DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “2” has been used to designate both the tabs, as in fig 4, and the frame component in fig 6. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
In the instant case, the abstract repeats information given in the title.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. US 6,966,353 – Hsu.
Regarding claim 1.
Hsu discloses a securing device (30, fig 2) for honeycomb blinds (Examiner notes that this is an intended use recitation), comprising:
a frame component (including 32 in fig 2) including two tabs (33, fig 2) which symmetrically and resiliently extend from two facing insides of the frame component (See annotated fig 2), each tab including a clamping piece (See annotated fig 2) for clamping a stack of slats (See fig 3) and a connecting piece (See annotated fig 2) formed between a middle of the clamping piece and one of the two facing insides of the frame component (See annotated fig 2), a groove section (channel receiving stacked slats in fig 3) formed between the frame component and the two clamping pieces (See fig 3), when in use, the two tabs are pushed to protrude from the frame component so as to clamp the stack of slats between the two tabs and the frame component (See fig 3), the frame component is adapted to abut against a bottommost slat of the stack of slats (See figs 3 and 4), while the topmost slat of the stack of slats is pressed by the tabs (See figs 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 2.
Hsu discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Hsu further discloses the frame component (including 32 in fig 2) and the tabs (33, fig 2) are integrally formed (See fig 2).
Regarding claim 3.
Hsu discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Hsu further discloses the groove section (channel receiving stacked slats in fig 3) includes a gap (See annotated fig 3) formed between the two clamping pieces of the two tabs (See annotated fig 3), a width of the gap is adapted to be greater than a width of an adhesive portion of each slat of the stack of slats (Examiner notes that this is intended use language, and the device of Hsu meets the limitation as claimed.).
Regarding claim 4.
Hsu discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Hsu further discloses the groove section (channel receiving stacked slats in fig 3) is an I-shaped groove (See fig 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/J.W.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634