DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 12 is construed to be indefinite because the recitation “the detected travelling speed” lacks a positive antecedent basis. Claim 13 is construed to be indefinite because the recitation “the detected temperature” lacks a positive antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sheldon (US 2,764,149). The claims are reasonably and broadly construed, in light of the accompanying specification, to be disclosed by Sheldon as teaching:
a system for drying an electrode (see title and abstract), the system comprising:
a coil 42 disposed along a movement route of an electrode 100a,
wherein the electrode includes a base layer made of metal and an electrode active material applied onto the base layer (column 10 line 70 through column 11 line 6), and
wherein an electric current is applicable to the coil (column 3 lines 22-40). Sheldon also discloses the claim 2 feature wherein the coil is fixed to a support structure and configured to be rotatable (figures 1, 7), the claim 3 feature wherein the coil is disposed within a roller disposed in the movement route for the electrode (figures 4, 7), the claim 5 feature wherein the roller is an idler roller configured to guide the electrode that moves along the movement route (figures 1, 7), the claim 5 feature wherein the coil is disposed within the roller and is detachable from the roller (figures 1, 4), the claim 6 feature wherein the coil is disposed to generate a magnetic field in a direction perpendicular to a movement direction of the electrode (figures 4, 6), the claim 7 feature wherein an edge position control (EPC) device configured to prevent a serpentine motion of the electrode is disposed in the movement route (figures 1, 8), the claim 8 feature of a heating plate disposed along the movement route of the electrode (figures 1, 7), the claim 10 feature wherein of an unwinder configured to allow the electrode to be wound in a form of a roll to move along the movement route; and a winder configured to wind the electrode that has passed the coil and the heating plate in the form of the roll (figures 4, 8), the claim 11 feature a controller configured to control an operation of the coil and an operation of the heating plate (figures 2, 8), the claim 16 wherein a shield member is disposed at a position in the movement route at which the electrode meets the coil, and wherein the shield member is configured to block a magnetic field generated by the coil with respect to a part of the electrode (figures 8, 9).
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by El-Kady et al. (US 11,791,453). The claims are reasonably and broadly construed, in light of the accompanying specification, to be disclosed by El-Kady as teaching:
a method of manufacturing an electrode (see title and abstract), the method comprising:
supplying, by an unwinder, an electrode along a movement route (column 2 lines 51-53, figure 4); and
drying the electrode by applying a variable electric current to a coil disposed along the movement route (column 2 lines 54-58, figures 6). El-Kady also discloses the claim 18 feature of operating a heating plate disposed along the movement route (column 36 line 63 through column 37 line 22, figure 2), the claim 19 feature of a winding, by a winder, the electrode that has passed the coil and the heating plate in a form of a roll (column 2 lines 49-51, figure 2), and the claim 20 feature of cooling, by a cooler, the electrode before winding the electrode (column 14 lines 13-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 9, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sheldon. Sheldon discloses the claimed invention, as rejected above, except for the claim 3 idler roller, the claim 9 adjustable feature, the claims 12-15 speed, temperature, oxidation, and cooler features. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to recite those features since the teachings Sheldon would perform those features regardless of the claim recitations and applicants have not claimed or specified the criticality of those features as being necessary for patentability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other prior art references cited with this action may teach one or more claim features but do not rise to a level of anticipation, obviousness, and/or double patenting such that a rejection would be proper and reasonable under current Office practice and procedure. References A, N, O, cited with this action are patent publications from the same inventive entity. References B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, cited with this action teach electrode type drying systems and methods thereof..
Monday, October 12, 2026
/STEPHEN M GRAVINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753