidden treat found inside the toy. Such a treat may be…a noisemaker ‘squeaky toy’”).
Gratza and Axelrod do not disclose the noise emitting component comprising a radiopaque material. However, paragraph 11 of Axelrod suggests that “there has existed a longstanding need to develop and provide an economical process to produce an animal chew toy so that the chew toy can be detected by standard X-ray analysis by trained medical professionals”. It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Gratza and Axelrod to incorporate the radiopaque material throughout the different components of the toy so that it can still be detected by x-ray analysis even if the animal only swallows a piece of the toy.
Regarding claim 18 (dependent on claim 16), Gratza discloses the woven fabric has a thread count (woven fabrics inherently have thread counts, as this is just a measure of how many threads are used in the woven fabric).
Papp further teaches at least one and less than all of the threads of the thread count comprise the radiopaque material. Papp discloses a fabric with a radiopaque marker such as lines 12 and 13, and column 3, lines 16-18 disclose “The radiopaque marker may be applied to the fabric in a distinctive pattern which is readily identified in an X-ray image”. As shown in Figure 1, only the threads at lines 12 and 13 would comprise the radiopaque material, therefore at least one and less than all of the threads of the thread count comprise the radiopaque material.
Regarding claim 19 (dependent on claim 18), Gratza disclose the pet toy being formed in the shape of an animal (see the various animal shapes in the Figures).
Gratza, Axelrod, and Papp do not disclose 1 of 10 to 1 of 200 threads of the woven fabric comprising the radiopaque material. However, since Papp teaches only some threads of the fabric comprising radiopaque material, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to choose the amount of radiopaque material to make the pattern readily identifiable in an X-ray, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 20 (dependent on claim 16), Papp does not explicitly disclose the radiopaque material comprises elements of atomic numbers greater than or equal to 29. However, having suggested the use of X-ray detectable materials, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to choose from known types of radiopaque materials including those of atomic numbers greater than or equal to 29, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Regarding claim 21 (dependent on claim 10), Papp further teaches a woven fabric (Papp discusses the use of both woven and non-woven fabrics throughout) having a thread count (woven fabrics inherently have thread counts, as this is just a measure of how many threads are used in the woven fabric), wherein at least one and less than all the threads of the thread count comprise the radiopaque material (as shown in Figure 1, only the threads at lines 12 and 13 would comprise the radiopaque material, therefore at least one and less than all of the threads of the thread count comprise the radiopaque material).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the current grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
MICHAEL H. WANG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/MICHAEL H WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642