DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-9 and 13-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “wherein the hip servo motor s operable” should be corrected to “wherein the hip servo motor is
Claim 3: “a distal connecter portion..” should be corrected to “a distal connector
Claim 6: “the parallel spring 190” should be corrected to “the parallel spring (190)” or the reference numeral should be omitted. See MPEP 608.01(m), “Reference characters corresponding to elements recited in the detailed description and the drawings may be used in conjunction with the recitation of the same element or group of elements in the claims. The reference characters, however, should be enclosed within parentheses so as to avoid confusion with other numbers or characters which may appear in the claims. Generally, the presence or absence of such reference characters does not affect the scope of a claim”.
Claim 13: “about an axis B” should be corrected to “about an axis (B)”or the reference character should be omitted. See MPEP 608.01(m).
Claims 8-9 and 14: “a second rotational direction R” should be corrected to “a second rotational direction (R)” and “a first rotational direction Q,” should be corrected to “a first rotational direction (Q)” or the references characters should be omitted- See MPEP 608.01(m).
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,7-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 114633822 Machine Translation and Original Patent Provided in present OA) in view of Pan (CN 113835429 A Machine Translation and Original Patent Provided in present OA).
Regarding claim 1 Zhou teaches a device, comprising:
a leg member (Figs 1 and 2a) [defining a four-bar linkage configuration] (Fig 2a shows a four bar linkage mechanism) and operatively connected to a hip servo motor 11 (Fig 2a, “The first motor 11 (servo motor) connected to the screw of the ball screw is used to drive the first slider 1 to slide on the first sliding track 9 .” pg 5 para 3) and a knee servo motor 12 (Fig 2a, “and also includes a second motor 12 (servo motor) connected to the screw of the second ball screw , used to drive the second sliding block 7 to slide on the second sliding track 10” pg 5 para 4) , the leg member including:
a coupler section 3 (Figs 1 and 2a) having a foot portion 13,P (Figs 1 and 2a), a coupler hock portion C (Fig 1) opposite from the foot portion, and a coupler midsection 4,5,D (Figs 1 and 2a- frame elements 4 and 5 connect to the midsection of the hock and foot portion via connection point D) between the foot portion P (Fig 1) and the coupler hock portion C (Fig 1) ;
a rocker section 2 (Figs 1 and 2a) [ having a rocker hock portion C (Fig 1) and a rocker hip portion B (Fig 1) ] (“the other end of the first sliding block 1 is hinged with the upper end of the first connecting rod 2 and the hinge point is point B” pg 4 para 10- note that figs 1 and 2a use the same mechanisms and the connection points are equivalent), the rocker hock portion C (Fig 1) being [pivotably coupled to the coupler hock portion of the coupler section at a hock joint] (Connection C connects the hock 3 and the rocker section 2);
a ground section 9 (Figs 1 and 2a) having a ground hip portion 1,B (Figs 1 and 2a) and a ground knee portion, the ground hip portion 1,B [being pivotably coupled to the rocker hip portion B (Fig 1) of the rocker section 2 (Fig 2a) at a hip joint that defines a hip angle h between the rocker section and the ground section] (“the other end of the first sliding block 1 is hinged with the upper end of the first connecting rod 2 and the hinge point is point B,” pg 4 para 10), and the ground section being operatively connected to the hip servo motor 11 (Fig 2b, “The first motor 11 (servo motor) connected to the screw of the ball screw is used to drive the first slider 1 to slide on the first sliding track 9 .” pg 5 para 2) ; and
a crank section 5 (Figs 1 and 2a) having a crank knee portion F,8 (Figs 1 and 2a) and a distal connecting portion D (Figs 1 and 2a), the crank knee portion F,8 (Figs 1 and 2a) [being pivotably coupled to the ground section at a knee joint that defines a knee angle k between the ground section and the crank section] (“Fixed installation and the connection point is point F, point F is hinged with the lower end of the fifth connecting rod 8, point O is set on the first sliding track 9, point O is close to point A and far away from point B, and a rotating shaft extends from point O out and fixed with the upper end of the fifth connecting rod 8, so that the fifth connecting rod 8 can rotate around the O point;” pg 4 para 10), and the distal connecting portion D (Figs 1 and 2a) [being coupled to the coupler midsection of the coupler section] (Figs 1 and 2a show the crank section that is connected to the ground section 9 and a midsection of the coupler section); and
wherein the knee servo motor 12 (Fig 2a) [is operable for increasing or decreasing the knee angle independent of the hip angle] (“The second sliding track 10 is the screw of the second ball screw, the second sliding block 7 is the ball nut of the second ball screw, and also includes a second motor 12 (servo motor) connected to the screw of the second ball screw , used to drive the second sliding block 7 to slide on the second sliding track 10” pg 5 para 2); and
wherein the hip servo motor 11 (Fig 2a) [ [is] operable for increasing or decreasing the hip angle independent of the knee angle] (“The first motor 11 (servo motor) connected to the screw of the ball screw is used to drive the first slider 1 to slide on the first sliding track 9 .” pg 5 para 1).
Zhou does not teach a series spring associated with the crank section and having a series input portion operatively connected to the knee servo motor and the series spring is associated with the crank knee portion of the crank section.
Pan teaches an equivalent device with a linkage mechanism wherein [the joints comprises a leaf spring to absorb shocks] (“It has 14 degrees of freedom, of which 4 joints are passive joints composed of leaf springs. The almost fully articulated leg structure allows the legs to achieve multi-purpose autonomous movement, and when encountering large shocks, the leaf springs in the knees and heels play a role in absorbing shocks, which is conducive to showing elastic and highly dynamic.” pg 1 para 2), and the series spring is associated with the crank knee portion Zhou-7 (Fig 2a) of the crank section Zhou-5 (Fig 2a), and the series spring further including: a flexible series portion connected to the series input portion; and a distal connecter portion coupled to a crank midsection of the crank section of the leg member, the distal connecter portion being pivotably coupled to the flexible portion at a series spring joint.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the leaf springs of Pan with the joints of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for proper shock absorption while the leg is in motion. By using a leaf spring along each joint, the leg motion is more dynamic and can more easily absorb the forces applied to the leg.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou and Pan fully teach the input portion of the series spring being associated with the crank knee portion of the crank section (See modification of Zhou in view of Pan in claim 1 above).
Regarding claims 7 and 19 (Similar claim limitations different dependencies) , Zhou and Pan discloses the claimed invention except for the leg member is constructed from a single member. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to make the robot leg constructed from a singular member, since it has been held that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice. See In re Larson, 144 USPQ 347. Please note that in the instant application, the Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 8, Zhou fully teaches wherein rotation of the knee servo motor 12 (Fig 2b) in a [first rotational direction Q causes the series spring to decrease the knee angle and wherein rotation of the knee servo motor in a second rotational direction R causes the series spring to increase the knee angle] (“The first working mode: when the robot walks slowly according to the given step length, the first motor and the second motor stop working after adjusting the distance between point A and point E and the distance between point A and point O” pg 6 para 1, the servo motor 12 adjusts the length between Points A and E in two directions, which in turn adjusts the angle of the knee joint 8 in relation to the ground and crank angle).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou fully teaches rotation of the hip servo motor 11 (Fig 2b) [in a first rotational direction Q causes the ground section to increase the hip angle, and wherein rotation of the hip servo motor in a second rotational direction R causes the ground spring to decrease the hip angle] (“The first working mode: when the robot walks slowly according to the given step length, the first motor and the second motor stop working after adjusting the distance between point A and point E and the distance between point A and point O” pg 6 para 1, the servo motor 11 adjusts the length between Points A and O in two directions, which in turn adjusts the angle of the hip joint B in relation to the rocker section and ground angle).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou fully teaches wherein the foot of the coupler section point P (Fig 1) [translates along a substantially vertical line A upon rotation of the knee servo motor] (Fig 6a shows the location of Point P while the leg moves, “Distance changes the duty cycle. As shown in Figures 6a (No. 1 in Table 1) and 6b (No. 2 in Table 1), set the distance from point A to point E to 290mm and 330mm, and the foot trajectory corresponding to one rotation of the fifth connecting rod 8 Curve (foot trajectory is based on the trajectory of point P).” pg 7 para 3).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou fully teaches wherein the hip servo motor 11 (Fig 2a) and the knee servo motor 12 (Fig 2a) [are coupled to a body of a robot] (“Such a duty cycle would put a robot fitted with two three-actuated adjustable closed-chain leg mechanisms in the process of running.” pg 3 para 5 and “The robot of the chain leg mechanism is in the process of jogging. Therefore, before walking, adjust the size of the duty cycle by adjusting the size of the crank-rocker mechanism composed of the second sliding track, the fourth connecting rod, the fifth connecting rod and the first sliding track to adapt to the movement in different scenarios.”, pg 3 para 5).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou fully teaches [wherein the leg member is one of a plurality of leg members of the robot] (“Such a duty cycle would put a robot fitted with two three-actuated adjustable closed-chain leg mechanisms in the process of running.” pg 3 para 5).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou teaches a robot (“The three-drive adjustable closed-chain leg mechanism can be fixed by fixing the frame to the robot base.” pg 5 para 8), [comprising: a plurality of leg members coupled to a body] (“and can Realize the walking process of crossing obstacles, crossing ditch, and approaching the goal in complex environment.” pg 2 para 2), the body including a hip servo motor 11 (Fig 2a) and a knee servo motor 12 (Fig 2a); each respective leg member of the plurality of leg members [defining a four-bar linkage configuration] (Fig 2a shows a four bar linkage mechanism) wherein the knee servo motor 12 (Fig 2a) [is operable for increasing or decreasing the knee angle independent of the hip angle] (“The second sliding track 10 is the screw of the second ball screw, the second sliding block 7 is the ball nut of the second ball screw, and also includes a second motor 12 (servo motor) connected to the screw of the second ball screw , used to drive the second sliding block 7 to slide on the second sliding track 10” pg 5 para 2); and
wherein the hip servo motor 11 (Fig 2a) [ [is] operable for increasing or decreasing the hip angle independent of the knee angle] (“The first motor 11 (servo motor) connected to the screw of the ball screw is used to drive the first slider 1 to slide on the first sliding track 9 .” pg 5 para 1). Zhou further teaches a coupler section 3 (Figs 1 and 2a) having a foot portion 13,P (Figs 1 and 2a), a coupler hock portion C (Fig 1) opposite from the foot portion, and a coupler midsection 4,5,D (Figs 1 and 2a- frame elements 4 and 5 connect to the midsection of the hock and foot portion via connection point D) between the foot portion P (Fig 1) and the coupler hock portion C (Fig 1) ;
a rocker section 2 (Figs 1 and 2a) [ having a rocker hock portion C (Fig 1) and a rocker hip portion B (Fig 1) ] (“the other end of the first sliding block 1 is hinged with the upper end of the first connecting rod 2 and the hinge point is point B” pg 4 para 10- note that figs 1 and 2a use the same mechanisms and the connection points are equivalent), the rocker hock portion C (Fig 1) being [pivotably coupled to the coupler hock portion of the coupler section at a hock joint] (Connection C connects the hock 3 and the rocker section 2);
a ground section 9 (Figs 1 and 2a) having a ground hip portion 1,B (Figs 1 and 2a) and a ground knee portion, the ground hip portion 1,B [being pivotably coupled to the rocker hip portion B (Fig 1) of the rocker section 2 (Fig 2a) at a hip joint that defines a hip angle h between the rocker section and the ground section] (“the other end of the first sliding block 1 is hinged with the upper end of the first connecting rod 2 and the hinge point is point B,” pg 4 para 10), and the ground section being operatively connected to the hip servo motor 11 (Fig 2b, “The first motor 11 (servo motor) connected to the screw of the ball screw is used to drive the first slider 1 to slide on the first sliding track 9 .” pg 5 para 2) ; and
a crank section 5 (Figs 1 and 2a) having a crank knee portion F,8 (Figs 1 and 2a) and a distal connecting portion D (Figs 1 and 2a), the crank knee portion F,8 (Figs 1 and 2a) [being pivotably coupled to the ground section at a knee joint that defines a knee angle k between the ground section and the crank section] (“Fixed installation and the connection point is point F, point F is hinged with the lower end of the fifth connecting rod 8, point O is set on the first sliding track 9, point O is close to point A and far away from point B, and a rotating shaft extends from point O out and fixed with the upper end of the fifth connecting rod 8, so that the fifth connecting rod 8 can rotate around the O point;” pg 4 para 10), and the distal connecting portion D (Figs 1 and 2a) [being coupled to the coupler midsection of the coupler section] (Figs 1 and 2a show the crank section that is connected to the ground section 9 and a midsection of the coupler section).
Zhou does not teach a series spring associated with the crank section and having a series input portion operatively connected to the knee servo motor.
Pan teaches an equivalent device with a linkage mechanism wherein [the joints comprises a leaf spring to absorb shocks] (“It has 14 degrees of freedom, of which 4 joints are passive joints composed of leaf springs. The almost fully articulated leg structure allows the legs to achieve multi-purpose autonomous movement, and when encountering large shocks, the leaf springs in the knees and heels play a role in absorbing shocks, which is conducive to showing elastic and highly dynamic.” pg 1 para 2), and the series spring is associated with the crank knee portion Zhou-7 (Fig 2a) of the crank section Zhou-5 (Fig 2a), and the series spring further including: a flexible series portion connected to the series input portion; and a distal connecter portion coupled to a crank midsection of the crank section of the leg member, the distal connecter portion being pivotably coupled to the flexible portion at a series spring joint.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the leaf springs of Pan with the joints of Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for proper shock absorption while the leg is in motion. By using a leaf spring along each joint, the leg motion is more dynamic and can more easily absorb the forces applied to the leg.
Regarding claim 18, Zhou and Pan fully teach each leg member of the plurality of leg members including:
a coupler section having a foot portion, a coupler hock portion opposite from the foot portion, and a coupler midsection between the foot portion and the coupler hock portion;
a rocker section having a rocker hock portion and a rocker hip portion, the rocker hock portion being pivotably coupled to the coupler hock portion of the coupler section at a hock joint;
a ground section having a ground hip portion and a ground knee portion, the ground hip portion being pivotably coupled to the rocker hip portion of the rocker section at a hip joint that defines the hip angle h between the rocker section and the ground section, and the ground section being operatively connected to the hip servo motor; a crank section having a crank knee portion and a distal connecting portion, the crank knee portion being pivotably coupled to the ground section at a knee joint that defines the knee angle k between the ground section and the crank section, and the distal connecting portion being coupled to the coupler midsection of the coupler section (See modification of Zhou and Pan in claim 17 above).
Claims 3-6,13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 114633822 ) and Pan (CN 113835429 A), in further view of Hurst (US 20160347387 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou and Pan teach the series spring of claim 2.
Zhou and Pan do not teach the series spring further including:
a flexible series portion connected to the series input portion; and
a distal connecter portion coupled to a crank midsection of the crank section of the leg member, the distal connecter portion being pivotably coupled to the flexible portion at a series spring joint.
Hurst teaches an equivalent device 900 (Fig 9A) with a series spring 942 (Fig 9A) further including:
a flexible series portion 942 (Fig 9A) connected to the series input portion 928 (Fig 9A); and
[a distal connecter portion coupled to a crank midsection of the crank section of the leg member, the distal connecter portion being pivotably coupled to the flexible portion at a series spring joint] (“A transmission, such as a fourth link 928, may be provided between the first link 922 and the third link 926. A first spring 942 may have its proximal end pivotally mounted to the distal end of the fourth link 928, and may have a distal end mounted to the proximal end of the third link 926.” para 0042-See annotated Figure 9A below). The flexible series portion 942 (Fig 9A) [provides passive series compliance of the leg member] (“If an impact at the distal end of the leg 920 were to cause rotation of the third link 926 about the third joint 936, such rotation may be transmitted to the first leg spring 942 causing the first leg spring 942 to deflect, FIG. 9C.” para 0047- the spring deflects the force of the foot element 927).
Annotated Hurst Fig 9A showing the connection between the flexible spring and the links.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the spring configuration of Hurst with the device of Zhou and Pan with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for proper shock absorption into the links while the leg is in motion. By using a spring with the linkages along each joint, the leg motion is more dynamic and can more easily absorb the forces applied to the leg.
Regarding claim 4, Zhou Pan and Hurst fully teach the flexible series portion of the series spring provides passive series compliance for the leg member (See modification of Zhou and Pan in view of Hurst in claim 3 above).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou and Pan teach the device of claim 1.
Zhou and Pan do not teach the device further comprising a parallel spring associated with the series spring and having a parallel input portion coupled along the series input portion of the series spring and a flexible parallel portion coupled to a ground midsection of the ground section of the leg member, the flexible parallel portion being pivotably coupled to the flexible portion at a series spring joint.
Hurst teaches an equivalent device (Fig 2) comprising a parallel spring 144 (Fig 2) associated with the series spring 142 (Fig 2) [and having a parallel input portion coupled along the series input portion of the series spring] (Fig 1 shows spring elements 142 and 144 connected to the output elements 154 and 122 to control the deflection of the joints under load, “the use of physical springs 142, 144 in the leg 120, in a literal approximation of a spring-mass model to create series elasticity between the distal two links 124, 126 and the actuators 162, 164 and the first link 122 and the second pulley 154” para 0032) and a flexible parallel portion 144 (Fig 2) [coupled to a ground midsection of the ground section of the leg member] (Fig 1 and 2 show the parallel spring 144 connects to a midsection of link 124, “The springs 142, 144 may be placed so that the lower leg comprising links 124, 126 is compliant in all directions. There is no restriction that any spring 142, 144 acts in the leg length, but the combined effect of the deflection of the springs 142, 144 under load may result in spring-mass behavior.” para 0032). Further,[ the flexible parallel portion of the parallel spring 144 (Fig 2) provides passive parallel compliance for the leg member] (“The springs 142, 144 may be placed so that the lower leg comprising links 124, 126 is compliant in all directions.” para 0032).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the spring configuration of Hurst with the device of Zhou and Pan with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for proper shock absorption into the links while the leg is in motion. By using a spring with the linkages along each joint, the leg motion is more dynamic and can more easily absorb the forces applied to the leg.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou Pan and Hurst fully teach wherein the flexible parallel portion of the parallel spring provides passive parallel compliance for the leg member (See modification of Zhou and Pan in view of Hurst in claim 5 above).
Regarding claim 13 Zhou and Pan teach the device of claim 1, but do not teach the mechanical swing member of claim 13.
Hurst teaches a swinging member 122 (Fig 2) coupled to the hip servo motor 164 (Fig 2), the swinging member including a proximal swing portion 164 (Fig 2) and a distal swing portion 122 (Fig 2) [having a leg mounting portion between the proximal swing portion and the distal swing portion] (Fig 2 shows the swinging portion having space between the distal and proximal ends);
[the proximal swing portion of the swinging member being operatively coupled to the hip servo motor 164 (Fig 2, “a second actuator 164 disposed on the first link 122 used primarily to control leg length; the use of physical springs 142, 144 in the leg 120, in a literal approximation of a spring-mass model to create series elasticity between the distal two links 124, 126 and the actuators 162, 164 and the first link 122 and the second pulley 154” para 0032) [such that rotation of the hip servo motor causes rotation of the distal swing portion about an axis B defined by the hip servo motor] (Figs 3A-3D show the swing portion pivoting between multiple positions);
[the leg mounting portion of the swinging member being coupled to a ground midsection of the ground section of the leg member for increasing the hip angle or decreasing the hip angle upon rotation of the hip servo motor] (As shown in Figure 2, The midsection of the leg mounting portion is connected to spring 144 to make the leg compliant in all directions. “The springs 142, 144 may be placed so that the lower leg comprising links 124, 126 is compliant in all directions.” para 0032); and
the distal swing portion of the swinging member including a knee output pulley 154 (Fig 2) that [engages the series input portion of the series spring 142,144 (Fig 2)] (“The springs 142, 144 may be each in series with the two actuators 162, 164, or they may each be each share the loads from the two actuators 162, 164, but sill acting in combination in series with the actuators 162, 164 so the system can produce spring-mass behaviors and implement controllers intended for spring-mass systems.” para 0033). Hurst, [further teaches a knee input pulley rotatable by the knee servo motor 164 (Fig 2, “the use of mechanical transmissions 152, 154, such as pulleys, to constrain the motion of the at least three links 122, 124, 126 so they can be controlled by the at least two actuators 162, 164.” Para 0032) , the knee input pulley 164 (Fig 2) [being operatively associated with a knee output pulley 154 positioned at the distal swing portion of the swinging member by a knee extension cable and a knee retraction cable 174 (Fig 2, para 0035)] ;
[wherein rotation of the knee input pulley in a first rotational direction Q by the knee servo motor causes the knee retraction cable to rotate the knee output pulley in a second rotational direction R, thereby causing the series spring to decrease the knee angle and
wherein rotation of the knee input pulley in a second rotational direction R by the knee servo motor causes the knee extension cable to rotate the knee output pulley in a first rotational direction Q, thereby causing the series spring to increase the knee angle] (“The second actuator 164 may rotate a rotational element 154, such as a pulley, via a second transmission 174, such as a cable, to adjust the leg-length. (As used herein leg length is measured along a virtual line between the proximal end of the first link 122 at joint 132 and a distal end 127 of the third link 126.) In addition, a transmission 176, such as a cable may be mounted between rotational element 152 and rotational element 154 to transmit rotary motion therebetween.” para 0035). Hurst further teaches the hip joint 132 (Fig 1) [includes one or more slots for passage of the knee extension cable and the knee retraction cable to prevent coupling between the knee angle and the hip angle such that the hip angle is unaffected by the knee angle and the knee angle is unaffected by the hip angle] (Fig 2 of Hurst shows the phantom lines that describe the hip and knee joints and their interactions with the servos, see also para 0033 “The configuration of the actuators 162, 164 and transmissions 152, 154 may be arranged such that internal work loops are minimized, thus avoiding the scenario where one actuator 162/164 does positive work while the other actuator 164/162 does negative work, to generate a net positive work output for the robot 100. One approach to achieving this goal is to arrange the actuators 162, 164 to actuate leg length and leg angle independently. It is also possible that the actuators 162, 164 could have limited control over some aspect of the movement controlled by the other (e.g., a leg angle actuator, such as actuator 162, could affect leg length, albeit to a lesser degree than the primary leg length actuator 164, and vice versa). Such a configuration can actuators to cooperate in generating work for a task, while minimizing antagonistic work for most tasks.”). Hurst further teaches the knee output pulley 154 (Fig 2) [includes a knee extension tensioner element and a knee retraction tensioner element] transmission cable 174 (Fig 2) , [wherein the knee extension cable wraps around the knee extension tensioner element and wherein the knee retraction cable wraps around the knee retraction tensioner element] (Fig 2 shows Hurst with the actuator 164 having an input pulley attached to it, wherein the transmission cable 174 acts as both a tensioner and retraction cable for the knee between elements 164 and 154, “Likewise, the transmission linking motors 162, 164 to rotating elements 152, 154 are depicted in FIGS. 1-3 as a single cables 172, 174... The cables 172, 174 are terminated on each pulley 152, 154; power transmission does not rely on frictional contact with the pulleys 152, 154.” para 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the actuator and spring combination of Hurst with the device of Zhou and Pan with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for maximized force output from the actuators into the leg links via the pulleys and spring system. By using the swing elements of Hurst, the transfer of force from the actuators to the foot element is maximized and can more easily be tuned and adjusted for the conditions the leg will sustain.
Regarding claim 14, Zhou, Pan and Hurst fully teach a knee input pulley rotatable by the knee servo motor, the knee input pulley being operatively associated with a knee output pulley positioned at the distal swing portion of the swinging member by a knee extension cable and a knee retraction cable;
wherein rotation of the knee input pulley in a first rotational direction Q by the knee servo motor causes the knee retraction cable to rotate the knee output pulley in a second rotational direction R, thereby causing the series spring to decrease the knee angle; and
wherein rotation of the knee input pulley in a second rotational direction R by the knee servo motor causes the knee extension cable to rotate the knee output pulley in a first rotational direction Q, thereby causing the series spring to increase the knee angle (See modification of Zhou and Pan with Hurst in claim 13 above).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou, Pan and Hurst fully teach the hip joint includes one or more slots for passage of the knee extension cable and the knee retraction cable to prevent coupling between the knee angle and the hip angle such that the hip angle is unaffected by the knee angle and the knee angle is unaffected by the hip angle (See modification of Zhou and Pan with Hurst in claim 13 above).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou, Pan and Hurst fully teach the knee output pulley includes a knee extension tensioner element and a knee retraction tensioner element, wherein the knee extension cable wraps around the knee extension tensioner element and wherein the knee retraction cable wraps around the knee retraction tensioner element (See modification of Zhou and Pan with Hurst in claim 13 above).
Regarding claim 20 Zhou and Pan teach the device of claim 17, but do not teach the mechanical swing member.
Hurst teaches a swinging member 122 (Fig 2) coupled to the hip servo motor 164 (Fig 2), the swinging member including a proximal swing portion 164 (Fig 2) and a distal swing portion 122 (Fig 2) [having a leg mounting portion between the proximal swing portion and the distal swing portion] (Fig 2 shows the swinging portion having space between the distal and proximal ends);
[the proximal swing portion of the swinging member being operatively coupled to the hip servo motor 164 (Fig 2, “a second actuator 164 disposed on the first link 122 used primarily to control leg length; the use of physical springs 142, 144 in the leg 120, in a literal approximation of a spring-mass model to create series elasticity between the distal two links 124, 126 and the actuators 162, 164 and the first link 122 and the second pulley 154” para 0032) [such that rotation of the hip servo motor causes rotation of the distal swing portion about an axis B defined by the hip servo motor] (Figs 3A-3D show the swing portion pivoting between multiple positions);
[the leg mounting portion of the swinging member being coupled to a ground midsection of the ground section of the leg member for increasing the hip angle or decreasing the hip angle upon rotation of the hip servo motor] (As shown in Figure 2, The midsection of the leg mounting portion is connected to spring 144 to make the leg compliant in all directions. “The springs 142, 144 may be placed so that the lower leg comprising links 124, 126 is compliant in all directions.” para 0032); and
the distal swing portion of the swinging member including a knee output pulley 154 (Fig 2) that [engages the series input portion of the series spring 142,144 (Fig 2)] (“The springs 142, 144 may be each in series with the two actuators 162, 164, or they may each be each share the loads from the two actuators 162, 164, but sill acting in combination in series with the actuators 162, 164 so the system can produce spring-mass behaviors and implement controllers intended for spring-mass systems.” para 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the actuator and spring combination of Hurst with the device of Zhou and Pan with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for maximized force output from the actuators into the leg links via the pulleys and spring system. By using the swing elements of Hurst, the transfer of force from the actuators to the foot element is maximized and can more easily be tuned and adjusted for the conditions the leg will sustain.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sprowitz (US 20220089234 A1) teaches a robot leg comprising at least two joints, each joint connecting two segments one to another, with each joint comprising a cam, the robot leg further comprising at least one actuator and a common tendon interconnecting each cam.
Miyazaki (US 20110297461 A1) teaches a similar robot leg component comprising a plurality of links, joints and actuators.
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611