DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment After Non-Final Rejection filed 07/22/2026. Claims 2-22 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 4-10, 12-18, 20 and 21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 and 15-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,589,085. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are different definitions or descriptions of the same subject matter varying in breadth. For example, note the following relationship between claim 1 of the instant application and the patented claims.
Application No. 18/766,450
U.S. Patent No. 11,589,085
2. (Currently amended) A method for providing a virtual online linear video channel, comprising:
1. A method for providing a virtual online linear video channel, comprising:
receiving, at a server, a description of the virtual online linear video channel, first data identifying a live video stream, second data identifying a prerecorded video signal, and one or more start times for one or more of the live video stream or the prerecorded video signal;
receiving first user input specifying a description of the virtual online linear video channel via the channel description field, second and third user inputs identifying a live video stream and a prerecorded video signal respectively via the one or more video source fields, and fourth and fifth user inputs identifying start times for the live video stream, and the prerecorded video signal respectively via the one or more time slot fields,
receiving, at the server, a request to play the virtual online linear video channel from a video player; and
responsive to the request of the video player to play the virtual online linear video channel:
receiving, at a server, a request to play the virtual online linear video channel from a video player;
identifying a schedule for the virtual online linear video channel, wherein the schedule is associated with a geographic location, wherein the schedule identifies video content corresponding to the geographic location, and wherein the schedule identifies a plurality of video sources for the video content comprising the live video stream and the prerecorded video signal, and the one or more start times for the one or more of the live video stream or the prerecorded video signals,
identifying a schedule for the virtual online linear video channel, wherein the schedule is associated with a geographic location of a plurality of geographic locations associated with the server, and wherein the schedule identifies a plurality of video sources comprising the live video stream and the prerecorded video signal, and the start times for the live video stream and the prerecorded video signal, and wherein the live video stream and the prerecorded video signal are encrypted using a content encryption key; and
identifying at least one advertisement from a plurality of advertisements, wherein the at least one advertisement corresponds to the plurality of video sources of the schedule of the virtual online linear video channel,
identifying at least one advertisement from a plurality of advertisements, the at least one advertisement corresponds to the plurality of video sources of the schedule of the virtual online linear video channel, and
identifying a playlist manifest file for the video player, the playlist manifest file corresponding to the schedule for the virtual online linear video channel and identifying addresses for a first location of the live video stream, a second location of the prerecorded video signal, and a third location of the at least one advertisement, and
causing the live video stream, the prerecorded video signal and the at least one advertisement to be retrieved by the video player from the first location, the second location and the third location respectively according to the addresses in the playlist manifest file to produce the virtual online linear video channel for presentation to a user of the video player in view of the playlist manifest file.
providing, using the connection, a manifest file to the video player, the manifest file corresponding to the schedule for the virtual online linear video channel and identifying a first location of the live video stream, a second location of the prerecorded video signal, a third location of the at least one advertisement, the live video stream, the prerecorded video signal and the at least one advertisement to be retrieved by the video player to produce the virtual online linear video channel, wherein the virtual online linear video channel is presented to a user of the video player.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to readily recognize that the conflicting claims are different definitions or descriptions of the same subject matter varying in breadth. In this case, the application claims are broader than and inclusive of the patented claims.
Claim 4 of the application corresponds to claim 2 of the patent.
Claim 5 of the application corresponds to claim 3 of the patent.
Claim 6 of the application corresponds to claim 4 of the patent.
Claim 7 of the application corresponds to claim 5 of the patent.
Claim 8 of the application corresponds to claims 1, 6 of the patent.
Claim 9 of the application corresponds to claim 7 of the patent.
Claim 10 of the application corresponds to claim 8 of the patent.
Claim 12 of the application corresponds to claim 9 of the patent.
Claim 13 of the application corresponds to claim 10 of the patent.
Claim 14 of the application corresponds to claim 11 of the patent.
Claim 15 of the application corresponds to claim 12 of the patent.
Claim 16 of the application corresponds to claims 8, 13 of the patent.
Claim 17 of the application corresponds to claim 7 of the patent.
Claim 18 of the application corresponds to claim 15 of the patent.
Claim 20 of the application corresponds to claim 16 of the patent.
Claim 21 of the application corresponds to claim 17 of the patent.
Claims 3, 11 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,589,085 in view of Gu et al. (US 8,234,350), herein Gu.
Consider claim 3, the patented claims clearly teach modifying the playlist manifest file.
However, the patented claims do not explicitly teach modifying the playlist manifest file to include additional content specific for a user of the video player.
In an analogous art, Gu, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches modifying the playlist manifest file to include additional content specific for a user of the video player. (Targeted media files are selected based on a user profile, col. 7 lines 8-25.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the patented claims by modifying the playlist to include additional content specific for a user of the video player, as taught by Gu, for the benefit of providing targeted advertisements.
Claim 11 of the application corresponds to claim 8 of the patent in view of Gu.
Claim 19 of the application corresponds to claim 15 of the patent in view of Gu.
Claim 22 of the application corresponds to claim 1 of the patent in view of Gu col. 6 lines 28-43, col. 7 lines 8-67, col. 10 line 50 to col. 11 line 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 8-12, 16-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riegel et al. (US 2017/0064400), herein Riegel, in view of Chen et al. (US 2014/0282772), herein Chen, in view of Gu et al. (US 8,234,350), herein Gu.
Consider claim 2, Riegel clearly teaches a method for providing a virtual online linear video channel, comprising:
receiving, at the server, a request to play the virtual online linear video channel from a video player; (Fig. 7: Step 762, [0052]) and
responsive to the request of the video player to play the virtual online linear video channel: identifying a schedule for the virtual online linear video channel and wherein the schedule identifies a plurality of video sources for the video content comprising the live video stream and the prerecorded video signal, and the one or more start times for the one or more of the live video stream or the prerecorded video signal, (Figs. 4 and 5: The channel schedule includes both live and prerecorded video sources and start times, [0032]-[0038].)
identifying at least one advertisement from a plurality of advertisements, wherein the at least one advertisement corresponds to the plurality of video sources of the schedule of the virtual online linear video channel, (Targeted advertisements are included in streaming channel 116, [0039].)
identifying a playlist manifest file for the video player, the playlist manifest file corresponding to the schedule for the virtual online linear video channel and identifying addresses for a first location of the live video stream, a second location of the prerecorded video signal, and a third location of the at least one advertisement, and
causing the live video stream, the prerecorded video signal and the at least one advertisement to be retrieved by the video player from the first location, the second location and the third location respectively according to the addresses in the playlist manifest file to produce the virtual online linear video channel for presentation to a user of the video player in view of the playlist manifest file. (Fig. 7: Playback devices receive a manifest 763 which is used to request chunks of the streaming channel 116, [0052]-[0056]. Targeted advertisements are included in streaming channel 116, [0039].)
However, Riegel does not explicitly teach receiving, at a server, a description of the virtual online linear video channel, first data identifying a live video stream, second data identifying a prerecorded video signal, and one or more start times for one or more of the live video stream or the prerecorded video signal.
In an analogous art, Chen, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches receiving, at a server, a description of the virtual online linear video channel, first data identifying a live video stream, second data identifying a prerecorded video signal, and one or more start times for one or more of the live video stream or the prerecorded video signal. (Fig. 7: Playlist application 245 includes an interface for creating a playlist, naming the playlist, selecting live and prerecorded video sources and scheduling the selected video items using start times, [0054], [0055], [0065], [0068], [0072]-[0094], [0117].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Riegel by receiving, at a server, a description of the virtual online linear video channel, first data identifying a live video stream, second data identifying a prerecorded video signal, and one or more start times for one or more of the live video stream or the prerecorded video signal, as taught by Chen, to achieve the predictable result of creating a customized video channel.
However, Riegel combined with Chen does not explicitly teach the schedule is associated with a geographic location, wherein the schedule identifies video content corresponding to the geographic location.
In an analogous art, Gu, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches the schedule is associated with a geographic location, wherein the schedule identifies video content corresponding to the geographic location. (Targeted advertisements are selected and inserted into the manifest based on a geographical location, col. 7 lines 8-67, col. 10 line 50 to col. 11 line 24.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Riegel combined with Chen by the schedule is associated with a geographic location, wherein the schedule identifies video content corresponding to the geographic location, as taught by Gu, for the benefit of providing local advertisement or news content.
Consider claim 3, Riegel combined with Chen and Gu clearly teaches modifying the playlist manifest file to include additional content specific for a user of the video player. (Targeted media files are selected based on a user profile, col. 7 lines 8-25 Gu.)
Consider claim 4, Riegel combined with Chen and Gu clearly teaches the plurality of video sources comprises advertisement content. (Targeted advertisements are included in streaming channel 116, [0039] Riegel.)
Consider claim 8, Riegel combined with Chen and Gu clearly teaches generating the schedule for the virtual online video channel, wherein the generating comprises: displaying on an interface a list of the plurality of video sources available for inclusion in the schedule; receiving an indication of at least two different video sources and a corresponding time for inclusion in the schedule; (Figs. 4-6: Content from a plurality of sources can be included in the schedule, [0040]-[0043] Riegel) and storing the schedule in a channel scheduler. ([0121] Chen)
Consider claim 9, Riegel combined with Chen and Gu clearly teaches each of the live video stream and the prerecorded video signal of the plurality of video sources is output from a separate encoder. ([0018], [0044] Riegel)
Consider claim 10, Riegel clearly teaches a system for providing a virtual online linear video channel, the system comprising:
a processor; a memory, coupled to the processor, to perform operations (Fig. 7, [0064]) comprising:
receiving, at the server, a request to play the virtual online linear video channel from a video player; (Fig. 7: Step 762, [0052]) and
responsive to the request of the video player to play the virtual online linear video channel: identifying a schedule for the virtual online linear video channel and wherein the schedule identifies a plurality of video sources for the video content comprising the live video stream and the prerecorded video signal, and the one or more start times for the one or more of the live video stream or the prerecorded video signal, (Figs. 4 and 5: The channel schedule includes both live and prerecorded video sources and start times, [0032]-[0038].)
identifying at least one advertisement from a plurality of advertisements, wherein the at least one advertisement corresponds to the plurality of video sources of the schedule of the virtual online linear video channel, (Targeted advertisements are included in streaming channel 116, [0039].)
identifying a playlist manifest file for the video player, the playlist manifest file corresponding to the schedule for the virtual online linear video channel and identifying addresses for a first location of the live video stream, a second location of the prerecorded video signal, and a third location of the at least one advertisement, and
causing the live video stream, the prerecorded video signal and the at least one advertisement to be retrieved by the video player from the first location, the second location and the third location respectively according to the addresses in the playlist manifest file to produce the virtual online linear video channel for presentation to a user of the video player in view of the playlist manifest file. (Fig. 7: Playback devices receive a manifest 763 which is used to request chunks of the streaming channel 116, [0052]-[0056]. Targeted advertisements are included in streaming channel 116, [0039].)
However, Riegel does not explicitly teach receiving, at a server, a description of the virtual online linear video channel, first data identifying a live video stream, second data identifying a prerecorded video signal, and one or more start times for one or more of the live video stream or the prerecorded video signal.
In an analogous art, Chen, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches receiving, at a server, a description of the virtual online linear video channel, first data identifying a live video stream, second data identifying a prerecorded video signal, and one or more start times for one or more of the live video stream or the prerecorded video signal. (Fig. 7: Playlist application 245 includes an interface for creating a playlist, naming the playlist, selecting live and prerecorded video sources and scheduling the selected video items using start times, [0054], [0055], [0065], [0068], [0072]-[0094], [0117].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Riegel by receiving, at a server, a description of the virtual online linear video channel, first data identifying a live video stream, second data identifying a prerecorded video signal, and one or more start times for one or more of the live video stream or the prerecorded video signal, as taught by Chen, to achieve the predictable result of creating a customized video channel.
However, Riegel combined with Chen does not explicitly teach the schedule is associated with a geographic location, wherein the schedule identifies video content corresponding to the geographic location.
In an analogous art, Gu, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches the schedule is associated with a geographic location, wherein the schedule identifies video content corresponding to the geographic location. (Targeted advertisements are selected and inserted into the manifest based on a geographical location, col. 7 lines 8-67, col. 10 line 50 to col. 11 line 24.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Riegel combined with Chen by the schedule is associated with a geographic location, wherein the schedule identifies video content corresponding to the geographic location, as taught by Gu, for the benefit of providing local advertisement or news content.
Consider claim 11, Riegel combined with Chen and Gu clearly teaches modifying the playlist manifest file to include additional content specific for a user of the video player. (Targeted media files are selected based on a user profile, col. 7 lines 8-25 Gu.)
Consider claim 12, Riegel combined with Chen and Gu clearly teaches the plurality of video sources comprises advertisement content. (Targeted advertisements are included in streaming channel 116, [0039] Riegel.)
Consider claim 16, Riegel combined with Chen and Gu clearly teaches generating the schedule for the virtual online video channel, wherein the generating comprises: displaying on an interface a list of the plurality of video sources available for inclusion in the schedule; receiving an indication of at least two different video sources and a corresponding time for inclusion in the schedule; (Figs. 4-6: Content from a plurality of sources can be included in the schedule, [0040]-[0043] Riegel) and storing the schedule in a channel scheduler. ([0121] Chen)
Consider claim 17, Riegel combined with Chen and Gu clearly teaches each of the live video stream and the prerecorded video signal of the plurality of video sources is output from a separate encoder. ([0018], [0044] Riegel)
Consider claim 18, Riegel clearly teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium encoding instructions that, in response to execution by a computing device, cause the computing device to perform operations (Fig. 7, [0064]) comprising:
receiving, at the server, a request to play the virtual online linear video channel from a video player; (Fig. 7: Step 762, [0052]) and
responsive to the request of the video player to play the virtual online linear video channel: identifying a schedule for the virtual online linear video channel and wherein the schedule identifies a plurality of video sources for the video content comprising the live video stream and the prerecorded video signal, and the one or more start times for the one or more of the live video stream or the prerecorded video signal, (Figs. 4 and 5: The channel schedule includes both live and prerecorded video sources and start times, [0032]-[0038].)
identifying at least one advertisement from a plurality of advertisements, wherein the at least one advertisement corresponds to the plurality of video sources of the schedule of the virtual online linear video channel, (Targeted advertisements are included in streaming channel 116, [0039].)
identifying a playlist manifest file for the video player, the playlist manifest file corresponding to the schedule for the virtual online linear video channel and identifying addresses for a first location of the live video stream, a second location of the prerecorded video signal, and a third location of the at least one advertisement, and
causing the live video stream, the prerecorded video signal and the at least one advertisement to be retrieved by the video player from the first location, the second location and the third location respectively according to the addresses in the playlist manifest file to produce the virtual online linear video channel for presentation to a user of the video player in view of the playlist manifest file. (Fig. 7: Playback devices receive a manifest 763 which is used to request chunks of the streaming channel 116, [0052]-[0056]. Targeted advertisements are included in streaming channel 116, [0039].)
However, Riegel does not explicitly teach receiving, at a server, a description of the virtual online linear video channel, first data identifying a live video stream, second data identifying a prerecorded video signal, and one or more start times for one or more of the live video stream or the prerecorded video signal.
In an analogous art, Chen, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches receiving, at a server, a description of the virtual online linear video channel, first data identifying a live video stream, second data identifying a prerecorded video signal, and one or more start times for one or more of the live video stream or the prerecorded video signal. (Fig. 7: Playlist application 245 includes an interface for creating a playlist, naming the playlist, selecting live and prerecorded video sources and scheduling the selected video items using start times, [0054], [0055], [0065], [0068], [0072]-[0094], [0117].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Riegel by receiving, at a server, a description of the virtual online linear video channel, first data identifying a live video stream, second data identifying a prerecorded video signal, and one or more start times for one or more of the live video stream or the prerecorded video signal, as taught by Chen, to achieve the predictable result of creating a customized video channel.
However, Riegel combined with Chen does not explicitly teach the schedule is associated with a geographic location, wherein the schedule identifies video content corresponding to the geographic location.
In an analogous art, Gu, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches the schedule is associated with a geographic location, wherein the schedule identifies video content corresponding to the geographic location. (Targeted advertisements are selected and inserted into the manifest based on a geographical location, col. 7 lines 8-67, col. 10 line 50 to col. 11 line 24.)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Riegel combined with Chen by the schedule is associated with a geographic location, wherein the schedule identifies video content corresponding to the geographic location, as taught by Gu, for the benefit of providing local advertisement or news content.
Consider claim 19, Riegel combined with Chen and Gu clearly teaches modifying the playlist manifest file to include additional content specific for a user of the video player. (Targeted media files are selected based on a user profile, col. 7 lines 8-25 Gu.)
Consider claim 20, Riegel combined with Chen and Gu clearly teaches the plurality of video sources comprises advertisement content. (Targeted advertisements are included in streaming channel 116, [0039] Riegel.)
Consider claim 22, Riegel combined with Chen and Gu clearly teaches identifying an entry in the playlist manifest file corresponding to an advertisement time slot; obtaining an advertisement from an ad server for playback during the advertisement time slot; storing the advertisement at an address; and storing the address in the entry of the playlist manifest file prior to the video player retrieving the advertisement from the address. (Targeted advertisements are selected and inserted into the manifest based on a geographical location and stored as media files 114, col. 6 lines 28-43, col. 7 lines 8-67, col. 10 line 50 to col. 11 line 24 Gu.)
Claims 5, 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riegel et al. (US 2017/0064400) in view of Chen et al. (US 2014/0282772) in view of Gu et al. (US 8,234,350) in view of Gordon (US 2016/0127260).
Consider claim 5, Riegel combined with Chen and Gu clearly teaches generating the playlist manifest file by a manifest server.
However, Riegel combined with Chen and Gu does not explicitly teach the playlist manifest file is a per-user playlist manifest file corresponding to the schedule for the virtual online linear video channel, wherein the per-user manifest file that is generated based on an initial playlist received from at least one content delivery network and a session identifier generated by the manifest server, wherein the session identifier identifies the connection between the manifest server and the video player.
In an analogous art, Gordon, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches the playlist manifest file is a per-user playlist manifest file corresponding to the schedule for the virtual online linear video channel, wherein the per-user manifest file that is generated based on an initial playlist received from at least one content delivery network and a session identifier generated by the manifest server, wherein the session identifier identifies the connection between the manifest server and the video player. (Figs. 3 and 4: A globally unique session identifier is generated by the manifest file server and inserted into the URLs of the issued manifest file which is based on the source manifest file, [0056]-[0064].)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Riegel combined with Chen and Gu by t the playlist manifest file is a per-user playlist manifest file corresponding to the schedule for the virtual online linear video channel, wherein the per-user manifest file that is generated based on an initial playlist received from at least one content delivery network and a session identifier generated by the manifest server, wherein the session identifier identifies the connection between the manifest server and the video player, as taught by Gordon, for the benefit of creating session specific manifest files.
Consider claim 13, Riegel combined with Chen, Gu and Gordon clearly teaches generating the playlist by a manifest server, wherein the playlist manifest file is a per-user playlist manifest file corresponding to the schedule for the virtual online linear video channel, wherein the per-user manifest file that is generated based on an initial playlist received from at least one content delivery network and a session identifier generated by the manifest server, wherein the session identifier identifies the connection between the manifest server and the video player. (Figs. 3 and 4: A globally unique session identifier is generated by the manifest file server and inserted into the URLs of the issued manifest file which is based on the source manifest file, [0056]-[0064] Gordon.)
Consider claim 21, Riegel combined with Chen, Gu and Gordon clearly teaches generating the playlist by a manifest server, wherein the playlist manifest file is a per-user playlist manifest file corresponding to the schedule for the virtual online linear video channel, wherein the per-user manifest file that is generated based on an initial playlist received from at least one content delivery network and a session identifier generated by the manifest server, wherein the session identifier identifies the connection between the manifest server and the video player. (Figs. 3 and 4: A globally unique session identifier is generated by the manifest file server and inserted into the URLs of the issued manifest file which is based on the source manifest file, [0056]-[0064] Gordon.)
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riegel et al. (US 2017/0064400) in view of Chen et al. (US 2014/0282772) in view of Gu et al. (US 8,234,350) in view of Gordon (US 2016/0127260) in view of Kraiman et al. (US 9,066,138), herein Kraiman.
Consider claim 6, Riegel combined with Chen, Gu and Gordon clearly teaches establish a connection with the video player. (Fig. 7 Riegel)
Riegel further discloses targeting advertisements ([0039]). Gordon discloses inserting a session identifier into the URLs ([0056]-[0064]). However, Riegel combined with Chen, Gu and Gordon does not explicitly teach generating the playlist manifest file further comprises: selecting at least one advertisement from a plurality of advertisements based on the session identifier; and inserting an address of the at least one advertisement in the playlist manifest file.
In an analogous art, Kraiman, which discloses a system for video distribution, clearly teaches generating the playlist manifest file further comprises: selecting at least one advertisement from a plurality of advertisements based on the session identifier; and inserting an address of the at least one advertisement in the playlist manifest file. (col. 4 lines 18-21, col. 4 lines 33-40, col. 5 lines 7-18, col. 5 line 31 to col. 6 line 27)
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Riegel combined with Chen, Gu and Gordon by generating the playlist manifest file further comprises: selecting at least one advertisement from a plurality of advertisements based on the session identifier; and inserting an address of the at least one advertisement in the playlist manifest file, as taught by Kraiman, for the benefit of identifying an individual user for which the advertisements are to be customized.
Consider claim 14, Riegel combined with Chen, Gu, Gordon and Kraiman clearly teaches selecting at least one advertisement from a plurality of advertisements based on the session identifier; and inserting an address of the at least one advertisement in the playlist. (col. 4 lines 18-21, col. 4 lines 33-40, col. 5 lines 7-18, col. 5 line 31 to col. 6 line 27 Kraiman)
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN R SCHNURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425