DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VONDERHAAR (US 2017/0021274 A1) in view of QIU (US 2020/0406142 A1).
1. VONDERHAAR discloses a virtual item processing method executed by an electronic device, the method comprising:
displaying a processing entrance for a virtual item in a virtual scene (virtual firearm displayed in the game scene that serves as an entrance to customization; Figs. 3A–3E; [0140]);
displaying a first processing interface in response to a trigger operation for the processing entrance, the first processing interface comprising at least a processing control associated with a first component of the virtual item (entering a dedicated component-processing interface containing modification/processing controls associated with a selected component/attachment upon selection of the weapon or a component thereof), [0018], [0096]-[0099]; (Figs. 3A-3E);
in response to a trigger operation for the processing control, updating the first component of the virtual item with a second component associated with the trigger operation (triggering a processing control to apply/equip a new component/attachment, thereby updating the virtual weapon with the newly associated component), [0018], [0096]-[0099]; and
in response to an interface jump trigger operation, switching from the first processing interface to the second processing interface different from the first processing interface (jumping/switching between different component-processing screens via in-screen selection or navigation), [0139]-[0150]; (Figs. 3A–3E).
VONDERHAAR does not expressly disclose the interface jump trigger operation being a slide operation; determining a slide direction of the slide operation; selecting, among a plurality of quadrants, a first quadrant in which the slide direction falls into; determining a second processing interface that includes a third component of the virtual item being distributed in a second quadrant that is opposite the first quadrant; and wherein a spatial relationship between the second component and the third component in the virtual item is consistent with the slide direction of the slide operation.
QIU teaches a method for selecting and switching accessories/components of a virtual gun in a virtual environment. An accessory switching control is displayed. In response to a trigger (press), a candidate accessory zone is displayed. The user then performs a drag/swipe operation that starts at the switching control and ends at a selected candidate accessory position. The system selects the target accessory based on the end position of the drag/swipe and switches/equips that component onto the corresponding slot of the virtual gun, thereby changing the component of the virtual item and updating the interface (Fig. 5), [0067]-[0076], [0091]-[0100]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify VONDERHAAR to incorporate the drag/swipe-based component selection and switching of QIU. Doing so would allow a player to change or jump to a different component simply by a directional swipe/drag gesture, thereby creating a more efficient customization UI. Mapping the continuous directional swipe onto discrete directional zones (quadrants) and selecting the component lying in the opposite quadrant is a predictable, routine implementation detail that follows directly from the desire to make the navigation directionally consistent with the physical layout of the components on the virtual item.
3. VONDERHAAR and QIU disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first processing interface further comprises a second component of the virtual item, and the interface jump trigger operation is a trigger operation for the second component; and the switching from the first processing interface to a second processing interface different from the first processing interface comprises: in response to the trigger operation for the second component in the first processing interface, switching from the first processing interface to the second processing interface different from the first processing interface (tapping/selecting another visible component in the current processing screen to directly jump to its dedicated processing interface), VONDERHAAR (Fig. 3A-3E), [0139]-[0150].
4. VONDERHAAR and QIU disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first processing interface further comprises at least one browsing control respectively corresponding to at least one direction, and the interface jump trigger operation is a trigger operation for the browsing control; and the switching from the first processing interface to a second processing interface different from the first processing interface comprises: in response to a trigger operation for a browsing control corresponding to a first direction in the first processing interface, switching from the first processing interface to the second processing interface different from the first processing interface, the first processing interface comprising a second component, a distribution direction of the second component relative to the first component being in an opposite direction of the first direction, and the second component being a component closest to the first component in the opposite direction, QIU (Fig. 5), [0067]-[0076], [0091]-[0100].
5. VONDERHAAR and QIU disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the interface jump trigger operation is a slide operation; and the switching from the first processing interface to a second processing interface different from the first processing interface comprises: in response to the slide operation of which a slide direction of the slide operation is located in a first direction range of the first component in the first processing interface, switching from the first processing interface to the second processing interface different from the first processing interface, a second component being distributed in an opposite range of the first direction range, and a distance between the second component and the first component being proportional to a slide distance of the slide operation, QIU (Fig. 5), [0067]-[0076], [0091]-[0100].
6. VONDERHAAR and QIU disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the interface jump trigger operation is a slide operation; and the switching from the first processing interface to a second processing interface different from the first processing interface comprises: in response to the slide operation of which a slide direction of the slide operation is located in a first direction range of the first component in the first processing interface, switching from the first processing interface to the second processing interface different from the first processing interface, a second component being distributed in a opposite range of the first direction range, and the second component being a component closest to the first component in the opposite range, QIU (Fig. 5), [0067]-[0076], [0091]-[0100].
7. VONDERHAAR and QIU disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first processing interface and the second processing interface are photographed by a virtual camera, and each component of the virtual item is configured with a lens parameter corresponding to the virtual camera; and before the switching from the first processing interface to the second processing interface different from the first processing interface, the method further comprises: obtaining a second lens parameter configured for the second component; adjusting a posture of the virtual camera in the virtual scene based on the second lens parameter, and calling the adjusted virtual camera to photograph the virtual item; and loading the processing control of the second component in a picture obtained through the photographing, to obtain the second processing interface, QIU (Fig. 5), [0056]-[0057], [0067]-[0076], [0091]-[0100].
8. VONDERHAAR and QIU disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein before displaying the first processing interface, the method further comprises: displaying a virtual item viewing interface, the virtual item viewing interface comprising a plurality of components of the virtual item; and in response to a selection operation for the first component in the virtual item viewing interface, displaying the first processing interface (displaying whole-weapon overview and selecting specific component to enter its processing interface), VONDERHAAR (Fig. 3A-3E), [0139]-[0150].
9. VONDERHAAR and QIU disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising: in response to a fourth component of the virtual item satisfying a processing condition, switching from the third processing interface to a fourth processing interface different from the third processing interface, the fourth processing interface comprising the fourth component and a processing control of the fourth component (tapping/selecting another visible component in the current processing screen to directly jump to its dedicated processing interface), VONDERHAAR (Fig. 3A-3E), [0139]-[0150].
10, 12-18. VONDERHAAR and QIU disclose an electronic device, comprising: a memory, configured to store executable instructions; and a processor, configured to: when executing the executable instructions stored in the memory, cause the electronic device to implement a virtual item processing method including: displaying a processing entrance for a virtual item in a virtual scene; displaying a first processing interface in response to a trigger operation for the processing entrance, the first processing interface comprising at least a processing control associated with a first component of the virtual item; in response to a trigger operation for the processing control, updating the first component of the virtual item with a second component associated with the trigger operation; and in response to an interface jump trigger operation being a slide operation, determining a slide direction of the slide operation; selecting, among a plurality of quadrants, a first quadrant in which the slide direction fails into; determining a second processing interface that includes a third component of the virtual item being distributed in a second quadrant that is opposite the first quadrant; and switching from the first processing interface to the second processing interface, wherein a spatial relationship between the second component and the third component in the virtual item is consistent with the slide direction of the slide operation as similarly discussed above.
19-20. VONDERHAAR and QIU disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having computer-executable instructions stored therein, and the computer-executable instructions, when being executed by a processor of an electronic device, causing the electronic device to perform a virtual item processing method including: displaying a processing entrance for a virtual item in a virtual scene; displaying a first processing interface in response to a trigger operation for the processing entrance, the first processing interface comprising at least a processing control associated with a first component of the virtual item; in response to a trigger operation for the processing control, updating the first component of the virtual item with a second component associated with the trigger operation; and in response to an interface jump trigger operation being a slide operation, determining a slide direction of the slide operation; selecting, among a plurality of quadrants, a first quadrant in which the slide direction fails into; determining a second processing interface that includes a third component of the virtual item being distributed in a second quadrant that is opposite the first quadrant; and switching from the first processing interface to the second processing interface, wherein a spatial relationship between the second component and the third component in the virtual item is consistent with the slide direction of the slide operation as similarly discussed above.
Filing of New or Amended Claims
The examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the original disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims. See Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 263, 191 USPQ at 97 (“[T]he PTO has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasons why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims.”). However, when filing an amendment an applicant should show support in the original disclosure for new or amended claims. See MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 (“Applicant should specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure.”). Please see MPEP 2163 (II) 3. (b)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Seng H Lim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715